Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Sybil Shack fonds: MSS 152, PC 159, TC 104 (A2002-56, A2004-31)

Sybil Shack:

An Inventory of Her Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg MB. Canada
(August 2003 & November 2004)

Finding aid encoded by Lewis St. George Stubbs (August 2003 & November 2004)
Finding aid written in English.

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 152, PC 159, TC 104, A.02-56 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biographical Sketch

Scope and Contents

Organization of the Papers

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

Biographical and Family Information,

Correspondence1930-2003

Book drafts and correspondence with publishers1944-1998

Research Material for Books1990-2002

Articles, Speeches, Programs & Book Reviews1930-2001

Broadcast Scripts1955-1977

Patriotic Observances Manitoba Department of Education1981

University of Manitoba Material1945-2001

Education Material 1915-2002

Research Material on Aging & Senior Citizens1969-1994

Research on Women1943-2002

Canadian Civil Liberties Association1993-2002

Research Material on various areas of interest1955-1995

Shack Awards Information1969-2002

Biographical information, obituaries & eulogies of Shack's friends1972-1996

Jewish History1950-1996

Biographical information & articles on John Hirsch 1951-1988

Material generated by other people1977-2001

Miscellaneous Information1917-2001

Oversize Material 1958-2001

Audio Cassettes (T.C. 104) 1977-2002

Photo Collections (P.C. 159)1984

Videocassette1991

Sybil Shack Mss.152 (A.04-31)


Collection Summary

Repository:
Archives & Special Collections, University of Manitoba
Elizabeth Dafoe Library
 
Creator:
Sybil Shack
 
Title:
Sybil Shack fonds
 
Dates:
1896-2003
 
Quantity:
4.33 m of textual records and other material
 
Identification:
A2002-56, MSS 152, PC 156, TC 104
 
Language:
English.

Return to Top


Biographical Sketch

Sybil Shack was born in Winnipeg on April 1, 1911 in a bedroom behind her maternal grandparents store on Pritchard Ave. She showed great promise academically and was awarded an Isbister Entrance Scholarship to the University of Manitoba at the age of 14. She graduated with a B.A. in 1929 and attended Normal School to become a teacher the following. Teaching jobs were scare as the Great Depression took a firm hold of the Canadian economy. For two years she supported herself writing editorials for Weekly News the Independent Labour Council newspaper, taking general assignments for the Western Jewish News marking papers or giving private tutorials. She also found placements as a substitute teacher. Finally at the point of giving up on her chosen profession, she wrote what she refers to as her desparation letter and secured a job at Foxwarren, Manitoba. After three years in rural Manitoba she returned to teach in Winnipeg. In 1945 Shack returned to the University of Manitoba winning the Gold Medal in the Bachelor of Education program. She received a Masters of Education the following year. Between 1950-1952, she took post graduate courses in supervision and administration at the Ontario College of Education. She was principal of several schools starting with Sargeant Park School in 1948 and retired as the principal of Kelvin High in 1976. For thirty years she was involved in school broadcasts on radio and television on C.B.C. In 1969 she received an Honorary Degree (L.L.D.) from the University of Manitoba. Shack is the author of several books including : Armed with a Primer published in 1965 by McClelland & Stewart. The two-thirds minority: women in Canadian education, was published in 1973 by the Guidance Centre, Faculty of Education, University of Toronto. Four years later she wrote Saturday's stepchildren: Canadian women in Business for the same publisher.

Shack was a leading propenent of pay equity for female teachers and called for government-supported nurseries to aid working mothers. She is the past president of the Canadian Civil Liberties Association, was a member of the Advisory Board of the Centre on Aging at the University of Manitoba and was the only lay person on the Manitoba Judicial Council.

Shack has been the recipient of several awards. She received the John M. Brown Award for contribution to education in 1976. She received three awards in 1983, the YMCA's Women of the Year Award for Community Service, a Citizen of the Year Award from the City of Winnipeg-Knights and a Person's Award. In 1984 she was became a member of the Order of Canada and Provost of the Buffalo Hunt. In 1987 she was elected a fellow of the Ontario Institute for Secondary Education. She received a Manitoba Human Rights Achievements Awards in 1995 and entered the Winnipeg Citzens' Hall of Fame in 1996.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents

