Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Charlie Thorson fonds: MSS 248 (A.06-49)

Charlie Thorson

Charlie Thorson:

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Anna Lapointe
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(January 2007)

Finding aid encoded by Anna Lapointe and Vladimira Zvonik (2007)
Finding aid written in English. 

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Charlie Thorson

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

Early Work

Hollywood Work (Disney, Warner Brothers, MGM, Fleischer, and Terrytoons Studios)

Advertising Work

Elmer the Safety Elephant & Monster Car

Books & Book Materials

Misc. Post-Hollywood Work

Poems & Unpursued Projects

Business & Personal Documents

Scrapbooks

Objects

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Creator:
Charlie Thorson

Title:
Charlie Thorson fonds

Dates:
1928-1967
1.25 m of textual records and other material

Identification:
MSS 248 (A.06-49)
English, Icelandic

Return to Top

Biography of Charlie Thorson

Charles Gustav “Charlie” Thorson was born in 1890 in Winnipeg of Icelandic immigrant parents. After elementary school, he worked multiple odd jobs around Winnipeg and Gimli, most of which were secondary to enjoying himself in the company of his high-living artistic circle of friends. Though not yet an established artist, he did some cartooning, particularly for Icelandic-language newspapers. He married Rannveig “Ranka” Sweinsson in October 1914, two months after the birth of their son, Charlie. However, Ranka died only two years later of tuberculosis, and the son died some three months later. The deaths came as a shock to Thorson, who wandered for months on end, living as a tramp throughout western Canada. In 1922, Thorson married Ada Teslock. Their son Charlie was born in 1923 but lived only three days. Another son, Stephen, was born in 1925. Thorson and Ada separated in 1928 and divorced in 1931. During this time, Thorson worked for Brigden’s of Winnipeg as an illustrator of the Eaton’s catalogue, specializing in high-profile illustrations of jewelry and saddlery. In 1935, already over forty, Thorson moved to Hollywood and began working for Disney. Between 1935 and 1937, he worked on a large number of animated shorts, as well as Snow White and the Seven Dwarves, for which he designed six dwarves (the seventh, Dopey, was a late addition). Thorson always claimed that Snow White was based on his drawings of a Winnipeg waitress. Though this runs counter to the “official” story put forth by Disney, several pre-Disney sketches survive to support his claim. Thorson took offence at his lack of screen credits, particularly on Snow White, and quarreled with Walt Disney, after which Thorson left to work first at MGM (1938), and then at Warner Brothers (1939). Warner hired Thorson specifically to create star characters; they hoped his work would let them challenge Disney both in artistry and popularity. Thorson radically revised the Warner style towards anthropomorphic animals, which remains a part of the Warner “look,” and provided characters for budding director Chuck Jones. Notably, during his time at WB, Thorson provided the original character model for Bugs Bunny, an achievement in which he took considerable pride. After leaving Warner Brothers, probably over a copyright conflict, Thorson worked for Fleischer Studios in Miami, redesigning Raggedy Ann and Andy, and Popeye, during 1939 and 1940. In 1941, he worked for Terrytoons, possibly influencing the design of Mighty Mouse. Throughout the 1940s, before and after his 1941 breakdown, Thorson did a variety of advertising work, bringing his signature “cute” animals and children to a wide audience. After returning to Winnipeg in 1946, Thorson designed Punkinhead, a mop-headed bear, for Eaton’s. With proper management, he could likely have retired on Punkinhead royalties, but in a fit of discouragement, he sold those royalties to Eaton’s for $1. It was a sadly typical move in Thorson’s influential but unlucrative career. He published the popular children’s books Keeko (1947) and Chee-Chee and Keeko (1951), but was never fully paid for them by his publisher. In 1952, he redesigned Elmer the Safety Elephant, for a school-based safety campaign. Elmer’s popularity spread him from his home base of Toronto throughout Canada. Subsequently, though, Thorson struggled to find work, and eventually retired to British Columbia in 1956. He died August 7, 1966.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection contains Thorson's published books; over 100 model sheets from Disney, Warner Brothers, MGM, Fleisher, and Terrytoons studios; hundreds of watercolor, colored pencil, pencil, and ink drawings of Thorson's animation and book characters; many hundreds of preliminary sketches and studies; several story sketches; mock-ups Keeko, Ookie the Eskimo, Prince of the Wilderness, plus a couple of coloring books; several satiric poems, including "A Dizzy Symp-phony," Thorson's attack on Walt Disney; other scripts, written work, correspondence, and important papers; some of his political cartoons; newspaper clippings in English and Icelandic related to Charles Thorson’s career and to that of his brother, MP and judge Joseph Thorson. Personal correspondence dates mostly from 1941 or later, and includes a large number of letters from Thorson’s son Steve during Steve’s time in the RCAF during WWII.

Return to Top

Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into 10 series

  • 1. Early Work
  • 2. Holywood Work
  • 3. Advertising Work
  • 4. Elmer the Safety Elephant & Monster Car
  • 5. Books & Book Materials
  • 6. Misc. Post-Hollywood Work
  • 7. Poems & Unpursued Projects
  • 8. Business & Personal Documents
  • 9. Scrapbooks
  • 10. Objects

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on this collection.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

Extra care must be taken with this collection because it is very fragile and light-sensitive.

Return to Top

Custodial History

The Charlie Thorson fonds were donated to the University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections by the Thorson family in 2006.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

Early Work

Box Folder  
1 Brigden's Material

Four page advertising fold-up, black/white and green with “Designed by Charles Thorson” printed in pencil on bottom.

   

Photostats: Seamstress sewing machine with footpedals, glued on 9 ¼ x 9. Adanac beer, 3 ¼ x 9 ¾ Photostat – ornate saddle, 7 ¼ x 9 ½, mounted on grey poster paper.

    Pen and ink drawing of Reliance treadle machine with machine up, 9 7/16 x 11
    6 pen-and-ink drawings of rings, each 3 ½ x 4 ½, and card noting them as illustrations for Eaton’s catalogue
    Saddle photostat
    Pen and ink drawing – treadle sewing machine
    Photostat – small treadle sewing machine Other work:
    Political cartoon
    A Lake Winnipeg Belle, 14 x 17, folded twice
    “The Great Mogul Stephen Charles Thorson Arrives at his Fifth Birthday party, Jan. 5th, 1930.” – mounted watercolor
    CT family portrait, b/w, probably 1920s Photostat of political cartoon on organized crime, mounted – 15 x 11 ¾
    Indians on horseback, riding two by two – watercolor
    Monkey with scroll on onionskin: “I’m itching to hear from you”
    Gustav Terggren nativity scene

Return to Top

Hollywood Work (Disney, Warner Brothers, MGM, Fleischer, and Terrytoons Studios)

