The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg Manitoba
(1998)
Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (June 2002)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Administrative History of United Grain Growers Limited
Scope and Contents of the Papers
Detailed Description of the Collection
Minutes and Minute Books 1990-1993
Correspondence re: First Fifty Years 1954
Speeches and Addresses 1939-1990
Inquiries and Submissions 1951-1986
Administrative History of United Grain Growers Limited
Preface
On 17 October 1877, the first shipment of western Canadian wheat destined for an overseas market left Winnipeg by flatboat up the Red River. Precisely one hundred and thirteen years later on 17 October 1990, the United Grain Growers Limited, headquartered in Winnipeg, donated its corporate archives of valuable historical material to the University of Manitoba. Established in 1906 at Sintaluta, Saskatchewan as the Grain Growers Grain Company Limited, the company amalgamated with the Alberta Co-operative Elevator Company Limited in 1917 to form the United Grain Growers Limited. Owned and directed by western farmers, the "UGG" operates hundreds of country elevators throughout the prairie west, maintains grain terminals at the Lakehead and on the west coast, buys and ships farmers' grain, and produces chemicals, fertilizers, seed and other agricultural products and services. United Grain Growers has published various farm-oriented magazines, the most notable of which are the Country Guide and the Canadian Cattlemen .
Now housed and preserved in the Archives & Special Collections on the third floor of the Dafoe Library, the UGG collection is an historical treasure of minute books, correspondence, internal studies and reports, rare and unique pamphlets and other publications on the farmer and the grain trade, a full run of the information-laden Country Guide beginning in 1909, a wide range of photographs and much more. A late added feature, commissioned by the company for its 75th anniversary, is a collection of almost three hundred histories of UGG locals in towns and cities throughout the four western provinces. The collection is open to responsible research and inquiry.
This finding aid is designed to accommodate future accessions of incoming archival material. Additional sheets of descriptives to new materials will be prepared, as needed, for insertion in the appropriate section.
Jeffrey M. Long processed the collection according to high archival standards and prepared this excellent research tool. He is to be commended for his fine efforts.
The University of Manitoba wishes to express its thanks to the United Grain Growers Limited for entrusting its valuable archives with the university. It has already become a foundation to the efforts to establish a fine, new research facility--"The Archives of the Agricultural Experience."
Richard E. Bennett,
Head, Archives & Special Collections
October 1992
UGG: A SHORT HISTORY AND CHRONOLOGY
A. History
At the opening of the twentieth century, western agriculture was expanding at an unprecedented rate. Thousands of acres of new land were being brought under cultivation and new production records were being established. Grain handling facilities were in the hands of private companies and producers were very dissatisfied with their treatment under existing conditions. The Territorial Grain Growers Association was formed in 1902 followed by the Manitoba Grain Growers Association in 1903. These organizations did much to improve conditions, but many inequities remained. Finally a small group of prairie farmers, led by E.A. Partridge of Sintaluta, Saskatchewan, decided that the solution to their marketing problem lay in forming their own grain handling organization. Out of this arose the Grain Growers' Grain Company Limited, the first farmer-owned and farmer-managed co-operative grain handling organization in western Canada.
Country Elevator System
In its early years, the Grain Growers Grain Company Limited operated as a commission firm only. Its first venture into the operation of elevators came in 1912 when it leased 174 elevators from the Manitoba Government, of which it operated 135. Shortly after, it began the purchasing and building of elevators. The Alberta Farmers' Co-operative Elevator Company Limited was incorporated in 1913 and immediately began building elevators. By the time of the amalgamation of the two companies in 1917, the Grain Growers Grain Company Limited owned 60 elevators, 55 coal sheds and 78 warehouses, and operated another 137 elevators on lease from the Manitoba Government while the Alberta Farmers' Co-operative Elevator Company Limited owned 103 elevators, 122 coals sheds and 145 warehouses. By the time the 1917 construction program was completed, the new company was operating 332 country elevators, 184 coal sheds and over 200 warehouses.
The Company continued to build elevators during the twenties and also purchased many of the Manitoba Government elevators which it had been leasing. By 1932, it owned and operated 468 country elevators. During the next ten years, including the drought period, the Company sold or dismantled a number of elevators and by 1939 the number was reduced to 439. In 1943 the Company purchased the elevator system of the Gillespie Grain Company Limited and also a number of elevators from other companies. During the war years, it built a large number of annexes to take care of the grain surplus. By 1947 it owned and operated 515 country elevators with 324 annexes, with a total capacity of 25,600,000 bushels. In 1948 the Company purchased 110 elevators from the Reliance Grain Company Limited and five from the Anderson Elevator Company, and in 1954 purchased 65 elevators from the Midland and Pacific Grain Corporation Ltd. In 1959 the Company purchased 129 elevators from the Canadian Consolidated Grain Company Limited. With the UGG purchase on 1 August 1961 of the assets of Canada West Grain Company, five country elevators were included. The acquisition of McCabe Grain Company facilities added a terminal at Thunder Bay and country elevators at 72 points.
Consolidation of elevator facilities and the building of new elevators and annexes found the Company with country elevators and annexes at 276 points, with a combined capacity of 1.12 million tonnes by 31 July 1990.
Terminal Elevator History
At the Annual Meeting of the Grain Growers Grain Company Limited in 1912, the Directors were authorized to acquire terminal space at the Lakehead. Two Fort William terminals, operating as a single unit with a capacity of 2,300,000 bushels, were leased from the Canadian Pacific Railway. In 1913 another terminal in Fort William was purchased. The terminal which burned down in 1916 was replaced with a 300,000 bushel terminal in Port Arthur. These elevators served company needs at the Lakehead until 1927, at which time a modern and efficient 5,500,000 bushel terminal was built. During the grain surplus period in the Second World War, two temporary annexes were built bringing the total storage capacity to 9,500,000 bushels. These temporary annexes, however, were dismantled with the disappearance of the surplus. Following the purchase of the Reliance Grain Company elevators and the extensive network of country annexes, it became necessary to enlarge the terminal. Subsequently, in 1952, a 1,000,000 bushel annex was builtbringing the capacity to 6,500,000 bushels. In September 1959 the outshore annex of the terminal collapsed and was replaced with a 4,250,000 bushel annex, bringing the total capacity of the terminal A to 8,250,000 bushels.
In 1959 the Company acquired a 1,500,000 bushel terminal from Consolidated Grain, but this terminal was taken out of service in 1970.
In 1969 the United Grain Growers acquired a very large terminal from McCabe Grain with a rated capacity of 3.5 million bushels. This terminal operates from a central control panel and is well advanced in automation. A single pass cleaning system installed in 1983 allows greater versatility in cleaning different grains at a high capacity throughput.
In 1913 the Company acquired a small elevator at New Westminster to handle feed grains from Alberta. This elevator had fairly good business opportunities until the depression. During the depression the feed business was temporarily disrupted and the elevator was sold. In 1925 United Grain Growers Limited purchased a controlling interest in the Burrard Elevator Company. At the time, Burrard operated a terminal in Vancouver which was under lease from the Harbours Board. UGG bought out the remaining shareholders of Burrard in 1980 and operated the terminal under lease for 36 years. In 1966 UGG acquired the 500,000 bushel terminal outright.
In an effort to become more efficient and increase throughput, several upgrading programs have been undertaken. The capacity of the Vancouver terminal was increased to 1,500,000 bushels in 1932, 2,500,000 bushels in 1959, and 3,600,000 bushels in 1972. In 1980 a central control panel was installed which semi-automated the terminal. 1984 witnessed a new oilseed cleaning section,increased trackage capacity, as well as the installation of shiploaders. Land acquired from the port of Vancouver will allow for increased storage on the east side of the elevator.
On 6 March 1989 the Vancouver Terminal ceased all operations in preparation for a major upgrading of the trackshed area, cleaning facilities and the distribution system. The terminal commenced unloading cars approximately ten months later, in December 1989.
The trackshed area has undertaken a new unloading concept, allowing only hopper car unloads. The track scale has been replaced by a batch weight scale, and car progressors are utilized for spotting cars.
Existing barley and wheat cleaners have been replaced with four rotary barley cleaners, and three new wheat cleaner sections increasing the cleaning capabilities immensely. The new distribution system will allow for a more efficient movement of grain within the terminal.
Management of the terminals has taken a new approach with the operations of the two Thunder Bay terminals. Previously both houses handled Canadian Wheat Board grains, but today one terminal is strictly handling wheat, barley and oats, and the other handles flax, rye, canola and specialty crops. The new approach not only provides more flexibility, but also enhances the types and amounts of grains and specialty crops the Company can sell.
