Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Peter Warren fonds: MSS 87, TC 62, PC 231 (A.05-15, A.05-69, A.06-01, A.06-24, A.07-01, A.08-03, A.08-151, A.09-07, A.10-02, A.10-106)

Peter Warren:

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Vladimira Zvonik and Andrea Martin
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2005-2010)

Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik and Andrea Martin (2005-2010)
Finding aid written in English.

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - Mss 87 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collection,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
Peter Warren
 
Title:
Peter Warren fonds
 
Dates:
2004-2009
 
Quantity:
2.04 m of textual record, 46 photographs, 6 audiotapes, 4 CD's, 3 DVD's
 
Identification:
Mss 87, TC 62 (A.05-15, A.05-69, A.06-01; A.06-24; A.07-01, A.08-03, A.08-151, A.09-07, A.10-02. A.10-106)
 
Language:
English

Return to Top


Biography of Peter Warren

Peter Warren was born in London, England 1941. He attended Reigate Grammar School, Dulwich College and Tooting and Mitcham School of Journalism. Warren started his career in 1956 with the Sports Reporting Agency Inc. He wrote for the Saint John, New Brunswick Telegraph-Journal in 1958, for the Boston Record, the Calgary Herald and the Hong Kong Star in 1966, and the Winnipeg Tribune in 1966. In 1968 he was made City Editor of the Tribune. Warren is best known in Winnipeg for his social action talk show on CJOB radio's "Action Line", that ran from 1971-1998. In 1999 he relocated to Victoria, British Columbia where he hosted a national radio program over CKNW. Peter Warren resigned from his National Radio Program in March 2006 to turn to investigations of cold-case murder files.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The most recent accessions consist of Warren's editorial comments for his National Radio show, letters from and occasionally to his listeners for the years 2004 to 2006, and his personal and investigative case files from the 1980s to 2010. Peter Warren resigned from his National Radio Program in March 2006. Enclosed are some of the notes from across the country when he left his radio program.

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into accessions:

  • 1. A.05-15 (Mss 87) 2004-May 1, 2005
  • 2. A.05-69 (Mss 87) 2004 - August 2, 2005
  • 3. A.06-01 (Mss 87) - January 2005 - January 1, 2006
  • 4. A.06-24 (Mss 87) October 2005 - April 2, 2006
  • 5. A.06-24 (TC 62) 1998-2006
  • 6. A.07-01 (Mss 87) - Peter Warren Investigative Journalism (PWIJ), April - December 2006
  • 7. A.08-03 (Mss 87, PC 231) - January - December 2007
  • 8. A.08-151(Mss 87, PC 231, TC 62) - July - December 2008
  • 9. A.10-02 (Mss 87), January - December 2009
  • 10. A.10-106 (Mss 87) - Personal and Investigative Case Files, [198-?]-2010

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

No restriction on access.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

No restriction on use.

Return to Top


Custodial History

Donated by Peter Warren in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2009.

Return to Top


Other Finding Aids

Accessions: 1967-2004

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

A.05-15 (Mss 87), [November 2004 - May 1, 2005]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 Complete Warren Programs for 2004
  2 Editorials - Warren for Good, April 20, 2005
  3 Weekly schedule - National Open-Line Radio Program, November 8, 2004 - January 3, 2005
  4 Weekly schedule - National Open-Line Radio Program, January 3 - April 11, 2005
Clipping and Letters
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 5 re: Warren Personally, April 21, 1998, December 8, 2003 - January 18, 2004, September 3 - December 29, 2004
  6 re: Warren Personally, January 1 - February 27, 2005
  7 re: Warren Personally, March - April 9, 2005
Correspondence
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 8 November 6 - November 29, 2004
  9 December 1 - December 10, 2004
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 December 11 - December 17, 2004
  2 December 18 - December 23, 2004
  3 December 24 - December 29, 2004
  4 December 30 - December 31, 2004
  5 January 1 - January 8, 2005
  6 January 9 - January 16, 2005
  7 January 17 - January 24, 2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 1 January 25 - January 28, 2005
  2 January 29 - January 31, 2005
  3 February 1 - February 6, 2005
  4 February 7 - February 12, 2005
  5 February 13 - February 19, 2005
  6 February 20- February 25, 2005
  7 February 26- February 28, 2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 1 March 1 - March 6, 2005
  2 March 7 - March 14, 2005
  3 March 15 - March 19, 2005
  4 March 20 - March 24, 2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
5 1 March 25 - March 30, 2005
  2 April 1 - April 3, 2005
  3 April 4 - April 6, 2005
  4 April 7 - April 10, 2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
6 1 April 11 - April 18, 2005
  2 April 19 - April 23, 2005
  3 April 24 - April 25, 2005
  4 April 26 - May 1, 2005