The fonds is separated into series. The first series is biographical information and family material 1896-2003. It includes diaries and appointment books. The second series is correspondence from 1930-2003. The third series is book drafts and correspondence with publishers from 1944-1998. The fourth series is comprised of research material for a book on the 50th anniversary of Jewish Child & Family Services and the History of Education Project 1990-2001. The fifth series contains articles, speeches, conference programs & book reviews 1930-2001.The sixth series is radio scripts 1955-1981. The seventh series is Patriotic Observances for Manitoba Department of Education. The eighth series is material from the University of Manitoba from 1945-2001. The ninth series is material relating to education 1915-2002. The tenth series contains research material on Aging & Senior Citizens 1969-1994. The eleventh series is research on women. Series twelve contains information on the Canadian Civil Liberties Association 1993-2002. Research material on Shack's wide ranging areas of interest comprises the thirteen series. Series 14 contains information on Shack's Awards 1969-2002. Series 15 contains biographical information, eulogies & obituaries on Shack's friends 1972-1996. Series 16 contains information on Jewish history, 1950-1996. Series 17 contains information about Shack's adoptive brother John Hirsch 1951-1988. Series 18 contains literary material by other people to sent to Shack 1977-2001. Series ninteen is miscellaneous material 1917-2001. The final series twenty contains oversize material including newspaper clippings, awards, plaques, degrees and a family tree.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 20 series

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

None

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Copyright must be observed.

Return to Top


Custodial History

Dr. Shelley Sweeney the Archivist of the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections visited Dr. Shack on six ocassions between the fall of 2002 and spring 2003 to obtain material

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Biographical and Family Information
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 1 Shack's file of personal reminiscences 1896-2002
  2 Autobiographical Writings [ca.1995]
  3 Last Will & Testament 2001
  4 Shack's Diary 1923-1929
  5 Shack's high school text for poetry [ca.1923]
  6 Autograph book 1924-1933
  7 Book listing friends birthdays 1925
  8 Shack's diary 1930-1935
  9 Shack's diary 1956
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
2 1 Appointment Books 1965-1995
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
3 1 Two pages from maternal grandfather Moses Katz passport 1896
  2 Mrs. Pauline Shack's report cards & correspondence 1902-1989
  3 Postcards from Russia 1905-1909
  4 Moses Katz union book 1906
  5 Various bill receipts from Shack's father Alexander and Moses Katz 1907-1917
  6 Correspondence in Hebrew from American relatives 1912-1927
  7 Alexander Shack bank books, passport & hydro notebooks 1924-1945
  8 Academic material of Freda Shack 1930-1941
  8A Leah Shack's Will 1931
  9 Freda Shack course notes & old exams 1932-1940
  10 Ration cards & registration cards belonging to Mr. & Mrs. Shack 1937-1945
  11 David Ehrlich & John Hirsch's english exercise book 1948
  12 Correspondence of condolence at the death of Alexander Shack Includes a letter from Alex Shack telling his family not mourn 1950-1951
  13 Pauline Shack's obituary 1989
  14 Geneology of Katz family [ca. 1990]