Crop Production Services - Crop Production Products
The Grain Growers' Grain Company Ltd. first entered the farm supply field when a flour mill was leased in Rapid City, Manitoba, in 1913. The same year other supplies like apples and coal were sold to farm customers. At first, producers were reluctant to sell their products through farmer-owned organizations. This changed, however, when the Company demonstrated the variety and amount of products that could be sold to farm customers.
The Alberta Farmers' Co-operative Elevator Company Limited set up a Farm Supplies Department in its first year (1913) to handle flour and feeds. Later, twine, coal, barbed wire, and salt, as well as fruit and vegetables, were added.
The Company has continued to sell farm supplies throughout the years although commodities have changed to meet conditions. After a brief experiment, the handling of farm machinery and lumber was discontinued as the handling of these commodities was a specialized business which did not fit the Company's structure. While fruit and vegetables sales disappeared, new commodities such as fertilizer, livestock and poultry feeds and 2,4-D weed killer were later added.
For many years twine and coal were the backbone of the Company's sales. Twine continues as a commodity, but coal is now sold at just a few locations. In the 1990/91 crop year, crop protection products accounted for 63.18% of farm supplies' sales and fertilizer accounted for 36.8% of sales.
The United Grain Growers Limited has long recognized the need to provide complete Crop Production services to its shareholders and customers. The value of these services and the competition it provides in the farm community is recognized by the total agricultural industry. It is the policy of the Crop Production Services to provide the best value in each product handled, in quality, services and price. Crop Production products are normally sold on a low-earnings basis. The United Grain Growers Limited believes that the Crop Production Services should not be subsidized by other departments but that sufficient profit should be generated to assure the continued maintenance and expansion of facilities to meet the changing needs of its customers.
This policy has allowed UGG to maintain and expand its share of the western Canadian crop production market and to respond to changing needs and technologies.
B. Chronology
1906 (27 January) Organization meeting, Sintaluta, Saskatchewan
1906 (20 July) Date of Original Charter
1906 (26 July) First meeting of Provisional Directors; E.A. Partridge appointed President
1906 (26 July) First meeting of Provisional Directors; E.A. Partridge appointed President
1906 (8 November) Trading privileges on Winnipeg Grain Exchange canceled
1906 (December) Partridge, Kennedy and Spencer pledged personal assets to keep bank from closing out the Company account
1907 (5 February) First General Meeting of Shareholders
1907 (15 April) Trading privileges on Winnipeg Grain Exchange restored
1907 (16 July) First Annual Meeting of Company, T.A. Crerar appointed President and General Manager
1908 (June) First issue of Grain Grower's Guide
1909 (20 May) The Public Press Limited established
1911 (19 May) The Company received Dominion Charter
1912 (July) Company began country elevator operations
1912 (October) Company began terminal elevator operations
1913 (25 March) Alberta Farmers Co-operative Elevator Company Limited incorporated
1913 (May) Farm Supplies Department opened
1916 (March) Livestock branch opened
1917 (August) Vaughan Street building occupied by the Public Press Limited
1917 (1 September) The Grain Grower's Grain Company and Alberta Farmers Co-op. Elevator Company amalgamated to form the United Grain Growers Limited
1917 (9 October) The Grain Growers Guide Limited incorporated
1925 Commenced terminal elevator operations at Vancouver
1927 5,500,000 bushel terminal constructed at Port Arthur, Ontario
1928 (28 March) Name of the Grain Growers Guide changed to The Country Guide
1930 (16 January) R.S. Law appointed President & General Manager
1936 Country Guide purchased Nor'West Farmer
1943 Elevators purchased from Gillespie Grain Company Limited
1947 110 elevators purchased from Reliance Grain Company
1948 (1 January) J.E. Brownlee appointed General Manager
1948 (1 May) J.E. Brownlee appointed President
1952 A 1,000,000 bushel annex constructed at Port Arthur Terminal
1953 (29 September) Purchase by Public Press Limited of Canadian Cattlemen
1954 65 elevators purchased from Midland and Pacific Grain Corporation Limited
1955 (25 August) Purchase by Public Press Limited of Canadian circulation of Country Gentlemen
1957 (24 July) Cornerstone laid for Public Press building on Ellice Avenue, Winnipeg
1958 (18 September) Official opening of new Public Press building combined with commemoration of 50th Anniversary of the first issue of The Grain Growers Guide
1959 (16 April) 129 elevators and terminal purchased from Canadian Consolidated Grain Company
1959 (23 September) Collapse of Outshore Terminal Annex at Port Arthur Terminal
1961 (24 March) Agreement signed with Canwest Grain Company Limited covering purchase of their assets including seed plants at Edmonton and Winnipeg and five country elevators in the Peace River area of Alberta
1961 (8 June) L. Driscoll appointed General Manager
1961 (1 July) A.M. Runciman elected President
1961 Construction completed of a 4,250,000 bushel terminal annex at Port Arthur replacing the smaller annex lost in 1959
1961 (1 August) UGG entered the forage and seed business with the purchase of the properties of Canada West Grain Company and Red River Grain Company Limited, consisting of two seed cleaning plants and five country elevators
1963 (January) Publication of a new series of bulletins, The Grain Grower
1964 UGG carried out the largest country construction program of its history — fourteen elevators and twenty annexes were completed
1965 Amendment to the Parliamentary Charter in 1965 provided for an increase in authorized capital from $7,500,000 to $12,000,000, an increase from 250 to 2,500 in the number of A shares that can be held by any one shareholder, and authorization to declare an additional dividend on Class A shares
1966 A new company incorporated — United Feeds Limited
1966 (November) Purchase of the terminal elevator at Vancouver, formerly operated under lease from the National Harbours Board
1968 (28 February) Purchase from the McCabe Grain company of a terminal elevator at Port Arthur and country elevators at 72 points
1970 (February) UGG and the three Wheat Pools combine to incorporate XCAN Grain Limited
1972 (July) Terminal pelleting operation transferred to the Grain Growers Export Company Limited
1972 (July) All country feed mills transferred to United Feeds Limited
1974 (January) Sale of XCAN shares to three Prairie Wheat Pools
1974 (August) Company re-entered the sales market for sale of non-Board grains, export grain and domestic feed grain
1976 (April) Field Service operations centralized in Winnipeg Approved major alterations to Vancouver Terminal at a cost of $20.8 million
1976 (September) Seed Division operation centralized in Winnipeg
1977 (November) After 60 years Head Office moved to 433 Main Street, Winnipeg
1978 (January) Specialty Crops Department set up to market corn, sunflowers, lentils, favabeans, buckwheat and other specialty crops
1980 (July) A record 4,235,000 tonnes of grain handled and Company net earnings of $9,195,000
1980 (September) Purchase of one-half of B.C. Packers' shares in United Oilseeds Products Limited
1981 (5 November) A.M. Runciman retired as Director and President
1981 (6 November) L.F.J. Hehn of Markinch, Saskatchewan, elected President
1982 (September) United Feeds purchased a Feed Mill (Dufferin Feed Service Ltd.), and entered feed business in Carman, Manitoba
1983 (August) Gordon D. Moss retired as General Manager
1983 (September) Gerry W. Moore appointed General Manager
1983 (November) D.R. Cusitar of Russell, Manitoba, elected First Vice-President
1984 (31 July) Earnings of $27.9 million, the highest in company history
1985 (17 January) Joint Venture Project with Allelix Incorporated to develop a Hybrid Canola variety
1985 (5 September) Acquisition of a feed lot at Sanford, Manitoba, operated under the name United Beef Feeders
1986 (1 August) Field Service Department restructured; District Managers took over the duties of Field Services
1986 (1 August) Five Area Offices reduced to three: Eastern, Central and Western
1986 (1 August) Establishment of a research and consulting enterprise, Farm Decision Resources
1987 (14 December) Company joins Canadian Agricultural Policy Alliance
1988 (October) United Oilseed Products crushing plant shut down due to negative crush margins
1989 (July) Sale of Innisfail, Alberta Pet Food Plant to Ralston Purina
1989 (Fall) Subsidiary Companies, Country Guide, Livestock Feeds and Terminals, officially dissolved
1989 (November) Purchase of food packaging division of Archibald Brokerage Limited
1989 (10 November) Mr. Ted Allen elected Senior Vice-President and Chief Executive Officer
1990 (16 November) Ted Allen of Taber, Alberta elected President and Chairman of the Board
1990 (31 December) G. Moore, Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer, retired
1991 (1 January) B. Hayward appointed Chief Executive Officer
1991 (20 June) Company sold its 50% interest in United Oilseed Products of Lloydminister. Its share of losses in the oilseed crushing business since
1974 amounted to over $13 million 1991 (8 July) Sale of Printing Division and Public Press Printing
1992 (21 February) Head office moved to the Toronto Dominion Centre, 201 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba
1992 (31 March) Sale of Sanford Feedlot
Scope and Contents of the Papers
The United Grain Growers Limited was founded in 1906 under the name of the Grain Growers Grain Company Limited. In 1917 it amalgamated with the Alberta Farmers Co-operative Elevator Company Limited, thereby forming the UGG. The collection documents these early years and, in some instances, illustrate aspects of the grain industry at the end of the nineteenth century. The collection presently fills some 84 containers, and occupies 39 linear feet of shelf space. The collection includes early documentation and by-laws, financial records, correspondence, submissions to inquiries and Royal Commissions, statistical information on many subjects dealing with agriculture in general, elevator records, and publications. Furthermore there are specific records which deal with UGG's six subsidiary companies.