Box  
1 Sketch of dancing Indian on card
  Dancing Indian on card
  Dancing Indian
  Dancing Indian on card
  Undetailed dancing Indian on card
  Little fox – 3 poses (front, back, side) – pencil sketch on paper, 10 x 6 ½
  Little fox headshots – two in blue pencil, five in pencil on paper, 11 x 7
  Top-hatted frog at well with birds – pencil drawing on onionskin, 9 ½ x 8 ¼
  Scowling calf, 4 poses – pencil drawing on pegboard paper, 12 x 9 ½
  Puppy with dog at doghouse – pencil drawing on paper, 10 x 13 ½
  Oscar Owl – watercolor and pencil crayon on board
                   Pig in peasant clothes, mounted on card
  Small, hatted elephant (Disney Elmer) riding on neck of spectacled giraffe with five pelicans around and numbers at bottom – pencil and colored pencil
  Chinese pipes dissolve into dragons – colored pencil and watercolor, mounted
  Bull – 6 poses – stamped (MGM)
  Spanish princess with Raggedy Andy, X-9-2, 6 poses (Fl)
  Goose, B-10-12, June 1940, 6 poses (Fl)
  Baby Daffy-style duck, B-10-4, March 1940, 6 poses (Fl)
  Mice and cat, T-313, 21 poses (TT)
  Popeye (Fl)
  Dancing, intense Indian brave, 4 poses, 8 ¼ x 10 ¼ (WB)
        Hiawatha, 5-41: Big Bear and Baby Bear, 13 poses, 15 x 12 (folded) (Dsny)
  Hiawatha bears (same as above), in red pencil: “Minnehaha” (Dsny)
  Two happy lions, one sheared, B-10-3, February 1940, 10 poses, 10 x 14 (Fl)
  Snooty horse, C-9-3, November 1939, 8 poses, 11 x 14 (Fl)
  Spunky, C-9-3, November 1939, 17 poses, 11 x 14 (Fl)
  Female goose, B-10-12, June 1940, 6 poses, 11 x 14 (Fl)
  Poopdeck pappy, February 1940, 8 poses, 14 x 11 (Fl)
  Indian girl with braids, B-10-3, 11 poses, 14 x 11 (Fl)
  Goofy-type dog, B-10-4, 10 poses, 11 x 14 (Fl)
  Goofy-type dog, Prod No 7, December 14, 8 poses, stamped, 14 x 11 (MGM)
         Goofy bull, C-9-3, November 1939, 9 poses, 14 x 11 (Fl)
  Same as above
  Boy and puppy, T-312, 15 poses, 12 ½ x 9 (TT)
  Mosca, boy fly, P-10-10, May 1940, 6 poses, 11 ¼ x 8 ¾ (Fl)
  Blonde doll from Raggedy Ann, X-9-1, May 1940, 8 poses, 1 color (Fl)
  Intense Indian with cow-horn headdress, 3 poses, stamped: Schlesinger (WB)
  Muscular rooster, Prod No. 5, November 5, 1937, 6 poses, folded, 15 x 11 (MGM)
  Raggedy Andy, X-9-1, May 1940, 6 poses, 11 x 14 (Fl)
  Saber-toothed Tiger, B-9-6, November 12, 1939, 11 poses, 14 x 11 (Fl)
  Foxy, 15 poses, 12 ½ x 19 (?)
               Walrus, B-10-1, February 1940, 9 poses, 11 x 14 (Fl)
  Hiawatha deer and raccoon, S-41, 14 poses (Dsny)
  Mammy, March 1, 1939, 11 poses, stamped “Do not remove from premises,” double-mounted on boards, 13 ½ x 10 (MGM)
  Bull from Mickey’s Rival, M-40, 12 ¾ x 11, mounted on board with some paint (Dsny)
  Billy Bean, 8 poses, 12 x 10
  Adult and boy Indians, 8 poses, stamped “Copyright Leon Schlesinger” on bottom right (WB)
  Goofy-style dog, T-314, 17 poses, mounted on black poster paper (TT)
  Mother, father, baby, and another Indians, B-10-3, March 1942, 13 poses, 14 x 11 ¼ (Fl)
  Pluto’s pups – 6 individual pencil drawings (4 ½ x 4 ½) on paper – double-mounted on cardboard, 13 x 17 ¼ (Dsny)
  Hunky and Spunky series, 8 individual pencil drawings, 4 x 5 1/2 , mounted, 13 x 17 (Fl)
                   Hiawatha – colored pencil drawing, 8 ¾ x 12, mounted and covered (Dsny)
  Hiawatha model sheet S-4, 14 ¾ x 11 ½, mounted on poster board (Dsny)
  Vulture and parrot, colored pencil drawing on paper, 8 ½ x 6 ½, double-mounted on 13 ½ x 19 ½ board (Fl)
  “In the Rainmaker” – colored pencil drawing, 10 x 14, mounted on paper (WB)
  Photostat of above
  Bull – 5 colored pencil drawings (headshots), 6 x 6, mounted on thin board, 13 x 18 (Fl)
  Merrie Melodie (M-M23) mounted police dog – 7 pencil drawings (one in full color), 3 x 7, double-mounted on illustrated board, 15 ¼ x 13 ¼ (WB)
  Hiawatha photostat – 4 drawings, full shot – 7 ½ x 10 (Dsny)
  Old Smokey action sketch No. 3, pencil drawing on paper, 11 ½ x 9 ½, with written explanation, triple mounted (MGM)
  Mouse photostat – B-10-9, 13 x 9 (Fl)
                Hiawatha action sketches (24): S-41 photostat, 15 ½ x 12 ¼ (Dsny)
  Photostat: Sabertooth Tiger model sheet, B-9-6 (November 1939), 11 drawings, 15 ½ x 11 ½ (Fl)
  Toughie Tiger – colored pencil and watercolor drawing on paper 10 ½ x 12 ¼, mounted with tissue overlay (Dsny)
  Billy Bean – watercolor drawing – 9 ½ x 12 ¾, mounted on board
  Wacky duck – colored pencil drawing on board, 10 x 13, mounted and with tissue overlay (Fl)
  Merrie Melodie fat goofy-style dog, MM.23 – 6 pencil drawings for storyboard, mounted (WB)
  Tillie Tiger – colored pencil drawing on paper, 10 ½ x 12 ¼, mounted with tissue paper overlay (Dsny)
  Same as above
  Lions, lion cubs, and tiger – 4 pencil drawings with white watercolors on tissue, 10 x 4 ½, mounted on boards, 13 x 17 (Fl)
  Sabertooth Tiger – 7 colored pencil and white watercolor drawings on tissue paper, 7 x 6 ½, mounted on board, 13 x 17 (Fl)
                      Comic bear – 9 pencil drawings with white watercolor on tissue paper, 6 close-ups for expression, 3 x 2 ½, mounted on board, 13 x 17
  Tawny bull with nose-ring – 2 colored-pencil drawings on irregularly cut paper – double-mounted on boards, 14 x 17 (MGM)
  Three pelicans, two hippos, 3 Toughie Tigers – colored pencil drawings with white ink highlights, 3 ½ x 4 ½ each – double-mounted on boards, 14 ½ x 17 (Dsny)
  Set of four pencil and colored pencil drawings, “Moose Hunters”, mounted on board – 17 ¼ x 13 ¼ (Dsny)
  Set of three pencil, colored pencil, and white watercolor drawings, “Woodland Café”, mounted on board – 17 ¼ x 13 ¼
  Set of four drawings: 2 owls, 2 frogs – pencil, colored pencil, and white watercolor – all but one loose but originally pasted to single board – board is 15 ¼ x 11 ½
  Colored pencil and watercolor Hiawatha – mounting board 15 ½ x 11 (Dsny)
  Sniffles model sheet #20 – colored pencils and paint on thick paper, 12 x 10 ½, some smudging at bottom (WB)
  Hiawatha model sheets – 3 Hiawathas with deer – 5 deer, 6 raccoon -- pencil and white watercolor – mounted on board – 11 ½ x 14 ¾ (Dsny)
  Police captain model sheet, MM 14, pencil drawings on thick pegboard paper, 11 ½ x 9 ½ (WB?)
  Happy wanderer fat dog – 4 poses, model sheet? – pencil drawings on board, 10 ¼ x 13 (WB?)
Box  
2 Happy bull looking over shoulder – headshot
  Baby Popeye – colored pencil on pegboard paper
  Sketch of bunny in turtleneck sweater – colored pencil
  Elephant boy (Elmer?) kissing Tillie Tiger – pencil and colored pencil
  Tough baby bunny – watercolor and colored pencil
  Grimacing blue cat (headshot) – color, 2 ¾ x 3 ½ (TT)
  Smug blue cat (headshot) – color, 2 ¾ x 3 ½ (TT)
  Prowling blue cat (fullshot) – color, 5 ¼ x 4 (TT)
  Two white-haired puppies – color, 3 ½ x 3 ½ (TT)
  Brown puppy and blue cat with spilled paint – color, 5 x 4 ½ (TT)
  Grey goggle-eyed cat (headshot), 2 ¾ x 3 ½ (TT)
  Upward-looking blue cat – color, 3 x 3 ½ (TT)
  Hiawatha on branches pulled by deer – sepia, 4 ½ x 4 ¾ (Dsny)
  Lion and mouse – black & white, 8 x 6 ¼ (Fl)
  Oscar Owl – black & white, 7 x 8 ½ (WB)
  Toughie Tiger – black & white, 6 x 7 (Dsny)
  The Rainmaker – black & white, 7 ½ x 9 (WB)
  CT aged 70 with Toughie Tiger drawing – black & white, 7 x 9 (Dsny)
  Captain & Kids with executive at desk – black & white, 9 x 7 (MGM)
  Captain & Kids with executive at cafeteria table – black & white, 9 x 7 (MGM)
  In the Rainmaker – sepia, 8 x 10 (WB)
  Baby owl – black & white, 8 x 10 (Dsny?)
  CT aged 50 with Fleischer model sheets – black & white, 10 x 8 (Fl)
  Big-headed baby chick, and baby bird & bug, 4 x 5 (Fl)
  Tiger, lion, and cubs, 4 x 5 (Fl) Baby bloodhound model sheet, 11 poses (MGM)
  Giant and baby, 4 x 5 (WB)
  Hunky & Spunky, 8 poses, 4 x 5 (Fl)
  Raggedy Ann dolls, 4 x 5 (Fl)
  Photo of Hiawatha model sheet
  Pelicans, hippo, and monkeys mounted on board, 4 x 5 (Dsny)
  Merrie Melodies RCMP dog, 5 x 4 (WB)
  FivHiawathas, 4 x 5 (Dsny)
  Five Zookie/Inkies, 4 x 5 (WB?)
  Fat Goofy-style dog model sheet, MM23, 5 x 4 (WB)
  Horse model sheet, 5 x 4 (WB)
  Elmer Elephant and seven Tillies, 4 x 5 (Dsny)
  Six Elmer Elephants and tall giraffe, 6 ½ x 8 (Dsny)
  Three pelicans, hippo, and two monkeys, 5 ½ x 7 (Dsny)
  Sniffles model sheet #20, 10 x 8 (WB)
  Shy Elmer Elephant – one shot, presentation drawing, 8 x 10 (Dsny)
  Tillie presentation drawing, 8 x 10 (Dsny)
  Two squirrel with feather in cap, 8 x 10 (WB)
  Cat – three headshots, 8 x 10 (TT)
  Tilliesideview, 8 x 10 (Dsny)
  Toughie, sideview, 8 x 10 (Dsny)
  Oogie the Hunter Story Sketch, 8 x 0
  Laughing Rainmaker, 8 x 10 (WB)
  Oscar Owl, 8 x 10 (WB)
  Jungle Kids cover with writing on back of photo, 5 x 7
  Two Ookie covers, 5 x 7
  Elmer Elephant and seven Tillies, 8 x 10 (Dsny)
  Wacky Duck, 8 x 10 (Fl?)
  Sniffles and lion and mouse, 8 x 10 (WB & Fl)
  Hiawatha rearview, 8 x 10 (Dsny)
  In the Rainmaker, 8 x 10 (WB)
  Toughie Tiger, 8 x 10 (Dsny)
  Small Hiawathas losing pants – pencil drawing on paper, 3 x 5, irregular
  Bugs Bunny Developmental pencil sketch
  Letter envelope containing five irregularly-edged Indians – pencil, colored pencil, watercolor (WB)
  Goofy-style dog with white fur trimmed hat and jacket – colored pencils and white paint on paper, 4 x 7, some erased words (WB?)
  Sniffles pencil sketch – 9 ¾ x 6 ¼ Ferdinand-style bull – pencil drawing on 9-sided paper, 10 x 6 (MGM)
  Oscar Owl – colored pencil drawing on board, 9 x 11 ¾ (WB)
  Sniffles mouse – rear view – colored pencil drawing on board, 4 x 6 (WB)
  Merrie Melodie owl – 3 drawings on tissue paper – 6 x 7, triple mounted with tissue overlay (WB)
  Top-hatted bunny sketch on heavy paper
  Cute bunny on hind legs, mounted on card
  Goofy-style dog with gun to head – colored pencil and watercolor
  Headshot – angry blue/grey cat with pink bowtie – colored pencils and paint on thick paper, 5 ½ x 6 ¼ (TT)
  Smug cat (same as above), (TT)
  Surprised cat (same as above), (TT)
  Angry cat in bow tie on onionskin
  Elmer walking – colored pencils and paint on thick paper, 4 ½ x 6 (Dsny)
  Elmer looking left – colored pencils and paint on thick paper, 5 x 6 ½ (Dsny)
  Sniffles sneezing right – colored pencils and paint on thick paper, 4 x 5 (WB)
  Elmer walking, backview – colored pencils and paint on thick paper, 4 ½ x 6 (Dsny)
  “Charlie Thorson (in his 2nd childhood) still howling for his Walt Disney Bonus A.D. 1998” – pencil crayon sketch by “Pinto” Colvig, 1937, labeled “Ex-Disney Bonus Expectationist”
  “Mammy” chicken, MM-4, Early bird, 6 poses, 7 ¼ x 9 ¾ (WB)
  Porky pig and giant with pink/red ink for emphasis, 9 ½ x 6 ¾ (WB)
  Inki, 6 poses, stressing geometry, stamped in blue: “Copyright Leon Schlesinger” – 8 x 10 (WB)
  Sniffles, MM No. 20, 8 poses, 7 ½ x 5 ½ (WB)
  Irregularly-edged Indian sketches (WB)
  Hobo fox with head bandana – colored pencil and watercolor, mounted
  Winking rabbit in top hat, double mounted
Box  
3 Owls – 4 colored pencil sketches (3 young owls), triple mounted (WB): 3 sketches 2 ½ x 3 ½, One sketch 9 x 8
  Old Mill’s Adult Owl, RS No. 1, 7 poses, 12 x 10, mounted (Dsny)
  2 drawings: Sniffle the Mouse – colored pencil and watercolor, mounted – Merrie Melodies – mounting board 15 ½ x 12 (WB)
  Set of 5 pencil and colored pencil drawings of goofy-style dogs, 4 thin, 1 fat, irregular edges – “Hobo Heaven” – Merrie Melodies – mounting board 15 ½ x 12 (WB)
  Set of 5 drawings of “Zookie” – colored pencil and watercolor – Merrie Melodies – mounting board 17 ¼ x 13 (WB)
  Merrie Melody sheepdog – colored pencil drawings on tissue paper (5 on one, including circles geometry), triple mounted (WB)
  Happy Indian, “In the Rainmaker” – colored pencil and watercolor, on board
  2 mounted drawings – “The Giant and His Son” – Merrie Melodies – mounting board – 16 ¼ x 13 ¼ (WB)
  Merrie Melodie squirrel with scarf and feathered cap, 10 ½ x 14, mounted (WB)