Return to Top


A.05-69 (Mss 87), November 2004 - August 2, 2005
Clipping and Letters,
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 April 9 - July 8, 2005
Correspondence
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 2 May 1 -May 10, 2005
  3 May 11 - May 20, 2005
  4 May 23 - May 30, 2005
  5 June 1 - June 10, 2005
  6 June 11 - June 12, 2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 June 13 - June 25, 2005
  2 June 26 - June 30, 2005
  3 July 1 - July 10, 2005
  4 July 11 - July 19, 2005
  5 July 20 - July 23, 2005
  6 July 24 - July 27, 2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 1 July 28 - August 2, 2005
"Scam of the Month" (with RCMP Inspector Bruce Bowie)
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 2 November - December 2004
  3 January - March 2005
  4 April 2005
  5 May - July 10, 2005
Court Cases
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 6 Alberta Teachers' Association - School Works Inc., [December 2004]
Subject files
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 7 We can do a better job, [March - July, 2005]
  8 Lyme disease, [March - July 2005]
  9 Bank faxes, [December 2004 - April 2005]

Return to Top

A.06-01 January 2005 - January 1, 2006

80 cm of textual records

Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 Complete Warren Programs for 2005
  2 Editorials -Warren for Good, January 2005 - December 2005
  3 National Editorials, January 2005
  4 National Editorials, February 2005
  5 National Editorials, March 2005
  6 National Editorials, April 2005
  7 National Editorials, May 2005
  8 National Editorials, June 2005
  9 National Editorials, July 2005
  10 National Editorials, August 2005
  11 National Editorials, September 2005
  12 National Editorials, October 2005
  13 National Editorials, November 2005
  14 National Editorials, December 2005
  15 National Editorials, January 2006
Clippings, Letters, etc: 2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 re: Warren Personally, 2005
Correspondence
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 2 July 1 - August 6, 2005
  3 August 7 - 17, 2005
  4 August 18 - 20, 2005
  5 August 21 - 25, 2005
  6 August 26 - 31, 2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 1 September 1 - 5, 2005
  2 September 6 - 10, 2005
  3 September 11 -12, 2005
  4 September 13 - 18, 2005
  5 September 19 - 29, 2005
  6 October 1 - 5, 2005
  7 October 6 - 10, 2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 1 October 11 - 16, 2005
  2 October 17 - 22, 2005
  3 October 23, 2005
  4 October 24 - 31, 2005
  5 November 1 - 5, 2005
  6 November 6, 2005
  7 November 7 - 11, 2005
  8 November 12 - 13, 2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
5 1 November 14 - 19, 2005
  2 November 20 - 25, 2005
  3 November 26, 2005
  4 November 27 - 30, 2005
  5 December 1 -3, 2005
  6 December 4 - 5, 2005
  7 December 6 - 9, 2005
  8 December 10 - 11, 2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
6 1 December 12 - 14, 2005
  2 December 15 - 17, 2005
  3 December 18 - 19, 2005
  4 December 20 - 27, 2005
  5 December 28 - 30, 2005
  6 December 31, 2005 - January 1, 2006
"Scam of the Month" (with RCMP Inspector Bruce Bowie),
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
7 1 July - September 2005
  2 October - November 2005
  2