For further insight into the collection, the researcher is directed to the first UGG company history (box 1, folder 1) and The Alberta Farmers Co-operative Elevator Company history (box 1, folder 5).
This accrual is organized according to the same set of series as the initial accrual, but additions have been made only to the following series. Also, an appendix has been added.
The material received in 1998 occupies boxes 85-106. The photographs included in this accrual were placed in Box 4 of PC 83.
In compliance with the deed of gift, the following conditions on access apply:
a) the donor allows free and equal access to all its papers held at the University of Manitoba provided that with respect to minutes of any board or committee proceedings, such access shall only be given to those persons who have received prior verbal or written approval from the donor which shall not be unreasonably withheld;
b) access shall be provided during regular business hours of the Archives & Special Collections, University of Manitoba Libraries;
c) photocopying is permitted users of the collection provided that such copies are for their own use and are made in accordance with the copyright laws of Canada; and
d) the University of Manitoba has the right to govern and restrict access by third parties to any part of the collection.
Initial Accrual (MSS 76)
Photographs (PC 83)
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 85 | 5 | Correspondence re: “Deep Furrows” - Jul 1954 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 87 | 1 | Revised Draft of Proposed Submission to Minister of Finance with regard to Taxation of UGG - 6 Dec 1946 |
| 2 | Correspondence with Minister of Finance re: Budget Suggestions - Dec 1963 | |
| 3 | UGG Presentation to Minister of Finance: Implementing Proposals of the Royal Commission on Taxation concerning Patronage Dividends - 4 Oct 1967 | |
| 4 | Capital Cost Allowances under the Income Tax Act on Grain Handling Facilities - 20 Jan 1967 | |
| 5 | Application for Extension of Paragraph (r) of Section 1100(1) of Income Tax Regulations relating to Capital Cost Allowances to Effect Improvement of Grain Handling Facilities at the Port of Vancouver - May 1968 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 87 | 6 | Address by Mr. Andrews - Jan 1939 |
| 7 | UGG Statement at Cooperative Credit Union Seminar - Sep 1961 | |
| 8 | Address by A. M. Runciman to Manitoba Farmers Union - 7 Dec 1965 | |
| 9 | Address by Ted Allen to Western Food Processors Association - 28 Jan 1982 | |
| 10 | Speeches by A. M. Runciman - 1980-1982 | |
| 11 | Speeches by L. F. J. Hehn - 1981-1983 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 88 | 1 | Speeches by L. F. J. Hehn - 1983-1984 |
| 2 | Speeches by L. F. J. Hehn - 1984-1985 | |
| 3 | Speeches by L. F. J. Hehn - 1985-1985 | |
| 4 | Speeches by L. F. J. Hehn - 1985-1986 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 89 | 1 | Speeches by L. F. J. Hehn - 1986-1987 |
| 2 | Speeches by L. F. J. Hehn - 1988-1989 | |
| 3 | Speeches by L. F. J. Hehn - 1989-1990 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 89 | 4 | Alberta Elevator Agent Book - 1921-1971 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 90 | 1 | Personnel File-cards of Elevator Agents - 1914-1935 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 91 | 1 | Private and Confidential Record of General Manager Transfer Sheets - 1930-1971 |
| 2 | Directors and Executive Committee Salary Order Register - 1950-1966 | |
| 3 | Biographical Information on Lester Snyder, including book of poetry We Care - [ca.1994] |
| Box | Folder | |
| 91 | 4 | Correspondence re: Hall Commission Submission - Jul - Aug 1975 |
| 5 | UGG Private Submission to Hall Commission - Aug 1975 | |
| 6 | Correspondence re: Hall Commission - 1976-1977 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 91 | 7 | Correspondence and Replies re: Royal Commission on Agricultural and Rural Life - Dec 1953 |
| 8 | Correspondence re: Royal Commission on Railway Transportation - 26 May 1959 | |
| 9 | UGG Submission to Council of Metropolitan Corporation of Greater Winnipeg - [ca.1961] | |
| 10 | UGG Submission to Government of Saskatchewan Requesting Tax Relief [ca.1960] | |
| 11 | Correspondence re: Bill C-70 - Dec 1962 | |
| 12 | UGG Suggestions re: Supply of Grain to the Lakehead - 23 Sep 1965 | |
| 13 | UGG Memorandum re: Disparities in Grading of Grain - 1 Jan 1968 | |
| 14 | UGG Memorandum re: Churchill as a Grain Port - 31 Jan 1968 | |
| 15 | Correspondence re: Revision of Canada Grain Act - 19 Dec 1969 | |
| 16 | UGG Submission to Province of Saskatchewan Highway Traffic Board re: Saskatchewan Trucking Association Proposal - 12 Jan1971 | |
| 17 | UGG Submission to Standing Committee on Agriculture re: Bill C-176 - 2 Feb 1971 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 92 | 1 | UGG Branchline Abandonment Study - 15 Sep 1962 |
| 2 | Correspondence re: Branchline Abandonment Study - 1962 | |
| 3 | UGG Statement re: Costing Concepts in Branchline Abandonment - 10 Jun 1968 | |
| 4 | UGG Submissions to Canadian Transport Commission re: Branchline Abandonment - 1985 - 1986 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 92 | 5 | UGG Presentations and Submissions re: Maximum Charges in Terminal Elevators for Tariff Hearing of the Board of Grain Commissionersfor Canada - 1951-1984 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 92 | 6 | Brief re: Canadian Car Demurrage Bureau - 3 Aug 1956 |
| 7 | Brief History of CMA or Crow’s Nest and Domestic Grain Rates - [ca.1954] | |
| 8 | An Inquiry to the Problems Relating to the Purchase and Sale of Grain for the British Columbia Domestic Market - 14 Apr 1961 | |
| 9 | UGG Statement to Standing Committee on Agriculture and Immigration re: Storage Charges on Grain - 27 Jun 1961 | |
| 10 | Correspondence re: Royal Commission on Banking and Finance - 12 Nov 1963 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 92 | 11 | Report of the Inquiry into the Distribution of Railway Boxcars - 1958 |
| 12 | UGG Presentation to the Boxcar Inquiry - Apr 1958 | |
| 13 | Reply of J. E. Brownlee at Boxcar Inquiry - Jun 1958 | |
| 14 | UGG Memorandum Submitted to the Hon. Gordon Churchill re: Allocation of Boxcars - Jun 1959 | |
| 15 | Submission and Supplement of Northwest Line Elevators Association -Apr - Jun 1958 | |
| 16 | A Comparison of the Number of Boxcars Shipped and Country Elevator Capacities - Apr 1958 | |
| 17 | Submission of Canadian National Railways - Mar 1958 | |
| 18 | Outline of Submission of Canadian Pacific Railway Company - 28 Mar 1958 | |
| 19 | Manitoba Pool Rebuttal Argument re: Boxcar Inquiry - [ca.1958] |
| Box | Folder | |
| 93 | 1 | Miscellaneous Papers |
| 2 | Western Agricultural Conference | |
| 2 | Wheat Pool Reports (Manitoba, Saskatchewan, and Alberta) | |
| 3 | Country and Terminal Elevators | |
| 3 | UGG Annual Reports and Minutes | |
| 4 | Single Company Points (Manitoba) | |
| 4 | Crops - Permits - Active Members | |
| 4 |
Groups of Farmer Witnesses (*binder destroyed, papers separated into acid-free folders |
| Box | Folder | |
| 93 | 5 | Manitoba - Briefs and Hearings |
| 6 | Saskatchewan - Briefs and Hearings | |
| 7 |
Alberta - Briefs and Hearings (*binder destroyed, papers separated into acid-free folders) |
| Box | Folder | |
| 93 | 8 |
Newspaper Clippings re: Boxcar Inquiry Western Producer, Winnipeg Free Press, Winnipeg, Tribune, etc. |
| 9 | Western Division - Box Car Distribution Years 1952-1953 and 1953-1955 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 94 | 1 | Presentation of Alberta Wheat Pool - 27 Mar 1958 |
| 2 | Submission of Saskatchewan Wheat Pool - 9 Apr 1958 | |
| 3 | Manitoba Pool Elevators Submission - 28 Mar 1958 | |
| 4 | Farmers Union of Alberta Presentation to Boxcar Inquiry [ca.1958] | |
| 5 | Manitoba Farmers Union Brief and Supplement to Boxcar Inquiry Commission - Apr - Jun 1958 | |