Return to Top

    Advertising Work

Box  
2 Coffee ads (14 pages)
  Fort Garry Coffee ad – 3 bears, cut from newspaper
  Coffee ads in envelope and loose – 20 total in envelope
  Winnipeg Envelopes Limited envelope containing 20 sketches for coffee ads
  5 pages – coffee ads on tissue paper
  Tissue paper sketch of Dr Ballard’s dogs – 2 tramps
  Story-board style rough sketches: Two dogs look around corner (1); One dog half-in window, other looking on (2); Rough: one dog helps other into window (3); Stick-figure sketch (faint), and note “sketch” (4); Very rough sketch – rectangle with rectangle inside (5); Girl dog sits up in bed (6); Girl dog in phone (7); Police arrive! (8); Police dog on steps (9); Girl dog talks to police dog (10); 2 dogs at table with hands up, large police dog, girl dog looking on (11); Two dogs looking around a corner (12).
  Dr Ballard’s ads for Three Flavors (4 pages)
  Dr Ballard’s – 3 dog heads (2 pages)
  Three dog heads for Dr Ballard’s, drawn on both sides of paper
  Regent’s baby lion in wagon and big lion arm Small sketches for Regent’s coloring book (4 pages)
  4 pages (“rough sketch”) for Regent’s coloring book
  4 pages small sketches for Regent’s coloring book
  Dr Ballard’s ad – 2 girl cats watch fancy girl cat
  Sketch of dancing cat Regent’s lion
  Baby Regent’s lion, 2 poses
  Baby Regent’s lion, 4 poses
  Baby Regent’s lion in wagon
  Baby Regent’s lion sketches – 3 pages
  Baby Regent’s lion (2 pages)
  2 sketches of Regent’s lion with mounting card
  Two well-dressed dogs pass on street
  Girl dog with roses on onionskin
  Kitten in skirt with can
  Regent’s lion
  Baby Regent’s lion mounted on card
  Crying baby Regent’s lion mounted on card
  Regent’s lion – 2 headshots – mounted on card
  Dancing cat with sign
  Family of three dogs at the dinner table
  Girl cat in dress, walking on hind legs, folded once
  Regent’s lion holding ball
  Cat dancing with a ‘B’ in each forepaw
  3 girl cats on onionskin
  Same as above, on paper
  2 girl cats on onionskin
  Same as above, on paper
  Baby bunny with flowers, numbered (5)
  Baby Regent’s lion mounted on card, text: “Little Lion Could Wear”
  3 girl cats in TV-style frame Music scroll with text: “You are my everything”
  Girl cat / girl cat on verso
  Gentleman and two lady dogs, on onionskin
  2 lady dogs watching gentleman, on onionskin
  2 girl dog heads peering around corner, on onionskin
  Photostat – triptych of Regent’s lion, 14 x 7 ½
  Two Regent coloring books, 8 pages
  Regent’s lion Photostat, 6 x 9
  Dr Ballard’s singing girl dog, boy dog at piano – printout, 8 ¼ x 6 ½
  Dancing dogs printouts, mounted on board, 3 ½ x 3 ½
  Regent’s lion saluting – pencil sketch, 5 ¾ x 7 ¾
  Dr Ballard’s newspaper ad – ripped from paper
  Regent’s coloring book
  Regent’s lion holding can – watercolor and colored pencils on thick paper, 8 x 9
  Regent’s baby lion with boots under umbrella – colored pencils on thick paper, 9 x 11
  Ain’t She Sweet (Dr. Ballard’s 1955) print of female and two male dogs, 8 ¾ x 11 o Accompaniment to below
  Regent Play Safe Coloring Book – 8 pages, b/x, 8 ¼ x 10 ½ o Fashionably dressed lady dog and two panting admirers – pencil drawing on tissue paper (accompanies above), 8 ¾ x 11
  Dr Ballard’s mother dog and baby in carriage – rough pencil drawing on thin paper, 9 ½ x 11
  Mechanical reproductions of Regent’s lion images
  Gentleman and two lady dogs on onionskin
  Cat in stripes dancing with B sign
  Baby Regent’s lion in diaper overalls
  Regent’s Play Safe Coloring Book – story suggestion #1, 5 pages of drawings and one fragment of notes present.
  Fifteen pages – typed and handwritten – about safety
  Three handwritten pages – story ideas of Regent’s Coloring Book
  Baby Regent’s lion mounted on card
  Skirted cat
  Regent’s lion headshot, mounted on card
  Photostat of Regent’s lion
  Winking, bow-tie cat dancing with B sign
Box  
3 Large folded-over pencil sketch – Dr Ballard’s – male dog with flower saluting well-dressed female dog
  2 Indians with coffee cups on onionskin
  Singing Dr Ballard’s dogs on tissue paper, one pasted in
  Large, twice-folded sketch for Dr Ballard’s, seems to be cats
  Twice-folded Dr Ballard’s ad: I Could Never Live Without You
  Folded Dr Ballard’s ad: You Are My Lucky Star
  Two fat pigs and one thin pig
  Five pigs
  Dr Ballard’s ad – 3 cats dancing, 1 playing fiddle
  Multiply folded page – mother squirrel removing baby squirrel’s boots
  Dr Ballard’s ad – 2 dogs pasted in
  Indian with coffee cup making “OK” sign
  Matador clinging to bull's horns, women talking
  “Texaco On Top of the World” (2 pages)dor clinging to bull’s horns, women talking
  3 girl cats – large, folded drawing
  Family of dogs at dinner in TV frame, Ballard’s ad, folded once
  Folded together: 2 pages of tramp dogs, 1 page of gentleman and two lady dogs, all on onionskin
  Ray-o-vac (Santa, rooster, bear in tent, owl in tree, boy in car trunk, cat and bird, boy in jam, boy with skunk) color ads on newsprint
  Two Ray-o-vac negs/reversals (Santa, owl in tree)
  Two Bovril in French, on newsprint, 6 x 16 Two Mr. Do & Mr. Don’t (cupid’s point, little boys with big ideas), 9 strop cartoons, 14 ½ x 10
  Borden’s cows, ma with tray, girl with book, pen and ink drawing, 9 x 10 ½
  Esso squirrels – change now billboard, 13 x 10 ½ (2 copies)
  Great West Life birthday card, in French
  Spring Whirl ad, 8 ¾ x 5 ¾ Photostat of dancing dogs, 9 ¼ x 10
  Four Dr Ballard’s printouts
  Baby Bunting bunny – pencil sketch, 6 x 8 ¾
  Two Ray-o-vac printouts on newsprint (rooster, bear)
  Dancing dogs – neg/reversal, 10 x 8
  It’s the Spring Whirl ad.
  Ray-o-vac photostat (Santa)
  Cow headshot, platter with milk glass on horns, 8 x 9
  African woman dancing, “Rough Sketch Only,” – pencil on paper, 6 ¾ x 9 ½
  Four singing, hatted dogs, heads only, Dr Ballard’s – pencil sketch on paper, 10 ½ x 8 ¼
  Man and woman on prancing horses, back view – pencil drawing, 11 x 14 (folded)
  Fox lady with raccoons and seal phoning Simpson’s, 11 x 14
  Texaco sketches
  Ad for Gallo wines – colored pencil and watercolor
  Three Dr. Ballard’s TV dogs – watercolor (b/w and grays), mounted with overlay and written explanation
  Betty Bean photostat, 12 x 10
  Northern Tissue photostat of Indian girl kneeling with ducks, mounted, 18 x 11 ½
  Ray-o-vac, 3-strip cartoon – 2 colored pencil drawings of cop and radio, 4 ½ x 3 ¾, each mounted on board with overlay

 

  “Three Flavors” Dr Ballard’s ad – 2 male dogs and female in close-up with empty balloons – pencil drawing on paper, 17 x 10, folded in half
  Newspaper ad for above
  Dr Ballard’s ad, same as above, but with accompanying boy dog and less rough
  “B Means Ballard’s, Ballard’s Means Best” – 2 cats, one with harp, rough and incomplete pencil sketch on paper, 14 x 17 (folded)
  Dr Ballard’s ad – two smoking, thuggish dogs, size, etc, same as above
  Dr Ballard’s ad, thug bulldog and hat-tipping hound – pencil sketch on thin paper, 10 x 12
  G.O.P. elephant in full gallop – pencil sketch on paper, 9 ½ x 9 ½
  “So wonderful, so good” Dr Ballard’s ad – 2 cats, one with harp (same layout as “B Means Ballard’s”, above), pencil sketch, 14 x 17, folded
  “You are my only one” Dr Ballard’s ad, same as above, 14 x 17, folded
  Dr Ballard’s singing cats, “You are my everything” – completed pencil sketch (same as above), mounted on board with leathery overlay and written explanation
  Dr Ballard’s TV ad storyboard – twelve 5 x 4 pencil sketches with white watercolors, rounded TV screen framed style – baby dog tantrum won for Ballard’s food, mounted on 28 x 18 ½ folded boards
  Two Ray-o-vac three-strip newspaper ads (boy in car trunk, and in kitchen with jam), colored pencil on stiff paper, 6 x 16, mounted on board, 18 x 15
  Ray-o-vac rooster – 4-strip cartoon ad – colored pencils on thick paper, 14 x 4, mounted on board
  Three hatted dogs – headshots with empty dialogue balloons – pencil drawing on board, 22 x 14 ½, with paper cover
  Kneeling girl with deer for Northern Tissue – watercolor on heavy paper, triple mounted
  World with “Texaco” above o Same as above, with full text
  Gentleman dog walking on hind legs
  Texaco “On top of the world” showing Canada/US border
  3 onionskin pages taped together: car, tramp dogs, speech balloons
  Unfinished Texaco logo
  Texaco rough sketch for poster design, mounted on card
  Buck-toothed Indian with hand raised in greeting
  Set of three boards for Dr Ballard’s ads, each 13 ¾ x 10 o 2 tramp dogs, one smoking o Male dog in fashionable dress with two female admirers watching o Male dog accompanied by two female dogs, all in fashionable dress
  7 pages for Regent’s coloring book – tissue paper and heavy paper
  Champion dog – colored pencil drawing for ad – on board with tissue overlay, 17 x 9 (folded)
  Ray-o-vac, 3-strip cartoon of burglar on board, 17 x 6 ½, with overlay
  Dancing man and woman Chiclets – watercolor
  Bonneted bunny on card Bulldog puppy eyeing cat in tree, 7 ½ x 9 ½
  Two fat pigs eyeing skinny one, 12 ½ x 9 ½
  Bubbles, A Washday Episode in Monkeyville – pencil drawings on six boards, 8 ¾ x 12
  Dr Ballard’s walking dogs for billboard – colored pencils, 9 ½ x 5 ½

