Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Richard E. Williams fonds: MSS 263, PC 223, MC 22 (A2008-18)

Richard E. Williams:

An Inventory of his papers/photographs at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Anna Shumilak / Daniel Elves
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
334 Elizabeth Dafoe Library Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N2
(November 2008)

Finding aid encoded by Anna Shumilak / Daniel Elves (June 2008)
Finding aid written in English.


Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Richard E. Williams

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION 1986-2006

EDUCATION 1939-1954

PUBLICATIONS/SPEECHES/LECTURES 1950s-2005

ACADEMIC CAREER 1950s-2005

PROFESSIONAL CAREER 1959-2006

ORGANIZATIONS 1957-2003

CORRESPONDENCE 1943-2001

AREAS OF PERSONAL INTEREST 1950s-1997

OTHER ARTISTS 1975-2005

SKETCHES PC 233 (Includes 36 Sketches) [ca. 1939-1982]

OVERSIZE SKETCHES (Includes 6 Sketches) [ca. 1980s-1990s]

PHOTOGRAPHS PC 223 (Includes 81 Photographs) [ca. 1950s-1994]

OVERSIZE PHOTOGRAPHS (includes 23 Photographs) [ca. 1939-1970s]

NEGATIVES (includes 34 negatives) [ca. 1940s-1970s]

POSTERS MC 22 (includes 5 Posters)

SCRAPBOOKS (includes 1 Scrapbook) PC 233 [ca. 1940s-1965]

A.08-18, Oversized Sketches by Richard E. Williams in Map Cabinet [194-] - [200-]


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
334 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
 
Creator:
Richard E. Williams
 
Title:
Richard E. Williams Fonds
 
Dates:
[ca. 1920s-2006]
 
Quantity:
The collection contains 1.75 m. of textual records; 42 sketches, 104 photographs, 34 negatives
 
Identification:
MSS 263, PC 223, MC22, A. 08-18
 
Language:
English

Return to Top


Biography of Richard E. Williams

Richard E. Williams was born in Dormont, Pennsylvania in September, 1921. He received a B.A. in Sculpture from the Carnegie Institute of Technology (now Carnegie-Mellon University) in 1943 and completed a M.F.A. in Printmaking from the State University of Iowa in 1954 (during this time, he also served as an aircraft electrician in the Army Air Force for three years). In the fall of 1954, Williams accepted the position of Director for the School of Art at the University of Manitoba—a position he held until 1973. In 1969, he became a Canadian citizen.

During his career at the University of Manitoba, Williams was involved in various art organizations. He was a founding member of the Universities Art Association of Canada (UAAC) in 1957, was a member of the UAAC Executive from 1967-1977, and served as President of the organization from 1970-75. He also served on the Board of Governors at the Winnipeg Art Gallery from 1956-1977 and was the regional representative for the Western Canadian Art Circuit. During the 1950s and 1960s, Williams was largely responsible for initiating the nationally-recognized “Winnipeg Shows” exhibitions.

Williams made many contributions as a member of the community of artists in Manitoba and has been recognized for several collections and works. He was commissioned for several local projects, including: the 1959 Concrete Sculpture for Polo Park; a stainless steel wall relief for the Investor’s Syndicate Building (1959), and an official portrait of former Manitoba premier Howard Pawley (1991). His work is owned by several organizations, including: the Winnipeg Art Gallery, the Museum of Modern Art (New York), the Harvey Gaul Memorial (Carnegie Institute, Pittsburgh), and Des Moines Art Centre (Iowa).

After stepping down from his position as Director of the School of Art, Williams continued to teach at the University of Manitoba until his retirement in 1987. In 1990, he received the honorary title of Director Emeritus at the University of Manitoba. During his retirement, Williams continued his work as an artist, and completed several collections, including the “The Naked Block Party” series in 1997 as well as several works depicting the Annunciation. Richard Williams continues to reside in Winnipeg.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

This fonds is arranged in 14 series, including: Biographical Information; Education; Publications/Speeches/Lectures; Academic Career; Professional Career; Organizations; Correspondence; Areas of Personal Interest; Other Artists; Sketches (and Oversize Sketches=205); Photographs (and Oversize Photographs=104); Negatives (34); Posters; Scrapbooks.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

Financial information, student grades, some correspondence, and letters of reference have been restricted

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Financial information, student grades, some correspondence, and letters of reference have been restricted