| 6 | Saskatchewan Farmers Union Presentation to Boxcar Distribution Inquiry - 13 Jun 1958 | |
| 7 | Submission by Shippers and Exporters Association of the Winnipeg Grain Exchange - 12 May 1958 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 94 | 8 | UGG Submission to Labour Canada - Aug 1978 |
| 9 | UGG Submission to Quota Review Committee - 21 Nov 1978 | |
| 10 | UGG Presentation to Taskforce on Grain Movement - 1 Aug 1979 | |
| 11 | Submission re: Government of Canada Policy Statement on Western Rail Transportation - Mar 1982 | |
| 12 | Highlights of UGG Presentation to Standing Committee on Transportation - 5 Aug 1983 | |
| 13 | Response re: Importation of Synthetic Bailer and Binder Twine - 23 Apr 1984 | |
| 14 | Presentation to Agriculture Canada - 23 Sep 1985 | |
| 15 | Submission to Quota Review Committee - Dec 1987 | |
| 16 | Financing the Next Generation of Farmers - A Report to the Standing Committee on Agriculture and Forestry - 14 Dec 1987 | |
| 17 | A Study on the Effect of Car Distribution - 15 Jan 1954 | |
| 18 | Minutes of Proceedings as Evidence - Standing Committee on Agriculture and Colonization - J. E. Brownlee, Witness - 17 May1954 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 95 | 1 | UGG Submission to the Commission on the Costs of Transporting Grain by Rail - Jun - Jul 1976 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 95 | 2 | Vol. 1 - 19 Apr 1976 |
| 3 | Vol. 2 - 20 Apr 1976 | |
| 4 | Vol. 3 - 21 Apr 1976 | |
| 5 | Vol. 4 - 22 Apr 1976 | |
| 6 | Vol. 5 - 23 Apr 1976 | |
| 7 | Vol. 6 - 24 Apr 1976 | |
| 8 | Vol. 7 - 26 Apr 1976 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 96 | 1 | Vol. 8 - 27 Apr 1976 |
| 2 | Vol. 9 - 28 Apr 1976 | |
| 3 | Vol. 10 - 29 Apr 1976 | |
| 4 | Vol. 11 - 30 Apr 1976 | |
| 5 | Vol. 12 - 1 May 1976 | |
| 6 | Vol. 13 - 3 May 1976 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 97 | 1 | Vol. 14 - 4 May 1976 |
| 2 | Vol. 15 - 5 May 1976 | |
| 3 | Vol. 16 - 6 May 1976 | |
| 4 | Vol. 17 - 7 May 1976 | |
| 5 | Vol. 18 - 8 May 1976 | |
| 6 | Vol. 19 - 21 Jun 1976 | |
| 7 | Vol. 20 - 22 Jun 1976 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 98 | 1 | Vol. 21 - 23 Jun 1976 |
| 2 | Vol. 22 - 24 Jun 1976 | |
| 3 | Vol. 23 - 25 Jun 1976 | |
| 4 | Vol. 24 - 26 Jun 1976 | |
| 5 | Vol. 25 - 28 Jun 1976 | |
| 6 | Vol. 26 - 29 Jun 1976 | |
| 7 | Vol. 27 - 30 Jun 1976 | |
| 8 | Vol. 28 - 1 Jul 1976 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 99 | 1 | Vol. 29 - 2 Jul 1976 |
| 2 | Vol. 30 - 3 Jul 1976 | |
| 3 | Vol. 31 - 5 Jul 1976 | |
| 4 | Vol. 32 - 26 Jul 1976 | |
| 5 | Vol. 33 - 27 Jul 1976 | |
| 6 | Vol. 34 - 28 Jul 1976 | |
| 7 | Vol. 35 - 29 Jul 1976 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 94 | 19 | F. J. Collyer and F. M. Black - Report on Livestock Marketing in Great Britain - 23 Sep 1921 |
| 20 | UGG - Grain Shortages and Overages at Country Elevators - Statement Presented at Annual Meeting - 1956 | |
| 21 | Livestock Marketing in Canada - A Series of Articles Reprinted from The Country Guide - [ca.1962] | |
| 22 | Miscellaneous “Animal Science” and “Field Crops” pages from The GrainGrower - 1968 - 1970 | |
| 23 | Short History of the UGG - 20 Apr 1970 | |
| 24 | Correspondence re: “From the Good Earth” pamphlet |
| Box | Folder | |
| 100 | 5 |
Alcock – Baron 1936-1981
• A. W. Alcock – “Miling Canadian Spring Wheat” (March 2, 1936) • Robert Andras – 3 addresses (1974) • W. M. V. Ash – “The Chartered Accountant - Man and Manager” (November 7, 1961) • Lloyd Axworthy – Brief presented to Axworthy by Farm Management Ltd. (November 18, 1981) • Carle E. Bagge. – “Innovation, Public Policy and Economic Growth” (Oct. 12, 1981) • Prof. W. B. Barker – “Challenges to the Co-operative Movement in the Mid-Century Environment of Canadian Agriculture” (March 31, 1954) • Sam Banks – “Problems Pecluliar to the Rapeseed Business” (June 23, 1975) • Don Baron – Consumer Marketing Conference (April 26, 1966) – One Prairie Province? A Question for Canada (May 1970) – Beef Cattle Growers’ Association (May 27, 1966) |
| 6 |
Beer – Bradford 1939-1985
• Bruce S. Beer – Minutes of Proceeding and Evidence of the Standing Committee on Agriculture (March 3, 1970) • Carl E. Beigie – General World Economy (November 1985) – Address to Western Canadian Economic Conference on the Food Industry (February, 1984) • Ezra Taft Benson – Address to the CFA (June 14, 1955) • C. F. Bentley – “Food for All: Can Agriculture Provide?” (June 26, 1967) • J. M. Bentley – Address to CFA (January 23, 1967) and Presentation to Prime Minister and Cabinet (February 27, 1967) • Robert Blair – Canadian Energy Industry Development (January 12, 1982) – Financial Analysts Federation Seminar (January 27, 1982) – Managing Mega Projects for Regional and Industrial Benefits (January 20, 1983) – Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association Inc. (June 1, 1982) • John Bracken – “Canadian Agriculture from a Western Viewpoint” (March 28, 1939) • Allan Blakeney – Remarks to Meeting on Grain Handling and Transportation (January, 1979) • William E. Bradford – “Creativity in Banking: a Response to Challenge” (October 5, 1982) |
| Box | Folder | |
| 101 | 1 |
Bronfman – Brown 1928-1969; n.d.
• Samuel Bronfman – “A World Half Prosperous, Half Starved” (April 30, 1962) • R. C. Brown – Address to UFM (1928) – Address to Rotary Club of Winnipeg (n.d.) – Address to Allied Printing Trade Luncheon (n.d.) – Address to Manitoba Farmers’ Union - n.d. – Address to Rotary Club of Winnipeg (April 16, 1952) – Address to Rotary Club of Brandon (January 7, 1930) – Broadcasted Speech “Agriculture as a Career” (April 6, 1933) – “Agriculture Development. Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow” (November, 1968) – Address to Canadian Seed Growers Association (March 6, 1969) – “Agriculture Development. Now and Tomorrow” (December 2, 1964) |
| 2 |
Brownlee – Christianson 1946-1984
• J. E. Brownlee – “The Problems of Agriculture” (October 4, 1955) – “Agriculture in the Post-War Years” (January 9, 1946) – “Agriculture at the Half Century Mark” (February 21, 1950) – “Current Events and Western Agriculture” (January 30, 1948) – Radio Address on Saskatchewan Co-operative Day (August 18, 1954) • Frank C. Burnet – “Whither Our Collective Bargaining System?” (November 18, 1976) • D. E. Campbell – Addresses on the Crow Rate (November 7, 1983 and January 24, 1984) • Canadian Broadcasting League – Speeches delivered at 1965 Conference • Alton S. Cartwright – “Enhanced U.S. Trade: the Key to Canadian Jobs and Economic Growth” (April 25, 1984) • J. W. Channon – “Alberta Grain Commission” (January 26, 1973) • Mr. Christianson – “Toast to the Company” (January, 1962) |
|
| 3 |
Churchill – Clyne 1958-1979
• Gordon Churchill – “Canada - U.S. Trade” (May 22, 1958) • J. W. Clarke – Address at Winnipeg Grain Exchange Annual Meeting (December 23, 1964) • J. V. Clyne – “False Profits” (June 27, 1974) – “Where is Canada Going” (January 17, 1977) – Address at Annual Meeting, MacMillan Bloedal Ltd. (April 28, 1971 and April 26, 1972) – “Multi-National Company” (May 12, 1969) – “Task Force on Canadian Unity” (March 16, 1979) – “The Establishment” (December 2, 1969) |
|
| 4 |
Costanzo – Dover 1969-1984
• G. A. Costanzo – “Oil Surpluses: Myths and Realities” (January 27, 1975) • Roy T. Cottier – “Speak up or be shut out” (March 20, 1984) • Barney Danson – Address to 38th Annual Conference of the Canadian Federation of Mayors and Municipalities (June 2, 1975) • Tony T. Dechant – Remarks to North American Meeting of IFAP (May 1973) – Address to 35th Annual Meeting of CFA (January 27, 1971) • Jean Desjardins – “How to Open the Market Successfully for the Small or Medieum Enterprise” (February 1984) • Donald A. Dover – Address to UGG Annual Meeting (November 6, 1974) – Address to Palliser Wheat Growers Association (January 12, 1974) – Address to Canadian Grains Council (1969) |
|
| 5 |
Diefenbaker – Esdale 1956-1982 and n.d.
