The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of her papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Bryan Bance & Lewis St. G. Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
208 Elizabeth Dafoe LibraryWinnipeg, ManitobaR3T 2N2
(October 2007)
Finding aid encoded by Bryan Bance (October 2007)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Collection Summary
Biography of Joan B. Townsend
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Restrictions on Access
Restrictions on Use
Custodial History
Detailed Description of the Collection
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION 1959-1998
ACADEMIC CAREER 1949-1969
MANUSCRIPTS & BOOKS 1968-1980
ARTICLES 1959-2004
BOOK REVIEWS 1964-2003
CONFERENCE PAPERS 1963-2003
COURSE NOTES & MATERIALS 1962-1998
STUDENT ESSAYS 1964-2001
ORGANIZATIONS 1962-1997
PUBLIC LECTURES 1966-1993
GRANT PROPOSALS 1960-2003
CORRESPONDENCE 1961-1999
ACADEMIC RESEARCH 1785-
PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION 1960-1992
AUDIO TAPE COLLECTION 1967-1992
MICROFILM REELS 1842-1933
MAP COLLECTION ca.1964-1990
COMPUTER DISKETTES 1987-1998
Collection Summary
Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
208 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
Creator:
Joan Townsend
Title:
Joan Townsend fonds
Dates:
1954-2004
Quantity:
25.2 m. of textual & other material
English
Return to Top
Biography of Joan B. Townsend
Joan B. Townsend was born in Dallas, Texas on July 9, 1933. She obtained an A.A. from Columbia College in 1952. In 1959, she received a B.A. from U.C.L.A, followed by her Ph.D in 1965.
Townsend taught briefly at East Los Angeles College from 1962 to 1963, followed by stints at Los Angeles State College in 1963 and southern Illinois University between 1963-1964. She began her career at the University of Manitoba in 1964 where in 1981, she attained the rank of Professor. She is recognized as a founding member of the Department of Anthropology and as one of the initial creators of its graduate program.
Townsend was actively involved in field research beginning in 1958-1960 with the recording and excavation of various archaeological sites in Utah and southern California. From 1960-1982, she conducted numerous archaeological surveys and excavations in the Iliamna Lake region of Alaska, and studied Tanaina Athapaskans and Aglegmiut Yupik Eskimos in the area.
Overall, Townsend's research encompassed three unique areas of anthropology: historic and prehistoric archaeology, ethnohistory, and religion, most notably traditional and neo-shamanism and new religious movements. She published numerous papers and articles in these areas and in 1970, produced the book Kijik: An Historic Settlement.
Townsend served on numerous department, faculty and university committees, including the University of Manitoba Board of Governors. For nineteen years, she also served as a member of Senate for the Faculty of Arts. In 1999, Townsend retired from the University of Manitoba and was named Professor Emeritus in recognition of her accomplishments in anthropological research and teaching. Upon retiring, Townsend continued to conduct research on Shamanism among traditional practitioners in Nepal, as well as ethno-medicine and non-allopathic healing.
Joan Townsend died on 23 May, 2006.
Return to Top
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The fonds has been arranged into 18 series. They include: Biographical Materials, Academic Career, Manuscripts and Books, Articles, Book Reviews, Conference Papers, Lecture Notes and supplementary materials, Student Essays, Organizations, Public Lectures, Grant Proposals, Correspondence, and Academic Research-including artifacts. The fonds is also comprised of the following collections: Photographs-including 2243 slides, 144 photographs, and 1087 negatives , Audio-Cassettes-including 280 standard cassettes, 13 mini-cassettes, and 8 reel to reel tapes, Microfilm-including 26 reels, Maps-including 33 maps, Computer Diskettes-including 52 disks.
Return to Top
Restrictions on Access
Student papers and some financial grant application material have been restricted.
Return to Top
Restrictions on Use
There are no restrictions on use.
Return to Top
Custodial History
The collection was donated to the Archives & Special Collections by Joan Townsend's daughter, Dr. Paula Townsend, in 2007.
