The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Inventory prepared by Brett Lougheed
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(June 4, 2003)
Finding aid encoded by Brett Lougheed (June 2, 2003)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Administrative History of the Winnipeg Grain Exchange Inc.
Scope and Contents of the Papers
Detailed Description of the Collection
Daily Market Records 1929-1979
Option Market Records 1930-1979
Supplementary Journal December 1, 1975 - January 1, 1979
Canadian Wheat Board Prices 1957-1984
Administrative History of the Winnipeg Grain Exchange Inc.
The Winnipeg Commodity Exchange was founded in 1887, as the Winnipeg Grain and Produce Exchange, by a group of Winnipeg grain merchants. It served initially as a forum for cash trades in Canadian grains, but in 1904 introduced trading in wheat futures and subsequently added futures trading in barley, oats, flax and rye. In 1908 the Exchange was re-organized as a voluntary, unincorporated non-profit organization and its name was changed to the Winnipeg Grain Exchange.
The Grain Exchange grew in importance with the Canadian grain economy, and by 1929 played a major part in the establishment of world grain prices and the establishment in 1935 of the Canadian Wheat Board, which in 1943 was given a monopoly in the marketing of wheat. In 1949 this monopoly was extended to oats and barley.
The importance of the Exchange began to revive in 1963 with the establishment of a futures market in rapeseed. In 1972 a market in gold futures was opened, at which time the Exchange changed its name to the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange. In 1974 part of the trade in barley, oats and feed wheat was restored to the Exchange and a market in Eastern corn was opened.
Currently, Winnipeg Commodity Exchange Inc. (WCE or the "Exchange") is Canada’s only agricultural futures and options exchange. Contracts traded on WCE include futures contracts for canola, flaxseed, domestic feed wheat, and domestic feed barley. Options on canola, flaxseed, feed wheat and feed barley are also traded.
Scope and Contents of the Papers
The fonds consists of daily market record ledgers; futures record ledgers; option market record ledgers; a cash sales record ledger; Canadian Wheat Board prices log books; cross, spread, match and job log books; and a supplementary journal.
This collection has yet to be organized into series.
This collection has not yet been arranged.
There are no restrictions on this collection. However, users must abide by copyright laws.
The Winnipeg Commodity Exchange Inc. fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in 1997 by the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange.
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | |
| 1 | Daily Market Records 1929-1930 |
| 2 | Daily Market Records 1930-1931 |
| 3 | Daily Market Records 1931-1932 |
| 4 | Daily Market Records 1932-1933 |
| 5 | Daily Market Records 1933-1934 |
| 6 | Daily Market Records 1934-1935 |
| 7 | Daily Market Records 1935-1936 |
| 8 | Daily Market Records 1936-1937 |
| 9 | Daily Market Records 1937-1938 |
| 10 | Daily Market Records 1938-1939 |
| 11 | Daily Market Records 1939-1940 |
| 12 | Daily Market Records 1940-1941 |
| 13 | Daily Market Records 1941-1942 |
| 14 | Daily Market Records 1942-1943 |
| 15 | Daily Market Records 1943-1944 |
| 16 | Daily Market Records 1944-1945 |
| 17 | Daily Market Records 1945-1946 |
| 18 | Daily Market Records 1946-1947 |
| 19 | Daily Market Records 1947-1948 |
| 20 | Daily Market Records 1948-49 |
| 21 | Daily Market Records 1949-1950 |
| 22 | Daily Market Records 1950-1951 |
| 23 | Daily Market Records 1951-1952 |