• J. G. Diefenbaker – “Agriculture Problems and the Need for Parity Prices” (March 12, 1956) – “The Rule of an Opposition in Parliamentary Democracy” (February 1967) • Pamela A. Dixon – “The Status of Risk Management” (December 12, 1978) • Harold Dodds – “The Role of Print Media in Agricultural Technology Transfer”(March 6, 1982) • M. S. Donnelly – “The Farmer and Politics” (n.d.) • R. Douglas – “The Importance of Prairie Agriculture and the Interdependence with Thunder Bay” (January 15, 1974) • James E. Downey – Address to Annual Meeting of Can. Seed Growers Association(July 5, 1979) – Address to Can. Seed Trade Association Annual Meeting (July 9, 1979) • Allen Engel – Throne Speech Debate (1983) – “Farm Purchase Program - Land Bank Repeal; Will Saskatchewan Farmers be better off” (January 6, 1983) • R. M. Esdale – Address to Annual Meeting of Manitoba Pool Elevators (November 10, 1971) |
|
| 6 |
Evans – Gilson 1930-1983
• W. Sanford Evans – “The Futures Market and the Place of Speculator and the Short Selling” (November 19, 1935) – “Straight Talk on Wheat Problem” (March 4, 1930) • Marcel Faribault – “French Canada Today” (May 17, 1962) • Rowland C. Frazee – “Growing Pressures on Board of Directors” (November 29, 1983) • Michel Fribourg – “Wheat... and its Future” (April 26, 1972) • H. S. Fry – “What’s Ahead for Prairie Agriculture” (January 1945) • Ralph Ferguson – Address to Annual meeting of Ontario Pork Producers’ Marketing Board • James G. Gardiner – Address to Young Liberal Service Club (September 30, 1936) – Radio Address (April 10, 1939) – Radio Address over Saskatchewan hook-up (November 4, 1971) – Address to Closing session of 18th Federal/Provincial Agricultural Conference (December 5, 1956) • Stuart Garson – Radio Address “Manitoba’s Position on Oats and Barley Marketing” (March 31, 1948) • Henry Gauer – “Wheat Marketing Problems in Canada” (December 17, 1935) • W. F. Geddes – “The Chemist, the Miller and the Baker” (Match 25, 1936) • C. W. Gibbings – “Japan: Stable Model for Canada” (October 15, 1964) – Speech to UGG annual meeting (November 4, 1971) – “Where we go hereafter depends on what we go after here” (November 7, 1966) • J. C. Gilson – “The Role and Responsibility for Agrologists in Agricultural Policies” (April 8, 1970) – “Farm Policy: Mission Impossible?” (November 11, 1971) – “A National Food and Farm Price Policy” (March 2, 1967) |
| Box | Folder | |
| 102 | 1 |
Gordon – Ham 1932-1979
• Donald Gordon – “Grain on the Move” (September 26, 1962) • Herb Gray – “Toward Development of a National Food Policy” (March 30, 1977) • H. L. Griffin – “Public Policy in Relation to the Wheat Market” (August 1935) – “Public Policy in Relation to the Wheat Market Situation” (May 29, 1935) – “An Appraisal of the Canadian Wheat Situation” (December 1938) – “Wheat: The Outlook for the Future” (March 2, 1932) – “The Basis of the Wheat Problem” (October 1941) • C. A. Gracey – Address to UGG Annual Meeting (Nov 3, 1976) • H. Carleton Greene – “The Broadcaster’s Responsibility” (March 26, 1962) • N. Gregor Guthrie – “Canada 1973-1983: Decade of Challenge” (April 30, 1973) • Joseph Halow – “Will U. S. Fill Growing World Food Needs?” (January 11, 1979) • Alvin Hamilton – “Policy Making in Government – Wheat” (February 4, 1970) • Knut Hammarskjold – Address to Royal Aeronautical Society (April 26, 1979) • A. Leslie Ham – “The Glorious ‘Company’ of the ‘Profits’” (April 29, 1966) |
| 2 |
Hannam – Hedley 1951-1984
• H. H. Hannam – Address to B. C. Federation of Agriculture annual meeting (November 22, 1960) – “Does Professional Agriculture Serve Effectively?” (June 21, 1955) – Opening Address at 5th annual meeting of IFAP (May 29, 1951) • Bert Hargrave – Address at Medicine Hat Beef Packing Plant meeting (December 17, 1977) – Address at Alberta Agricultural Development Corporation annual conference (November 25, 1977) – Address to Society for Range Management (February 15, 1977) – Address at Canadian Water Resources Association conference (November 29, 1977) • W. E. Haviland – Speech at Conference Week, University of Manitoba (March 8, 1962) • Harry Hays – Speech to Calgary Chamber of Commerce (March 24, 1965) – Address at Ukrainian Day celebrations (August 23, 1964) • Edward Heath – “The Lessons for North America from the United Kingdom’s Post-War Experience” (June 25, 1975) • Douglas D. Hedley – “Role and Direction of Canada/Ontario in the World Agri-Food System” October 1984) |
|
| 3 |
Heffelfinger – James 1956-1987
• George Heffelfinger – “The Long Range Rationalization of the Grain Collection System in Western Canada” (March 31, 1970) • Forrest Hetland – Address to annual meeting of Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association (January 8, 1987) – Address to UGG annual meeting (November 3, 1977) – Address to UGG annual meeting (November 6, 1975) – Address to University of Saskatchewan Agriculture Graduation Banquet (February 10, 1984) – Address to 13th annual meeting of Palliser Wheat Growers Association (January 6, 1983) – “Trends in Wheat Diversification and Customer Demand” (April 21, 1976) • Duncan Holmes – Presentation to Western Canadian Economic Conference on the Food Industry (February 1984) • H. M. Horner – Speech to UGG Annual Convention (November 3, 1971) • J. H. Horner – “Trade: the Canada Compass” (June 2, 1983) • C. D. Howe – “The Facts About Canada’s Grain Position” (January 16, 1956) • R. B. Hunter – “The Livestock Situation in Western Canada” (March 2, 1927) • Lorne Hurd – “What Farmers Expect of Extension” (June 21, 1965) • Jack James – Presentation to Western Canadian Economic Conference on Food Industry (Febrary 1984) |
|
| 4 |
Jarvis – Johnston 1980-1985
• Esmond Jarvis – Address to Saskatchewan Agricultural Conference (October 28, 1985) – Address to Manitoba Pool Elevators Annual Meeting (November 8, 1985) – Address to Palliser Wheat Growers’ Association (January 5, 1985) – Addresses to UGG Annual Meeting (November 6/1982; 5/1981; 4/1982; 8/1984) – Address to Manitoba Pool Elevators Annual Meeting (November 9, 1983) – Address to Outlook for World Grains Conference (March 22, 1983) • Francis L. Jobin – Speech from the Throne (December 11, 1980) • Claude Jodoin – “The Influence of International Unions of the Canadian Labour Movement” (1959) • Donald J. Johnston – Address to the Can. Trucking Asso. Annual Meeting (June 17, 1983) – Address to Adventure in Citizenship Participants/Rotary Club of Canada (May 16, 1983) – Address to University of Prince-Edward Island (May 26, 1983) – Address to International Business Forum of Philadelphia (April 22, 1983) – Address to Chicago Council on Foreign Relations (February 9, 1983) – Address to Conference Board of Canada (January 20, 1983) – Address to Canadian Club of Toronto (November 8, 1982) – Address to Canada-Israel Chamber of Commerce (December 8, 1982) – Address to Business Council of National Issues (October 13, 1982) |