Return to Top
Detailed Description of the Collection
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION [1959-1998]
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Vitae & academic information 1984-1996 |
| 2 | Newspaper clippings about Townsend & her family 1959-1969 | |
| 3 | Correspondence with mediums regarding disappearance of former husband Sam-Joe Townsend 1972-1982 | |
| 4 | Vita & annual academic reports 1979-1984 | |
| 5 | Vita & academic correspondence 1980-1984 | |
| 6 | Who's Who & other biographical sketches of Townsend 1997-1998 |
Return to Top
ACADEMIC CAREER 1949-1969
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 7 | Indonesia - Book Summaries 1949-1958 |
| 8 | "Ethnohistory" lecture notes, research materials and correspondence 1953 | |
| 9 | Townsend-course notes for "Evolution of Culture" 1955 | |
| 10 | Townsend's course notes for "Problems in Ethnological Theory" 1956 | |
| 11 | Townsend's Ph.D exam material 1957-1961 | |
| 12 | "Iliamna" - Draft manuscript and notes 1957-1960 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Townsend's term papers for "Folklore 101" 1958 |
| 2 | Townsend's class notes on "Comparative Religion" at UCLA 1958 | |
| 3 | Bibliographies - North American Indians 1958-1963 | |
| 4 | Townsend's term paper-"Values in Mythology" 1959 | |
| 5 | "Cultural History"-Lecture notes 1959-1960 | |
| 6 | Townsend's class notes from "History of Anthropology" at UCLA 1959-1960 | |
| 7 | Townsend's class notes from "Anthropology 276"-seminar on ecology. 1959-1960 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 1 | Iliamna Lake field notes 1959-1962 |
| 2 | Townsend's class notes-"Mythology Rituals"-Anthropology 251-A 1959 | |
| 3 | Townsend's class notes - African Anthroplogy 1959 | |
| 4 | Townsend's course notebook from "Anthroplogy 162" - UCLA 1959 | |
| 5 | Pedro Bay-Research notes on law, language, and the economy 1960-1962 | |
| 6 | Iliamna -research notes 1960 | |
| 7 | Pedro Bay Tanaina: Ethnographic notes regarding social organization, life cycles, religion, and subsistence. Includes residence forms 1960-1962 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 1 | Townsend's UCLA class schedule 1960-1961 |
| 2 | Townsend essay on the Possible Causal Factors in the Incipient Political Development of the Kalinga 1960-1961 | |
| 3 | Townsend essay on The Tau_Sug 1960 | |
| 4 | Sam-Joe Townsend essay at UCLA 1960 | |
| 5 | Various course notes 1960 | |
| 6 | Course handouts from Anthroplogy 276 1960 | |
| 7 | Archaeology Lab Techniques lectures 1960 | |
| 8 | Townsend course notes on "Culture Change" 1961 | |
| 9 | Townsend essay on the Mal'ta, Buret and the Siberian Upper Paleolithic of the Trans-Baikal 1961 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 1 | Townsend essay on Islam in Indonesia 1961 |
| 2 | Course note for "Culture Change" 1961 | |
| 3 | Ethnology course handouts 1961 | |
| 4 | Kodiak Island-Ecological and Archeological notes 1961 | |
| 5 | Townsend term paper- An Application of the Fish-Mile as a Factor in Population Size on the Kuskokwim River, Alaska 1961 | |
| 6 | Field notes on Iguigig and Kakhonak, Alaska 1962 | |
| 7 | Iliamna Lake daily log 1962 | |
| 8 | Townsend course notes on "Field Problems and Methods" -Anthropology 250/347 1962-1963 | |
| 9 | Employment opportunities and offers 1962-1969 | |
| 10 | Townsend's Ph.D written exam 1963 | |
| 11 | Education reports relating to Townsend's thesis 1963 | |
| 12 | Townsend's dissertation draft and related correspondence Ethnographic Notes on the Pedro Bay Tanaina 1963-1965 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 1 | Townsend's dissertation-first draft 1965 |
| 2 | Master copy of Townsend's dissertation-UCLA 1965 |
Return to Top
MANUSCRIPTS & BOOKS 1968-1980
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 1 | Townsend's introduction to Tanaina Tales from Alaska by Bill Vaudrin 1968 |
| 2 | Kijik: An Historic Tanaina Settlement -Includes research notes and book review 1970 | |
| 3 | Manuscript outlines 1978-1980 | |
| 4 | Russian Mercantilism and Alaska Native Social Change 1977-1978 | |
| 5 | Early drafts of chapters 1-3 of Russian Mercantilism and Alaska Native Social Change 1977-1978 | |
