Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Ukrainian Reading Association (Chytal'na Prosvita) fonds: Home

Ukrainian Reading Association "Chytal'na Prosvita":

Ukrainian Reading Association "Chytal'na Prosvita":

An Inventory of Its Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by V. Zvonik
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2012)

Finding aid encoded by V. Zvonik (2012)
Finding aid written in English.


Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Administrative History of the Ukrainian Reading Association "Chytal'na Prosvita" and "Ridna Shkola"

Scope and Contents of the Records

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Related Materials

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

Administrative History

Minutes of the Meetings, Reports

Correspondence

Financial Statements

Ukrainian Reading Association School "Ridna Shkola"

"Ridna Shkola" - School Journals - Restricted Material 1958-2011

"Ridna Shkola" - Personal Information re: Students and Teachers - Restricted Material

Additional Material donated in 2012

"Ridna Shkola" - School Journals - Students Info - Restricted Material

Photograph Collection - Pc 317, A.11-91

Videos -

Additional material donated in 2013 - Pc 317, A11-91

Artifact

TC 166 - Audio-Cassettes

Artifacts - Oversize


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
Ukrainian Reading Association " Chytal'na Prosvita"
 
Title:
Ukrainian Reading Association "Chytal'na Prosvita" fonds
 
Dates:
1910-2013
 
Quantity:
3 m of textual records; 604 photographs; 275 negatives; and other material
 
Identification:
Mss 361, Pc 317 (A.11-91)
 
Languages:
Ukrainian, English

Return to Top


Administrative History of the Ukrainian Reading Association "Chytal'na Prosvita" and "Ridna Shkola"

The Ukrainian Reading Association “Chytal’na Prosvita” was founded in 1903 by the members of Sts. Vladimir and Olga Ukrainian Greek-Catholic Cathedral in Winnipeg. The goal of the association is to promote and foster the Ukrainian culture (language, history, geography) through the education of ordinary people. The movement of enlightenment society “Prosvita” started in Lviv, Western Ukraine in 1868. The first Ukrainians coming to Canada who were members of the mother organization in Ukraine brought this idea with them to Winnipeg. They first held meetings at the St. Nicholas Ukrainian Catholic Church and later at Sts. Vladimir and Olga Cathedral and opened their school “Ridna Shkola” in 1918.

In 1919 the members of the “Chytal’na Prosvita” discussed the possibility of purchasing their own building. Eight members of the association loaned their own money to purchase the house at 667 Flora Ave. The building was officially open on October 9, 1921 and blessed by Metropolitan Andrei Sheptyckyj. A list of donors who contributed to the Ukrainian Reading Association’s building was hung on the wall in the new building.

With the purchase of the new building, new organizations came into being such as the Benevolent Association of “Chytal’na Prosvita” - the Mutual Aid Society (1927); the Women’s Organization of Maria Markovych (1931); and the “Plast” youth organization (1930). In addition, to the above mentioned, organizations many other groups and institutions used the building for their own activities: the Society of Volyn, and Research Institute of Volyn; the Ukrainian National Federation, the North Winnipeg Credit Union, and various musical and theatrical groups. “Chytal’na Prosvita” also had a large library with over 400 books. They were used by the Ukrainian community of the North End.

The Ukrainian Reading Association “Chytal’na Prosvita” housed various cultural events, debates, lectures, concerts, amateur theatre and dance performances. Many prominent Ukrainian academics and artists visited “Chytal’na Prosvita such as E. Turula (composer), K. Andrysyshyn (educator), V. Avramenko (choreographer), O. Koshetz (director of choir) and many others who performed at the “Chytal’na Prosvita”.

In 1982 a big fire destroyed most of the building and although costly repairs kept it going for a while, it deteriorated to the point that the members of the “Chytal’na Prosvita” decided to sell the building. The Ukrainian Reading Association’s building finally closed the doors on May 31, 2001. The Chytal’na Prosvita’s executive board relocated to the North Winnipeg Credit Union, and their funds were transferred into a Designated Fund in the Shevchenko Foundation. The Ukrainian School “Ridna shkola” operates from the Andrew Mynarski School. The Reading Association School “Ridna Shkola” has 10 grades and opens doors to students every Sunday. A large number of books from the Ukrainian Reading Association were sent to Ukraine and the rest deposited into the Slavic Collection, University of Manitoba.