|
| 5 |
Jones – Kristjanson 1921-1983
• Stanley N. Jones – “Government Controls and the Grain Trade” (1948) – Address to Retail Merchants Association of Canada (March 24, 1948) – “Diamond Jubilee - Winnipeg Grain Exchange” (December 8, 1947) – Address to Annual Meeting of the Exchange (September 10, 1947) • A. F. Joplin – “Changing Horizons to Private Enterprise. The Entrepreneur and Manager in Business” (February 18, 1971) • Edgar Kaeding – Speech to First Ministers’ Meeting on Grain Handling and Transportation (1979) • Teruo Kawakatsu – “Crossroad Japan - the Market Responsibility” (March 16, 1983) • R. H. Keefler – “Realizing Management Potential” (June 4, 1963) • George Keen – “Collective Buying and a Co-operative Wholesale Society” (February 9, 1921) • Dr. H. L. Keeleyside – “The Impending Crisis” (January 26, 1953) • Robert F. Kennedy – Address before Canadian Press (April 14, 1964) • Michael J. L. Kirby – “The Difficulty of Applying Business Management Techniques in Government” (November 28, 1980) • David Kirk – Address to Annual Meeting of Co-operative Union of Manitoba (October 20, 1962) – “Domestic Agricultural Policy in a Foreign Environment” (December 20, 1967) • Baldur H. Kristjanson – “Management - a Factor in the Growth of Manitoba” (May 3, 1967) |
|
| 6 |
Kristjanson – Laughland 1964-1984
• R. L. Kristjanson – Addresses to UGG Annual Meeting (November 2/1966; 5/1964; 4/1976; 8/1979) – Address to Saskatchewan Wheat Pool Annual Meeting (November 19, 1976) – Address to Annual Meeting of Manitoba Pool Elevators (November 7, 1984) • W. M. Kuhfuss – Press Release of Address to CFA’s annual meeting (February 7, 1973) • Elmer Laird – Report and Recommendations on Agriculture in Ghana (January 12, 1965) • H. L. Laframboise – “The Federal Scene” (March 29, 1978) • Cecil Lamont – “Industrial Utilization of Farm Products” (n.d.) • Otto Lang – Speech (February 10, 1979) – Address to Canada Grains Council (October 28, 1974) – Address to UGG Annual Meeting (1973) • R. R. Latimer – “Canadian - U.S. Relations: Behing the Lines in the War of Words” (October 14, 1981) • A. W. Laughland – “Some Aspects of Grain Handling in the Prairies” (April 4, 1975) |
| Box | Folder | |
| 103 | 1 |
Law – Leith 1934-1984
• R. S. Law – “Wheat from the National Standpoint” (September 12, 1934) – “Changing Scenes in Agricultural Organization” (October 24, 1934) – Speech to Board of Trade (January 31, 1934) • R. E. Lawless – “B.C. and the New Railway Age” (January 16, 1984) • Maurice J. Leclair – “Crown Corporations: a Time for Debate” (October 17, 1983) – “Role des Societes de la Couronne dans l’economie canadienne” (November 1, 1983) – “Despite geography and economics” (May 3, 1983) • Harry Leggett – Address to Agricultural Bureau (April 21, 1971) • J. L. Leibfried – Address to Saskatchewan Wheat Pool Annual Meeting (November 15, 1984) – Addresses to UGG Annual Meeting (November 9/1978; 3/1983) • George Leith – Address to UGG Annual Meeting (November 4/1976; 8/1979; 1983) – Address to Alberta Wheat Pool Annual Meeting (November 25, 1977) |
| 2 |
Levy – MacDonald 1968-1984
• Allan Levy – Presentation to Western Canadian Conference on the Food Industry (February 1984) • Robert G. Lewis – Statement before U.S. House of Representatives: On Trade Reform Act Hearings (May 1973) • W. C. Lorimer – “Manitoba’s Future Opportunities and Challenges” (February 28, 1968) • Peter Lougheed – Grain Handling and Transportation Meeting (January 1979) – “State of the Province” (October 19, 1983) • Sterling Lyon – Address to Union of Manitoba Municipalities (November 20, 1980) – Address to The Financial Post Agri-Business Conferenece (September 29, 1981) – Address to the Grain Handling and Transportation Conference (January 8, 1979) – Address to the Canadian Manufacturer’s Asso. Annual Meeting (June 5, 1979) – Address to Toronto Branch of the CIN and the Prospects and Developers Association (March 11, 1981) – Address to the P.C. Fund-raising dinner (December 9, 1980) • J. D. MacDonald – “Will Proposed Toll Increases Endanger the Seaway” (April 20, 1976) |
|
| 3 |
MacEachern – Macpherson 1929-1979
• Gordon A. MacEachern – “Wheat Research Can Help” (June 25, 1969) – “Will the Bubble Burst” (March 8, 1973) – “Getting your Money’s worth” (March 1973) – “On Silence and Noise” (April 2, 1973) – “Clashes, Crisis and Canadian Agriculture” (July 17, 1973) – “How our economy works. The effects on Canadian farm people” (July 25, 1973) – “Who depends on who?” (December 15, 1972) – “To speak of Eagles” (December 4, 1973) – “Dimensions of the Future” (April 18, 1974) • John Mackay – “The Changing Map of Canada” (February 27, 1929) • D. A. MacGibbon – “The Evolution of the English Grain Market” (December 3, 1935) • Harold Macmillan – “The Need for Unity” (April 7, 1961) • Gordon MacMurchy – “Physical Capacity” (January 1979) • Norman S. Macpherson – Address to Pacific Seedsmen’s Association (June 1966) |
|
| 4 |
Mansholt – McFarland 1935-1979
• S. L. Mansholt – “Stormy Weather for the EEC” (June 21, 1963) • J. Mants – “Role of the Grain Company in the Marketing Process” (December 13, 1968) • Paul Martin – “Canada and Japan” (October 31, 1966) • W. A. Mather – Address to Canadian Railway Club (December 13, 1954) • John R. Matheson – “The Economics of Freedom” (March 10, 1967) • George S. Mathieson – “Wheat and War” (September 11, 1940) and “Exporting Canadian Grain (April 7, 1936) • Don Mazankowski – Address to UGG Annual Meeting (November 7, 1979) • John McDowell – Speeches to Manitoba Legislature (1945; March 26, 1946; February 26, 1948) • John I. McFarland – Speech (February 14, 1936) – Address to Regina Canadian Club (May 17, 1935) – “Should Canadians have dumped their wheat?” (April 11, 1935) |
|
| 5 |
McIvor – McKinnon 1942-1966 and n.d.