Return to Top


Correspondence 1930-2003
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
4 1 Letters from (Edgar ?) at Camp Stephens 1930
  2 Foxwarren teaching contract 1932-1933
  3 Foxwarren & Shoal Lake correspondence 1934-1944
  4 Correspondence [ca.1931-1936]
  5 Correspondence 1937-1942
  6 Correspondence Re: Shack's adopting refugee child from Germany 1939
  7 Correspondence from Alan Rutherford while stationed in England 1941-1942
  8 Letter from Mayor John Queen enabling Mrs. Shack to go to Mayo Clinic 1942
  9 Soldiers letters to Shack family 1942-1943
  10 Soldiers letters to Shack family 1942-1945
  11 Guest book of soldiers who stayed with the Shacks 1943-1945
  12 Correspondence from soldiers to Shack family 1944-1945
  13 Correspondence from Alan Rutherford while a prisoner of war in Germany 1942-1944
  14 Correspondence from Grace Rutherford 1943-1945
  15 Correspondence with Alan Rutherford 1945
  16 Letter from Freda Shack [ca.1945]
  17 Correspondence from University of Manitoba 1945-1955
  18 Correspondence from Alan Rutherford 1946
  19 Alan Rutherford's description of his brief escape from the Germans 1946
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
5 1 Correspondence 1946-1955
  2 Correspondence from various relatives 1949-2002
  3 Letters from Shack's sister Freda [ca. 1950]
  4 Correspondence 1950-1959
  5 Cards & postcards 1952-1975
  6 Correspondence to the Shack's from John Hirsch 1952-1979
  7 Correspondence from Morrell family 1955-1979
  8 Department of Education correspondence 1955-1957
  9 Liberty Magazine correspondence 1955-1956
  10 Correspondence 1956-1965
  11 Reviews & letters from John Hirsch 1956-1988
  12 Correspondence 1960-1973
  13 Letter from Phyliss Shoebridge about the education of eskimoes in the Eastern Arctic 1966
  14 Correspondence 1966-1969
  15 Correspondence 1970-1971
  16 Correspondence 1972-1975
  17 Human Rights Commission 1973
  18 Department of Education school broadcasts branch 1974-1979
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
6 1 Letter from Stanley Knowles 1975
  2 Correspondence 1975-2002
  3 Canada Council 1975-1980
  4 Geoff & Betty Morrell 1975-1978
  5 Correspondence 1976-1977
  6 Canadian Women Studies 1976-1994
  7 Barbara Nelson 1977-1978
  8 Immigrant children correspondence & articles 1978-1989
  9 Correspondence 1979-1982
  10 Cousin Anna Warshaw [ca. 1980]
  11 Correspondence 1983-1990
  12 Correspondence Re: Shack's cousin Walter Saltzberg 1984-2001
  13 Correspondence 1984-1985
  14 Correspondence 1984-1992
  15 Dr. S.D. Robinson 1986
  16 Correspondence & some interview material from Fraidie Martz Re: her book on Child Survivors of the Holocaust 1987-1993
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
7 1 Outlook Magazine 1987-2001
  2 Letter from Secretary of State Joe Clark 1988
  3 Mainly condolences on death of John Hirsch & Polly Shack 1989-1990
  4 Letters by Sybil Shack 1990-2001
  5 Betty Osborn correspondence & obituary 1990-1994
  6 Correspondence 1992-2002
  7 Order of Canada 1992-2002
  8 Jewish Child & Family Services 1993-2001
  9 Fraidie Martz correspondence Re: book about John Hirsch 1995-1997
  10 Abraham Arnold 1996
  11 Toni Fried correspondence & articles 1997
  12 Canadian College of Teachers 1997-2000
  13 Walter Saltzberg 1997-2001
  14 Prairie Fire correspondence Re: Shack's award winning article about John Hirsch 1997
  15 Naomi Katz correspondence & autobiographical information 1997
  16 Marilyn Lithwick includes daughter Jessica's Bat Mitzvah Service [ca. 1992]
  17 Fraidie Martz [ca.1998]
  18 Upward Bound 1999
  19 Leon McNarry 1999-2000
  20 C Draft of a letter nominating Abraham Arnold for the Order of Canada 2000
  21 Correspondence 2000-2002
  22 Congratulatory letters on Shack's 90th birthday 2001
  23 Larry Hershfield correspondence Re: geneology 2001
  24 Birthday cards 2003
  25 C Correspondence from niece Molly 2002-2003

Return to Top


Book drafts and correspondence with publishers 1944-1998
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
8 1 Fan mail & letters of congratulations 1944-1991
  2 C Royalties & book contracts 1958-1988
  3 Correspondence & publicity for Armed with a Primer 1965
  4 McClelland & Stewart Ltd. 1965-1981
  5 Armed with a Primer 1965
  6 McClelland & Stewart Ltd. 1963-1965
  7 MacMillan of Canada 1968-1970
  8 Advertisements for Shack's books 1970-1977
  9 Clarke, Irwin & Company 1979-1984
  10 Gage Publishing Ltd. 1980-1984
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
9 1 MacMillan's Language Arts Project Book IV Manuscript 1968
  2 Women in Business Research later the basis for Saturday's Stepchildren 1973-1983
  3 Saturday's Stepchildren correspondence with the publisher Guidance Centre, Faculty of Education, University of Toronto 1976-1978
  4 Handwriting Part II The Transition from Postscript to Cursive Writing 1982
  5 Handwriting Part II The Transition from Postscript to Cursive Writing 1982
  6 Handwriting Part II The Transition from Postscript to Cursive Writing 1982
  7 Handwriting Part II The Transition from Postscript to Cursive Writing 1982
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
10 1 Two chapters for Women in Education 1992

Return to Top


Research Material for Books 1990-2002
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
10 2 Research for book on 50th Anniversary of Jewish Child & Family Services 2001-2002
  3 Outlines for two different books on teaching Manitoba 1990-1994
  4 History of Education Research Project -Inspectors Reports from the 1920 & 1930s [ca.1990-1996]
  5 History of Education Research Project minutes & memos 1990-2000
  6 History of Education Project - Children's Writing from 1960 [ca. 1990-1996]
  7 History of Education Project - Special needs students [ca.1990-1996]
  8 History of Education Project -Clydebank School memories, 1950 [ca.1990-1996]
  9 History of Education Project - teacher training 1920 & 1930s [ca.1990-1996]
  10 History of Education Project - Francis McColl's academic accreditation, 1937-1938 [ca. 1990-1996]
  11 History of Education Project - Life in the Classroom [ca.1990-1996]
  12 History of Education Project - information on retired teachers 1996
  13 History of Education Project - administration 1996
  14 History of Education Project - holidays [ca.1990-1996]
  15 History of Education Project - pedagogy [ca.1990-1996]
  16 History of Education Project - questions for interviews & correspondence 1994
  17 History of Education Project - Boys & Girls Club, 1922 1996
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
11 1 The Death of Luigi Trastulli and other stories 1991
  2 History of Education Project - discipline 1996
  3 Draft of article: "Citizenship and Schooling in Manitoba between the End of World War I and the End of World War II" by Rosa Bruno-Jofre [ca.1998]
  4 History of Education Project - classroom management and patriotism 1996
  5 I Answer with My Life - Life Histories of Women Teachers Working for Social Chase, Kathleen Carey, Routledge Co. 1993
  6 History of Education Project - Manitoba School Journal, 1943-1949 [ca.1990-1996]
  7 History of Education Project - Permissions for interviews 1996
  8 History of Education Project - citizenship [ca.1990-1996]
  9 History of Education Project - " The Western School Journal" [ca.1990-1996]