The “Chytal’na Prosvita’s” building provided gathering place and support to many Ukrainian immigrants who came to Winnipeg to start their new lives. It promoted Ukrainian language and culture, provided educational and social services, strengthen national consciousness, and also educated the general public about Ukraine and its people. It fits perfectly into the multicultural mosaic of Winnipeg and holds a major part in the Ukrainian-Canadian history. The success of the “Chytal’na Prosvita" is a testimony to the many hard working individuals who, over the years, contributed to the enlightenment of Ukrainian education in Canada .

  • Heads of the Ukrainian Reading Association "Chytal'na Prosvita"
  • 1905 - Matei Hura
  • 1905 to1911 - Amanazii Fylypiv
  • 1911 to 1913 - Andrii Bilins'kyi
  • 1914 - Pavlo Ferens
  • 1915 to 1917 - Petro Ruta
  • 1918 - Hryhorii Danyliuk
  • 1919 - Petro Ruta
  • 1920 Ivan Kupynych
  • 1921 - Dmytro Ius'kevych
  • 1922 to1923 - Volodymyr Koman
  • 1924 - Mykola Probizhnyi
  • 1926 to 1928 - Vasyl' Ts'vak
  • 1929 - Dmytro Hoshuliak
  • 1930 - Hryhorii Mudryi
  • 1931 - Pavlo Tesliuk
  • 1932 - Danylo Khimko
  • 1933 to 1934 Stefan Skobliak
  • 1935 - Pavlo Tesliuk
  • 1936 - Stefan Kvasnytsia
  • 1937 - Pavlo Tesliuk
  • 1938 - Stepan Holovchuk
  • 1939 - Ivan Kupynych
  • 1940 - Hryhorii Kvasnytsia
  • 1941 - M. Barans'kyi
  • 1942 - Hryhorii Kvasnytsia
  • 1943 - Stepan Holovchuk
  • 1944 - Hryhorii Kvasnytsia
  • 1945 to1946 - Pavlo Tesliuk
  • 1947 - Vasyl' Ts'vak
  • 1948 - Mykhailo Vorobats'
  • 1949 - Edvard Bachyns'kyi
  • 1950 to 1951 - Stepan Holovchuk
  • 1952 to 1953 - Andrei Gospodyn
  • 1954 to1956 - Pavlo Tesliuk
  • 1957 to 1967 - Mykhailo Vorobets'
  • 1968 to 1974 - Zynovii Kruts'ko
  • 1975 to 1976 - Mukhailo Chaikovs'kyi
  • 1977 to 1989 - Vasyl Tsap
  • 1990 to 1995 - Zynovii Kruts'ko
  • 1996 to 2001 - Anton Borys
  • 2002 to 2011 - Vasyl Karabin
  • 2012 - Fred Russin (Orest Cap)

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Records

The fonds consists of the Ukrainian Reading Association "Chytal'na Prosvita"s administrative history, minutes of the meetings, reports, correspondence, and "Ridna Shkola"s archival material.Return to Top

 


Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into 8 series, Photograph Collection (Pc 317), and Tape Collection (Tc 166)

  • 1. Administrative History
  • 2. Minutes of the Meetings, Reports
  • 3. Correspondence
  • 4. Financial Statement
  • 5. Ridna Shkola
  • 6. Ridna Shkola - School Journals - Restricted
  • 7. Ridna shkola - Students and Teachers Info - Restricted
  • 8. Additional Material donated in 2012
  • Photograph Collection - Pc 317 (A.11-91)
  • Tape Collection - TC 166 (A.11-91)

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

Some material is restricted.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Some boxes are restricted.

Return to Top


Related Materials

Two of the Ukrainian Reading Association "Chytal'na Prosvita" 's unprocessed accessions are held in the Ukrainian Cultural and Educational Centre "Oseredok".

