Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Vaughan David Watt fonds: MSS SC 179, PC 174 (A2003-86)

Vaughan David Watt:

An Inventory of his papers at the Department of Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
Department of Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe LibraryUniversity of Manitoba
(November 2004)

Finding aid encoded by Lewis St. G. Stubbs (November 2004)
Finding aid written in English.

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - Mss Sc. 179 PC 174 A.03-86 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Respository:
Vaughan David Watts fonds
Department of Archives & Special Collections
 
Creator:
Vaughan David Watt
 
Title:
Vaughan David Watt fonds
 
Dates:
1916-1933
 
Quantity:
12.5 cm

Language:
English.

Return to Top


Biography of Vaughan David Watt

Vaughan David Watt was born in Birtle, Manitoba in 1892 the only son of David and Mary Jane (Jenny ) Watt. David Watt farmed, worked as a grain buyer and was a Manager for the U.G.G. for twenty-two years. Jenny was elected the first secretary of the Federated Women's Institute in 1910 and went on to become the National President of the organization from 1923-1925. The couple's three children Vaughan, Vera and Nell all attended the Oxford School. Vaughan helped his father on the farm and worked in the local Union Bank. He played baseball and was part of the Birtle Band. He enlisted in 1916 at Saskatoon as part of the 28th Battalion Canadian Infantry (Saskatchewan Regiment). He was promoted to Lance-Corporal in May 1918. He was killed in France on August 9th 1918 and is buried in Rosieres Communal Cemetery Extension. One of final letters home talks of returning to the farm to help his father.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

The fonds consists of six folders of textual records and 4 photographs.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

No restrictions apply.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The papers were donated by Vaughan Watt's niece Gwen Snow Zingle in the fall of 2003.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Vaughan David Watt [1916-1933]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 1 Transportation warrant upon enlistment. [1916]
  2 Letters & cards home to parents & sisters [1917-1918]
  3 Letters of condolence [1918]
  4 Manitoba Free Press report of memorial service [1918]
  5 Burial report [1919]
  6 Letter of tribute for David Watt [1933]

Return to Top


Photograph Collection [1918-1933]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 1 Vaughan Watt's war medals, David Watt, his sister Nell, and the Watt family home [1918-1933]

Return to Top