Latimer, B. "My attempts to understand the Supreme Court's January 18, 2001 decision", September 2005

Sent from jail by Bob Latimer

  3 Schulz, H. "A view from the ledge: an insider's look at the Schreyer years. Winnipeg: Heartland Associates, Inc., 2005
  4

Attention: Mr. Peter Warren, Host "Warren on the Weekend", November 8, 2005

(Personal and Confidential)

Return to Top


A.06-24, October 2005 - April 2, 2006

27 cm of textual records

Editorials

Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 November 14-19, 2005; February -March, 2006
 
Clippings and Letters: re: Warren Personally,
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 2 October - December 31, 2005
  3 December 2005 - February 2006
Correspondence
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 4 January 1-6, 2006
  5 January 7-14, 2006
  6 January15-20, 2006
  7 January 21-24, 2006
  8 January 25-31, 2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 February 1-5, 2006
  2 February 6-19, 2006
  3 February 20-28, 2006
  4 March 1-5, 2006; March 30, 2006
"Scam of the Month" (with RCMP Inspector Bruce Bowie)
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 5 November 2005-March 2006
Subject files
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 6 District of Saanich, [September 2000-September 2005]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 1

Court Judgment re: Comments on Warren Program, [April 2005]

UFCW International v. Finnamore

  2 Bogos e-mails, January 2006
  3 King Motion Picture Corporation - correspondence, [July 5, 1999]
  4 Holy Terror, [February 2006]
  5 Miralex Cream, [2001]
Responces to Warren's Resignation from his National Radio Program, CKNW
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 6 March 2006
  7 March 2006 - April 2, 2006
  8 Pages from Peter Warren's new website, October 2006

Return to Top


TC 62 (A.06-24), 1998-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1  

Tape no.1

Larry Updike programs, 1998

Legislature Riots!

   

Tape no.2

Larry Updike programs, 1999

includes correspondence (Warren - Updike)

   

Tape no.3

Larry Updike programs, March 18, 1999

   

Tape no.4

Free Bob Wilson - Peter Warren, 1991

"All comes out in wash"

   

CD no.1a

Bob Wilson - NDP Justice, 2006

includes an article and info about Bob Wilson

   

CD no.2-4

Exopolitics - As former minister of National Defense of Canada (1963-67), Mr. Hellyer addresses the policy implications of UFOs, September 25, 2005

includes articles re: UFOs

    DVD no.1 Bob Wilson - Councillor, Memorial Ward

Return to Top


A.07-01 (Mss 87) - Peter Warren Investigative Journalism (PWIJ), April - December 2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 Correspondence (Personal) April - June, 2006
  2 Correspondence (Personal) July - September, 2006
  3 Correspondence (Personal) October - December, 2006
  4 Peter Warren - Private Investigations, 2006
  5 Peter Warren - Final Messages on Ending of National Radio Program, Midsummer, 2006
  6 List of Boxing Records - Judge: P. Warren, 1994 -2000
  7

"God Only Knows: Same Sex Marriage" - Best Documentary of the Year, 2006

(VHS, 90 minutes)

  8

"Canadian UFO Report" by Chris Rutkowski and G. Dittman, 2006

(a book)

Return to Top


A.08-03 (Mss 87, PC 231) January - December 2007
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 Clippings and Letters re: Peter Warren, 2007
  2 Correspondence (Personal) January - August 2007
  3 Correspondence, January - February 2007
  4 Correspondence, March - July 2007
  5 Letters to Peter Warren, January - April 2007
  6 Letters to Peter Warren, June - December 2007
  7 "Reporting white-collar crime", 2007
  8

"Warren on Christy Clark program re: acquittal of Steven Truscott", August 28, 2007