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by the executive board of the "Chytal'na Prosvita" in 2012.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Administrative History
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1-2 Znachennia "Prosvity" u formuvanni natsional'noi svidomosti ta kul'tury ukrains'koi hromady v Kanadi - Orest Cap
  3-4 70th Anniversary of "Prosvita" - Mother Organization in Ukraine, 1938
  5 100th Anniversary of "Prosvita" in Ukraine - articles, 1968
  6 50th Anniversary of the Ukrainian Reading Association - Book - Pivstolittia pratsi ukrains'koho Tovarystva Chytal'ni Prosvity u Vinnipegu - M. Mandryka, 1958
  7 75th Anniversary of the Ukrainian Reading Association of Winnipeg, 1981
  8 65th Anniversary - Speeches and other material, 1970
  9 80th Anniversary - 80-littia Tovarystva Chytal'ni "Prosvita" u Vinnipezi - Andrei Gospodyn, 1985
  10 100th Anniversary, 1905-2005 - Program, 2005 (includes an article by Orest Martynowych)
  11 Charitable Associations Act - Letters Patent of Incorporation, January 6, 1921 (photocopy)
  12 Certificate of Registration of a Corporation Reading Association Prosvita "Chytal'na Prosvita", 1932 Corporations Act - Annual Return of Information 2011 (photocopy)
  13 Chytal'na Prosvita - Constitution, By-Laws, 1921, 2006 (photocopy)
  14 Dissolution of the Organization - Rules and Regulations, 2006 (confidential)
  15 UNH Archival Material held in Oseredok (UCEC) as of 2011 (Correspondence - S. Kachor to Iu. Nosyk)
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 List of Members of the Prosvita Library, 1917-1922
  2 List of Books in the Prosvita Library, 1936
  3 Prosvita Library - Catalogue of Books, 1954
  4 Chytal'na Prosvita - Awards
  5 Newspaper Clippings, 1945-2008
  6 Chytal'na Prosvita - Guest Book, 1979-1986

Return to Top


Minutes of the Meetings, Reports
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 7 Women's Association of Mariia Markovych - Minutes of the Meetings, 1932-1941
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 1 Chytal'na Prosvita - Minutes of the Meetings, 1939-1948
  2 Minutes of the Meetings, 1948-1952
  3 Minutes of the Meetings, 1954-1988
  4 Minutes of the Meetings, 1956
  5 Minutes of the Meetings, 1963-1967
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 1 Various Reports, 1960-1967
  2 Minutes of the Meetings, 1965
  3 Minutes of the Meetings, 1966
  4 Minutes of the Meetings, Reports, 1965-1969
  5 Minutes of the Meetings, 1967-1969
  6 Minutes of the Meetings, 1969
  7 Minutes of the Meetings, 1970
  8 Minutes of the Meetings, 1970-1975
  9 Minutes of the Meetings, 1971-1972
  10 Minutes of the Meetings, 1972-1973
  11 Minutes of the Meetings, 1973
  12 Minutes of the Meetings, 1974
  13 Minutes of the Meetings, 1975
  14 Minutes of the Meetings, 1976
  15 Minutes of the Meetings, 1977
  16 Minutes of the Meetings, 1977-1980
  17 Minutes of the Meetings, 1978
  18 Minutes of the Meetings, 1979
  19 Minutes of the Meetings, 1980
  20 Minutes of the Meetings, 1983-1985
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
5 1 Minutes of the Meetings, 1983-1984
  2 Minutes of the Meetings, 1985-1987
  3 Minutes of the Meetings, Reports, 1986
  4 Minutes of the Meetings, 1988
  5 Minutes of the Meetings, 1989
  6 Minutes of the Meetings, 1990
  7 Minutes of the Meetings, 1991-1992
  8 Minutes of the Meetings, 1992-93
  9 Minutes of the Meetings, 1993
  10 Various Reports, Minutes of the Meetings, 1987-1994
  11 Minutes of the Meetings, 1994-1995
  12 Minutes of the Meetings, 1995
  13 Minutes of the Meetings, Reports, 1995-1998
  14 Minutes of the Meetings,Reports, 1996-1997
  15 Minutes of the Meetings, 1997-1998
  16 Minutes of the Meetings, 1998-1999
  17 Various Reports, 1998-1999
  18 Minutes of the Meetings, 1999-2000
  19 Agenda of Meetings, 2002-2008
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
6 1 Minutes of the Meetings, 2000-2001
  2 Minutes of the Meetings, 2001-2002
  3 Minutes of the Meetings, 2002-2003
  4 Minutes of the Meetings, 2003-2004
  5 Minutes of the Meetings, 2004-2005
  6 Minutes of the Meetings, 2005-2006
  7