Return to Top


Articles, Speeches, Programs & Book Reviews 1930-2001
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
12 1 Shack articles in Western Jewish News 1930-1944
  2 The Manitoba Teacher - articles by & about Shack 1955-1965
  3 Manitoba Teacher - articles by and about Shack 1957-1980
  4 Articles & speeches 1958-1979
  5 Manitoba Teachers' Society newsletter - article about Shack 1962
  6 University of Manitoba Alumni Journal - articles about Shack 1964-1969
  7 Monday Morning 1967-1975
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
13 1 Transparencies for speech " Teacher-Principal Relations" [ca.1960]
  2 Speech "Why Teach" [ca.1960]
  3 Manitoba Conference on Education - adresses & proceedings 1960
  4 Canadian Conference on Children 1960-1961
  5 Programs from Conferences attended 1963-1969
  6 Programs from Conferences 1966-1980
  7 Monday Morning 1967-1974
  9 Partial article on the "task of Public School" possibly written by Shack [ca.1970]
  10 Third Annual Conference for Principals & Vice-principals 1970
  11 Programs from Conferences attended 1970-1982
  12 The School Guidance Worker - articles 1971-1977
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
14 1 Our Schools contains article on Shack's retirement 1976
  2 " Who Speaks for the Children" - Education Digest 1979
  3 "Motivating the Motivators" - speech at River East School 1982
  4 Articles, speeches & book reviews 1980-1989
  5 "Old Women are Feminists Too" in Herizons 1985
  6 Articles, speches & book reviews 1990-1995
  7 "Abraham Child Conscript" article about Shack's paternal grandfather [ca.1990]
  8 "Bread upon the Waters" article about the arrival of John Hirsch & David Erhlich in the Shack home 1991
  9 "A Tribute to a Remarkable Women: Eleanor Boyce on the Occasion of the 75th Anniversary of Manitoba Teachers Society 1993
  10 "John Hirsch A Memoir" Prairie Fire 1995
  11 Articles sent to and about Shack 1998-2002
  12 Draft article: "30 Million to Spend" 1998
  13 Article about teaching for RBC Dominion Securities Inc. 2001
  14 Article abot Shack in About Women 2001

Return to Top


Broadcast Scripts 1955-1977
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
15 1 C.B.C. correspondence 1955-1956
  2 Time for Poetry scripts 1955-1961
  3 Critically Speaking 1956
  4 Time for Poetry - grade 6 student's booklet 1959-1960
  5 Let's Write 1960-1962
  6 Let's Write 1961-1977
  7 Let's Write 1961-1973
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
16 1 Television Scripts - Just Spelling 1962
  2 Let's Write [ca.1965]
  3 Let's Write 1966
  4 Let's Write - Children's Writing 1966-1971
  5 To Talk of Many Things 1966-1968
  6 Let's Write - Children's Poetry 1968
  7 Let's Write submissions No.3 1968
  8 Let's Write - children's submission 1968
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
17 1 Let's Write 1968-1970
  2 Time for Poetry 1968-1969
  3 Let's Write Children's Work 1968-1972
  4 Verse and Voice transcript [ca.1970]
  5 Me, Myself & I outline [ca.1970]
  6 Manitoba Teachers' Society - Educational Broadcasting 1970
  7 Anthology of Prose & Poetry - King George School 1970
  8 Time for Poetry 1971
  9 Let's Write 1971-1974
  10 Let's Write - Children's Writing 1971-1972
  11 Patriotic Observances presentations 1972-1982
  12 Let's Write 1972
  13 Manitoba School broadcasts 1972-1973
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
18 1 Let's Write 1972-1973
  2 Student Writing & Poetry from William Osler Elementary, River Heights Junior High and Kelvin High School 1973-1977
  3 Manitoba Department of Education School Broadcasts 1973-1979
  4 Children's Writing 1976-1977
  5 Children's Poetry & Writing 1976-1977
  6 Let's Write 1977-1978
  7 School Broadcasts Radio Calendar 1980-1981