| 6 | Early drafts of chapters 4-5 of Russian Mercantilism and Alaska Native Social Change 1977-1978 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 8 | 1 | Early drafts of chapters 6-8 Russian Mercantilism and Alaska Native Social Change 1977-1978 |
| 2 | Early drafts of chapters 9-10 Russian Mercantilism and Alaska Native Social Change 1977-1978 | |
| 3 | Draft manuscript of Russian Mercantilism and Alaskan Social Change 1980 |
Return to Top
| Box | Folder | |
| 8 | 4 | "Some Comments on the Archaeology of San Clemente Island" draft by Sam-Joe Townsend 1959 |
| 5 | Copies of Townsend papers and articles 1959-1971 | |
| 6 | Archaeological survey on the property of B.F. Seaver near Oak Grove, San Diego County, California 1959 | |
| 7 | Draft and notes on Feast of the First Salmon 1959 | |
| 8 | Archaeological Investigations at Pedro Bay, Alaska by Sam-Joe Townsend. Includes photographs and resolutions 1960 | |
| 9 | Two Rock Shelters and a Village Site: Borrego State park-Annual Report, Archaeological Survey 1960 | |
| 10 | "Six Burial Sites on San Nicolas Island" by Fred Reinman and Sam-Joe Townsend, Los Angeles, California 1960 | |
| 11 | Basic Data for Research Design: Northern Athabaskans (Pedro Bay, Tanaina by Sam-Joe Townsend 1960 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 9 | 1 | "Ethnographic Notes on the Pedro Bay Tanaina"-reprint 1963 |
| 2 | Reprint of "Some Comments on the Archaeology of San Clemente Island, California" by Sam-Joe Townsend 1963 | |
| 3 | "Archaeological and Ethnographic Bibliograhy of the Channel Islands, California" by Joan and Sam-Joe Townsend for American Antiquity 1963 | |
| 4 | "Summary of Field Work For: Symposiun on Field Schools for Ethnography, Southwestern Anthropological Association 1963 | |
| 5 | "Additional Artifacts from Iliamna Lake, Alaska" - Anthropological Papers of the University of Alaska 1964 | |
| 6 | "The Iliamna Lake Archaeological Expeditions-Preliminary Report" by Sam-Joe Townsend 1964 | |
| 7 | "Further Comments on the Archaeology of san Clemente Island, California: a Rejoinder to Warren" by Sam-Joe Townsend 1965 | |
| 8 | "The Tanaina of Southwestern Alaska: An Historical Synopsis" for the Western Canadian Journal 1970 | |
| 9 | "Tanaina Ethnohistory; an Example of a Method for the Study of Culture Change" 1970 | |
| 10 | "Report of Archaeological Work Conducted in Southwestern Alaska and On Seward Peninsula". Includes drafts and correspondence. 1970 | |
| 11 | Tanaina Archaeology in the Iliamna Lake Region, Alaska" for the Canadian Archaeological Association Bulletin no. 2. 1970 | |
| 12 | "Tanaina Handbook" article-includes correspondence 1971-1974 | |
| 13 | "Journals of 19th-century Russian Priests to the Tanaina: Cook Inlet, Alaska 1971-1974 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 10 | 1 | "The Tanaina of Southwestern Alaska: an historical Synopsis". In the Western Canadian Journal of Anthropology, Special Edition 1971 |
| 2 | "Journals of the Russian Priests to the Tanaina at Kenai" 1971-1972 | |
| 3 | "Tanaina" and "Handbook of North American Indians"-Smithsonian Institution 1971-1979 | |
| 4 | "Environment and Culture". In Volume VI of the Sub-Arctic Handbook of North American Indians 1972 | |
| 5 | "Intercultural Relations and Culture Change". In Volume VI of the Sub-Arctic Handbook of North American Indians 1972 | |
| 6 | "Tanaina" proof for Subarctic Journal. Includes drafts, notes and articles 1972 | |
| 7 | "Ethnoarchaeology in Nineteenth Century Southern and Western Alaska; An Interpretive Model" in Ethnohistory 1973 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 11 | 1 | "Tanaina" in Volume VI of the Sub-Arctic Handbook of North American Indians 1972 |
| 2 | W.F Taylor-Director of Museum of Man. Correspondence regarding Townsend publication 1972-1974 | |
| 3 | "What is Culture?" for the National Museum 1974-1980 | |
| 4 | "Journals of 19th century Russian Priests to the Tanaina; Cook Inlet, Alaska. In Arctic Anthropology 1974 | |
| 5 | "Alaskan Natives and the Russian American Company: Proceedings of the Second Congress, Canadian Ethnology Society, Volume 2" 1975 | |