Minutes of the Meetings, Reports, 2006-2007 (includes a school calendar year 2007-2008)

  8 Minutes of the Meetings, Reports, 2007-2008
  9 Agenda of the Meetings, 2009
  10 Minutes of the Meetings, 2009
  11 Minutes of the Meetings, Reports, 2009-2010
  12 Minutes of the Meetings, Reports, 2010-2011
  13 Minutes of the Meetings, Reports, 2010-2011
  14 Lists of Members present at the Annual Meetings, 1988-1999
  15 Annual Reports, 2000-2001
  16 Annual Reports, 2002-2008
  17 Minutes of the Meetings, Reports, 2012

Return to Top

Correspondence
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
7 1 Correspondence, 1947-1948
  2 Correspondence, 1965
  3-4 Correspondence, 1969
  5 Correspondence, 1970
  6 Correspondence, 1971
  7 Correspondence, 1972
  8 Correspondence, 1972-1974
  9-10 Correspondence, 1976
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
8 1 Correspondence, 1977
  2 Correspondence, 1978
  3 Correspondence, 1979
  4 Correspondence, 1980-1981
  5 Correspondence, 1980-1982
  6 Correspondence, 1981-1982
  7-8 Correspondence, 1982-1983
  9 Correspondence, 1983-1984
  10 Correspondence, 1983-1985
  11 Correspondence, 1985-1985
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
9 1 Correspondence, 1985
  2 Correspondence re: Proposal for Senior Citizens' Housing Project, 1986-1987
  3 Correspondence, 1986
  4-5 Correspondence, 1987
  6

Correspondence re: the Building at 667 Ave.,, 1990-1991

(confidential)

  7 Correspondence, 1990
  8 Correspondence, 1991-1992
  9 Correspondence, 1990-1995
  10 Correspondence, 1991-1995
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
10 1 Correspondence, 1992-1993
  2 Correspondence, 1993-1996
  3 Correspondence, 1998
  4 Correspondence, 2003-2004
  5 Correspondence, 2006
  6 Correspondence, 2006-2007
  7 Correspondence, 2007
  8 Thank you Letters re: Shipments of Books to Ukraine, 2001-2007
  9 Agreement between Ukrainian Reading Association "Chytal'na Prosvita" and Ukrainian Canadian Foundation of Taras Shevchenko (August 2007), 2007-2008
  10 Correspondence - Taras Shevchenko Foundation, 2002-2006
  11 Correspondence re: Famine-Genocide Documentary Film Project, 2007-2008
  12 Correspondence - Litopys UPA, 2008
  13 Correspondence, 2008
  14 Correspondence - Iurii Luhovy "Genecide Revealed", 2008
  15 Ukrainian Canadian Cultural and Educational Centre (Oseredok) - Famine=Holodomor: a Symposium, November 2008
  16 Minutes of Meeting - the Ukrainian Canadian Congress - Annual Report, Bulletin, 2008-2009
  17 Correspondence, 2009-2010
  18

Correspondence re: Documentary Films: Okradena ZemliaBereza Kartuzka, 2010

(includes newspaper clippings)

  19 Correspondence, 2010-2011
  20 Ukrainian Cultural Events, 1971-2010
  21 Correspondence, 2012

Return to Top


Financial Statements
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
11 1 Ledger, 1910-1918
  2 Ledger, 1933-1934
  3 Financial Statements - Bingo Revenues, 1991
  4 Financial Statements, 1991-1993
  5 Bingo Licenses, 1993 (confidential)
  6 Ledger Records, 1992-1995
  7 Financial Statements, 1997-2005
  8 Financial Statements, 1998-2008
  9 Financial Statements, 2006-2010
  10 Advertisements in the newspapers, 2006-2010
  11 Ledger, 2006-2010

Return to Top


Ukrainian Reading Association School "Ridna Shkola"
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
12 1

90th Anniversary of Ukrainian School "Ridna Shkola"(2008), 2010 (a newspaper article)