Return to Top


      Elmer the Safety Elephant & Monster Car
 

Box  
2 Fragments of monster car book and dialogue
  Fifteen to twenty-one onion-skin sketches for same book
  2 pages handwritten text for monster car
  Full-length Elmer mounted on card
  Crying elephant Sketches of car front / car back (verso)
  Elmer Elephant with “Title” above and “Rough Sketch” below
  Elmers with mounting card
  Elmer in scholar’s cap with book
  Monster car sketch – “never play on the roads”
  Elmer headshot Border sketches on onionskin
  4 child figures running, for monster car book
  Elmer on tissue paper Elmer sketch on tissue paper
  Elmer side-view in scholar’s clothes
  Monster Car Book – 7 photostats of preliminary drawings, various sizes
  Monster Car Book – 4 negatives/reversals – 11 ½ x 18
  Elmer the Safety Elephant Book – 6 photostats of sketches, various sizes
  Elmer the Safety Elephant Book – 5 negatives/reversals of sketches
  Elmer with children on lap – L-5
  Elmer on couch with SAFETY book – drawing on tissue paper, folded twice
  Elmer and children on onionskin – 4 pages
  Monster car on onionskin and text (formerly taped on, now loose)
  Tissue paper sketches for Monster Car, with pasted-in (now loose) text blocks – 23 pages, 13 text blocks
  Crying elephant mounted on card
  Monster car with extensive handwritten text
  Never play on the roads – two children and car approaching
  Crying elephant (2)
  pages – Elmer reading safety book to children, mounted on paper
  4 pages – Elmer with children in drawn frames, shaded
  Elmer with two children, unshaded, on tissue paper
  Shy Elmer with flower behind back, top of page folded town
  Dog and cat running with handwritten text
  Monster car sketches
  Monster car triptych on card, labeled “Rough Sketch Suggestion”
  Sketches of leafy borders on tissue paper (2 pages)
Box  
4 Elmer elephant, 2 poses, on onionskin
  Elmer with two children on tissue paper, torn corner
  Elmer with blank sign, folded once
  2 pages – Elmer with children on tissue paper
  “The Monster of the Road” on tissue paper – 2 pages
  Elmer head with crown in circles, folded twice
  Elmer with two children, folded twice
  Car sketch
  Children at corner, boy on bike about to be hit by car: “The signal says STOP”
  Monster car: never run between parked cars
  Rough Elmer, folded once: “Look befor (sic) crossino (sic) Roads”
  Unfinished Elmer: Look both ways
  Folded together: o Look both ways Elmer / verso: Elmer o Elmer headshot in scholar’s cap
  Monster car and running child – folded once
  Boy and car: “Stop! and look both ways before crossing roads”
  2 children, 2 cars: “Never run when crossing a road”
  Folded car sketch Folded Monster Car page – “I never hurt children when they stay off the roads”
  Elmer “LOOK” page stuck to facing page
  2 pages for Monster car, folded together
  Monster car page found folded around sketch of small boy
  5 pages from monster car
  Folded together – 11 pages from monster car
  Folded page with 4 Elmer heads and lines for text
  Elmer’s Jingle Quiz No. 1
  Elmer heads (2 pages)
  Elmer says 35%
  Text for 35%
  Twenty-three large pencil studies for monster car book, 14 x 17
  Six pencil drawings on board for same book, 13 x 17
  Five pencil drawings on board for same book, 10 ½ x 14 ½
  Two boys playing tennis in street, 14 x 15 ½ (folded), incomplete pencil sketch
  2 children on tissue paper

Return to Top

     Books & Book Materials

Box  
4 Little Chief Poky- Huntas book cover, Indian boy with squirrel, 5 x 7
  Keeko cover mock-up, colored pencil, 14 x 18, mounted on illustrated board
  Keeko model sheet – 10 pencil drawings on board, 14 x 17 ½, mounted with clear plastic cover
  Keeko with big moose and baby moose – watercolor on thick paper, 14 ½ x 20
  Keeko photostat – 10 sketches, 8 x 10, mounted
  Ookie the Eskimo – pencil drawings on stiff board – 7 characters, prospective cover, 14 x 18 ¼
  Keeko with baby animals on moose’s head – watercolor on thick paper with overlay
  Ookie page – iceberg and village – on board
  The Adventures of Wee Willie in Toyland – 1 dummy copy of a 22 page booklet made from Photostats
  Keeko cover mock-up – Keeko and squirrel – 19 x 14
  Ookie – 5 pages, handwritten
  Oogie the Hunter cover – reversal/negative – 11 ½ x 15
  Four dancing tigers from Sambo, 18 x 12
  Four prowling tigers from Sambo, 18 x 12
  Laughing tiger with boots on ears, 9 x 12
  Mock-up of Keeko cover on oilskin, 9 x 12
  Three sleeping bears, from book, 8 x 10 ½
  Three bears around table, 7 ½ x 8
  Papa bear reading to baby, ma knitting, 7 ½ x 8 ¼
  Two seal pups – pencil drawing on ripped pegboard paper, 6 ¼ x 9 ½
  Zookie cover: native boy and monkey on elephant – on onionskin (with a hole in it), 9 x 12
  Zookie – 2 poses, full body: front, side (paper folded twice), 13 ¾ x 16
  Zookie – one pose frontal (paper folded twice), 13 x 13
  Keeko posing with bird and squirrel – watercolor on board, signed, covered with clear plastic, but poorly, 10 x 12
  Punkinhead sketches in pencil, on card
  Book page (#29) for Ookie – b/w, pencil
  Weeping Punkinhead – incomplete pencil sketch on board (back of a cut-up Dr Ballard’s drawing), 5 ½ x 6 ½
  Watercolor for Zookie cover – African boy and monkey on elephant – signed – 6 ½ x 8, on thick paper
  “Punkinhead” smiling with two birds, framed and signed – colored pencils on thick paper, 10 ¼ x 12 ½
  Zookie – waist-up with shield and spear – signed – watercolor on thick paper, 6 x 7 ½

 

Box  
5 Punkinhead the Sad Little Bear – 16 pages, 12 copies (4 inscribed and autographed)
  Punkinhead in Santa’s Workshop – 16 pages, 1 copy
  Punkinhead and the Snow Fairy – 16 pages, 1 copy
  Jack and the Beanstalk (Grosset and Dunlop) – 16 pages/color, 4 x 5 ½, 4 copies
  The Three Bears (Grosset and Dunlop) – 16 pages/color, 4 x 5 ½ , 1 copy
  Baby’s Diary – 16 pages, folded covers, 6 x 9; Le Livre de Bebe – 16 pages, folded covers, 6 x 9 (same book in English and French)
  Black Record Book, approx 4 x 6, with addresses, ideas, etc.
  Prince of the Northlands – typed script – 5 pages for 36 page book
  Drafts handwritten in pen and pencil of Ookie the Eskimo – with note: “dictated by Charles Thorson, written by Mrs. Longton, November 1952,” 16 pages, 25 chapters.
  Ookie – 3 handwritten pages pencil sketches for Ookie
  Ookie typed story – 7 pages. Prince of the Wilderness story ideas – 10 pages typed
  Punkinhead in Toyland – 5 typed pages
  Ookie the Eskimo, typed, 5 pages of page-by-page 40 page book with handwritten note at end
  Duplicate of above
  Ookie the Eskimo, typed 6 pages, story outline for 32 page book
  2 handwritten pages for Ookie, no pages numbers noted
  5 pages of script for CheeChee and Keeko
  Envelope full of pages for Ookie
  Ookie animal sketches: baby bear, baby seal, walrus king (3 pages)
  Ookie sketches on onionskin
  Ookie on onionskin
  Keeko with squirrel on head
  Little Black Sambo, illustrated by CT, pages 129ff
  Keeko – 2 pages from finished book
  2 drawings from Keeko
  Keeko model sheet photo – black & white, 8 x 10
  My First Christmas – baby book page, 9 x 12
  My First Pictures – baby book page, 6 x 8 ½
  Punkinheads on cards
  Keekos with squirrel on heavy paper
  Crying Punkinhead
  Little bear with broken chair on onionskin
Box Folder  
5 Pinias Pill Materials Complete colored copy of entire booklet in registered envelope
    Cover – black/white ink drawing, 4 x 5
    Four oversized reproductions of cover
    Several uncut copies of pages
    Negatives/reversals of entire book
    Complete, 16 pages and plastic over held on my scotch tape with handwritten explanation about refusing offers to print
Box Folder  
6 Keeko Books 1947 edition, inscribed to grandson Steve, 9"x12"
    7th printing 1963, inscribed to granddaughter Lisa
    Blank copy, 8 3/4" x 11 1/2", entirely blank, 26 page version with page numbers penciled in and other printing instructions
    1947 edition, with pasted-over inscription on page 1
    1947 edition, in rough shape
    1947 edition, in good shape
    1963 (7th) printing - in good shape
    Chee-Cheek and Keeko 1952 edition, in rough shape, "Kristin Thorson" written in pencil on first page
    Keeko's Dream mock-up in blue cover with pencil drawings. - 34 pages of drawings, some glued in, some inserted - Labeled inside cover: "This dummy is a tentative lay-out only."
Box  
7 Prince of the Wilderness: Dummy copy in white leather album, 12 x 14 ½, cover drawing close-up of girl and big dog – colored pencils and paints covered in clear plastic. Typed script – 5 pages with handwritten note on top – loose – boards glued in – some loose – 5 colored pencil and paint drawings – 36 pages – 7 blanks at end.
  Ookie the Eskimo: Dummy copy in white leather album, 12 x 14 ½ (in cardboard container) – drawings on boards given in – many now loose, cover drawing is Ookie with seal pup and bear cub on Polar Bear – colored pencil and white ink on board – covered with clear plastic – typewritten script inserted loose – 7 pages – 38 page book, 12 colored pencil drawings, 24 pencil drawings.
  Black Poster Board Display Book with Ornate String Side-tie, 12 x 14 ½, “The Adventures of Wee Willie in Toyland” – Fourteen pencil drawings and loose handwritten story description, 24-page book on boards – glued-in pencil drawings – some loose.

