Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Robert Taylor fonds: Home

Robert Taylor:

An inventory of his textual records, photographs, slides, negatives and transparencies, and audio-visual material at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Mary Grace P. Golfo
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N2

Finding aid encoded by Mary Grace P. Golfo (September-November 2015). Finding aid revised by Elizabeth-Anne Johnson (March 2016).
Finding aid written in English.



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
 
Creator:
Robert Taylor
 
Title:
Robert Taylor fonds
 
Dates:
1959-2011
 
Quantity:
This collection contains: 0.13 m of textual records, 210 photographs, 110,451 slides, 1,839 compact discs, 2 video recordings, 6 reels of 16 mm film, 12 audio magnetic reels, 12 audio cassette tapes, 482 negatives and 1 poster.
 
Identification:
MSS 430 (A14-05)
 
Language:
English

Return to Top


Biography of Robert Taylor

Robert “Bob” Ross Taylor was born on June 16th, 1940 in Toronto. He earned his diploma in science photography from Ryerson Polytechnical Institute in 1963. Taylor was a photographer his entire working life, renowned for his vivid nature photography. Among his favourite subjects were polar bears, grey owls, and other wildlife and nature scenes.

At the age of 14, Taylor spent a summer as a junior volunteer at the Royal Ontario Museum. This experience affirmed his interest in photography and led to his career as a nature photographer. After his graduation, he worked at the Saskatchewan Museum of Natural History, where he helped develop the audiovisual department. In 1967, he transferred to the Manitoba Museum as head of the photographic department for six years. Taylor also served as a wildlife extension specialist for Manitoba Natural Resources for a year before embarking on a career as a freelance photographer. He set up his own photography gallery in downtown Winnipeg in 1975. From that point, Taylor devoted his time to conducting photography lectures and workshops and leading arctic and sub-arctic tours in Canada and safaris in Africa. His photographs have grazed the pages of national and international publications including Equinox , International Wildlife , Life , Reader’s Digest, Airone , Photo Life , Birder’s World , American Birds , Photo Digest , Birds of the Wild , The Beaver , Art Impressions , Wilderness Canada , Native Canada , Ontario Naturalist , and Canadian Geographic . Taylor's work was also featured in several books by various publishers before he established his own publishing company, Windermere House Publishing. Taylor published books depicting the beauty of Manitoba and his favourite subjects, polar bears and grey owls. Publications by him or that feature his photographs include: The Yellowhead Route (1980); The Manitoba Landscape: A Visual Symphony (1990); The Edge of the Arctic: Churchill and the Hudson Bay Lowlands (1992) which was revised as The Edge of the Arctic: Hudson’s Bay Region ; The Great Gray Owl: On Silent Wing (1997); Manitoba: Seasons of Beauty (2002); The Great Gray Owl: Smithsonian Nature Series (2004); and Tales from the Tundra (2005).

Taylor used his work to promote Churchill, Manitoba as a polar bear sanctuary and helped transform it into a popular tourist attraction. Through his photography, he was also able to showcase the landscapes of Manitoba and other Canadian provinces. Taylor helped launch the Prairie Canada Carvers Association in 1986 and served as president of the Professional Photographers Association of Canada and vice-president of the Professional Photographers of Canada and of the Canadian Science Film Association. Because of his love and respect for nature and his dedication to his profession, Taylor received numerous awards, including a fellowship from the Professional Photographers Association of Manitoba, an honour award for Master of Photographic Arts from the Professional Photographers of Canada, the Queen’s Silver and Diamond Jubilee medals and a Bronze Award from the Columbus Film Festival for the film Assiniboine Forest. Taylor was also given an award for Creative Excellence from the US Industrial Film Festival for the film Prairie Insights . A few weeks before his death, he was also awarded the Order of the Buffalo Hunt for his achievements and contributions to Manitoba. Taylor was one of the few photographers who were accepted into the prestigious Royal Canadian Academy of Arts.

Robert Taylor died on August 15th, 2013 at the age of 73.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Taylor fonds is a large collection of photographs in different formats. The collection has been organized into two main series, (1) Textual Records and (2) Audio-Visual Collection. The Textual Records include Taylor's biographical records, professional records, draft texts of Taylor's published books, printed photographs and a poster. The Audio-Visual Collection includes Taylor's CD collection, slides, video recordings, audio-cassette tapes and negatives.