Return to Top


Custodial History

Donated by Richard Williams' wife Pauline in 2008

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION [ 1986-2006 ]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
1 1 R. E. Williams' Resume and Curriculum Vitae [ca. 1986-2002]
  2 Interview of R.E. Williams by Mary Reid (curator) 2005-2006
  3 Interview of R.E. Williams by Cliff Eyland 2005

Return to Top


EDUCATION 1939-1954
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
1 4 "History and Appreciation of Art" course [ca. 1949]
  5 "Music of American Plains Indians" Notes [ca. 1950s]
  6 R.E.Williams' 19th Century final exam [ca. 1950s]
  7 "Myth and reason" course 1951
  8 Physiognomy 1951
  9 "History of Oriental Art" course 1950-1951
  10 "History of Classical Art" course [ca. 1952]
  11 "Modern Art" course 1951-1954
  12 R.E.Williams' Academic Records 1939-1954
  13 "Hopi Indian Music and Visual Art" course 1953
  14 Registration/Personal Data [ca. 1953-1954

Return to Top


PUBLICATIONS/SPEECHES/LECTURES 1950s-2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
2 1 Thesis: Origins of Certain Acid Techniques for Intaglio Printmaking (Part 1 of 2) 1954
  2 Thesis: Origins of Certain Acid Techniques for Intaglio Printmaking (Part 2 of 2) 1954
  3 Articles and Publications by R.E.Williams 1956-1990
  4 Articles and Publications about R.E.Williams 1959-1996
  5 Manuscript Articles by R.E.Williams 1961-2005
  6 Graduation speeches [ca.1950s]
  7 Visiting Artist presentation at the University of Manitoba 1991

Return to Top


ACADEMIC CAREER 1950s-2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
3 1 "Introduction to Art" course notes [ca. 1950s]
  2 "History of Western Art" course notes (Part 1 of 3) 1956-1957
  3 "History of Western Art" course notes (Part 2 of 3) 1956-1957
  4 "History of Western Art" course notes (Part 3 of 3) 1956-1957
  5 "History of Fine Art" course notes 1963-1964
  6 C Student lists/grade 1985-1987
  7 Course Outlines/Notes 1985-1987
  8 C Letters of Recommendation 1970-1991
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
4 1 School of Art: Physical Plant 1952-1987
  2 School of Art: Enrollment/Timetable info 1959-1988
  3 School of Art: brochures and Bulletin Journal 1965-1994
  4 School of Art: Course Outlines 1970-1977
  5 School of Art: Art Exhibition Posters/Notices 1970-2006
  6 School of Art: Task Force on Organization 1971-1975
  7 School of Art: Correspondence 1972
  8 Foundation Year Reports by R.E.Williams and others 1975
  9 School of Art: Robert Bruce's Retirement Party 1975-1976
  10 School of Art: Anniversary/Reunion Correspondence 1979-1986
  11 School of Art: 70th Anniversary 1983-1984
  12 School of Art: Dale Amundson Recommendation (for position of Director) 1984-1995
  13 School of Art: Collection info 1985-1987
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
5 1 C School of Art: Faculty and Administration Correspondence re: School of Art Director C.Scott 1985-1987
  2 School of Art: Inter-Departmental Correspondence 1986
  3 School of Art: Kelly Clark Memorial 1995
  4 School of Art: Director's Message [ca. 2000-2001]
  5 University Career: University of Manitoba appointments and Salary Adjustments 1954-1987
  6 University Career: Canada Council Arts Award #W69-683 1968-1972
  7 University Career: Research/Study Leave 1982-1985
  8 University Career: Appointment as Director Emeritus of the School of Art 1990
  9 National Gallery Conference 1956
  10 Installation of Ernst Sirluck 1972
  11 Humanities Research Council of Canada Correspondence 1970-1972
  12 Learned Society 1971-1972
  13 Lionel LeMoine Fitzgerald Inventory re: Catalogue Raisonne 1974-1981
  14 C Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada 1982-1984
  15 "Health Hazards in the Arts" course 1976-1987