Return to Top

     Misc. Post-Hollywood Work

Box  
8 Bunny with flower on folded grey cardboard
  Elephant and crocodile greeting and fighting [from Kipling’s “The Elephant’s Child”] – 2 pencil sketches (page of prospective book), 10 x 13 ½, mounted
  Native man and leopard [Leopard gets his spots] – pencil drawing on board, mounted, 11 ½ x 14 ½
  Big Chief Paint Book – photostat of cover with boy and girl Indians, 9 ¾ x 13 ¾
  Bear Paint Book – acrylic and watercolor drawing for cover on paper, 10
  Elf, in sled pulled by deer and alone – 3 colored pencil drawings on one board – tentative suggestions for the Christmas story – signed, overlay – 15 x 13 ½
  Two greeting cards – fox with flower, stork with worm – colored inks, paper doubled-mounted on board – one card missing at top, 13 ½ x 17
  Envelope dated March 21, 1947, containing 2 pencil sketches: Boy and girl waiting to trap squirrel, squirrel watching them; Girl returning baby bird to nest while mother bird looks on
  Bowing bird in tree with birdhouse – on onionskin, mounted, 11 x 12 ½
  Cheery dragon, 11 x 13 ½ Monkey drinking from pond through a straw

 

  Mother Goose cover – reversal/negative – 11 x 14
  Xmas for Kris, 8 x 10 Bunny with hat and best wishes, 10 ¾ x 13
  Spanish doll pencil sketch Bull with yellow horns – full sideview – colored pencils on paper, irregular cut, 8 x 6
  Bull headshot, looking over shoulder
  Sketch of bull Bull (5 pages)
  Puppies on tissue paper
  Running boy with coonskin cap, 4 x 5 ¼
  Halloween – girl with witch mask, broom, and scared teddies – on onionskin, 8 x 9 ½
  Peter Pumpkin eater and wide in pumpkin – pencil sketch, 8 ¾ x 11 ½, hole in paper
  Bullfrogs, one turned back left, on pegboard paper, 12 x 9 ½
  Girl on flying baby duck’s back, 9 x 12
  Rough sketch of well-dressed boy bunny with flowers
  Well-dressed boy bunny with rose
  Top-hatted bunny (3 pages)
  Gowned girl bunny with paper and quill
  Bunny in bowler hat
  Top-hatted bunny
  Squirrel in 18th century/Revolutionary era clothes with quill and scroll
  Squirrel in 18th century courtly clothes, with flower
  Lady bunny with big rose
  Gentleman bunny with cane
  Lady squirrel with big rose
  Lady bunny with three roses
  Gentleman bunny with sword
  Lady bunny with quill and paper / verso: Lady bunny with unfinished flower
  Better (than above) developed lady bunny with quill and paper
  Gentleman squirrel with quill and scroll
  Lady bunny with visible tail, quill, and scroll
  Gentleman squirrel with four-petalled flower
  Darker, clearer version of above
  Lady bunny with three unfinished flowers
  Rough lady bunny with four unfinished flowers
  Gentleman squirrel with four-petalled flower
  Stained lady bunny with quill and paper
  Lady bunny with three roses and one unfinished flower
  Bowler-hatted bunny with roses behind back
  Bowler-hatted bunny with one unfinished rose behind back
  Gentleman squirrel with quill and three versions of scroll / verso: scroll says, “Xmas greetings to”
  Bowler-hatted bunny with unfinished rose behind back
  Bunny in bowler hat with rose behind back on heavy paper
  Less detailed, smaller version of above
  Squirrel in colonial dress with quill and scroll
  Squirrel with pile of nuts in tree
  Bullfrog looking up, facing right, 6 x 6
  Puppy with raised ears, 8 x 10
  Laughing gorilla with knuckles on ground on pegboard paper, 8 ½ x 11
  Grinning guy against wall, 6 ½ x 8 ½
  Baby rabbit with rose, hat, and long gown, 9 ½ x 12
  Three fat bullfrogs with bowler hats facing right, on pegboard paper, 12 x 9 ½
  Baby asleep in cradle in tree, 10 x 12
  Frolicking baby goat on cliff – 4 poses, 12 x 9
  Baby duck – 4 poses, on pegboard paper (folded), 12 x 9 ½
  Baby duck – 4 poses, on pegboard paper, 12 x 9 ½
  Cute puppy sleeping under bed, 7 ¾ x 9 ½
  Little girl in ballgown on heavy paper
  4 baby bunnies with irregular edges – 3 stuck together
Box  
9 Pigs with medallions Ornate border sketches (3 pages)
  ¾ x 15, mounted Baby elf in sled pulled by baby reindeer
  Rose in bloom pencil sketch on tissue paper, 6 x 7 ½
  Christmas parade – 8 reversals, sideview ex-long shots of floats, marchers, riders, led by rocket ship – in 38 sections with sections 9-15 missing, 11 x 3 ½ each
  Two bulls – full shots on irregularly cut paper, 8 ½ x 6 ½
  Surprised bull – on irregularly cut paper, 7 x 6
  Sketch of mother hen in headscarf (mammy-style) – colored pencil
  Big mama chicken and very large egg, 8 x 6
  Angry fat mama chicken, 6 ½ x 6 ½
  Barber shaving pig – rough pencil sketch, 6 x 7 ¾
  Goofy-style bear with toque – pencil drawing, 5 ¾ x 8 ½
  Fat guy with one suspender –pencil drawing, 8 x 10 ¾
  Stagecoach horses with hooves up (2 drawings)
  Pirate cat with corked popguns – pencil drawing, 12 x 9 ½
  Fat pirate – lots of chest hair, big sword
  Pirate cat dueling mirror—pencil drawing on pegboard paper – 12 x 9 ½
  Ship being built – on pegboard paper, 10 ½ x 8 (Holmes work)
  Tramp cat with pipe and stick – on pegboard paper, 12 x 9 ½
  Wolf & bunny in circle frame
  Wolf & bunny dancing
  Wolf & bunny dance – faint sketch
  Wolf and bunny with wineglass, mounted on card
  Wolf and bunny with music
  Wolf & bunny sketch
  Wolf and bunny with wine glass
  Wolf and bunny dancing
  Dog in postman’s hat holding envelope in mouth: “Happy Birthday”
  “Itchin to Be With You” monkey sketch
  CT self-portrait – colored pencils and white watercolor – “The Schemer”
  Medical school canteen cartoon 3-strip, by Steve
  2 pages – dancing Indians on tissue paper
  Tough rooster, irregular edges, mounted on card (2 pages)
  Baby bear with broken chair
  Cat with bow on tail in milk – pencil drawing with white watercolor
  2 early photocopies/Photostats of above
  Parrot facing right – on pegboard paper, 9 ½ x 12
  Eskimos rubbing noses – on pegboard paper, 12 x 9 ½
  CT self-portrait as goat – watercolor and colored pencil
  Christmas card to “Doc” (Steve), 1952
  CT as goat, part of Christmas card/gift to Steve & family, 1952
  CT as goat, 6 ½ x 9 ½
  Fierce goat
  Singing duck walking left on board, 10 x 13
  Laughing, squinting baby tiger on pegboard paper, 12 x 9 ½
  Ape
  Funny cross-eyed elephant, pencil drawing on pegboard paper, 11 x 8 ½
  Two big fat dogs, mama dog and baby dog with ice cream cone – pencil drawings on pegboard paper, 12 x 9 ½ o 2nd: man dog licking cone (smaller)
  Three dogs sitting in stands on pegboard paper, 12 x 9 ½
  Three top-hatted goofy-style dogs with pencil frame – pencil drawing on pegboard paper, 12 x 9 ½
  Grumpy chief with headdress, pencil drawing on pegboard paper (folded), 9 ½ x 12
  Leaping Eskimo, 6 ½ x 8 ½
  Indian boy sitting, moose behind tree – pencil sketch, 6 x 7, ragged edge
  Irregularly-edged dog poses: 17 pages. These are copies, not originals (early photocopies, or Photostats).
  Sovereign writing tablet
  Intense-looking Indian in cow headdress, numbered (3 pages)
  Indian in cow headdress, mounted on card (2 pages)
  Mustache guy, big nose, bristle hair, facing right, 6 x 6 ½
  Top-hatted guy with saw – pencil drawing on paper, 6 ½ x 8 ¼
  Handsome man, eyes closed – colored pencil drawing on paper, 7 x 9 ½, ragged edge
  Two knife throwers – one with arms folded, one pointing right, 8 x 8
  Human target of knife thrower
  Grumpy Arab, 7 x 9 ½
  Grinning Arab with missing teeth – irregular edge, 4 ½ x 6 ½
  Arab looking down well – pencil sketch on thicker pegboard paper, 8 ½ x 9 ½
  Dancing native woman/islander
  Dancing native woman, 7 ½ x 10 ½
  Dancing native woman with hoops – colored pencils, 7 x 11
  Dancing native woman with arms up, 8 ½ x 9 ½
  Dancing black woman, one arm up, 7 ½ x 11
  Smiling black woman dancer, 7 x 10
  Rough sketch of girly cow
  Girl cow in dress walking on hind legs
  Girl cow in dress standing on four legs
  Girly cow with flower in mouth
  Girl cow headshot in bonnet and collar
  Girl cow in dress, rear view
  Girl cow with flower in mouth
  Headshot of cow with tray on horns, glass on tray
  Sketch of Indian boy panting black birds blue, captioned
  Shark – colored pencil and watercolor Tropical treehouse sketch – colored pencil

Return to Top

     Poems & Unpursued Projects

Box  
8 Cap’n Bill’s Fantastic Tales – photostat of 13 frame strip, 11 x 14 ¼, mounted. Note: on back (at top) is written note in ink, signed by John Phillips, “a notary public in and for the Province of Manitoba.” It is addressed to the US Department of Labor. The note says: In the matter of the appeal from the excluding decision of the board of Special Inquiry in the case of Charles Justave Thorson or Thordarson. This is exhibit “B” referred to in the affidavit of Charles Gustave Thorson sworn before me at the city of Winnipeg in the Province of Manitoba this 29th day of March, MD, 1935.
  Handwritten story and description of illustrations for Captain Bill – 9 pages
  Pearl Divers – 4 pages handwritten on pegboard paper in pencil.
  Eight pencil sketches for undersea adventure book on thin paper, 14 x 19
  King Do-Do – handwritten notes – 7 oversize pages
Box  
9 Liceland typed poem
  Poem – “A Dizzy Symp-phony” – 2 pages, handwritten
  Brigden’s poem in envelope (1928), three pages handwritten in envelope
  Roosian bear poem – ink, handwritten on lined paper, eight stanzas
  Undersea sketch: diver with octopus and fish
  Undersea diver facing enormous fish
  Pearl divers border sketches & text blocks
  Capt. Bills (sic) Fantastic Tales – Handwritten text, 9 pages
  King Do-Do scrip – 7 typed pages, signed Thorson