  2 "Proiekt prohram navchannia v ridnykh shkolakh Svitova Koordynatsiina Vykhovno-Osvitnia Rada", 1970 (an article)
  3 Ukrainian Music Program for Ukrainian Schools "Prohrama vykladu muzyky", Edmonton
  4 Ukrainian Language Program for Ukrainian Schools "Ukrainis'ka Movna diial'nist'"
  5 "Ridna Shkola" - Brochures, Advertisements (Drafts), 2003 (includes one CD)
  6 "Ridna Shkola" - Forms, Signs
  7 "Ridna Shkola" - Regitration Info, 1993-2002
  8 "Ridna Shkola" - Rules and responsibilities of teachers and parents, 1994-2004
  9 "Ridna Shkola" - Reports, 1989-1992
  10 "Ridna Shkola" - School Calendar Year 1996-1997
  11 "Ridna Shkola" - School Calendar Year 1997-1998
  12 "Ridna Shkola" - School Calendar Year 1998-1999
  13 "Ridna Shkola" - School Calendar Year 1999-2000
  14 "Ridna Shkola" - School Calendar Year 2000-2001
  15 "Ridna Shkola" - School Calendar Year 2001-2002
  16 "Ridna Shkola" - School Calendar Year 2002-2003
  17-18 "Ridna Shkola" - School Calendar Year 2003-2004
  19 "Ridna Shkola" - School Calendar Year 2004-2005
  20 "Ridna Shkola" - School Calendar Year 2005-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
13 1 "Ridna Shkola" - School Calendar, Report, 2004-2005
  2 "Ridna Shkola" - School Calendar Years 2006-2008
  3 "Ridna Shkola" - School Calendar Year 2009-2010
  4 "Ridna Shkola" - Graduation Programs, 1988-2008
  5 "Ridna Shkola" - Mother's Day Programs (drafts), 1986-2003
  6 "Ridna Shkola" - St. Nicholas Concert Programs (drafts), 1993-2003
  7 "Ridna Shkola" - Taras Shevchenko Concert Programs (drafts), 1982-2003
  8 "Ridna Shkola" - Sichovi stril'tsi - Program (draft), 1997
  9 "Ridna Shkola" - Holodomor 1932-33 - Programs, 2006 (includes children drawings)
  10-11 "Ridna Shkola" - The End of School Year Programs, 1995-2001
  12 "Ridna Shkola" - "Festival zhyvoho slova", 1996 (includes 4 photographs)
  13 "Ridna Shkola" - Minutes of the Parents Meetings, 1996-2002
  14 "Ridna Shkola" - Minutes of the Parents Meetings, 2001-2002 (confidential)
  15 "Ridna Shkola" - Minutes of the Parents Meetings, 2003-2004
  16 Survey for the Manitoba Ethnocultural Advisory and Advocacy Council (MEAAC), 2003
  17 "Ridna Shkola" - School Cultural Events, 1997-1998
  18 "Ridna Shkola" - School Cultural Events, 2004-2009
  19 Ukrainian Cultural Events, 2008-2009
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
14 1 "Ridna Shkola" Information Bulletins and Reports to Patrents, 1986-1996
  2 "Ridna Shkola" Information Bulletins and Reports to Patrents, 1990-2003
  3 "Ridna Shkola" - Information Bulletins and Reports to Patrents (drafts), 1997-2003
  4 "Ridna Shkola" - Teaching Material - List of Textbooks (for more info see "Ridna Shkola" - School Journals)
  5-6 "Ridna Shkola" - Teaching Material - "Bukvars"
  7 "Ridna Shkola" - Teaching Material - Ukrainian Customs (class 10)
  8 "Ridna Shkola" - Teaching Material - Ukrainian Grammar, Assignments (class 10)
  9 "Ridna Shkola" - Teaching Material - Geography, History of Ukraine
  10 Ukrainian World Congress - Education Needs Assessments and Questionnaire, 1997-1998
  11 "Ridna Shkola" - Newspaper Clippings, Articles, 1978-2013

Return to Top


"Ridna Shkola" - School Journals - Restricted Material 1958-2011
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
15   "Ridna Shkola" - School Dairies 1958-1983 (restricted)
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
16   "Ridna Shkola" - School Journals 1983-1989 (restricted)
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
17   "Ridna Shkola" - School Journals 1989-2003 (restricted, lacks 1998-2001)

Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
18   "Ridna Shkola" - School Journals 2003-2011 (restricted)

Return to Top


"Ridna Shkola" - Personal Information re: Students and Teachers - Restricted Material
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
19 1 Address Lists, CV's of Teachers, and Members of Prosvita (restricted)
  2-3 Students Report Cards, 1953-1966 (restricted)
  4-7 Students Address Lists, 1983-2009