| 24 |
Daily Market Records September 4, 1951 - July 31, 1952 (unbound) |
| 25 | Daily Market Records 1952-1953 |
| 26 | Daily Market Records 1953-1954 |
| 27 | Daily Market Records 1954-1955 |
| 28 | Daily Market Records 1955-1956 |
| 29 | Daily Market Records 1956-1957 |
| 30 | Daily Market Records 1957-1958 |
| 31 | Daily Market Records 1958-1959 |
| 32 | Daily Market Records 1959-1960 |
| 33 | Daily Market Records 1960-1961 |
| 34 | Daily Market Records 1961-1962 |
| 35 | Daily Market Records 1962-1963 |
| 36 | Daily Market Records 1963-1964 |
| 37 | Daily Market Records 1964-1965 |
| 38 |
Daily Market Records August 1, 1965 - July 31, 1966 (unbound) |
| 39 |
Daily Market Records August 1, 1966 - July 31, 1967 (unbound) |
| 40 |
Daily Market Records August 1, 1967 - July 31, 1968 (unbound) |
| 41 |
Daily Market Records August 1, 1968 - July 31, 1969 (unbound) |
| 42 |
Daily Market Records August 31, 1969 - December 31, 1969 (unbound) |
| 43 |
Daily Market Records January 1, 1970 - July 31, 1970 (unbound) |
| 44 |
Daily Market Records August 4, 1970 - Dcember 31, 1970 (unbound) |
| 45 | Daily Market Records January 1971 - December 1971 |
| 46 | Daily Market Records January 1972 - December 1972 |
| 47 | Daily Market Records January 1973 - December 31, 1973 |
| 48 |
Daily Market Records January 1974 - May 10, 1974 (unbound) |
| 49 |
Daily Market Records May 10, 1974 - August 30, 1974 (unbound) |
| 50 | Daily Market Records September 1974 - June 1975 |
| 51 |
Daily Market Records June 1975 - October 1975 (unbound) |
| 52 |
Daily Market Records November 3, 1975 - February 27, 1976 (unbound) |
| 53 |
Daily Market Records for Flax, Vancouver Rapeseed, Thunder Bay Rapeseed, A March 1976 - February 1977 (unbound) |
| 54 |
Daily Market Records for Flax, Vancouver Rapeseed, Thunder Bay Rapeseed, B March 1976 - February 1977 (unbound) |
| 55 |
Daily Market Records for Flax, Vancouver Rapeseed, and Thunder Bay Rapeseed March 1977 - December 1977 (unbound) |
| 56 | Daily Market Records for Flax and Rapeseed 1978-1979 |
| 57 | Daily Market Records for Flaxseed and Vancouver Rapeseed October 1979 |
| 58 | Daily Market Records for Rye, Barley, Oats, and Feed Wheat January 1978 - September 1979 |
| 59 | Daily Market Records for Rye, Barley, Oats, and Feed Wheat October 1979 |
| 60 |
Daily Market Records for 400 oz. Gold and 100 oz. Gold March 1977 - December 1977 (unbound) |
| 61 |
Daily Market Records for 400 oz. Gold and 100 oz. Gold March 1976 - January 1978 (unbound) |
| 62 | Daily Market Records for 400 oz. Gold and 100 oz. Gold January 1978 |
| Box | |
| 63 | Option Market Records 1930-1931 |
| 64 |
Option Market Records 1931-1933 (no. 2) |
| 65 |
Option Market Records 1933-1934 (no. 4) |
| 66 | Option Market Records 1934-1935 |
| 67 |
Option Market Records 1935-1936 (no. 6) |
| 68 | Option Market Records 1936-1937 |
| 69 | Option Market Records 1937-1938 |
| 70 | Option Market Records 1938-1939 |
| 71 |
Option Market Records 1939-1940 Option Market Records 1940-1941 |
| 72 | Option Market Records 1948-1949 |
| 73 |
Option Market Records 1939 -1943 (no. 3) |
| 74 | Option Market Records 1941-1942 |
| 75 | Option Market Records 1942-1943 |
| 76 | Option Market Records 1943-1944 |
| 77 | Option Market Records 1944-1945 |
| 78 | Option Market Records 1945-1946 |
| 79 | Option Market Records 1946-1947 |
| 80 | Option Market Records 1947-1948 |
| 81 | Option Market Records 1948-1949 |
| 82 | Option Market Records 1949-1950 |
| 83 | Option Market Records 1950-1951 |
| 84 | Option Market Records 1952-1953 |
| 85 | Option Market Records 1953-1954 |
| 86 | Option Market Records 1954-1955 |
| 87 | Option Market Records 1955-1956 |