• George McIvor – Radio Talk (April 9, 1947) – Statement to US tariff commission regarding importation of oats (July 8, 1953) – Address to Manitoba Chambers of Commerce (November 19, 1953) – Addresses to UGG Annual Meeting (November 6/1952; 5/1953) • D. G. McKenzie – “The Independence of the Agriculture Industry” (n.d.) – “What Follows After” (November 4, 1942) • N. J. McKinnon – “The Forks of the Road” (January 17, 1966) – “Planning and Performance” (June 18, 1962) – “New Patterns for Growth” (October 2, 1961) |
|
| 6 |
McLaughlin – McNeil 1954-1980
• W. Earle McLaughlin – “How Rapidly Should We Develop Canada” (April 17, 1974) – “Are the Banks too Big and too Powerful?” (October 22, 1975) – “What can we do about inflation” (May 29, 1969) • D. K. McNair – “Co-operative Taxation” (1962) • W. C. McNamara – Addresses to UGG Annual Meeting (November 1951; 1954) – Address to Agricultural Short Course and Seed Fair (March 4, 1954) • Fred H. McNeil – Address to Bank of Montreal General Meeting (January 14, 1980) |
| Box | Folder | |
| 104 | 1 |
McWilliams – Morgan 1936-1983
• J. W. McWilliams – “The International Market Place” (January 22, 1970) • M. W. Menzies – “Public Policies - Are they appropriate?” (March 2, 1966) • Tevie H. Miller – “Lawsuits and Tyrannosaurus Rex” (November 26, 1976) • R. W. Milner – “The Country Elevator” (January 7, 1936) – Address to UGG Annual Meeting (November 1957) • R. E. Moffat – “Western Agriculture and Canadian Economy” (September 27, 1972) – “A user - pay policy for transportation?” (February 7, 1977) – “Manitoba Agriculture Today” (February 25, 1975) • G. W. Moore – “The Role Operation and Future of Country Elevators” (November 25, 1983) • R. T. Morgan – “Reports - A Vital Link in Business” (March 19, 1963) |
| 2 |
Morrison – Nininger 1946-1984
• J. W. Morrisson – Speech (July 11, 1948) – Address to CSGA Annual Meeting (July 1972) • W. L. Morton – “The Western Progressive Movement” (1946) • James Muir – Address to Canadian Club of Toronto (February 22, 1960) – Statement to the Press and Radio (June 25, 1956) • William D. Mulholland – “International Finance and the IMF... a challenge for the eighties (October 29, 1980) – “Energy, Economics and Growth” (April 25, 1980) • Charles G. Munro – Address to Annual Meeting of CFA (May 1970) – Address to the International Agriculture Students Association of the Americas (August 1974) – Address to the Graduate Institute of Co-operative Leadership (June 20, 1974) – Statement to the panel of ministers considering food strategy (December 5, 1977) • Jack Murta – Address to the Agricultural Bureau (April 21, 1971) • Edward P. Neufeld – “How Durable is the Economic Recovery?” (November 9, 1983) • James R. Nininger – Remarks at the Board of Directors Dinner at Conference Board of Canada (April 17, 1984) |
|
| 3 |
O’Connell – Parker 1930-1984
• Martin O’Connell – “Jobs and Enterprise: towards an industrial society” (September 7, 1977) • Neil O’Connell – Address to Canada Grains Council Annual Meeting (April 1980) • Frank Oliver – “Canada and Her Wheat” (March 13, 1930) • John P. Oliver – Address to Western Canadian Economic Conference on the Food Industry (February 13, 1984) • H. A. Olson – “Social Change” (September 5, 1968) • Sylvia Ostry – Speech to Canadian Association on Gerontology (November 3, 1968) • Alphonse Ouimet – Address to Montreal and Toronto Rotary Clubs (1960) • Dan Paarlberg – “The World Food Situation: a consensus view” (June 3, 1975) • Palliser Wheat Growers Association – Submission to firsts ministers’ conference on Grain Transportation (January 9, 1979) • A. E. Pallister – “Canada’s Natural Resources: a crisis in management” (November 23, 1973) • Clarence D. Palmby – Statement to House Subcommittee on Foreign Economic Policy (July 22, 1971) • Lorne E. Parker – “The Producer’s Role in the Marketing of Farm Products” (February 28, 1969) |
|
| 4 |
Parker – Pearson 1943-1970
• Robert H. Parker – “Multi-National Corportation” (January 19, 1970) • W. J. Parer – Address to UGG Annual Meeting (November 4, 1970) – Address to Agricultural Policy Seminar (March 30, 1968) – Address to National Farm Institute/Des Moines Iowa (February 1954) – “Wartime Agriculture and Government Control” (October 19, 1943) – Address to Canadian Institute of Food Technology (June 10, 1965) – “Food... the World Market” (June 1965) – Address to American Farm Bureau Association (December 15, 1953) • L. B. Pearson – “The Producer’s Role in the Marketing of Farm Products” (February 28, 1969) |
|
| 5 |
Peever – Pogeler 1967-1981
• J. O. Peever – “Your Price is too High” (April 1968) • Jean-Luc Pepin – Speech to Manitoba Farm Bureau (January 12, 1981) – Speech to Saskatchewan Wheat Pool (November 20, 1980) – Speech to Alberta Wheat Pool (November 28, 1980) • Peter Perkins – “The Future for Canada’s Oil Seeds Industry” (February 24, 1978) – “Western Canada’s Grain Industry; an Economic Forecast” (June 19, 1979) • A. W. Platt – “The Role and Responsibility of Farmers as Primary Producers in Agricultural Policy” (April 8, 1970) • Glenn H. Pogeler – “Aims, Objectives and Experiences of Soybean Council of America” (March 14, 1967) |
|
| 6 |
Pound – Rackham 1962-1985
• H. D. Pound – Address to UGG Annual Meeting (November 7/1973; 2/1977; 5/1981; 4/1982; 14/1985) • Margaret Prang – “The Origins of Broadcasting in Canada” (1965) • H. V. Prochnow – “America’s Strength - the Individual” (April 26, 1965) – “Freedom and Its Responsibilities” (October 4, 1962) • T. S. Rackham – “Selling ‘Canadian’ in the 1970's” (February 12, 1970) |
|
| 7 |
Rae – Richter 1936-1980 and n.d.
• S. E. Rae – “Financing the Western Grain Crop” (February 4, 1936) • W. Harold Rea – “ Oil - Canada’s Problem of Abundance” (February 6, 1961) • James A. Richardson – “The Long Twilight Struggle” (March 12, 1965) – Statement to the task force on Canadian Unity (January 13, 1978) – Address to Canadians for One Canada (December 16, 1980) – “Our Constitution - shaping Canada’s Future” (November 5, 1976) • J. H. Richter – “The Place of Agriculture in International Trade Policy” (n.d.) |
| Box | Folder | |
| 105 | 1 |
Riddel – Rowan 1960-1983
• W. Riddel – Addresses to UGG Annual Meeting (November 17/1960; 2/1961) – Address at Farm Conference Week (March 10, 1960) • D. A. Rennie – “Land Research Findings May Shape Future Farming” (January 1973) • W. E. Robertson – Address at UGG Annual Meeting (November 14, 1963) • Duff Roblin – Address to Canadian Pacific Investments Ltd. Annual Meeting (April 24, 1972) – “Agricultural Policy Goals” (January 24, 1967) • Henry Ropertz (loand out – never returned) • Irving L. Rosen – “Small Business - Big Government: the agony of the entrepreneur” (January 30, 1973) • C. J. Roth – “ Crop Rotations in Light of Present Marketing Outlook” (February 19, 1970) • Alfred Rouleau – Address to joint meeting of Co-operative Union of Canada and Le Conseil Canadienne de la co-operation (July 2, 1975) • F. T. Rowan – Address to Hudson Bay Route Association (April 12, 1983) |
| 2-3 |
Runciman 1991-1962
• A. M. Runciman – “My Years as President of UGG” (October 17, 1991) 105-3 – Speech to Farm Safety Conference (February 9, 1965) – “Philosophy of UGG Ltd.” (April 1, 1966) – “Management for Progress” (March 20, 1964) – Speech to United Farmers of Alberta Co-operative (November 6, 1963) – Speech at opening of Weyburn (SK) Elevator (September 4, 1963) – Speech at opening of Abernethey (SK) Elevator (August 9, 1963) – Speech at opening of Foxwarren (MB) Elevator (August 8, 1963) – “History of Philosophy of UGG Ltd.” (February 1966) – Address to Manitoba Farmers’ Union (December 7, 1965) – Address to combined meeting of Agriculture Institute of Canada and Ontario Institute of Agrologists (November 24, 1965) – Address to Canadian Agricultural Chemicals Asso. Annual Meeting (September 11, 1965) – Speech to Fieldmen Conference (April 28, 1966) – Address to Carman District Farm Business Association (April 20. 1966) – “Agricultural Outlook and Place of Farm Credit in Production” (February 17, 1966) – Speech to UGG Quarter Century Club (January 17, 1963) – Speech to UGG Staff Welfare Association (December 19, 1962) – Address to Farmers’ Union of Alberta Convention (December 13, 1962) – Address to UGG Staff Recreation Association (November 24, 1962) – Speech to Calgary Chamber of Commerce (November 24, 1962) – Speech to UGG Social Club (November 16, 1962) – Notes from talk to local meeting in Alberta (June 1962) – Speech to Kiwanis Club of Winnipeg (April 17, 1962) – “The International Wheat Agreement” (April 10, 1962) – Speech to Co-operative Union of Manitoba (March 1962) – Speech to Kiwanis Club of Saskatoon (March 25, 1963) |
|
| 4 |
Sauve – Shelford 1964-1984
• Maurice Sauve – Speech to Association Professionnelle des Meuniers du Quebec (June 11, 1965) • R. L. Savary – Address to CFA (January 25, 1966) • George Sayle – Speech to United Farmers of Alberta Co-operative Annual meeting (November 4, 1969) • SCIC Board – “Food for People” (March 15, 1978) • Dr. Kristin Shannon – Presentation to Western Canadian Economic Conference on the Food Industry (February 1984) • Mitchell Sharp – Address at District meeting of the Saskatchewan Farmers’ Union (Septeber 23, 1963) – Address to UGG Annual Meeting (November 4, 1964) – Address at the Diploma Agricultural Graduates Association Annual Dinner (February 24, 1965) • L. H. Shebeski – “Western Canada Crop Production Forecasts” (1967) • Cyril Shelford – opening remarks at meeting on grain handling and transportation (1979) |
|
| 5 |
Shepp – Strange 1935-1979
• R. J. Shepp – “Transportation of Western Canadian Grain: Problems and Prospects” (May 1970) • John A. Shnittker – Address before National Association of Wheat Growers (January 12, 1967) • W. M. Schultz – “Trends and Prospects of Alberta Agriculture” (April 1966) • C. L. Shuttleworth – Speech at UGG Annual meeting (November 4, 1971) – “The Canada Grain Act” (1969) • Sol Sinclair – “The Role and Function of a Farm Organization” (June 16, 1954) • R. S. Staples – “Income Taxation of Co-operative” (December 5, 1962) • Murray A. Stewart – “The Alaska Highway Pipeline Project” (March 22, 1979) • H. G. L. Strange – “The British-Canadian Wheat Agreement” (October 20, 1947) – “The Foodstuffs of the World. The Place Occupied by Wheat” (November 6, 1935) – “Around the World with Wheat” (January 1947) |
|
| 6 |
Switzer – Trudeau 1965-1983
• C. M. Switzer – “The Future of Canadian Agriculture” (1979) • Peter Thomson – Address to Hudson Bay Route Association Annual meeting (April 20, 1982) • W. E. Tossel – “Grain and Plant Protein Production in Canada” (June 1965) • D. H. Treleaven – Address to UGG annual meeting (November 6, 1975) – Address to the national Farmers’ Union annual meeting (December 8, 1970) • Pierre E. Trudeau – “An Open Letter to all Canadian” (May 9, 1983) – “The Prime Minister’s Broadcasts to the Nation on the Economy” (October 1982) – Address to Canadian Institute of International Affairs (May 6, 1983) – Transcript of interview with Jack Cahill/Toronto Star (May 14, 1983) – Notes for remark at the National Convention of the Liberal Party (November 1982) – Closing remards at the Liberal Party of Canada Convention (November 1982) – Address on National television (August 1, 1978) – Address at the St. Francis Xavier University convocation (May 2, 1982) – Speech to the Economic Club of New York (March 22, 1978) – Address at the Confederation Dinner (November 5, 1980) – Remarks on Energy, the Constitution and the West (February 4, 1981) |
| Box | Folder | |
| 106 | 1 |
Tweeten – Wells 1936-1984
• Luther Tweeten – “Promising Options for Grain Policy” (October 5, 1982) • Roland S. Vaile – Address to Grain Exchange Lecture Club (December 16, 1948) • H. Van Vliet – “Food and Farm Product Prices: their relationship” (March 1967) • G. N. Vogel – Address to UGG annual meeting (November 7, 1974) – Statement on the Standing Committee on Agriculture (April 18, 1969) • T. K. Warley – “Trade Issues and Canadian Agricultural Policy” (February 9, 1972) • R. Michael Warren – Address to Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce (October 18, 1984) • David L. Watt – “A Comparison of the Current US and Canadian Wheat Marketing Systems” (July 1979) • P. C. Watt – “The Terminal Elevator and its Function” (February 18, 1936) – “The Terminal Elevator and its Functions” (March 3, 1949) |
| 2 |
Wesson – Yeutter 1951-1983 and n.d.
