Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Rudy Wiebe fonds: MSS 311 (A2009-14)

Rudy Wiebe:

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections.

Inventory prepared by V. Zvonik
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2010)

Finding aid encoded by V. Zvonik (2010)
Finding aid written in English.



Collection Summary

Repository:
Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
Rudy Wiebe
 
Title:
Rudy Wiebe fonds
 
Dates:
1985-1997
 
Quantity:
48 cm of textual records
 
Identification:
Mss 311 (A2009-14)
 
Language:
English
 

Biography of Rudy Wiebe

Rudy Wiebe, a Canadian Mennonite writer and editor for NeWest Press, was born on October 4, 1934 in Speedwell, Saskatchewan. He devoted his literary career to protecting rights of minority groups in Canada. His stories deal with deep moral issues. He received his BA (1956) from the University of Alberta and Bachelor of theology degree from the Mennonite Brethren Bible College in Winnipeg (1962). While an editor of Winnipeg Mennonite Brethren College Herald, he published his book title Peace shall destroy many. Book describes Mennonite life in the small rural towns of Western Canada. His book was a base for his MA thesis which he completed in 1963. In 1967 he began teaching creative writing at the University of Alberta. He published numerous articles, reviews, essays, anthologies, film and television scripts. Wiebe's novels includes: First and vital candle (1966); Temptations of Big Bear (1973); Discover of stranger (1994); Playing dead: a contemplating concerning the Arctic (2003); and Hidden buffalo (2006). For his literary work he received Governor General Award (1973, 1994) and the Order of Canada (2000). During 1985-1997, Rudy Wiebe served on the Board of Directors for NeWest Publishing Company. He was a president and a chairman from 1991-1997. NeWest Press, one of the most important literary presses in Canada, is a non-profit organization. This organization was established in 1977 in Edmonton and it is directed by writers from western provinces. He recently received the Charles Tylor Price for his memoir of childhood titled: Of this earth: a Mennonite boyhood in the boreal forest.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

This fonds consists of NeWest Press' correspondence, executive meetings, minutes, financial statements, catalogues, press releases, and various announcements.

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into one series

  • 1. NeWest Publishing Company

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

No restrictions on access.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

No restrictions on use.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds was donated by Rudy Wiebe in 2009.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

NeWest Press, [ 1985-1997 ]

Rudy Wiebe, President

Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 Correspondence, Annual Meetings, Annual Reports, 1985-1991
  2 Correspondence, Press Releases, 1985-1986
  3 Correspondence, Financial Statements, 1988-1989
  4 Nunatak Series, 1989
  5 Three Year Business Plan - Discussion, 1989-1990
  6 Three Year Business Plan - Correspondence, Executive Meetings, 1989-1990
  7 Architecture of Douglas Cardinal by Trevor Boddy - Correspondence, Articles, Reviews, 1989
  8 Board of Directors and Executive Meetings, 1990
  9 Correspondence re: Writing the Circle - Aboriginal Writers, 1990
  10 Correspondence and notes re: interviews for General Manager, 1990
  11 Sponsors, 1990
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 Three Year Business Plan, Organizational Structure, Executive Meeting, February 3-4, 1990
  2 Correspondence, Board of Directors Minutes, Inventories, 1990-1991
  3 Title Inventory and Sale, 1990
  4 Correspondence, Executive Meetings, 1991-1992
  5 Executive Committee Agendas, Executive Meetings, Financial Statements, 1988-1991
  6 Correspondence - Catherine Carson, 1990
  7 Financial Statements, Correspondence, 1991-1992
  8 Projects, Books, Correspondence, 1989-1991
  9 Board of Directors Meeting, March 20-21, 1993
  10 15th Anniversary Celebration Proposal, Spring 1993
  11 Proposed Front Lists, 1993
  12 Correspondence, Projects, Meeting, September 1991
  13 Correspondence, Meetings, February - April, 1991
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 1 Board Meeting, Agenda, October 3-4, 1992
  2 Correspondence, Executive Meetings, Press Releases, 1992
  3 Correspondence, Executive Meetings, Fall 1992 - January 1993
  4 Correspondence, Executive Meetings, March - August, 1993
  5 Executive Meetings, Correspondence - Connie Sampson (Buried in the Silence) 1993
  6 Correspondence, Executive Meetings, September - October, 1993
  7 Minutes of the Executive Committee Meetings, November 6-7, 1993
  8 Correspondence, Executive Meetings, November 1993
  9 Minutes of the Board of Directors, February 5-6, 1994
  10 Correspondence, Minutes of Annual Shareholders' General Meeting, November 6, 1993; Agenda for September 1994
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 1 Executive Meetings, February - June, 1994
  2 Correspondence re: manuscript, 1994
  3 Correspondence, Board Meetings, Executive Committee Meetings, 1994-1995
  4 Correspondence, Executive Meetings, 1995
  5 Executive Meetings, 1995-1996
  6 Correspondence, Minutes of Executives, Announcements - North/West Explorations Series, 1995-1997
  7 Correspondence, Executive Meetings, January - March, 1994
  8 Correspondence, Executive Meetings, 1996
  9 Correspondence, Executive Meetings, 1996, Agenda September 1997
  10 Board of Directors Meeting, November 1997

Return to Top