Return to Top


 

Patriotic Observances Manitoba Department of Education 1981
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
19 1 Research Material 1981
  2 Transparencies & Research Material 1981
  3 Patriotic Observances K-6 1981
  4 Reflexions sur ma Patrie K-6 1981

Return to Top


University of Manitoba Material 1945-2001
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
20 1 A Study of the Age, Intelligence and School Success of 107 Grade VII Students - Term Paper 1945
  2 Measuring and Accelerating Progress in the Learning of Junior High School Latin - Thesis 1946
  3 Alexander Shack Prize correspondence 1967-2000
  4 "Let's Be Aware We Are Canadians "- Shack's Convocation Speech in Alumni Journal Summer 1969
  5 Guest book for Honorary Degree Ceremony 1969
  6 The University of Manitoba Development Fund - Drive for Excellance 1987-1990
  7 John Hirsch Memorial Scholarship 1990-2001
  8 Isbister Scholarship 1992
  9 Alexander & Pauline Shack Scholarship in English 2000-2001

Return to Top


Education Material 1915-2002
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
2 1 "Verses" by the pupils of St. John's High School - Vol. 1 No. 1 1915
  2 Manitoba Association of Women Teachers 1917-1990
  3 Report of the Deputy Minister of Education 1925
  4 "Our Story Book" Grade IV Lord Nelson School 1930-1931
  5 Manitoba Educational Association Conference 1958
  6 Statutory Membership Provisions of Teacher Organizations in Canada 1959
  7 Education articles 1960-2002
  8 "Trends in Economic Status of Teachers 1926-1959" Research Division of Canadian Teachers 1961
  9 Winnipeg Division Association of the Manitoba Teacher's Society 1963
  10 The Curriculum of the Elementary School - A Brief 1964
  11 Initial report elementary curriculum seminar 1964
  12 Women in Education 1965-1977
  13 Manitoba Conference on School Design 1968
  14 Eskimo Education 1968-1969
  15 " Looking to the Future in Thailand's Schools" paper by Leslie Gue [ca.1971]
  16 Canadian College of Teachers 1970
  17 "Methodist Indian Day Schools & Indian Communities in Northern Manitoba, 1890-1925 - paper by Jason Dueck 1990
  18 "Attempts of Argentinian and Chilean Feminists: In Building a Concept of Public Life: 1900-1949 [ca.1990]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
22 1 Teachers and Writers collabrative newsletter 1970-1971
  2 Federation of Women Teachers' Association of Ontario Conference - correspondence [ca.1980]
  3 Canadian College of Teachers - Handbooks 1982
  4 Retired Teachers Association - minutes 1989
  5 Canadian "Youth Education" Excellence Prize 1989-1990
  6 Religion in Schools includes trial transcript 1992-1995
  7 Kelvin High School year books 1948-1976
  8 "Stories & Verse" Lord Roberts Elementary School newspaper 1959-1963
  9 Anthology Prose & Poetry - King George V School 1965-1967
  10 Isaac Brock School publications 1965-1988
  11 Isaac Brock recipe book [ca.1965]
  12 Retirement cards from River Heights Junior High School 1976
  13 Shack retirement card & poems 1976
  14 Guest book from Shack's retirement 1976

Return to Top


Research Material on Aging & Senior Citizens 1969-1994
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
23 1 Research on aging 1969-1993
  2 Research on aging 1982-1994
  3 Research on aging includes Shack's paper on aging for the United Nations Assembly on Aging 1982-1994
  4 Proceedings on the Fourth Manitoba Conference on Aging 1985
  5 Discover Choices publication 1988
  6 Seniors Health & Welfare Canada - Board member 1988
  7 Creative Retirement Manitoba - Board of Directors minutes 1989-1992
  8 Elder Abuse Research 1992-1993

Return to Top


Research on Women 1943-2002
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
24 1 Manitoba Commonwealth - article on Equal Pay for Female Teachers 1943
  2 Women's Rights research material 1971-1990
  3 Women in Careers 1973-1991
  4 Manitoba Action Committee on the Status of Women - newlsetter 1975
  5 List of Women of the Year recipients 1977-2000
  6 International Women's Day Speech by Honorable Dianne McGifford 2002

Return to Top


Canadian Civil Liberties Association 1993-2002
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
24 7 Minutes & correspondence 1993-2001
  8 Agenda & articles 1993-2002

Return to Top


Research Material on various areas of interest 1955-1995
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
24 9 Human Rights 1955-1995
  10 Linguistics 1958-1976
  11 Literary research 1988-1992
  12 J.W.Dafoe Foundation - minutes 1984-1988
  13 Material from Charlottetown Accord - Shack led a session 1991