Return to Top

     Business & Personal Documents

Box  
8 The Telegram: Tuesday, March 29, 1949. (2 copies)
  “’What’s up, Doc?’ is echo from his past”, 1963 (3 copies)
  “Creator of Tely’s Bugs Bunny Here to Stay”
  Haney Gazette: “Walt Disney Cartoonist’s Home is in Maple Ridge.” (2 copies)
  Notes re: characters created for animated cartoon studios
  Fan letter from St Catherine School, 1952
Box  
9 Letters from Joe
  Letters from Charlie to Steve – 1 informal will and one about social services
  CT’s birth certificate
  CT’s marriage certificate to Ada
  Text of Joe’s address to the Winnipeg Canadian Club, November 18, 1963
  Three letters from Annie Hope, 253 Roseberry St, St James, MB, 1955
  Letters from Gladys in Agassiz, BC, December 11, 1955
  Letter from Montreal proposing marriage, 1963
  3 Letters from brother John, 1963, and sketch by John’s grandson Douglas
  Birthday card from John, 1962 Three letters from Ada, 1962
  Joe’s address on the Canadian War Effort, November 13, 1940
  Handwritten pages to Steve, 1953-1957 – 116 pages and 2 envelopes (empty)
  2 Christmas cards from Ada, 1965 and undated
  Christmas card from Joe, 1963
  Employment records, voter registration (Los Angeles, 1944), library card (New Rochelle, 1944), receipt from US Dept. of Labor
  Envelope (empty) labeled “Custody of Poots”
  Vacation accident insurance statement for Steve – 1958
  Letter from Ada, undated, not in envelope Letter from Dr Peltz, 10 March 1958
  Letters from Molly, 1945, 1946
  Custody agreement for Stephen, 1937
  Six letters from Joe: 1944, 1948, 1952, 1953 (half of one page is missing), 1954, 1962
  Letter from Joe, December 24, 1941, on Dept. of National War Services letterhead, re: his job, etc. (two pages)
  Letter from Joe dated October 21, 1943 on Exchequer Court Stationery
  Fan letter from Harriette R. Sallee
  Letter from lawyers to Steve, 1967, re: CT’s lump-sum death payment
  CT to Steve, 1965 (dated 1865, but that’s presumably wrong)
Box  
10 Letters from Steve Letter from Steve’s daughter Lisa
  Postcard from Steve, 1943
  Envelope with photo of Thorson working on Tiger sketches, and three negatives
  Photos in envelope: men beside plane, CT with foot up on bench, CT on beach with woman, CT outdoors in chair, postcard of man in military uniform with cane, CT pointing to sketches on wall, three men in military uniform
  Blue envelope marked “personal” containing 24 negatives
  32 photos (originally from blue envelope listed above, now in new envelope)
  Telegram from Steve, May 31, 1941
  Pink letter from Steve, October 4, 1955, with two photos enclosed
  Postcards from Steve: 1942 (2 cards), 1944, 1952
  Letters from Steve: 1942 (1), 1943 (32), 1944 (21), 1945 (17), 1946 (17), 1952 (1), 1954 (1), 1955 (2), 1956 (4), 1957 (2), 1962 (2), 1963 (3), 1965 (1), 1940s date uncertain (8 – one letter contains official leaflet, “Clothing notes for recruits”), later than 1940s date uncertain (2)
  Two candid photos of Miami girlfriend
  Photo of CT with Miami girlfriend
  CT in chair in white suit outside Fleischer Studios (Fl)
  1951 application to enter US
  Steve and son
  Photo of CT and Rainmaker poster, clipped from Ad-Sales news
  CT leaning on palm tree, 8 x 10 (Fl)
  CT in white suit and hat, 3 ½ x 5 (Fl)
  Small photo of Kris and Lisa, 2 ½ x 1 ¾
Box  
11 Wilcox & Follett brochure – 16 pages, 5 ½ x 8 ½, “Children’s Authors Are Interesting People”
  Haney Gazette: “Walt Disney Cartoonist’s Home is in Maple Ridge.” (4 copies)
  Hollywood Reporter: Saturday, July 16, 1938, page 2 (Looney Tunes). (2 copies)
  Note from Marjorie Duff – CBC (CT gave her a drawing of Elmer Elephant)
  Duplicate of radio script by Marjorie Duff on CT, November 20, 1947, 4 typed pages
  Marketing for March 19, 1949, mention’s CT’s return to Canada and public showing at Eaton’s, March 22-April 2, 1949
  Letter from Goodyear Tire, dated November 29, 1950, to register Pliofilm Pete. CT paid $1.00
  Invitation to CT exhibition at Royal York Hotel, printed on 5x4 card (2 copies)
  The Standard : “Silly Pictures,” February 1950
  Photo of J.T. Thorson with others, clipped from newspaper
  Canadian Sales Digest: May 1949. (3 copies)
  Tribune Weekly: picture of Elmer, September 23, 1949
  “All So Elmer-Conscious Pupils Slash Traffic Toll”
  “Charming” (review of Keeko)
  “Bugs Bunny is a Canuck.” (only 1st page present). (2 copies)
  “Actress Charges Betrayal in Suit”
  “Child Traffic Deaths Cut 60 p.c.– Thanks to Elmer”
  Ad-Sales News: “The Light Fantastic . . . Y.M.A.S.C. Holds Successful Spring Dance”
  “Many Attractions Featured at Ball.” “Original Cartoon Characters”
  “Pensive Pogo Makes Bow Monday”
  “‘Keeko’ – The Children’s Book”
  “Gulliver’s Travels”
  "Sérstæđur íslenskur lista mađur”
  "Vestan um haf"
  “Islendingurinnog „Mickey Mouse.” Charles Thorson ere inn sojallasti teiknimyndahöfundur í Hollywood”
  Letter from John W. Burton at Warner Bros. regarding the creation of Bugs Bunny
  Royalty contract for Keeko – four pages with inserts, dated 15 June 1946 and 12 December 1948, clarification (3 copies)
  Sample Copp Clark contract
  Four pen and ink descriptions on half-sheets and letter of explanation about schoolroom posters
  Eighty-two letters to and from Wilcox and Follett, 1946-1955, re: KeekoChee-Chee and KeekoOokie the Eskimo, and production, etc.
  Copy of Ookie story – typed – as 40 page book
  Letters to Thorn Press and Copp Clark, re: Ookie
  Articles of agreement, re: CheeChee & Keeko, 17 December 1951, four pages typed and five pages handwritten by CT, December 2, 1951, regarding the meaning of the word “similar”
  Envelope with “customs cost” handwritten, papers re: customs cost inside
  Letter March 4, 1965 from guy at CBC. [follow-up note located in personal correspondence folder]
  Letter to Mr. Follett, June 3, 1946, 2 pages typed about Keeko copyright of rules for dolls, etc.
  Stub for royalty advance cheque for “Keeko and Chee-Chee”
  Legal correspondence re: Follett, from Ridout & Maybee, Patent Attorneys
  Duplicate of letter to Mr. MacEachern, October 30, 1954, three typed pages, vs. Mr. Glendenning
  Letter from Len Chapple (“guy at CBC”), re: “Ookie the Esquimeau”
  CT to manager of Master Films Co, 1957
  Documents from MGM, 1937 (contract amendment and letter)
  Letter from Toronto Telegram, 1956
  Envelope of WWII-era clippings about Joe (9 pages)
  Royal Bank of Canada statement -- $1800.00
  1943 change of address card from Ragnar
  CT’s Selective Service Registration certificate, 1942
  Imperial Bank of Canada envelope (3” x 4 ½”) with note to Steve on back, appears to have two stamps stuck to interior
  Telegram from Steve, 5 August 1946
  Card soliciting information for “The Canadian Who’s Who”
  Empty envelope sent from Steve to CT, postmarked 1944
  Toronto public libraries stamp card, valid December 1954 to December 1957
  Stapled Disney inter-office memos – 10 on pink paper or half-sheets – re: Snow White sessions and art classes. One memo requesting film screening suggestions (Dsny)
  Letter from Edward Seltzer and carbon papered, two-page CT letter to Seltzer, re: Bugs Bunny, dated May 3, 1949, in Warner’s envelope (WB)
  Letterhead, re: CT’s loss of US citizenship (two pages and carbon of letter from A.D.P. Heeney at Can Embassy)
  Various newspaper clippings on Joe or CT Letter from Roy Disney on Disney letterhead, March 29, 1935 (Dsny)
  Letter from Geo E. Morris on Disney letterhead, dated December 17, 1936 (Dsny)
  Twelve pages of handwritten version of career progress
  Casa Editrice for $86.72
  Two cancelled cheques, 1942
  Letter from John Burton, production manager on Warner Bros. Stationery, April 3, 1947, re: Bugs (in envelope) (WB)
  2 pages blank Disney letterhead in Disney envelope
  Eaton’s copyright sign-over for Punkinhead, January 11, 1949, signed
  Two handwritten letters from Walt Kelly (Dsny), February 2, 1950 (two pages) and March 26, 1950 (one page)
  Bass Mason letter in John Adams envelope, April 25, 1949: CT explains his role in Bugs, methods, origin of Sniffles (WB)
  Dizzy Symp-phony poem – two pages, carbon, typed (Dsny)
  Typed analysis for Fred Quimby, dated April 15, 1937 – three pages, typed, in envelope (MGM)
  Handwritten ink letter, April 7, 1946, “To Whom It May Concern,” explaining the genesis of Keeko
  Two copyright certificates for Keeko – December 1, 1944, and April 10, 1946
  Photo of CT at work, undated, black/white, print 8 x 10, image 6 ½ x 7 ½, probably a photostat
  “Cartoon Charlie,” His Art and His Life”: unsigned/undated typescript, 9 pages and cover page

Return to Top

     Scrapbooks

Box Scrapbook  
12

Black Leatherette Scrapbook

(13 x 16) with knight insignia, all artwork is loose between the pages, not glued in. Green tape on cover says “originals – colored.”