| 6 | "Mercantilism and Societal Change: An Ethnohistoric Examination of Some Essential Variables" in Etnohistory 1975 | |
| 7 | "Russian American Company in Alaska" Draft version from which "Russian-Native Relations" paper developed 1975 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 12 | 1 | Mercantilism and Historic Archaeology: Some Essential Variables" in Ethnohistory 1975 |
| 2 | "What is Culture?"-National Museum of Man, Ottawa. 1976 | |
| 3 | "Social Control for Profit in the Alaskan Fur Trade" 1977 | |
| 4 | "Indian and Eskimo Interaction in Southern Alaska" 1977 | |
| 5 | "Ethnoarchaeology in the North American Athapaskan Subarctic" 1977 | |
| 6 | "Prehistory in the Upper Cook Inlet, Alaska". Includes three photographs 1977 | |
| 7 | "Contact, Change and Ethnicity in Southern Alaska" 1978 | |
| 8 | "Human Chattels in Southern Alaska". Includes draft, original, and notes 1978 | |
| 9 | "Ethnoarchaeology: A World Wide Perspective". Includes correspondence 1978-1980 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 13 | 1 | "Indian or Eskimo? Interaction and Identity" in Arctic Anthropology 1979 |
| 2 | "Ranked Societies of the Alaska Pacific Rim" 1980 | |
| 3 | "Contact Change and Ethnicity in Southern Alaska". Preliminary draft 1980 | |
| 4 | "Anthropological Perspectives on New Religious Movements". In Millenium Volume 1982 | |
| 5 | "Firearms Against Native Arms: A Study in Comparative Efficiencies from Alaska". In Arctic Anthropology. Includes drafts, research notes, and sketches 1982 | |
| 6 | Chapter from "The Autonomous Village and the Development of Chiefdoms: a Model and Aleut Case Study". In Development and Decline. 1982 | |
| 7 | "Norton: A Changing Southeastern Boundary" with Douglas Reger. In Arctic Anthropology.1982 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 14 | 1 | "Pre-contact Political Organization and Slavery in Aleut Societies". In the 1997 Proceedings of the American Ethnological Society 1983 |
| 2 | "Interior-Coastal Trade and Ranking in Southern Alaska" 1983 | |
| 3 | "The Alaskan Creoles: The Evolution and Demise of an Ethnic Group" for the Canadian Historical Association 1983 | |
| 4 | "Firearms Against Native Arms: A Study in Comparative Efficiencies from Alaska". Includes drafts, notes, and correspondence 1983 | |
| 5 | "The Autonomous Village and the Development of Chiefdoms" in Development and Decline"1984 | |
| 6 | Research and correspondence about Townsend article "Firearms Versus Native Arms" 1984 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 15 | 1 | "Shamanism, Religious Change and Revitalization Movements in the North". In Social Science1984 |
| 2 | "Spiritualism in Canada" for the New Religious Movements section in the New Canadaian Encyclopedia 1984 | |
| 3 | Rejection letter from the Theosophical Publishing House. Includes copies of article. 1986 | |
| 4 | "Modern Shamanism in Western Society" 1986 | |
| 5 | "Neo-Shamanism in Contemporary Western Society". Includes correspondence with Gary Doore. 1987 | |
| 6 | "Neo-Shamanism and the Modern mystical Movement". In Shaman's Path: Healing, Personal Growth and Empowerment 1988 | |
| 7 | "The Goddess: Fact, Fallacy and Revitalization Movement". Includes drafts and research material 1989-1990 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 16 | 1 | "Authenticity and Delusion: Shamanism Versus Neo-Shamanism". Draft and research notes for oral presentation. 1990 |
| 2 | "Tanaina". In Encyclopedia of World Cultures, Volume I, North America. 1991 | |
| 3 | "Shamanism". Article, research notes, and correspondence. 1991-1997 | |
| 4 | "Neo-Shamanism: The Return of the Native". Article, research notes, correspondence, and peer review. 1991-1992 | |
| 5 | "New Science for the New Age". Article and draft. 1992 | |
| 6 | Townsend review of "The Chalice and the Blade" by Raine Eisler. In Touchstone. 1993 | |
| 7 | "Shamanic Spirituality: Core Shamanism and Neo-Shamanism in Contemporary Western Society". Article and drafts. 1993-1994 | |
| 8 | "Spiritualism". In The Canadian Encyclopedia. 1995 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 17 | 1 | "New Age, the Mystical Movement and Individual Searches for Spirituality and Healing". In The Canadian Encyclopedia. 1996 |