Return to Top


Shack Awards Information 1969-2002
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
25 1 Honorary Degree correspondence 1969
  2 Letters of congratulations on Honorary Degree
  3 Order of Canada correspondence 1984
  4 Order of Canada membership handbook 1992
  5 Fellow of the Ontario Institute for Studies Award - includes Shack's story of her fall at the podium 1987
  6 Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal 2002

Return to Top


Biographical information, obituaries & eulogies of Shack's friends 1972-1996
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
25 7 Biographical information on Agnes Macdonald [ca.1982]
  8 Obituaries of Shack's friends 1972-1998
  9 Partial letter to children of friend Marion Brown at her death [ca.1990]
  10 Eulogy of former student Stanley Robert Duplak 1996
  11 Gail Adamson funeral service 1996

Return to Top


Jewish History 1950-1996
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
25 12 "Do not be Senstive" - Re: Antisemitism [ca.1950]
  13 Partial article on Canadian Jewish Historiography [ca.1970]
  14 Hebrew University 1991-1994
  15 Research material pertaining to child survivors of the Holocaust [ca.1992]
  16 Notes on Jewish children during the War [ca.1992]
  17 Jewish Historical Society - list of Shack family material at facility 1994-1999
  18 Outlook and Jewish Currents - magazines 1998-2001
  19 Ben-Guirion University honors Winnipeg -Order of Canada recipients 1999
  20 Jewish Child & Family Services 50th Anniversary- minutes & article 2000-2002
  21 Shaarey Zedek Synagogue newsletter 2001
  22 "The Holocaust The Jewish Ordeal in Occupied Europe - 1933-1945" in The New York Teacher Magazine [ca.1975]
  23 "Secularism Examined Anew," Bennett Maraskin in Jewish Currents 1996
  24 " A Winnipeg Jewish Athelete Remembers," Leible Hershfield in Jewish Post & News 1996

Return to Top


 

Biographical information & articles on John Hirsch 1951-1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
26 1 Biographical information 1959
  2 Manitoban articles 1951-1952
  3 Hirsch article in Israelite Press 1952
  4 Manitoba Arts Review 1952
  5 Manitoba Theatre Centre Programs 1962-1966
  6 Play programs and articles 1964-1988
  7 Maclean's 1965
  8 Order of Canada program 1967
  9 The Dybeck - advertisement from Peguis Publishers 1975
  10 Transcript of interview with John Hirsch 1988
  11 "Adoption by a Cold Land", Maclean's 1973

Return to Top


Material generated by other people 1977-2001
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
26 12 Speech & articles about Shack's cousin Walter Salzberg 1979-1989
  13 Descendant listing of the Rosen/Yechiel family 2000
  14 Geneological information Wilensky-Rubin family 1977
  15 Ehrlich family press clippings 1997-2001
  16 Articles by Shack's cousin Judith Solomon 1992
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
27 1 Let's Write a Story Broadcasts, Naomi Hersom 1962
  2 "The Paradox and the Privilege of Being a Professional" - Naomi Hersom Convocation Address at the University of Manitoba 1989
  3 "The Polarization of Solar Radio Emission" L.R. McNarry & G.A. Harvey, Solar Physics 1969
  4 "A Report of the CAP Study Group on Student Attitudes Toward Science & Technology", L.R.McNarry 1971
  5 Manuscript from L.R. McNarry 1988
  6 Manuscript from L.R. McNarry 1994
  7 Manuscript from L.R. McNarry 1999
  8 Manuscript from L.R. McNarry 1999
  9 "Salome Alexandra, the last Monarch of Independent Judea" article by Abe Arnold 1996
  10 Abe Arnold's Address to the University of Winnipeg Fall Convocation 2001
  11 "The Role of the Law Reform Commission in Shaping Canadian Law", article by Francis Muldoon (mentions Shack) 1978
  12 Canadian Adventure - by Burt Cox an air force pilot who stayed with the Shack family during World War II 1980
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
28 1 Manuscript by Judy Schachter - Max and Me & MS [ca.1980]
  2 Play by Diane Simkin - Frankie and Annie [ca.1980]
  3 Short Story by Tybe Isaacs - "Lena" [ca.1990]
  4 Speech edited copy by Rosa Bruno-Jofre - "Academic Freedom and Equity: Two Solitudes?" [ca.1990]
  5 Manuscript on John Hirsch by Fraidie Martz - includes Shack's comments [ca.1990]
  6 Book by Belle Meyers - Drummer 1995