Lion and mouse – colored pencil, 12 ½ x 8, initialized with typed identification (Fl)
    Texaco: On top of the world – colored-pencil drawing labeled “Rough sketch only”, 9 ½ x 12
    Oogie the Hunter – colored pencil with white ink highlights, signed and dated 1940, mounted in frame, 8 ¼ x 10 ½
    Big Chief Paint Book – full-color painted drawing of boy and girl Indians with squirrel – signed and mounted in frame, 9 x 11 ¼
    Indian Boy and girl (drawing for above), signed, colored pencil and watercolors on board, 8 ¾ x 9 ½
    “Campion Wood Chopper of the World – Merrie Melodie Cartoon” sketch of guy with axe and flannel shirt – colored pencil with white ink highlights on paper, 6 x 8 ¾, mounted board (WB)
    Page from Regent’s Coloring Book – Lion dad and son colored pencil and watercolor to indicate colors, 8 ¼ x 10 ¾, mounted on poster paper
    “Jungle Kids” cover design – native boy and monkey and parrot on elephant, colored pencil on poster paper mounted on black poster paper, 8 x 11 1/8
    Monkey hanging from branch with straw in water – pencil drawing with painted highlights on board, 10 ¾ x 11 ½
    Police Captain MM-14, 5 poses (3 close-ups), colored pencil drawings on thick pegboard paper 9for model sheet), 11 ½ x 9 ½ (WB)
    Elmer Elephant – headshot – pencil drawing on thin paper, irregularly cut and mounted on board, 7 ¾ x 8 ½ (Dsny)
    Pinias Pill – 13 ink drawings – 11 mounted on grey poster paper, 1 loose, and loose cover, cover – 7 1/8 x 9, pages – 5 ¼ x 6 ¼
    “Rough sketch for Northern Tissue Poster Series” – Indian girl with bear, colored pencil and watercolor on board, 7x7
    “Old Man Goes Into Bashful Blush” – old prisoner behind bars midshot with pencil explanations. “I’m a bad boy Merrie Melodies Cartoon”, colored pencil drawing on paper, mounted on board, 7 x 7 ½ (WB)
    Elmer Elephant weeping – colored pencil with white ink highlights on board, 3 x 4 1/8 (Disney)
    Adult native male with bone in ear and big feet – sideview, colored pencil on paper, 4 x 7, mounted on board (WB?)
    Fat native male with drown and one suspender and shoes – colored pencil on irregularly cut paper – mounted on board, 5 ¼ x 8 (WB?)
    Rabbit with nuts in wheelbarrow – colored pencil drawing on board, 5 x 7 ¼
    Big shouldered bulldog – colored pencil on paper, mounted on board, 7 ½ x 8 ½
    Captain, Mama, and two kids – headshots – black/white inks on board with blue pencil inscription “Sample of Wash Drwg,” 8 x 11 ¾ (MGM)
    Little Black Chicken with sailor collar and hat – pencil drawing on a bat (sic) on irregularly cut paper – mounted on ragged board, 4 x 6
    Lumpy bulldog with spiked collar and one eye open – colored pencil on paper, mounted on board, glue shows through – 7 ¼ x 5 ¾
    Cute puppy with scarf, blanket, and paper bag crown – colored pencil and watercolor on board, 7 ½ x 10
    Two Katzenjammer Kids as infants in diapers – pencil drawing with white ink highlights on brown paper, signed, mounted on board, 9 ½ x 8 (MGM)
    “The Stranger in Dan McFoo – Merrie Melodies” – Goofy-style stand-up dog in white fringed parka, boots, and hat. Colored pencil drawing and white ink highlights on paper mounted on bard, 5 ¾ x 8 ¾ (WB)
Box Scrapbook  
12

Black Leatherette Scrapbook

(13 ½ x 16) with knight insignia

Sketch of bull – sideview – brown pencil on paper, 11 x 8 ½ (MGM?) o Sketch of ram and three romantic goats – pencil on paper, 11 x 8
    Photostat of Captain Bill – mounted – 6 ½ x 9
    Dinosaur model sheet, C-10-5, big and baby, 10 poses, 14 x 11 ½ (Fl)
    Gap-toothed schemer – model sheet, B-10-8, 7 poses, 12 ½ x 9 (Fl)
    Boy mouse model sheet, B-10-9, 7 poses, 12 ½ x 9 (Fl)
    Photo of CT – hat, glasses, dark sport coat in archway, 3 x 5 ½, mounted on insert with Disney stationery – from another book
    Owls – 2 big and three little pencil drawings on irregular paper, some pasted in, some loose (Disney)
    Old Smokey model sheet – 6 poses, November 11, 1937, 15 x 11 ¼, stamped (MGM)
    St Bernard Puppy model sheet – February 1940 – 8 poses, 11 x 14 (Fl)
    Raggedy Ann model sheet – May 1940 – 7 poses, 10 ¼ x 14 ½ (Fl)
    Goat model sheet – unidentified – 5 poses, 9 x 7 ½
    Tough rooster model sheet – November 5, 1937 – 6 poses, no MGM stamp, 15 x 11 ½ (MGM)
    Young Hawk model sheet, April 1940, 11 x 14 (Fl)
    Calf model sheet – 8 poses, MGM stamp, 12 ½ x 10 (MGM)
    Goofy rabbit model sheet, P-10-7, January 1940 – 5 poses, 10 ¾ x 14 (Fl)
    Big hump-backed bear model sheet – P-10-7, January 1940 – 13 poses, 11 ¼ x 14 (Fl)
    Same as above Elmer Elephant actor suggestions #33 – 22 poses, 10 x 13 ½ (Dsny)
    Old Smokey model sheet – faint MGM stamp – 6 poses, 13 ¾ x 10 ½ (MGM)
    Old Smokey model sheet – clear MGM stamp – 15 poses, 13 ½ x 10 ½ (MGM)
    Saber-toothed tiger model sheet – November 12, 1939, B-9-6 – 11 poses, 15 x 11 ½ (Fl)
    St. Bernard dog model sheet, February 1940, B-10-1 – 6 poses, 12 ¼ x 15, folded (Fl)
    Foxy model sheet – 7 poses, no ID, 12 ½ x 10. Grumpy Old Prof. model sheet – December 1939, B-9-11 – 11 poses, 10 ½ x 14 ¼ (Fl)
    Eleven pages of glued-in boards (most now loose) of story of “The Adventures of Wee Willie in Toyland” – Pencil drawings on boards, some blue shading, 10 ¼ x 13 ¾
Box Scrapbook  
13 Large Dark-wood Scrapbook “Ain’t She Sweet” – colored pencil and ink drawing of fancy-dressed lady dog and two male admirers – on board – signed, 11 x 12 ¾
    Loose photostat of dancing dogs – black/white – 3 ½ x 3 ½, irregular edges
    “Somebody Stole My Gal” – angry bulldog in bowler hat and vest – colored pencil drawing with painted highlights – signed, 9 x 10
    Pink-bonneted lady dog – headshot – colored pencil with ink highlights on board, 4 ½ x 5 ½
    “Oh What a Beautiful Morning” lady dog with baby dog in carriage and boy dog, colored pencil and paints on board – signed, 9 x 10
    Painting boxer dog with top hat and bow tie – colored pencil and inks on board, 4 ½ x 5 ½
    Thug dogs smoking – colored pencil and paints on board – signed, 8 ¾ x 10 ½
    Photostat – signed – black/white, singing lady dog with rose and male piano-playing dog, 5 x 4 ½
    Two tea-drinking Indians “How! And How” – typed ID: “Bill Board Poster Advertising Blue Ribbon Tea” – colored pencil and paint on board – signed, 13 x 10 ½
    Laughing Indian with two feathers – midshot, ID: Merrie Melodies, colored pencils with white ink highlights, 5 x 6 ¾
    Ray-o-vac, 3-strip newspaper ad cartoons – cat and canary, boy and skunk – colored pencil sketches on boards, both 16 x 6
    Ma squirrel putting boots on baby: “Spring has come. Change Now.” In pencil: “Preliminary Sketch”. Typed ID: Shell Oil – colored pencils and paints, signed, on board, 12 ½ x 10 ½
    Baby bunny with bonnet and tray of nuts – typed ID: Baby Bunting Nut Company trademark character – colored pencil and paint on board, 5 ¼ x 6 ½
    Ray-o-vac ads - Four strip: bear in tent, colored pencil; Three strip: owl waking child, “pencil sketch only”
    Indian girl and ducks – Northern Tissue ad – ID as outstanding poster of the year – paint and colored pencil on board and black/white photostat, 16 ¼ x 8 ¼
    “The following pictures are storybook illustrations”
    Printed page from Keeko book – Keeko greets bunnies and squirrels with “How” sign
    Keeko sleeping on log – colored paints on board, 8 x 9 ½ ; Also, Keeko climbing vine up cliff – paints and pencils on board, 3 ¾ x 8 ¾
    Keeko fallen, threatened by big turkey – colored paints on board – initialed, 11 ¼ x 9
    Keeko with bow aimed at baby lynx and eagle – pencil and black inks on paper, 6 x 5 ½
    Two Ookie drawings: Ookie on polar bear, colored paints on board – signed, 6 ½ x 8.; Eskimo girl with hood – colored pencils on board – signed, 6 x 7 ½ ; and Great West Life greeting card – postal dog with letter in mouth, 4 ¼ x 5
    ID page: “Cartoon Characters in the United States”
    Six black/white photos of some pages to follow, 3 ½ x 4 ½ Six black/white photos of some pages to follow, 3 ½ x 4 ½
    Shy Elmer Elephant – colored pencils and paint highlights on board, signed, 8 ¼ x 12 (Dsny); Weeping Elmer walking – colored pencil and painted red highlights on board, 4 ½ x 6 (Dsny)
    Three ethnic dolls from Raggedy Ann – one pencil drawing headshot on paper overlapping, 5 ½ x 7 (signature overlaps), and two colored pencil and paint full shots, 4 x 6 ½ (MGM)
    Hiawatha on branches pulled by deer – colored pencils and paints on board – signed – ID: “Hiawatha”, 9 ½ x 10 ½ (Dsny); Hiawatha with bow, black and white, pencil and white ink drawing – initialed, 3 ½ x 4 ½ (Dsny)
    Reverse: Hiawatha model sheet, 5-41, 13 pages, 14 ½ x 12 ½, right side is cut off (Dsny)
    Elmer Elephant (Dsny): 7 poses of Tillie, irregular edges, 2 ½ x 4 ½, colored pencils and white ink highlights; Shy Elmer – 4 x 5 ½
    Five Hiawathas: Centre: full-frontal, paints on board, signed 3 ¾ x 6 ½; Others: colored pencil and white ink highlights on paper, 3 ¼ x 5, mounted, signed (Dsny) - Two are three-quarters frontal, One backview, One three-quarters back
    Reverse: Old Smokey Action Sheet, Prose. No. 6 (photostat), 14 x 10 ½ (MGM)
    Three pelicans, one hippo, two monkeys – colored pencils and ink highlights on irregularly cut paper, approx. 5 x 4, mounting signed (Dsny)
    Reverse: Old Smokey Action Sheet, Prose. No. 6 (photostat), 14 x 10 ½ (MGM)
    Three pelicans, one hippo, two monkeys – colored pencils and ink highlights on irregularly cut paper, approx. 5 x 4, mounting signed (Dsny)
    Reverse: Baby Popeye model sheet, P-9-6, photostat, 14 x 11 (Fl)
    Old Smokey model sheet – 3 poses – pencil and white ink highlights, irregularly cut brownish paper – largest is 9 x 7, mounting signed (MGM)
    Reverse: cat model sheet, T-313, Terrytoons, 12 ½ x 9 (TT)
    Three cats with bowties, two closeups – colored pencils and painted highlights: Fullshot 11 ¼ x 8 ½; Others 5 ½ x 6
    “Bugs Bunny” full shot with carrot – colored pencils and paint, signed, 10 ¼ x 14 ½ (WB)
    Lady Known as Lou – five poses – centre = close-up, 5 ½ x 8, colored pencil and white ink on paper – penciled instructions at bottom right, one signed, 3 ¼ x 5 (WB)
    Merrie Melodie sad pups – two twosomes (Anna’s note: one of these is actually a cat) – colored pencil and watercolors on board, 11 ¼ x 10 and 6 x 5 ½, both initialed (WB)
    The Rain Maker laughing, bucked-toothed Indian, paint and crayon on board, 9 x 11 ½ -- signed (WB)