| 2 | Spiritualism, New Religious Movements and New Age. Drafts, research materials, and correspondence. 1996-1998 | |
| 3 | "Core Shamanism and Neo-Shamanism". Final edited version in Anthropology and Religion.1997 | |
| 4 | "Core Shaman and Neopagan Leaders of the Mystical Movement in Contemporary Society". In Dialogue and Alliance. 1997 | |
| 5 | "Shamanism". In Anthropology of Religion. 1997 | |
| 6 | "Shamanic Spirituality: Core Shamanism and Neo-Shamanism in Contemporary Western Society". In Selected Readings in the Anthropology of Religion. 1998 | |
| 7 | "Core Shaman and neopagan leaders of the Mystical Movement in Contemporary Society". In Dialogue and Alliance. 1999 | |
| 8 | "Modern Non-Traditional and Invented Shamanism". In Biblotheca Shamanistica. 1999-2001 | |
| 9 | "Theoretical Issues in the Study of Shamanism". Partial draft article. 1999 | |
| 10 | "The Spirit Call: Shamans and non-Shamans-A Critique". 2000 | |
| 11 | "Individualist Religions". In The Encyclopedia of Religious Freedom. 2002 | |
| 12 | "Core Shamanism and Neo-Shamanism". In The Encyclopedia of Shamanism. 2003 | |
| 13 | "Individualist Religious Movements: Core and Neo-Shamanism". 2004 | |
| 14 | "Prehistory at the Pedro Bay Site, Alaska". Report to the Pedro Bay Vilage Council. 2004 |
Return to Top
BOOK REVIEWS 1964-2003
| Box | Folder | |
| 18 | 1 | Assorted book reviews in American Antiquity 1966 |
| 2 | "Contributions to Anthropology 1961-1962, Part I. National Museum of Canada, Bulletin 193. In American Antiquity 1966 | |
| 3 | "Chugach Prehistory: The Archaeology of Prince William Sound, Alaska' by Frederica de Laguna in Man 1969 | |
| 4 | "The Archaeology of the Glacier Bay Region, Southeastern Alaska" by R.E. Ackerman in American Anthropologist 1969-1970 | |
| 5 | "An Interdisciplinary Investigation of Fort Enterprise, Northwest Territories" by Timothy C. Losey, editor, in Historical Archaeology 1970-1974 | |
| 6 | "Akulivikchuk Prehistoric Settlement Patterns" by James Vanstone in American Anthropologist 1971 | |
| 7 | "Historic Site Archaeology in Canada" by Kenneth E. Kidd in American Anthropologist 1971 |
|
| 8 | "Eskimos of the Nushagak River, An Ethnographic History" by James Vanstone in Ethnohistory 1972 | |
| 9 | "A Summary of Archaeology in the Katmai Region, Southwestern Alaska" by D.E. Dumond in Arctic 1973 | |
| 10 | "Nushagak: An Historic Trading Center in Southwestern Alaska" by James Vanstone in Historical Archaeology 1973 | |
| 11 | Copies of book reviews not written by Townsend. 1974-1979 | |
| 12 | "V.S. Khromchenko's Coastal Explorations in Southwestern Alaska, 1822" by James Vanstone in Arctic 1974 | |
| 13 | 'History of Research in Central and South Alaska" by Nancy Yaw Davis 1977 | |
| 14 | "The Yukon River Ingalik: Subsistence, the Fur Trade and a Changing Resource Base" by James Vanstone 1977 | |
| 15 | "History of Research in Central and South Alaska: Archival Sources and Museum Collections" by James Vanstone 1977 | |
| 16 | "A.F. Kashevarov's Coastal Exploratons in NorthWest Alaska, 1838" by James Vanstone, editor, in Arctic 1977 | |
| 17 | "Aleuts in Transition" by Dorothy M. Jones in Ethnohistory 1977 | |
| 18 | "Kalmakovsky Redoubt: The Ethnoarchaeology of a Russian Fort in Alaska" by Wendell H. Oswalt in American Antiquity 1980 | |
| 19 | "Aleut and Eskimo Art: Tradition and Innovation in Southern Alaska" by Dorothy Jean Ray in Man 1982 | |
| 20 | Review of Townsend article "Slaves in the Aleutian Islands" in the Journal of Anthropological Research 1983 | |
| 21 | Review of Townsend article "Development and Decline: The Evolution of Sociopolitical Organization' in American Ethnologist 1987 | |
| 22 | 'The Subarctic Fur Trade: Native Social and Economic Adaptions' by Shepard Krech, editor, in American Indian Quarterly 1989 | |
| 23 | "Nuvendaltin Quht'ana: the People of Nondalton" by Linda J. Ellanna and Andrew Balluta 1992 | |
| 24 | 'The Chalice and the Blade:Our History, Our Future' by Raine Eisler in Tochstone 1993 | |
| 25 | "Charismatic Christianity as a Global Culture" by Karla Poewe, editor in Anthropologica 1995 | |