Return to Top


Miscellaneous Information 1917-2001
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
28 7 Postcards 1917-1950
  8 Gala Dinner Menu from S.S. United States 1954
  9 Information on rare coin prices 1965-1977
  10 Recipe book dedicated to Shack [ca.1965]
  11 Drawing by artist Louis Bako 1965
  12 Manitoba Centennial Corporation invitation to lunch for the Queen 1970
  13 Public Lending Rights Commission 1971-2001
  14 C Children's Aid Society case study 1971
  15 Schedule "B" to By-law No. 2466/79 City of Winnipeg 1979
  16 Joseph Zuken Memorial Trust Fund - includes submission to high school essay writing contest 1988-1989
  17 Articles of interest 1988-1992
  18 C Claim assessment from car accident 2000

Return to Top


Oversize Material 1958-2001
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
29 1 John Hirsch newsclippings 1958-1989
  2 Sybil Shack newsclippings 1949-2002
  3 Newsclippings about friends [ca. 1956-1989]
  4 Drawings of Sybil Shack by Isaac Brock students [ca. 1969]
  5 Drawings of John Hirsch, Honey ? (the dog) and Isaac Brock School 1954-1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
30 1 Shack scrapbook 1950-1958
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
31 1 Plaques, Degrees , Awards & Family Tree Research 1929-2000

Return to Top


Audio Cassettes (T.C. 104) 1977-2002
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 1-6 Interviews with child survivors of World War II [ca. 1990]
  7-8 Celebrating John Hirsch performance in Toronto October 22 1989
  9-12 Pauline Shack talking about her life 1986-1988
  13-14 Update on Aging Confrence [ca. 1985]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
2 15 Sybil Shack's speech to the Silver Heights High Schoool Graduation 1977
  16 Professor Doris Saunders speaking on John Hirsch at the 20 Club [ca.1990]
  17 C.B.C. Arts National 1985
  18 Shack becomes member at OISE Fellows' Night 1987
  19-20 Tape from classes 1983-1984
  21 Rose Pelker-Jeanett [ca.1985]
  22 Nancy Olb on ethnic poetry [ca. 1985]
  23 Taping of dog (Honey?) [ca. 1985]
  24 Interview with Sybil Shack 1978
  25 Sara Dobbs [ca. 2000]
  26 Let's Write [ca.1977]

Return to Top


 

Photo Collections (P.C. 159) 1984
Box Album                                                                                                                                                                               
1 1 Governor General's Award 1984
  2 Freda Shack's children 1965-1966
  3 Family photos 1916-1942
  4 Family photos many of John Hirsch and Alexander Shack 1906-1965
Box Album                                                                                                                                                                               
2 5 Mainly Shack's retirement party from Kelvin High 1976
  6 Family photos 1906-1984
  7 Family photos 1900-1989
  8 Family photos 1900-1981
Box Album                                                                                                                                                                               
3 9 Shack's 90th birthday celebration 1991
  10 Family photos 1900-1981
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
3 1 Family photos [ca. 1890-1980]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
4 1

Maternal side of family [pre-1910]

12

  2

Paternal side [pre - 1910]

8

  3

Family photos [1910s]

27

  4

Family photos [1920s]

26

  5

Family photos [1930s]

48

  6

Family photos [1940s]

128

  7

Family photos [1950s]

31

  8

Family photos [1960s]

16

  9

Family photos [1970s]

16

  10

Family photos [1980s]

41

  11

Family photos [1990s]

16

  12

Family photos [2000s]

13

Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
5 1

David Ehrlich family 1935-1995

8

  2

John Hirsch & relatives 1948-1995

47

  3

Freda Katz & family 1933-1997

126

  4

David Benjamin Katz & family (maternal side) 1900-1995

13

  5

Jacob Katz & family (maternal side) [1920-1994]

7

  6

Sam Katz & family (maternal side) [1900-1920]

5

  7

Melman family (maternal side) [1900-1995]

16

  8

Rosen family (maternal side) [1900-1975]

25

  9

Walter Saltzberg & family (maternal side) [ca. 1903-1989]

7

  10

Shoim family [1890-1996]

25

  11

Sidransky family (maternal side) [1940-1990]

20

  12

Solomon family (maternal side) [1912-1996]

41

  13

Goffman family (paternal side) 1928-1944

7

  14

Lipshitz family (paternal side) 1930

1

  15

Katz/Shack family homes (interior/exterior) [ 1900-1980]

10

Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
6 1

"Fly Boys" - Bert Cox [ 1943-1985]

6

  2

"Fly Boys" - Johnnie Hall [ 1942-1944]

8

  3

"Fly Boys" - Saul Levenson 1943-1982

6

  4

"Fly Boys" - Geoff Morrell 1941-1996

29

  5

"Fly Boys" - Hector St. Richmond 1944-1984

8

  6

"Fly Boys" - Miscellaneous [1940-1990]

103

  7

Education 1925-1929

10

  8

Honours/Awards 1964-1996

25

  9

Teaching - Foxwarren 1932 - [197-?]