Return to Top


PROFESSIONAL CAREER 1959-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
6 1 Exhibition: R.E.Williams' 1959-2006
  2 Exhibition: Canada Centenniel 1967
  3 Exhibition: The National Gallery of Canada Jordaens Exhibition 1968
  4 Exhibition: National Gallery of Canada Fountainebleau Exhibition 1972-1973
  5 Commissioned Projects: Polo Park Sculpture 1958-1960
  6 Commissioned Projects: Winnipeg Air Terminal Building Art Program 1961-1962
  7 Commissioned Projects: Miscellaneous Portraits 1966-1994
  8 Commissioned Projects: Howard Pawley's Portrait 1988-1991
  9 Naked Block Party Text 2000
  10 Naked Block Party: "Nudity News and the Block Party Fiction" by R.E.Williams 2000
  11 Naked Block Party: Photocopies of various prints [ca. 2000]
  12 Naked Block Party: Correspondence re: Inspiration of the work 2001
  13 Naked Block Party: reviews 2001
  14 Notes on Art [ca. 1950-2006]
  15 Article Reviews of R.E.Williams' Art Work 1986-1995
  16 C Records of Sale 1988-2004
  17 Sales and Gifts 1994-2004
  18 Correspondence re: Donations and Income Tax Receipts 1997-1998
  19 Donations of Art to Winnipeg Art Gallery (notes, correspondence) 2000-2004
  20 Correspondence re: Art Donations (ca.2003)
  21 Appraisals of William's Works 2006

Return to Top


ORGANIZATIONS 1957-2003
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
7 1 The National Gallery of Canada Universities Conference 1957
  2 Western Canada Art Association 1958-1970
  3 Festival of the Arts 1966-1968
  4 Annual Meetings of the College Art Association 1970-1975
  5 CAR/FAC 1984-1993
  6 Manitoba Arts Council 1987-1994
  7 Winnipeg Art Gallery: Act of Incorporation and By-Laws 1963-1977
  8 Winnipeg Art Gallery: Building Programme 1968
  9 Winnipeg Art Gallery: Opening 1968-1971
  10 Winnipeg Art Gallery Opening: Newspaper Clippings and Notes 1971
  11 Exhibitions 1974-1993
  12 UAAC: Executive Correspondence 1966-1967
  13 UAAC: Executive Correspondence 1968-1969
  14 UAAC: Executive Correspondence: 1970
  15 Western Canada Art Council Meeting Notes 1969
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
8 1 UAAC: Executive Correspondence 1971
  2 UAAC: Executive Correspondence 1972-1976
  3 UAAC: Executive Correspondence 1978-1979
  4 UAAC: Executive Correspondence / Notices 1995-1997
  5 UAAC: Executive Board Meetings 1967-1968
  6 UAAC: Executive Board Meetings 1969-1971
  7 UAAC: Executive Board Meeting Minutes / Notes 1973-1976
  8 UAAC: Executive Board Meeting Minutes 1977-1978
  9 Miscellaneous Correspondence 1957-1968
  10 Miscellaneous Documents 1957-2003
  11 Constitution 1957-1972
  12 Bulletin 1968
  13 Journal Editions 1972-1979
  14 Resolution re: Inter-Provincial Education 1974-1975
  15 By-Laws and Incorporation 1973
  16 First General Meeting 1974-1975
  17 Correspondence; Minutes; Financial Statements 1976
  18 UAAC Executive: Tickets and Notes 1974-1977
  19 UAAC Montreal Meeting Tickets and Notes 1969
  20 UAAC Resolution re: Inter-Provincial Education 1972-1973
  21 UAAC - Originating Meeting 1957
  22 UAAC - Other Material 1966-1968
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
91 1 UAAC: Annual Meeting: Ottawa 1968
  2 UAAC: Annual Meeting: Toronto 1970
  3 UAAC: Annual Meeting: Halifax 1970-1971
  4 UAAC: Annual Meeting: Vancouver 1971-1972
  5 UAAC: Annual Meeting: Winnipeg 1973-1974
  6 UAAC: Annual Meeting: Ottawa 1973-1974
  7 UAAC: Annual Meeting: Toronto 1974-1975
  8 UAAC: Annual Meeting: Edmonton 1975-1976
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
10 1 UAAC: Annual Meeting: Montreal 1976-1977
  2 UAAC: Annual Meeting: Victoria 1977-1978
  3 UAAC: Annual Meeting: Halifax 1978-1979
  4 UAAC: Annual Meeting: Ottawa 1980
  5 UAAC: Annual Meeting: Montreal 1980-1981

Return to Top


CORRESPONDENCE 1943-2001
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
10 6 Miscellaneous 1943-1949
  7 Miscellaneous 1950-1954
  8 George Swinton 1969-2001
  9 Canadian Museums Association 1972
  10 Journal of Canadian Art History 1973
  11 Miscellaneous 1994
  12 Greeting Cards/Notes 1970-2000

Return to Top


AREAS OF PERSONAL INTEREST 1950s-1997
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
10 13 Instrument Makers Info [ca. 1950s]
  14 Notes re: Bosch Pipers [ca. 1958]
  15 Miscellaneous Notes [ca. 1965-1988]
  16 George Swinton "Eighty Years" Invitation 1997