| 26 | "The Rulings of the Night: An Ethnohistory of Nepalese Shaman Oral Texts" by G.G. Maskarinec in Anthropology of Consciousness 1997 | |
| 27 | 27"Ancestral Voices: Oral Ritual Texts and Their Social contexts Among Mewahang Rai of East Nepal" by Martin Gaenszle in Anthropos 2003 |
Return to Top
CONFERENCE PAPERS 1963-2003
| Box | Folder | |
| 19 | 1 | "Summary of Field Work" for Symposium on Field Schools for Ethnography, Southwestern Anthropological Association, Riverside, California. 1963 |
| 2 | "Tanaina Athapaskan Cultural Traditions: Persistence Through Change" at the International Congress of Americanists, Argentina 1966 | |
| 3 | "Archaeological Survey in Highland Ecudaor" at the 31st Annual Meeting of the Society for American Archaeology, Reno, Nevada 1966 | |
| 4 | "Persistence of a Trade Tradition Among the Tanaima" at the Northwestern Anthropological Conference, Banff, Alberta 1966 | |
| 5 | "Tanaina Ethnohistory" for the American Society for Ethnohistory, Lexington, Kentucky 1967 | |
| 6 | Correspondence about the Eskimo Conference at the University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba 1967-1968 | |
| 7 | "Special Lectures on Ainu Problems", Sapporo, Japan 1968 | |
| 8 | "Side-Notched Point Symposium" for the American Anthropological Association, Seattle, Washington 1968 | |
| 9 | "Archaeology at Pedro Bay, Alaska" at the 33rd Annual Meeting of the Society for American Archaeology, Santa Fe, New Mexico 1968 | |
| 10 | "Tanaina Athapaskan Ethnohistory and Socio-Economic Change" at the VIII International Congress of Anthropological and Ethnological Sciences, Japan 1968 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 20 | 1 | "Tanaina Ethnohistory" for Honors Seminar at the University of Victoria, British Columbia 1969 |
| 2 | "Tanaina Prehistory" for the Canadian Archaeological Association, Ottawa 1970 | |
| 3 | "The Archaeology of Pedro Bay, Alaska" for American Archaeology, Mexico City 1970 | |
| 4 | "Tanaina Ethnohistory" for the Manitoba Archaeological Society 1970 | |
| 5 | Symposium on Canadian Indian Social Organization, Winnipeg 1970 | |
| 6 | 29th Anthropologial Conference, the Manitoba Archaeological Society, Winnipeg 1971 | |
| 7 | "Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century Eskimo and Indian Movements in Southwestern Alaska" at the Society for American Archaelogy annual meeting, San Francisco 1972 | |
| 8 | Correspondence relating to the Inter Tribal Trade Symposium, IXth International Congress of Anthropological and Ethnological Sciences, Chicago. 1972-1973 | |
| 9 | "Civilizations in the New World During the Mediaeval Period" for the Mediaeval Guild of the University of Manitoba and the University of Winnipeg 1973 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 21 | 1 | "Interpretation of Ethnic and Artifact Distributions in Nineteenth Century Southern and Western Alaska: A Model for Ethnoarchaeology" at the Society for Historical Archaeology Meetings, Oakland 1974 |
| 2 | "Alaska Natives and the Russian-American Company: Variations in Relationships" at the Canadian Ethnology Society, Winnipeg 1975 | |
| 3 | "Mercantilism and Historic Archaeology in Southern Alaska" at the Northwest Anthropological Conference, Seattle 1975 | |
| 4 | "Native Peoples of North America" for the Canadian Association for American Studies, Winnipeg 1976 | |
| 5 | "Social Control for Profit in the Alaskan Fur Trade" for the American Anthropological Association 1976-1977 | |
| 6 | The American Anthropological Association Symposium on "Economic Anthropology and the Fur Trade", Washington 1976 | |
| 7 | "Some factors Conditioning 19th Century Tanaina-Russian Relationships" at the Athapaskan Symposium, University of Calgary 1976 | |
| 8 | "European Trade Goods: Questionable Indicators of Contact Intensity" for the Canadian Archaeological Association, Winnipeg 1976 | |
| 9 | "Indian and Eskimo Interaction in Southern Alaska" at the American Anthropological Association Symposium, Houston, Texas 1977 | |
| 10 | "Ethno-Archaeology: Perspectives from the North American Sub-Arctic" for the Society for American Archaeology, New Orleans 1977 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 22 | 1 | Sasquatch Conference materials, University of British Columbia, Vancouver 1977-1978 |