21

  10

Teaching - C.B.C. Appearances 1962

3

  11

Teaching - Miscellaneous 1957-1996

43

  12

Writing/Committees/Clubs [1940-2002]

27

  13

Undated and/or unidentified Shack family/friends 1895-1996

113

  14

Negatives/slides [190-?] - 1985

182

  15

Slides 1965- [197-?]

4

  16

World War I postcards 1914-1919

7

  17

Manitoba postcards 1932-1965

4

Return to Top


Videocassette 1991
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
6 18 Women in Education in Manitoba: The Teacher's Voice 1991

Return to Top


Sybil Shack Mss.152 (A.04-31) 1898-2003
Biographical Information [ 1903-2002 ]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 1 Biographical information [ 1944-2002 ]
  2 Shack address book [ [1950] ]
  3 Shack list of books read [ [1950] ]
  4 Travel diary - London [ 1954 ]
  5 Shack family material includes letters from A.A. Heaps & William Ivens [ 1903-1970 ]
Correspondence [ 1925-2003 ]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 6 Sam Katz [ 1925 ]
  7 Alexander Shack [ 1938-1950 ]
  8 Soldiers to Shack family [ 1939-1945 ]
  9 Soldiers to Shack family
  10 Soldiers to Shack family
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
2 1 Correspondence [ 1944-1947 ]
  2 Cards & notes [ 1946-1950 ]
  3 Shack family & relatives obituaries [ 1950-1970 ]
  4 Correspondence [ 1956 ]
  5 John Hirsch [ 1958 ]
  6 Leon McNarry (includes manuscript) [ 1990-1993 ]
  7 Wedding invitations & funeral notices [ 1993-2001 ]
  8 Correspondence [ 1996-2001 ]
  9 Correspondence [ 2001-2003 ]
  10 Rosa Bruno-Jofre (Re: Book on Education) [ 2001-2002 ]
  11 Correspondence [ 2002 ]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
3 1 Molly Martin [ 2002 ]
  2 Correspondence [ 2003-2004 ]
  3 Cards & notes [ 2002 ]
  4 Invitations & cards [ 2002-2003 ]
Miscellaneous material [ 1996-2004 ]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
3 5 Prairie Fire contains Shack's article on John Hirsch [ 1996 ]
  6 Jewish Child & Family Services 50th Anniversary book publicity [ 2000 ]
  7 "Ventures into the Old Testament" Outlook Magazine [ 2000 ]
  8 " The Fundamentals of our Fundamental Freedom" Alan Borovoy Civil Liberties Association [ [2000] ]
  9 Canadian Civil Liberties Association [ 2002-2003 ]
  10 Civil Liberties Association [ 2002-2004 ]
  11 " Sunshine" film script by Ivan Szabo includes Toronto Star article discussing his friendship with John Hirsch [ 1999-2000 ]
Photograph Collection P.C. 159 (A. 04-31) [ 1900-2003 ]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
1 1 Shack relatives includes grave sites [ 1900-2003 ]
  2 Pauline Shack [ 1902-1989 ]
  3 Sybil [ 1912-2003 ]
  4 Katz store on Pritchard [ [1900] ]
  5 Shack's maternal great grandmother Rosen & her grandparents [ [1900] ]
  6 Freda Shack [ 1935-1991 ]
  7 John Hirsch includes members of family [ [1932-1975] ]
  8 Marcia Palmer [ [1948-1955] ]
  9 Freda's children [ 1961-2002 ]
  10 Harrow School's 50th Anniversary [ 1999 ]
  11 Ehrlich family [ 2002 ]
  12 Judith Solomon [ 1996 ]
  13 Fried Family [ 1993 ]
  14 Shack's bust at Assiniboine Park [ 1997-1999 ]
  15 John Hirsch bust in Assiniboine Park [ 1998 ]
  16 Shack car accident [ 2000 ]
  17 Alan Rutherford [ 1942 ]
  18 Soldiers who stayed at Shack's [ 1940-1945 ]
  19 Dorothy Sabo & McNarry in motorboat [ ca.1933 ]
  20 Negatives - Shack wiith parents & unidentified [ ca.1945 ]
  21 Slides - Shack's Honorary Degree & garden [ 1969-1970 ]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                               
2 1 Video cassettes including It was Fifty Years Ago, 1993, Genie Awards, 2000, Sunshine, 1999, Pauline Shack, 1986, Lisa Ehrlich, ca.1996, T.V. Ontario, n.d., Unnamed, Children of the Storm & Jewish Child and Family Services [ 1986-2000 ]

Return to Top