| 88 | Option Market Records 1956-1957 |
| 89 | Option Market Records 1957-1958 |
| 90 | Option Market Records 1958-1959 |
| 91 | Option Market Records 1959-1961 |
| 92 | Option Market Records 1961-1963 |
| 93 | Option Market Records 1963-1965 |
| 94 |
Option Market Records August 1, 1965 - December 31, 1969 (unbound) |
| 95 |
Option Market Records January 1970 - December 1971 (unbound) |
| 96 | Option Market Records January 1972 - June 1975 |
| 97 | Option Market Records June1975 - March 2, 1979 |
| Box | |
| 98 |
Futures Records Futures 1908-1913 (A) |
| 99 |
Futures Records Futures 1913-1917 (B) |
| 100 |
Futures Records September 1917 - August 1920 (C) |
| 101 |
Futures Records September 1920 - August 1921 (#1) |
| 102 |
Futures Records September 1921 - August 1922 (#2) |
| 103 |
Futures Records September 1922 - August 1923 (#3) |
| 104 |
Futures Records September 1923 - August 1924 (#4) |
| 105 |
Futures Records September 1924 - August 1925 (#5) |
| 106 |
Futures Records September 1925 - August 1926 (#6) |
| 107 |
Futures Records September 1926 - August 1927 (#7) |
| 108 |
Futures Records September 1929 - August 1930 (#10) |
| 109 |
Futures Records September 1930 - August 1931 (#11) |
| 110 |
Futures Records September 1931 - August 1932 (#12) |
| 111 |
Futures Records September 1932 - August 1933 (#13) |
| 112 |
Futures Records September 1933 - August 1934 (#14) |
| 113 | Futures Records September 1934 - August 1935 |
| 114 |
Futures Records September 1935 - August 1936 (#16) |
| 115 |
Futures Records September 1936 August 1937 (#17) |
| 116 |
Futures Records September 1937 - August 1938 (#18) |
| 117 |
Futures Records September 1938 - August 1939 (#19) |
| 118 |
Futures Records September 1939 - August 1940 (#20) |
| 119 |
Futures Records September 1940- August 1941 (#21) |
| 120 |
Futures Records September 1941 - August 1942 (#22) |
| 121 |
Futures Records September 1942 - August 1943 (#23) |
| 122 |
Futures Records September 1943 - August 1944 (#24) |
| 123 |
Futures Records September 1944 - August 1946 (#25-26) |
| 124 |
Futures Records September 1946 - August 1947 (#27) |
| 125 |
Futures Records September 1947 - August 1948 (#28) |
| 126 |
Futures Records September 1948 - August 1949 (#29) |
| 127 |
Futures Records September 1949 - August 1950 (#30) |
| 128 |
Futures Records September 1, 1950 - August 31, 1951 (#31) |
| 129 |
Futures Records - Gx Prices only September 1, 1951 - July 31, 1952 (#32) |
| 130 |
Futures Records August 1, 1952 - July 31, 1953 (#33) |
| 131 |
Futures Records August 1, 1953 - July 31, 1954 (#34) |
| 132 |
Futures Records August 1, 1954 - July 31, 1955 (#35) |
| 133 |
Futures Records August 1, 1955 - July 31, 1956 (#36) |
| 134 |
Futures Records August 1, 1956 - July 31, 1957 (#37) |
| 135 |
Futures Records August 1, 1957 - July 31, 1958 (#38) |
| 136 | Futures Records August 1, 1958 - July 31, 1959 |
| 137 |
137 Futures Records August 1, 1959 - July 31, 1960 (#40) |
| 138 |
Futures Records August 2, 1960 - July 31, 1961 (#41) |
| 139 |
Futures Records August 1, 1961 - July 31, 1962 (#42) |
| 140 |
Futures Records [ August 1, 1962 - July 31, 1963 ] (#43) |
| 141 |
Futures Records August 1, 1963 - July 31, 1964 (#44) |
| 142 |
Futures Records August 1, 1964 - July 31, 1965 (#45) |
| 143 |
Futures Records August 1, 1965 - July 31, 1966 (#46) |
| 144 |
Futures Records August 2, 1966 - July 31, 1967 (#47) |
| 145 |
Futures Records August 1, 1967 - July 31, 1968 (#48) |
| 146 |
Futures Records August 1, 1968 - July 1969 (#49) |
| 147 |
Futures Records August 1, 1969 - July 1970 (#50) |
| 148 |
Futures Records July 1, 1970 - April 1971 (#51) |
| 149 |
Futures Records May 1, 1971 - November 30, 1972 (#52) |