Return to Top

Additional Material donated in 2012
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
20 1 Brief History of Ukrainian Reading Association "Chytal'na Prosvita"
  2 List of Ukrainian Supplementary Schools
  3 List of Students of "Ridna Shkola", 1930-1940, 1976-78
  4 Ridna Shkola - Empty Forms
  5 Ridna Shkola - Drawing by S. Lebedyn (original)
  6 Ridna Shkola - Proiekt Prohram Navchannia v Ridnykh Shkolakh (vid 1 do 7 kliasy), 1970
  7 Ridna Shkola - Proiekt Prohram Navchannia v Ridnykh Shkolakh (vid 1 do 7 kliasy), 1980
  8 Report of Cultural and Education Committee by Shepertyts'kyi (Shepertytckyj), 1983
  9 Council of Ukrainian Supplementary Schools in Winnipeg, 1984-1990
  10 Ridna Shkola - Financial Statements, 1982-1985
  11 Ridna Shkola - Reports, Minutes of the Meetings, 1985-1988, 1993
  12 Agenda for Annual Meetings, 1984, 1985, 1987
  13 Ridna Shkola - Linguistic Support Application Grants, 1987-1989 (confidential, includes financial statements)
  14 Ridna Shkola - Grant Applications, 1987-1990 (confidential)
  15 Chytal'na Prosvita - Minutes of the Meetings, 2011 (includes reports from "Ridna Shkola" and Ukrainian Canadian Congress (KUK)
  16 Ridna Shkola - Invitations (programs) to the Graduations and Cultural Events, 1979-1999
  17 Ridna Shkola - Mother's Day - "Den' Materi" - Programs, 1982-1995
  18 Ridna Shkola - Shevchenko Concerts - Programs, 1971-1999
  19 Ridna Shkola - St. Nicholas Concerts - Programs, 1970-1994, 1999, 2012
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
21 1 Ridna Shkola - Correspondence, 1977-1989
  2 Ridna Shkola - Correspondence, 1983-1997
  3 Ridna Shkola - Correspondence - A. Shepertytskyi (Shepertycky) - Drafts, 1988-1994
  4-5 Ridna Shkola - Andrew Mynarski School - Permits, Correspondence, 1980-1994 (confidential)
  6 Ridna Shkola - Reports and Information to the Parents (Informatsiinyi lystokZahal'ni zbory bat'kivs'koho komiteru), 1982-1997
  7 Ridna Shkola - Memorial Trust Fund of A. Surasky, 1990
  8 Chytal'na Prosvita - Correspondence, 1997
  9 Chytal'na Prosvita - Correspondence, 2011-2012
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
22 1-2 Ridna Shkola - A. Shepertyts'kyi (Shepertycky) - Speeches, 1981-1993
  3 Ridna Shkola - A. Shepertyts'kyi (Shepertycky) - Teacher's notes for class 4-5
  4-5 Ridna Shkola - A. Shepertyts'kyi (Shepertycky) - Correspondence - Drafts, 1971-1993
  6 Ridna Shkola - Graduation Speeches, 1965-1991
  7 Ukrainian Canadian Congress, 1990
  8 Ridna Shkola - Canadian Teachers Conference, Winnipeg, 1991
  9 Ukraine/Canada Education Conference in Ukraine, 1991
  10 National Arts & Crafts & Literary Contest - Ukrainian Canadians (1891-1991), 1991
  11 Ukrainian National Association Essay Contest - Correspondence, 1988
  12 Chytal'na Prosvita - Obituaries - William Karabin, 2011
  13-16 Ridna Shkola - Newspaper Clippings, 1970-1996, 2011
  17 Bulletins - North Winnipeg Credit Union Society Ltd., 1969, 1972
  18 Ukrainian Canadian Congress - Canadian Teacher Conference, Winnipeg, 1981
  19 Ukrainian Canadian Congress - Ukrainian Language School Committee - Minutes, 1983
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
23 1 Ukrainian Canadian Congress, 1982-1984
  2 Ridna Shkola - Ukrainian Language Teachers Seminar, Alberta, 1984
  3 Ukrainian Canadian Congress - Member Organizations, Contacts, 1986-1987 (confidential)
  4 Ukrainian Canadian Congress - Resolution of Ukrainian Language School Committee, 1989
  5 Ukrainian Canadian Congress, 1990
  6 Ukrainian Canadian Congress, 1991
  7 Ridna Shkola - Teaching Material - History - "Novitnia Istoriia Ukrainy XIX -XX st.", 1970
  8 Ridna Shkola - Teaching Material
  9 Ridna Shkola - List of Textbooks
  10 Ridna Shkola - Teaching Material - History of Ukraine
  11 Ridna Shkola - Teaching Material - Ukrainian Language and Literature
  12 Ridna Shkola - Teaching Material - Geography
  13 Ridna Shkola - Teaching Material - Shevchenko - Newspaper Clippings, 1950-1968
  14 Ridna Shkola - Teaching Material - Miscellaneous