 

 

Box Scrapbook  
13

Wooden (oak-colored) Showbook with Metal Hinges,

15 ¼ x 16, Black poster paper with boards – glued on. Monster car mock-up

Handwritten explanation, “pencil sketch drawings only”
    Why I hurt so many children – big car and little schoolgirl
    Typewritten explanation to parents
    Car with headlight eyes and typed-in story
    Car in street in background and dog chasing cat on sidewalk, and typing
    Car in midshot, cat and dog in street
    Car in foreground, angry-toothed grill, cat and dog sprawling
    Schoolgirl prancing past parked cars
    Schoolgirl in street – menacing car (the car is menacing, not the girl)
    Starburst with sprawling hat and books and typing in center
    Boys playing tennis on sidewalk
    Boy chasing ball in street – menacing car (the car, as I said, is the one menacing)
    Starburst and hat and racquet
    Two boys and two girls running on sidewalk
    Sideview close-up of menacing car – boy in street, others on curb
    Starburst and hat and books
    Girl on tricycle, boy with cart in street
    Menacing car close to them Starburst and sprawling trike and wagon
    Happy car
Box Scrapbook
14 Black Leatherette Display Book with Three Silver Rivets ,

10 x 13 ½ Grey pages, some material loose – 26 pages, mostly Fort Garry coffee newspaper ads/cartoons, printed on newsprint – 2 per page, 4 x 5 inches each. 19 pages of Fort Garry ads = 38 total. Two pages Ray-o-vac. One “Get the Lion’s Share of Fur Profits”. Four pages blank

Box Scrapbook
14 White Embossed “Scrap Book” with gilt lettering and smudged cover,

12 ½ x 14 ½, appears to be mildewing Dummy book for Keeko’s Dream – most of the layout is on boards inserted into the book. Also, many thin paper inserts, pencil sketches, some inks, 40+ pages.

Box Scrapbook  
14 Black Leatherette Scrapbook

(12 x 14 ½) with sailboat insignia – green tape on cover: “Originals – colored”. Everything inside is loose

Christmas Card 1952, To Doc Thorson, colored pencil self-portrait (not in book)
    Toughie baby chick – colored pencils on paper – 5 poses, 3 x 3 mounted on board
    Tough rabbit with lowered ears and band-aid – colored pencil on paper, 9 x 11
    Oscar Owl – colored pencil on paper, 5 ¼ x 7 ½ (Dsny). o Barking small dog, down, colored pencil on paper, 5 ¼ x 4
    Two birds on nest – story sketch for The Old Mill – colored pencil on paper with red frame line, 8 x 6 (Dsny)
    Regent Tiger in uniform with sign – colored pencil on paper, smudged, 9 x 9 o Regent Rabbit in uniform with sign – colored pencils on paper, smudged, 7 ½ x 10
    Baby Rabbit in blue bonnet with nut-filled wagon – colored pencil on board, 6 ¾ x 6 ¾,; Baby black bird with hat and pants standing in tree – colored pencils on paper, mounted 4 ½ x 6
    Elmer Safety Elephant with blank banner – colored pencils on paper with white ink highlights, smudged – 4 x 4 (Dsny)
    Four small Hiawathas – one with bear – colored pencil on paper with white ink highlights, smudged, 4x4 (Dsny)
    Cross-eyed large blue elephant, colored pencil on pegboard paper, 12 x 9 ½
    Kitten with bow and dress, pencil drawing with white painted highlights on board, 7 ¾ x 9 ½
    Sniffles sideview, walking – colored pencils on board, 4 x 6 (WB)
    Chick with bug, colored pencil on paper, mounted on board, 5 x 4
    Farmer in carriage with horse, car nearby – colored pencil, crayon, paint on paper, 18 x 12
    Cat with milk pitcher, pencil drawing with white ink highlights, on paper, 10 x 11 (not in scrapbook)
Box Scrapbook  
14 Black Leatherette Showbook with Grey Poster Paper Pages

12 ¼ x 14 – Name and address: 1729 ¼ N. Wilcox, Hollywood

Katzenjammer Kids model sheet – 5 poses, March 1, 1938 – stamped, some trimming, 11 ½ x 13 ½ (MGM)
    Old Smokey model sheet – 6 poses, November 11, 1937, faint stamp (MGM)
    WynkenBlynken, and Nod wooden-shoe boat model sheet – RS-2 – 8 poses, 12 x 10 (Dsny)
    WynkenBlynken, and Nod babies model sheet – 13 poses, 12 x 10 (Dsny)
    WynkenBlynken, and Nod babies model sheet – 8 poses, 12 x 10 (Dsny)
    Moosehunters model sheet, M-50 – 9 female moose costumed – 5 poses, 12 x 10 (Dsny)
    Clocktower model sheet, R-M-3 – 1 Mickey Mouse – 5 stock, 12 x 10 (Dsny)
    Same as Moosehunters (above) The Old Mill model sheet – birds – R-S-No.1 – 15 poses, 12 x 10 (Dsny)
    Loose – full shot male Indian with cow horns – stamped Schlesinger, 10 ¼ x 8 (WB)
    Ringmaster and circus animals model sheet, T-312 – 4 poses – lion, 2 elephant, 4 donkey, and 4 ringmaster, 12 ½ x 9 (TT)
    Black moose from Moosehunters model sheet, M-50 – 6 poses, 12 x 10 (Dsny)
    Bat from The Old Mill model sheet, R-S No. 1 – 7 poses (Dsny)
    The Old Mill model sheet – 4 ducks, 5 baby ducks, 3 frogs, 12 x 10, signed Thorson in blue pencil
    The Old Mill model sheet – R-S-No.1 – 5 mice, 5 doves, 2 grasshoppers, 2 cows
    Loose: Dancing Indian model sheet – Leon Schlesinger stamp, 7 ½ x 9 ½
    Captain action sheet – 12 poses, March 1, 1938 – MGM stamp
    The Captain and the Kids model sheet – stovepipe hat guy – 8 poses, 13 x 10
    Fire truck model sheet – Old Smokey – 3 poses, December 3, 1937

 

Return to Top

     Objects

Box Objects   
8 Displays from Toronto Show: Large printed boards with drawings and info about CT

Color Photocopies: Most likely made after CT’s death. All 11 x 17, except where noted otherwise. Each entry refers to one page

Bugs Bunny
    Zookie – half-sheet with spear, on elephant with monkey
    2 self-portraits: “Second Childhood” and “The Schemer”
    1 Elmer Elephant, 7 Tillie Tigers
    Rabbit for Fleischer – P-10-7 – January 1940
    St Bernard Dog for Fleischer – B-10-1 – February 1940
    Ray-o-vac comic strips – bear in tent, owl in window
    Dog and singing bird
    Squirrels for Shell Oil, Bunny for Baby Bunting Nut Co.
    Popeye – Fleischer Studios – February 1940
    Ducks – Fleischer Studios – B-10-12 – June 1940
    Cats and Mice – Terrytoons – T-313
    Dinosaurs – C-10-5 – Fleischer Studios – May 1940
    Foxy – 7 poses Young Foxy – 15 poses
    Grumpy Professor – 11 poses – Fleischer – B-9-11-A-D – December 1939
    3 pelicans, 3 hippos, 3 tigers
    “The Lady Known as Loo” – Merrie Melodies
    St Bernard Puppy – Fleischer – February 1940
    6 poses Raggedy Ann, 1 pose Raggedy Andy – Fleischer, May 1940 – X-9-1
    5 poses Raggedy Andy, 1 pose Raggedy Ann – Fleischer, May 1940 – X-9-1
    3 Raggedy Ann-style dolls – Fleischer
    3 drawings of Sniffles (including one missing from board as inventoried)
    Hiawatha model sheet – Disney – S. 41 – 13 poses
    Poopdeck Pappy – Fleischer – February 1940
    Parrot – 10 poses – B-10-6 – Fleischer – April 1940
    2 rabbits (1 tough) – Keeko with friends and flowers
    Hobo Heaven – 5 drawings
    Hiawatha – 5 drawings
    Old Smokey action sheet – 14 poses (including hats) – Prod No. 6 – November 15th, 1937
    2 pictures combining live and animated figures (executive with The Captain and the Kids)
    “Chinese Pipes Dissolve Into Dragons”
    Punkinhead with two bluebirds
    “Mr. Do and Mr. Don’t Try to Dull the Point of Cupid’s Arrow” – 1944, Sass Dorne Studio
    Blonde Doll – 8 poses, X-9-1; and Mosca – 6 poses, P-10-10 – both Fleischer, both May 1940
    Bull; and live man in suit with animated figures (executive with the Captain and the Kids)
    2 drawings of Ookie, 1 of dog with letter reading “Happy Birthday”
    3 pelicans, 1 hippo, 2 monkeys; Lion and mouse – Fleischer – story sketch; Story sketch – puppy, kitten, and spilled paint
    CT as goat; Ram with 3 sexy goats
    Northern Tissue Indian girl with ducks – 2 images
    Giant, 7 poses – Porky Pig, 1 pose – 8 ½ x 11
Box  
15 Watercolor paint box, black, folds out to three sections
  Large wooden ruler – picas and agates/inches – 18 inches long
  Medium-sized wooden ruler – picas and agates – 15 inches long
  One brown billfold (alligator-skin?) with visible edge stitching: Canada Packers Limited card calendar – 1949; Disney ID card – 1936; Screen cartoonists local 852 card/Temporary work permit o MGM ID card – 1937; Social Security card for CT, noting on back his association with Disney; MGM ID card – 1938, badly damaged, in plastic sleeve; Theatrical Mutual Association Certificate of Membership; War Production Plant card noting Thorson’s employment with Sass-Dorne advertising Art, Los Angeles – Photo ID, issued October 1943; One Mexican Peso, serial #M291058
  Framed photo of CT – metal, gold-colored frame 3 x 3 ½

Return to Top