| 2 | "Human Chattels in Southern Alaska" for the American Anthropological Association, Los Angeles 1978 | |
| 3 | "Societal Change and Etnic development in Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century Southern Alaska" at the Second Taniguchi Symposium, Japan 1978 | |
| 4 | Alaska Anthropological Conference correspondence and materials 1978 | |
| 5 | "Human Chattels in Southern Alaska" at the American Anthropological Association Symposium 1978 | |
| 6 | "Culture Contact: Comparative Perspectives", session commentator for Canadian Historical Association meeting, Saskatoon 1979 | |
| 7 | "Pre-Contact Political Evolution and Slavery in Aleut Society' for the American Ethnological Society, Vancouver 1979 | |
| 8 | "The Aleuts: A Case Study", Amsterdam 1980 | |
| 9 | Louise Sweet's comments on two Townsend papers 1980 | |
| 10 | "Autonomous Villages and Multilineal Political Evolution' for the American Anthropological Association, Los Angeles 1981 | |
| 11 | "Norton: A Changing Southwestern Boundary" by Joan Townsend and Doug Reger for the Alaskan Anthropological Association 1981 | |
| 12 | International Congress of the International Association for the History of Religions, Winnipeg 1980 | |
| 13 | Conference on Religious Liberty, Canary Islands 1981 | |
| 14 | International Conference on the Unity of the Sciences (ICUS), Korea 1981 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 23 | 1 | "Villages, Not Tribes: An Evolutionary Stage" at the Evolution of Political Organization Symposium, Amsterdam 1981-1982 |
| 2 | New Ecumenical Research Association, seminar on Eschatology, Jamaica 1982 | |
| 3 | Lee Pulos-Hypnosis and Parapsychology-Vancouver workshop 1982-1984 | |
| 4 | My Shamanic Journeys Workshop, notes and illustrations 1982-1986 | |
| 5 | Correspondence regarding Youth Seminar on World Religions 1982-1983 | |
| 6 | International Cultural Foundation Inc. Seminar, Jamaica 1982 | |
| 7 | 11th international Conference on the Unity of the Sciences, Philadelphia 1982 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 24 | 1 | "Interior-Coastal Trade and Ranking Elaboration in Southern Alaska" at the American Anthropological Association meeting, Chicago 1983 |
| 2 | Correspondence regarding the XIth International Congress of Anthropological and Ethnological Sciences, Vancouver 1983 | |
| 3 | "Shamanisn, Religious Change and Revitalization Movement in the North" for the Canadian University for Northeast Studies, Regina 1983 | |
| 4 | "The Alaskan Creoles: The Evolution and Demise of an Ethnic Group at the Canadian Historical Association Meetings, Vancouver 1983 | |
| 5 | Pendalum and Crystal Workshop with Elizabeth Logan 1984 | |
| 6 | Psychic Fair, Dallas 1984 | |
| 7 | Egypt Workshop with Rosalyn Bruyere, Austin, Texas 1984 | |
| 8 | Siddha Meditation Workshop, Santa Fe 1985 | |
| 9 | "Orthodox Medicine and Non-Orthodox Healers: Interaction in State Society 1985-1986 | |
| 10 | 89th Annual meeting of the American Anthropological Association, New Orleans 1990 | |
| 11 | Correspondence and notes regarding "Neo-Shamanism-Society for Scientific Study of Religion, Virginia Beach 1990 | |
| 12 | "Neo-Shamanism: The Return of the Native" for the Society For the Scientific Study of Religion, 1991 | |
| 13 | "New Science for the New Age" at the Science Power and Religion Symposium, Washington 1992 | |
| 14 | "Healing and Ancestors in Contemporary Shamanism" for the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion, Raleigh 1993 | |
| 15 | Pathways to Higher Conciousness Symposium, The University of Manitoba, Winnipeg 1994 | |
| 16 | "Aging and Spirituality". Article, notes, correspondence, and research materials 1994-1995 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 25 | 1 | "Core Neo-Shamanism". Notes and conference papers 1995-1998 |
| 2 | Inter-Religious Federation for World Peace-articles, notes, and agenda 1997 | |
| 3 | "Core Shaman and Neopagan Leaders of the Mystical Movement in Contemporary Society" for the Inter-Religious Federation for the World Peace Congress, Washington 1997 | |