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Papers

The collection has been organized into two main series, (1) Textual Records and (2) Audio-Visual Collection. The Textual Records include Taylor's biographical records, professional records, draft texts of Taylor's published books, printed photographs and a poster. The Audio-Visual Collection includes Taylor's CD collection, slides, video recordings, audio-cassette tapes and negatives. The collections of CDs were arranged initially by geographic location, and then by broader categories of the subjects of his photographs. This arrangement is followed whenever is applicable. For the collections of slides, Taylor's original arrangement was followed. However, the following broader categories are assigned for each slide box:

a. Animals - several categories or classes of animals e.g. reptiles, mammals, birds

b. Artwork - photographs of paintings, sculptures and other art works.

c. Birds - all types of birds including fowls such as ducks, geese, swans, chicken.

d. Buildings - all types of infrastructure e.g. elevators, houses, low and high rise buildings, towers, churches,etc.

e. Fishery - all types of fish and the fishing industry.

f. Mammals - all animals which feed their young with milk.

g. People - photographs of individuals or groups of people.

h. Promotional materials - works by Robert Taylor aside from photographs, such as postcards, calling cards, posters, maps etc.

i. Plants - flowers, plants and trees.

j. Scenery - landscapes, farm sceneries, aerial shots, fields, seashore and beaches.

k. Sports - photographs of sports activities or events and anything about canoes and canoeing.

l. Transportation - any medium of transportation, including vans, ships, airplanes, trains and tundra buggies. Geographic categories such as Canada, Africa, Ecuador, Trinidad & Tobago and USA are also indicated, whenever applicable

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on access to this collection.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Materials should be handled with care.

Return to Top


Related Materials

 

Return to Top


Custodial History

The collection was donated in January 2014 to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Robert (Bob) Williams, Taylor’s estate administrator and a close personal friend and colleague at Polar Bear, Inc.

Return to Top


Other Finding Aids

A printed finding aid at the item level is available for consultation in the Archives Reading Room.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Printed Collection [19--] - 2013

Contains Taylor's biographical records, professional records, draft texts of Taylor's published books, printed photographs and a poster.

Robert Taylor's portfolio [19--] - 2013
 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 2 Invitation to Taylor's private interment 2013
  3 Draft text of the book On Silent Wings 1995
  4 Final text of the book The Great Gray Owl : On Silent Wings 1997
  5 Original text of the book The Manitoba Landscape: A Visual Symphony 1989
  6 Correspondence with attached photographs of the great grey owl 2000-2002
  7 Original poem - "Voices of the Wilderness: the Common Loon" 1994
  8 24 frames of negative and positive prints of Taylor's photographs; 1 3x5 photograph with negative [19-?]
  9 Document entitled "The Wildlife and Scenery of the Churchill Area" [19-?]
  10 Text of "Polar Bears of Hudson Bay" [19-?]
  11 Text of "Thelon-1961" 1961
  12 "Treasured Moments in Nature Photography" 1994
  13 Field notes 1992
  14 "The Edge of the Arctic" 19?
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 8 b/w commercial photos [19-?]
  2 6 industrial photos [19-?]
  3 12 photos of people [19-?]
  4 12 photos of landscapes and other subjects [19-?]
  5 9 printed drawings [19-?]
  6 4 photos of plants [19-?]
  7 25 photos of great grey owls [19-?]
  8 13 photos of mammals [19-?]
  9 15 photos of Churchill, Manitoba [19-?]
  10 463 frames of miscellaneous negatives [19-?]
  11 19 sets of great grey owl photos with negatives [19-?]