Return to Top

"Ridna Shkola" - School Journals - Students Info - Restricted Material
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
24 1 Ridna Shkola - Students, 1980-1989 (restricted)
  2 Ridna Shkola - Students, 1990-1997 (restricted)
  3 Ridna Shkola - Students, 2010-2011 (restricted)
  4 Ridna Shkola - Lists of Teachers, 1983-1989, 1993-1994 (restricted)
  5 Biographies of Members of Chytal'na Prosvita (restricted)
  6 Ridna Shkola - School Journals, 1981-1990, 1990-1991
  7 Ridna Shkola - School Journals, 1992-1993

Return to Top

Photograph Collection - Pc 317, A.11-91 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                             
1 Oversize Graduates, Educators
   

Graduates, Educators

  • 1974
  • 1979
  • 1979-1980
  • 1980-1981
  • 1981-1982
  • 1983-1984
  • 1984-1985
  • 1985-1986
  • 1987-1988
  • 1989-1990
  • 1990-1991
  • 1992-1993
  • 1994-1995
  • 1996-1997 (includes negatives)
  • 1997-1998
  • 1998-1999 (includes negatives)
  • 2000-2001 (including negatives)
  • 2005-2006 (includes negatives)
  • 2007-2008 (includes an image on CD)
  • 2008-2009
  • 2009-2010
  • 2002-2003 - negatives only
  • 2003-2004 - negatives only
  • Diploma presented to Vasyl Karabin, Kiev-Mohyla Academy
  • Board of Directors, North Winnipeg Credit Union - 2 photographs
  • Miscellaneous pictures from the Chytal'na Prosvita's building

Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                             
2 Oversize
  • Plastic Poster - (1905-2005) 100 Years of "Chytal'na Prosvita"
  • Photograph - Members of the "Chytal'na Prosvita" in 1931
  • Photograph - Graduates of "Chytal'na Prosvita" in 1974
  • Document - Financial Contribution to the Shevchenko Monument in 1961

(photographs and documents located in the Map Cabinet)

Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                             
3 Oversize "Ridna Shkola" - Albums, 2002-2003; 2004-2005; 2005-2009
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 1 "Ridna Shkola" - School Year - Group photo, 1962-1963 (1 photograph)
  2 Theatrical groups, 1919, 1950 (2 photographs)
  3 Ukrainian Labour Union Members, 1959 (one photographs)
  3 Ukrainian Reading Association "Chytal'na Prosvita" - Board of Directors (9 photographs)
  4 Members of "Chytal'na Prosvita" - Group photo, ca 1960 (one photograph)
  5 Board of Directors, 20th Anniversary Dinner (1963) - North Winnipeg Credit Union, 1955, 1957, 1961, 1963,1968 (5 photographs)
  6 Michael Vorobets(2 photographs)
  7 Members of "Chytal'na Prosvita", ca 1960 (one photograph)
  8 Funeral of Andrei Hospodyn (6 photographs)
  9 667 Leila Ave. Building - 2001 Move - Interior, 2001 (25 photographs)
  10 "Chytalna Prosvita" - Shipment to Chornobyl - Medicine for Ivankiv, Ukraine (one photograph)
  11

Ukrainian Volleyball Team "Krylati", 1993 (one photograph) 

(includes an article from Ukrainian Voice)