• J. H. Wesson – paper submitted to annual congress of the Co-operative Union of Canada (March 7, 1951) • Eugene Whelan – Address to Department Conference (1973) • Bill Williken – Presentation to Canola Council of Canada (March 1983) • Robert A. Willson – “The Governance of Organizations - Revisited” (March 19, 1976) • M. P. Wilson – Talk given at UGG annual meeting (n.d.) • A. G. Wilson – Talk to Manitoba Institute of Agrologists (March 22, 1971) • Charles F. Wilson – Address to the Canadian Studies Institute of the Wisconsin State College (June 16, 1964) • A. W. Wood – “Food Prices in Canada” (March 1967) • W. A. Woofrey – “Supply Management and Control of the Agricultural Economy” (1972) – “Market Sharing - Good or Bad?” (February 16, 1972) • Clayton Yeutter – Remarks to Association of Commodity Exchange Firms, Inc (1973) |
| Box | Folder | |
| 94 | 25 | UGG Research Department - Proposals for the Establishment of the Canadian Wheat Institute as a National Body to Conduct Work in the Interests of Canadian Wheat - [ca.1933] |
| 26 | UGG Research Department - A Study of the Effects on the Marketingand Prices of Canadian Wheat Arising from the Statutory Prohibition of Mixing in the Higher Wheat Grades as Included in the Canada Grain Act - Jan 1933 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 94 | 27 |
Documents re: Broadcasting [ 1956-1967 ] (9 items) Brief submitted by Canadian Association for Adult Education - Sep 1967 Brief submitted by Southam Company Ltd. - May 1956 Brief submitted by Mr. Jack St. John, Manitoba Liberal MLA - n.d. Submission to CBC re: Farm Broadcasting with Particular Reference to Television 9 Jul 1958 Brief of Canadian Broadcasting League to Board of Broadcast Governors on Proposed Television Broadcasting Station Regulations - 2 Nov 1959 Canadian Association of Radio and Television Broadcasters ---Brief submitted to Royal Commission on Broadcasting - 1956 ---Supplement No. 12 - The Exercise of Regulatory Power by the CBC - c.1956 ---Supplement No. 16 - History and Background of Broadcasting in Canada - c.1956 ---Control of Broadcasting: An Urgent Canadian Problem - c.1956 The People Speak: Public Attitudes towards Radio and Television Broadcasting - 1956 Brief submitted by Lakeland Broadcasting Company Ltd. to Fowler Commission on Broadcasting - 1956 Brief submitted by George C. Chandler, Manager of CJOR Vancouver - 14 Apr 1956 Submission from Canadian Federation of Agriculture - 29 Jul 1960 |
| 28 |
28 Documents re: Special Drought Assistance 1962
(1 item) Farmers Unions of Alberta, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan, Federationsof Agriculture of Alberta, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan, UGG, and Wheat Pools of Alberta, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan -Supplementary Submission on Behalf of Grain Farmers of Western Canada in Support of Special Drought Assistance - Apr 1962 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 100 | 1 |
Submissions to the Royal Commission on Price Spreads of Food Products 1958 (9 items) Alberta Federation of Agriculture Manitoba Federation of Agriculture and Co-operation Nova Scotia Federation of Agriculture New Brunswick Federation of Agriculture Prince Edward Island Federation of Agriculture Maritime Co-operation Services Ltd. Co-operative Union of Saskatchewan British Columbia Federation of Agriculture Canadian Federation of Agriculture |
| 2 |
Submissions to Royal Commission on Canada’s Economic Prospects 1955-1956 (8 items) Conservation Council of Ontario Empire Trust Company Canadian Chamber of Commerce Saskatchewan Wheat Pool Manitoba Pool Elevators Alberta Federation of Agriculture Manitoba Federation of Agriculture and Co-operation Canadian Federation of Agriculture |
|
| 3 |
Miscellaneous Papers - Part I [ca. 1924]-1974 (9 items) Marketing Problem Outlined by Exchange Secretary: Farmers Ills Largely Due to Dislocation following Great War - c.1924 CBC Broadcast “Co-operation in Western Canada” - 27 Mar 1940 H. L. Griffin - The Wheat Situation and the Outbreak of War - c.1940 Text of the Constitution of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - Jun 1945 Winnipeg Grain Exchange submission to the Select Standing Committee on Agriculture of the Manitoba Legislative Assembly - 14 Mar 1957 E. J. Alton - St. Lawrence Seaway Traffic - 8 May 1958 Citizens Forum Presents National Debate - “What are the Economic Alternatives for Canada?” - 28 Oct 1962 Notes for Address by Mr. J. B. G. Thomson - 28 Feb 1972 Communique: Western Premiers Conference, Vancouver, BC - Sep 1974 |
|
| 4 |
Miscellaneous Papers - Part II 1967-1988 (11 items) Roger Murray, President of Cargill Grain Company - Speech to Regina Chamber of Commerce Annual Farm Forum - 2 Mar 1976 Address by Sylvain Cloutier, Chairman of the Board and President of Export Development Corporation - The Short-Term Bulk Agriculture Credits Insurance Program: Phasing In a Competitive Agriculture Export Credit Framework - 23 Oct 1985 Rick Thiessen - Future of Feed Grains Industry on the Prairies - 22 Feb 1985 Kenneth G. Hardy - An Assessment of the Impact of Charges in Food Retailing in Western Canada on Processors and Suppliers - 5 Mar 1985 Address by Sally Hall, President of the Consumers Association of Canada - Trends and Impacts on the Consumer in the Changing Food Retail Market - Mar 1985 Statement by Wheat Pools of Alberta, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan to the Board of Transport Commissioners for Canada to Consider Railway Applications for the Abandonment of “Unprotected” Lines in Western Canada - 8 Aug 1967 E. K. Turner, President of Saskatchewan Wheat Pool - Future Grain Collection Systems - 2 Mar 1976 Dennis W. Butcher, Trade Exchange Group Ltd. - Countertrade: A Marketing Tool - Feb 1985 Speech by Hon. Lloyd Axworthy - The Prairies in Peril - 17 Apr 1986 Brian T. Oleson, President of Canadian Agricultural Economics and Farm Management Society - World Grain Trade: An Economic Perspective of the Current Price War - Aug 1987 Address by John Clark, Manager of Farm Information Services - Why Public Relations Should Respond to the CEO - 18 Feb 1988 |