(audio cassette)

  9-10
Books: 
  • Scotch for Breakfast by Fred Edge, 2000.
  • Duped! the wrongful conviction of Michael Tate by John Tate, 2005. (Foreword by Peter Warren)
 

Return to Top

PC 231 (A.08-03) - Photograph Collection 1970's-1990's
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1

Peter Warren,

(12 photographs)

(includes a list of CJOB staff members)

  2

First Unicity Mayoralty Race - Live panel debate, 1968

(7 photographs)

  3

CJOB

(15 photographs)

  4

Ed Schreyer - Peter Warren

(1 photograph)

  5

Pierre Trudeau - Peter Warren

(9 photographs)

Return to Top


A.08-151 (Mss 37) July - December 2008
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 Newspaper clippings re: Peter Warren, 2008
  2 Correspondence - Personal, July - December 2008
  3

Correspondence - Letters from Warren, July - December 2008

(includes A.09-07 - one letter)

  4 Correspondence - Letters to Warren, July - December 2008
  5

Book - Manitoba book of Everything: Everything you wanted to know about Manitoba and were going to ask anyway by C.Hanlon, B. Edie, and D. Pendgracs (2008)

(Peter Warrens' five most memorable interviews, p. 18)

Return to Top


TC 62 (A.08-151)
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1-2

Wrongful Conviction of Kelvin Purdy, February and July 2, 2008

(Purdy's aunt Cathy Tait, Peter Warren prominently mentioned on both tapes)

Return to Top


PC 231 (A.08-151)
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 Hydro-Levesque - directed by Matthew Rankin, 2008

Return to Top


A.10-02 (Mss 37) [January - December 2009]

(15 cm of textual records, 1 CD, 1 DVD)

Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1

re: Warren Personally - On-Air Tribune to Peter Warren, Vancouver - AM 980, June 23, 2009

(includes one CD)

  2 re: Warren Personally - 50 Years in Journalism, 2009
  3 re: Warren Personally - Articles, 2009
  4 re: Warren Personally - a letter from Lillian Gibbons, Winnipeg Tribune, ca 1960
  5

re: Warren Personally - Film Script (Copyright by Old Bull, Young Bull Films, Ltd.),

(Peter Warren see pages 83-85)

  6 Material re: Court Cases - Louis Leforte, 2007
  7

Material re: Court Cases - Clayton Miller Interview, Correspondence, 1990-2009

(includes a home-made DVD)

  8 Correspondence - Letters from Thomas Sophonow, MP Reg Alcock, Bernard Christophe, Evelyn Martens 2005-2008
  9 Correspondence, January - March 2009
  10 Correspondence, April - May 2009
  11 Correspondence, June - July 2009
  12 Correspondence, August - October, 2009
  13 Correspondence, November - December 2009
  14 Correspondence with Conrad Black, 2009
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 Legal Cases - Jacqueline Lavoie Death, 1985-2006

Return to Top


A.10-106, (Mss 87) Personal and Investigative Case Files, [198-?]-2010
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 Warren – Correspondence, 2010
  2 Warren – Biographical Material, c. 1990s-2010
  3 Warren – Mentions in articles, etc., 2010
  4 Warren – Personal Photographs, c. 1980s-2010
  5 Joel Haywood book (Mr, God I’m Sorry), by Warren, c. 1980-2000
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 Warren – Brian Barton, Sexual Assault, 2006
  2 Warren – Robert Latimer, c. 2004-2010
  3 Warren – Clayton Miller, Murder, c. 2009
  4 Warren – Murders, 2002-2010
  5 Warren – Peltier, Graham, Aquash case, 2010
  6 Warren – Pickton Murders, 2007-2010
  7 Warren – Keven Simmonds, 2010
  8 Warren – Alan Steele, 2010
  9 Warren - RCMP contact, 2010
  10 Warren – Wife Killers, 2005

Return to Top