Return to Top


OTHER ARTISTS 1975-2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
10 17 Winston Leathers: Prints, Articles 1975-2005
  18 George Swinton: Correspondence, Drafts of Articles 1996-2002
  19 Notes and Newspaper Clippings (ca.1980s-1990s)

Return to Top


SKETCHES PC 233 (Includes 36 Sketches) [ca. 1939-1982]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
11 15 Nude Sketches (includes 3 sketches) [ca. 1982]
Box                                                                                                                                                                                
12

"Iowa E&E Sketches" Scrapbook Aardvark, Nudes, People (includes 25 sketches)

"Hands...C/T" Scrapbook Hands, Facial Features, Bones (includes 8 sketches) 1939-43

Return to Top


OVERSIZE SKETCHES (Includes 6 Sketches) [ca. 1980s-1990s]
Box                                                                                                                                                                                
12 "Persian Ms Orig." Scrapbook Nude Sketches (includes 6 sketches) [ca. 1980s-1990s]

Return to Top


PHOTOGRAPHS PC 223 (Includes 81 Photographs) [ca. 1950s-1994]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
11 1 R.E.Williams (includes 3 photographs) 1954
  2 Polo Park Sculpture (includes 7 photographs) [ca. 1959-1960]
  3 Dr. Harry Medovy (includes 1 photograph) [ca. 1970]
  4 Various Professors (includes 26 photographs) [ca. 1966-1994]
  5 Premier Howard Pawley (includes 3 photographs) [ca. 1991]
  6 R.E.William's Art: Part 1 of 2 (includes 5 photographs) [ca. 1950s-1960s]
  7 R.E.William's Art: Part 2 of 2 (includes 13 photographs) [ca. 1950s-1960s]
  8 Investors Building Mural (includes 3 photographs) [ca. 1959]
  9 Sculptures (includes 8 photographs) [ca. 1950s-1960]
  10 Sculptures/Paintings (includes 11 photographs) [ca. 1950s-1960s]
  11 The Naked Block Party (includes 1 photograph) [ca. 1970]

Return to Top


OVERSIZE PHOTOGRAPHS (includes 23 Photographs) [ca. 1939-1970s]
Box                                                                                                                                                                                
12 Poster of Arab Bust (includes 3 photographs) 1939
  Scrapbook Pages (8) with Photos of R.E.William's Works (includes 15 photographs) [ca. 1950s-1960s]
  "Persian Ms Orig." Scrapbook Photos of Legislature (Includes 2 photographs) [ca.1920s-1930s?]
Location                                                                                                                                                                 
Map Cabinet #5 (MC 22)  Students Lined up Against Wall (includes 1 Photograph) [ca. 1960s-1970s]

Return to Top


 

NEGATIVES (includes 34 negatives) [ca. 1940s-1970s]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
11 12 R.E.William's Art: 3x5 (includes 8 negatives) [ca. 1940s-1960s]
  13 R.E.William's Art: 4x6 (includes 5 negatives) 1951-1954
  14 Professors: 35mm (includes 21 negatives)

Return to Top


POSTERS MC 22 (includes 5 Posters)
Location                                                                                                                                                               
Map Cabinet #5  L.L.Fitzgerald Memorial Exhibition (The National Gallery)
  Bruning Exhibition (Gallery One One One: School of Art)
  "Staff" Poster
  "Exhibition" University of Manitoba School of Art
  "4th Annual Winnipeg Show" Winnipeg Art Gallery

Return to Top


SCRAPBOOKS (includes 1 Scrapbook) PC 233 [ca. 1940s-1965]
Box                                                                                                                                                                                
12 Dark Brown Scrapbook Newspaper Clippings Scrapbook [ca. 1940s-1965]

Return to Top


A.08-18, Oversized Sketches by Richard E. Williams in Map Cabinet [194-] - [200-]
  • 163 drawings
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
  1 Portraits and Still Lifes in Pencil or Charcoal (subjects are mostly adults) by Richard E. Williams [194-] - [200-]
  2 Portraits and Still Lifes in Pencil or Charcoal (subjects are mostly adults) by Richard E. Williams [194-] - [200-]
  3 Portraits and Still Lifes in Pencil or Charcoal (subjects are mostly adults) by Richard E. Williams [194-] - [200-]
  4 Portraits and Still Lifes in Pencil or Charcoal (subjects are mostly adults) by Richard E. Williams [194-] - [200-]

Return to Top