| 150 |
150 Futures Records February 1, 1972 - November 30, 1972 (#53) |
| 151 |
151 Futures Records December 1, 1972 - November 30, 1973 (#54) |
| 152 |
Futures Records December 3, 1973 - September 30, 1974 (#55) |
| 153 |
Futures Records October 1, 1974 - May 30, 1975 (#56) |
| 154 |
Futures Records June 2, 1975 - January 30, 1976 (#57) |
| 155 |
Futures Records February 1976 - September 30, 1976 (#58) |
| 156 |
Futures Records October 1, 1976 - June 30, 1977 (#59) |
| 157 |
Futures Records July 1, 1977 - March 31, 1978 (#60) |
| 158 |
Futures Records April 3, 1978 - December 1978 (#61) |
| 159 | Futures Records January 1, 1979 - July 31, 1979 |
| 160 | Futures Records August 1979 - January 1980 |
| 161 | Futures Records February 1980 - September 1980 |
| 162 | Futures Records October 1980 - May 1981 |
| 163 | Futures Records June 1, 1981 - December 31, 1981 |
| 164 | Futures Records January 4, 1982 - July 30, 1982 |
| 165 | Futures Records August 2, 1982 - February 28, 1983 |
| 166 | Futures Records March 1, 1983 - August 31, 1983 |
| 167 | Futures Records September 1, 1983 - February 29, 1984 |
| 168 | Futures Records March 1, 1984 - September 28, 1984 |
| 169 | Futures Records October 1, 1984 - April 30, 1985 |
| 170 | Futures Records May 1, 1985 - December 31, 1985 |
| 171 | Futures Records January 2, 1986 - August 29, 1986 |
| 172 | Futures Records September 1, 1986 - April 30, 1987 |
| 173 | Futures Records May 1, 1987 - December 31, 1987 |
| 174 | Futures Records January 1988 - August 31, 1988 |
| 175 | Futures Records September 1988 - May 1989 |
| 176 | Futures Records June 19, 1989 - April 1990 |
| 177 | Futures Records May 1990 - February 1991 |
| 178 | Futures Records March 1991 - January 31, 1992 |
| 179 | Futures Records February 3, 1992 - November 30, 1992 |
| 180 | Futures Records December 1, 1992 - September 30, 1993 |
| 181 | Futures Records October 1993 |
| Box | |
| 182 | Supplementary Journal December 1, 1975 - January 1, 1979 |
| Box | |
| 183 | Canadian Wheat Board Prices August 1, 1957 - March 31, 1960 |
| 184 | Canadian Wheat Board Prices May 1, 1962 - May 29, 1964 |
| 185 | Canadian Wheat Board Prices June 1964 - June 30, 1966 |
| 186 | Canadian Wheat Board Prices July 1966 - July 1968 |
| 187 | Canadian Wheat Board Prices August 1, 1968 - June 1970 |
| 188 | Canadian Wheat Board Prices July 1, 1970 - January 31, 1972 |
| 189 | Canadian Wheat Board Prices February 1, 1972 - December 31, 1973 |
| 190 | Canadian Wheat Board Prices January 1974 - May 1975 |
| 191 | Canadian Wheat Board Prices June 1975 - June 1977 |
| 192 | Canadian Wheat Board Prices July 1977 - July 31, 1979 |
| 193 | Canadian Wheat Board Prices August 1979 - August 1982 |
| 194 | Canadian Wheat Board Prices September 1982 - October 1984 |
| Box | |
| 195 | Jobs-Cross Log May 1, 1975 - May 24, 1984 |
| 196 | Jobs-Cross Log for Oats, Wheat, Rye, Barley Cross Trades May 25, 1984 - September 1988 |
| 197 |
Jobs-Cross Log September 26, 1988 - October 29, 1989 (unbound; some loose pages) |
| 198 |
Jobs-Cross Log September 1, 1981 - May 11, 1987 (June 30, 1982 - September 13, 1983 missing) |
| 199 | Jobs-Cross Log May 12, 1987 - October 21,1988 |
| 200 |
Spreads Records Log October 1981 - September 30, 1987 (Book 1) |
| 201 |
Market- Spread Records Log October 1, 1987 - November 7, 1989 (Book 2) |
| 202 | Spreads Records Log November 8, 1989 - May 6, 1991 |
| 203 | Match-Job-Spread Records Log August 30, 1989 - April 19, 1991 |
| 204 | Jobs-Spreads-Matches Log October 24, 1988 - May 30, 1990 |
| 205 | Jobs-Spreads-Matches Log May 31, 1990 - April 19, 1991 |
| 206 | Spreads Log May 9, 1991 - September 5, 1991 |
| 207 | Empty Log Book n.d. |