Return to Top

Audio-Visual Collection 1959-2011
Box                                                                                                                                                                                                  
1 Animals, artwork 1959-2011
2 Birds 1959-2011
3 Birds, owls 1959-2011
4 Mammals, maps 1959-2011
5 Mammals, maps 1959-2011
6 Mammals 1959-2011
7 Miscellaneous subjects, including people, plants, promotional material, scenery 1959-2011
8 Miscellaneous subjects, including people, plants, promotional material, scenery 1959-2011

Slides, 19--

Box Binder                                                                                                                                                    Nº of slides    
1 1 Tulabi Falls, Bird Lake, Riding Mtn. Wild Flowers 196
  2 Great Gray Owl 249
  3 Norway House, Pictographs 326
  A Unlabeled Miscellaneous Photographs 1 316
  B Unlabeled Miscellaneous Photographs 2 356
  C Unlabeled Miscellaneous Photographs 3 547
Slides, 1997-1999
Box Binder   Nº of slides
2 4 Aikens Lake, Manitoba 276
  5 Nueltin Lake 207
  6

The Manitoba Landscape: Slides used in book (with 1 photograph of R. Taylor which

was transferred to the hollinger box; also includes 99 slide borders)

84
  7 Manitoba landscapes 355
  8 Manitoba Whiteshell 166
  9 Manitoba Misc. (Rocks at Churchill, ice crystals, maple leaves, Canadian flag, wildlife) 250
Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
3 11 Great Gray Owl 210
  12 Manitoba including Riding Mtn-Sandilands & S.E. 246
  13 Manitoba Riding Mtn. God's River 266
  14 Lake of the Woods Book 148
  16 Canadian Scenics Misc 278
  17
Manitoba Landscape: A Visual Symphony
266
Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
4 18 Flowering plants 113
  19 Scenery 197
  20 "Consider for final selection" 130
  21 Ducks 336
  22 "Manitoba book - more potential photos" 302
  23 "Manitoba: Land of Intimate Beauty" 132
 
Box Binder                                                                                                                                               Nº of slides 
5 24 "Manitoba book - potential photos" 255
  25

The Manitoba Landscape: A Visual Symphony (with original text of the initial pages of

the book; some pages signed by Robert Taylor. The document is stored in Hollinger box)

143
  26 Howl owl 279
  28 "Manitoba: A Landscape Portfolio" 147
  29 "Manitoba: Land of Intimate Beauty" mock-up (with draft text for the initial pages of the book) 136
Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
6 30 Riding Mountain series 243
  31a Kenya 100
  31b Wildflowers - Churchill 182
  32 Kenya 320
  33 Kenya 280
Box Binder                                                                                                                      Nº of slides
7 34 Manitoba Seasons of Beauty, Primary Consideration #1 236
  35 Painting reference 392
  37

Ross's Gull [inserted is an unsigned letter for Penny Rawlings about the use of Ross's

Gull transparencies.]

419
  39 Shorebirds 144
  40 Great grey owl 337
Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
8 41 Trinidad & Tobago 199
  42 Great grey owl 217
  43 Arctic adventures RRT 138
  44 Point Pelee Warblers Historical Photos etc. 160
  45
Gray'l, Great Gray Owl, Winter w/ Snow, Good Ref. Display
242
Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
9 46 Churchill slide show, birds, scenery 78
  47 Galapagos & Ecuador 71
  48 Arctic Hare 123
  49

Voice of the Wilderness: The Common Loon (includes a poem by Robert Taylor

about the loon dated Aug. 16, 1987; transferred to Hollinger box with the textual records)

123
  50
Loons (Common loon, Arctic loon)
182
Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
10 51
Rare & endangered species
170
  52 GGO final selection [includes slides, 8 pcs. 5' x 8''photographs,contact prints,
printed copy of a poem about owls by Robert Taylor; transferred to textual records)
158
  53 Great grey owl, hawk owl 217
  54 Polar bears sparring 168
  55 Polar bears selection (possibilities for book) 217
Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
11 56 Great grey owl 208
  57 GGO slide show, photos from GGO book, final selection of photos 275
  59 Great grey owl - winter 116
  60 Great grey owl photo projects, people, and equipment 217
  61 Untitled [slides of the great gray owl and 2 pcs. 5"x8" B&W photographs of the gray owl] 146
Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
12 62 The Edge of the Arctic 168
  64 Elements for Multiple Imagery or to be scanned 107
  65 A Touch of Reality 172
  66 Untitled 371
  67 Churchill Book, Possible Photos (includes 2 film strips counted as two) 221
Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
13 68 Churchill birds, ice sculptures, landscapes 306
  70
Birds, mammals
262
  71
Warblers
284
  72 Miscellaneous, including birds 375
  73 Miscellaneous birds  

 

Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
14 74 Cambridge Bay, birds, landscapes, flowers, etc 230
  75 Cambridge Bay 201
  76 Churchill book 234
  78 Whiteshell & Nopiming primary selection 149
  79 Hidden Lake carving project 211
Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
15 80 Yellowstone & Grand Tetons 241
  81 Blk. - The Blue Prothonotary Ch.-Sided B.G. Gnatc. W.T. Sprw. , Harris' Sp. R.T. Hum-Bird, Prairie (Flynn) 85
  84 Polar bears 267
  85 Polar bears 334
  86 Wager Bay 209
 
 
Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
16 87 Churchill miscellaneous 247
  88 Churchill, polar bears, arctic fox, spruce grouse, ptarmigan 58
  89 Slide shows, NWT, Wager Bay 156
  90 Wager Bay 204
  91 Good bird slides, etc. 111
Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
17 92
Wager Bay, scenery, polar bears, etc
176
  93 Prairie crocus 248
  94 Churchill, northern lights, landscapes, snowdrifts 242
  bb Churchill slides collection (332 slides in 21 sleeves) 332
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
17 1 Tranparencies (slides) of northern landscapes for possible calendar use, submitted to Kathleen Richardson. 73
  2 20 original transparencies of wild rice harvesting, Point DuBois, Mantioba 20
   
Box Binder                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
18 Bu1 Birds 307
  Bu2 Birds 392
  Bu3 Mammals 367
  Bu4 Scenery, people, miscellaneous 238
Box Carousel                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
19 1 Point Pelee, Ontario 65
  2 Great grey owl 76
  3 Wildlife 3: insects, reptiles, amphibians 80
  4 Perspective, lighting, polarizing, etc. (1 carousel of slides) 80
Box Carousel                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
20 5 Unlabeled 79
  6 Unlabeled 76
  7 Photographing birds 80
  8 Composition: Edge of the Arctic 47
 
 
Box Carousel                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
21 9 NWT/Nunavut #1 Thelon 78
  10 NWT/Nunavut #2 Thelon 70
  11 Unlabeled (photos used for the book Seasons of Beauty) 39
  12 Manitoba show (photos used for Seasons of beauty) 80
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
22 1 Birds, Scenery Slide Boxes 1-76 1705
  2 Polar Bears Slide Boxes 1-16 495
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
23 3 Birds, Scenery, Plants Slide Boxes 1-36 769
  4 Birds, Scenery Slide Boxes 1-39 1145
  5 Kenya (Animals, Scenery) Slide Boxes 1-34 990
 
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
24 6 Kenya (Miscellaneous) Slide Boxes 1-33 963
  7 Miscellaneous 373
  8 Kenora, Ontario (Scenery) Slide Boxes 1-19 577
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
25 9 Wager Bay (Mammals, People, Scenery) - Slide Boxes 1-30 940
  10 Miscellaneous Photos - Slide Boxes 1-28 895
  11 Miscellaneous Photos - 42 Sleeves 596
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
26 12 Wildlife, Plants - 43 Sleeves 688
  13 Polar Bears - 67 Sleeves 841
  14 Animals, Scenery - Slide Boxes 1-23 507
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
27 15 Wager Bay (Scenery, People, Animals) - Slide Boxes 1-32 1118
  16 Kenya Safari - Slide Boxes 1-28 988
  17 Polar Bears - Slide Boxes 1-34 1349
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
28 18 Africa safari - slide boxes 1-16 1655
  19 Owls - slides boxes 1-28 995
  20 Wager Bay - slide boxes 1-33 1014
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
29 21 Birds - slide boxes 1-37 1014
  22 Birds - slide boxes 1-57 1242
  23 Birds - slide boxes 1-33 824
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
30 24 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-31 954
  25 Polar bears - slide boxes 1-25 829
  26 Birds - slide boxes 1-44 1196
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
31 27 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-25 784
  28 Whales - 50 sleeves 772
  29 Polar bears - slide boxes 1-3 1051
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
32 30 Animals - slide boxes 1-27 1054
  31 Polar bears - slide boxes 1-33 1046
  32 Scenery - slide boxes 1-38 1057
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
33 34 Animals, scenery - slide boxes 1-35 1267
  35 Scenery - slide boxes 1-29 773
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
34 36 Polar bears - slide boxes 1-34 1435
  37 Polar bears - slide boxes 1-30 1166
  38 Cambridge Bay - slide boxes 1-21 569
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
35 39 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-28 815
  40 Miscellaneous - 80 sleeves 876
  41 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-30 1210
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
36 42 Polar bears, birds, plants - 42 sleeves 641
  43 Birds - slide boxes 1-31 1429
  44 Animals - slide boxes 1-38 987
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
37 45 Animals - slide boxes 1-20 678
  46 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-8, 38 sleeves 804
  47 Birds, foxes - slide boxes 1-36 1253
  48 Manitoba - 49 sleeves 647
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
38 49 Scenery - slide boxes 1-32 1137
  50 Manitoba miscellaneous - 52 sleeves 707
  51 Africa safari - slide boxes 1-35 2536
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
39 52 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-21 519
  53 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-25 771
 