  12 Natalia Bukailo (Director) and other teachers of "Ridna Shkola", 2005 (5 photographs)
  13 100 Years of St. Nicholas Ukrainian Catholic Church - Celebrations at "Ridna Shkola". 2003 (15 photographs)
  14 "Ridna Shkola" - School Events, 2004-2005 (27 photographs, 24 negatives)
  15 "Ridna Shkola" - School Events (2 photographs, 130 negatives)
  16 "Ridna Shkola" - Graduates and Educators (2 photographs, 99 negatives,)
  17 "Chytal'na Prosvita" Board of Directors signing an agreement with the Shevchenko Foundation, August 4, 2007 (one photograph - includes a press release)
  18 Roman Shukhevych Museum (10 photographs)
  19 Commemorative stamps (Millennium of Christianity in Ukraine; ChornobylAnatoly Marchenko; Alexander Archipenko)
  20 Ridna Shkola - Building (1 photograph)
  21

Ridna Shkola - Graduations, Cultural Events, 1980's - 1990's (21 photographs)

(includes newspaper clippings)

  22 Ridna Shkola - Cultural Events, Board Meetings, 1980's - 1990's (11 photographs)
  23 Ridna Shkola - Graduations, 1980's -1990's (10 photographs)
  24 Ridna Shkola - Negatives (27 negatives)
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
5   "Ridna Schola" - Albums, 1987-2003; 2003-2005

Return to Top


Videos
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
5 1

Two lectures by Matvii Stakhiv, A. Batiuk, 1965

(reel-to-reel)

  • Rolia zakordonu v borot'bi za suverennist' Ukrains'koi Narodnoi Respubliky v rokakh 1918-1919
    • Istoriia Ukrains'koho Robitnychoho Soiuzu ta ioho kul'turno-osvitnia i dopomohova diial'nist' sered ukrains'koi spil'noty v Kanadi i ZDA
  2 56th Anniversary of Chytal'na Prosvita, 1961

(reel-to-reel)

  3 "Kachechka Prachechka"

(reel-to-reel)

Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
6 1

St. Nicholas Concerts performed by students of Ukrainian Reading Association "Prosvita", 1986 (VHS cassette)

  2 St. Nicholas Concerts performed by students of Ukrainian Reading Association "Prosvita", 1987 (VHS cassette)
  3 St. Nicholas Concerts performed by students of Ukrainian Reading Association "Prosvita", 1988 (VHS cassette)
  4 St. Nicholas Concerts performed by students of Ukrainian Reading Association "Prosvita", 1991 (VHS cassette)
  5 St. Nicholas Concerts performed by students of Ukrainian Reading Association "Prosvita", 1989 (VHS cassette)
  6 St. Nicholas Concerts performed by students of Ukrainian Reading Association "Prosvita", 2000 (VHS cassette)
  7 "Ridna Shkola" - Graduation Evening, 2003
  8 Ukrainian Folk Songs for Children (reel-to-reel)
  9

Lectures by Prof. Kostiuk, 1964 (reel-to-reel)

  • Vynnychenko
    • Hrushevs'kyi
  10 Teachers Conference, Winnipeg, 1991

Return to Top


Additional material donated in 2013 - Pc 317, A11-91
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
7 1

AShepernyts'kyi Ridna Shkola, 1995-1996

(8 photographs)

  2

A. Shepernyts'kyi and Ridna Shkola, 1979-1993

(36 photographs, 4 slides)

  3

Executive Boards, 1980's-1990's

(11 photographs)

  4

Graduates, Educators, 1979-1999

(21 photographs)

  5

Ridna Shkola, 1979-1980

(24 photographs)

  6

M. Kaluzhniats'ka - Ridna Shkola, 1974

(4 photographs, 22 negatives)

  7

Ridna Shkola - Negatives, 1980-1991

(212 negatives)

Return to Top


Artifact
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
7   Ukrainian Reading Association "Prosvita" (667 Flora Ave.) - Stamp

Return to Top


TC 166 - Audio-Cassettes
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1

Ridna Shkola - Graduation, 1990

(2 audio-cassettes)

Return to Top


Artifacts - Oversize
  • A list of donors who contributed to the Ukrainian Reading Association’s building (1921) - framed
  • Picture of Mother Prosvita, Shevchenko, Franko...- framed
  • Mother Prosvita - Oversize drawing (backdrop) - 2m long

(stored in 334B Archives & Special Collections)

Return to Top