 
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
40 55 Miscellaneous - slide boxe1-48 958
  56 Owls slide boxe1-31 1022
  57 Animals - slide boxe1-23 723
 
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
42 61 Miscellaneous - slide boxe1-13, 38 sleeves 693
  62 Miscellaneous - slide boxe1-39 1221
  63 Miscellaneous - slide boxe1-50 1003
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
43 64 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-37 934
  65 Mammals, scenery - slide boxes 1-40 1186
  66 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-26 776
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
44 67 Birds - slide boxes 1-26 663
  68 Miscellaneous - 68 sleeves 726
  69 Polar bears - slide boxes 1-34 1305
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
45 70 Scenery, buildings, miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-50 1232
  71 Maritime scenery, mammals - slide boxes 1-29 898
  72 Miscellaneous, people, scenery - slide boxes 1-50 1514
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
46 73 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-36 844
  74 Galapagos Island, miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-52 1568
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
47 75 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-6, 73 sleeves 1574
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
48 76 Birds - slide boxes 1-6 201
  77 Birds - slide boxes 1-15 533
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
49 78 Birds, miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-31 897
  79 Birds, scenery - slide boxes 1-33 1010
  80 Birds, scenery - slide boxes 1-37 863
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
50 81 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-27 847
  82 Mammals - slide boxes 1-28 876
  83 Birds, miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-32 980
 
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
51 84 Animals, scenery - slide boxes 1-34 1261
  85 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-32 969
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
52 89 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-27 272
  90A Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-34 1082
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
53 91 Miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-39 1049
  92 Polar bears - slide boxes 1-32 1149
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
54 93 Animals, Yellowstone, miscellaneous - slide boxes 1-36 822
  94 Yellowstone - slide boxes 1-10 494
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
55 99 Churchill, MB - 21 sleeves 332
  108A Animals - slide boxes 1-85 3124
Box Container                                                                                                                                                Nº of slides
56 113 Animals - slide boxes 1-49 1433
Videos
Box Item                                                                                                                                               
57 1 "Prairie Insights" [16mm film], n.d.
  2 "The Good Seed" [16 mm film], n.d.
  3 "Birth of a Province" [16 mm film], n.d.
  4 "Pronghorn" [16 mm silent film], n.d.
  5 Bob Taylor-NWT Sept. 94, miscellaneous (video footage), video lecture, 1994
  6 RRT Footage - to Churchill, photography, scenery, animals, plants, n.d.
Audio
Box Item                                                                                                                                               
57 7 Assiniboine Forest Narration, n.d.
  8 Film Voice Over - all cuts, unedited (Voiceover), 1974
  1 Rails, Gallinule, n.d.
  2 Boreal Owl, bird calls, n.d.
  3 Moose, animal sounds, n.d.
  4 RRT Survey Tape- Boreal G.G.O., Saw Whet, Barred, GHO, Long-Ear, n.d.
  5 Screech Owl Loop, bird calls, n.d.
  6 G.G.O. Hooting, n.d.
  7 Great Gray Owl Whipoorwill, n.d.
  8 Meadowlark Loop, n.d.
  9 A. Quetico Slide Assembly (+ Yellowstone), n.d.
  10 Saw-Whet Loop, n.d.
  11 A. Quetico Show, n.d.
  12 Great Gray Owl Hoots, n.d.

Return to Top