| 4 | "Globalization of Core and Neo-Shamanism" for the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion, San Diego 1997 | |
| 5 | "New Age, Core Shaman and Neopagan Leaders of the Mystical Movement in Contemmporary Society" 1997 | |
| 6 | Correspondence and itinerary regarding Shaman's Conference, Tampere, Finland 1998 | |
| 7 | Correspondence, notes, and research materials regarding the Palliative Care Provincial Conference, Manitoba 1998 | |
| 8 | "Neo-Shamanism: Comments on Distinctions, Beliefs, Issues, and Trends" at the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion meeting, Montreal 1998 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 26 | 1 | Shamans-Epics and Ecology International Workshop, Tampere, Finland 1999 |
| 2 | International Congress on Shamanism and Other Indigenous Spiritual Beliefs and Practices-The Russian Academy of Sciences 1999 | |
| 3 | Correspondence regarding the Spirituality/Aging Conference, Minneapolis 1999 | |
| 4 | "Core and Neo-Shamanism in Contemporary Western Society" for the University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George 1999 | |
| 5 | "Western Core and Neo-Shamanism: Trends and Relations with Indigenous Societies" at the Discovery of Shamanic Heritage International Symposium, Budapest, Hungary 2000 | |
| 6 | Theoretical Issues in the Study of Shamanism 2000 | |
| 7 | "Individualist Religious Movements: Core and Neo-Shamanism" for the American Anthropological Association, Chicago 2003 | |
| 8 | Correspondence regarding the International Society for Shamanistic Research, Beijing, China 2003 |
Return to Top
COURSE NOTES & MATERIALS 1962-1998
| Box | Folder | |
| 27 | 1 | "Peoples of the Pacific" at East Los Angeles State College 1962 |
| 2 | Course bibliographies 1962-1969 | |
| 3 | "World Ethnography" at East Los Angeles State College 1962 | |
| 4 | Ethnohistory 76:731. Includes research articles and personal notes 1962-1983 | |
| 5 | North American Indian Ethnology 76:359. Includes syllabus, lecture notes, and articles 1962-1993 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 28 | 1 | Introductory Anthropology. Includes syllabus, lecture notes and background materials 1963-1970 |
| 2 | "Languages and Peoples of the Ancient Near East"-Anthropology 100/103. 1963 | |
| 3 | Exams from "North American Indians"-Anthropology 305. Southern Illinois University. 1963 | |
| 4 | "North American Indians"-Anthropology 305. Lecture Notes and background materials 1963 | |
| 5 | Southern Illinois University-Anthropology Department material 1963-1964 | |
| 6 | Old World Archaeology-Anthropology 303. Syllabus and lecture notes from Southern Illinois University 1963-1964 | |
| 7 | Arctic Seminar from Southern Illinois University 1963 | |
| 8 | "Culture Areas"-Lecture notes and background materials 1963-1975 | |
| 9 | "North American Indians-A Sociocultural Survey". Includes syllabus, lecture notes, and background materials 1963-1979 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 29 | 1 | Anthropology of Religion 76:705. Lecture materials 1963-1998 |
| 2 | Physical Anthropology-articles 1964-1970 | |
| 3 | Physical Anthropology-genetics 1964-1970 | |
| 4 | Ethnology of the New World-Arctic Cultures. Bibliography and outline 1964 | |
| 5 | Assorted Anthropology notes 1964-1966 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 30 | 1 | Physical Anthropology-history 1964-1970 |
| 2 | Physical Anthropology-evolution 1964-1970 | |
| 3 | Physical Anthropology-Primates and Fossil Man 1964-1965 | |
| 4 | History of Anthropology-Lecture notes 1964-1969 | |
| 5 | Physical Anthropology- organic evolution, sexing skeletons, and aging of skeletons 1965-1975 | |
| 6 | Physical Anthropology-Primates: Comparative anatomy 1965-1966 | |
| 7 | Eskimo lecture notes 1965 | |
| 8 | New World Culture History-Anthropology 221 1965-1967 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 31 | 1 | History of Anthropology 1965 |
| 2 | New World Civilizations-course transparencies 1965-1970 | |
| 3 | Prehistory,Old or New World 1966-1968 | |
| 4 | Arctic Prehistory-Articles and notes 1966-1985 | |
| 5 | Cultures of the North Pacific Coast-Anthropology 76:359 1966 | |
| 6 | Introductory Anthropology 120 1966-1967 | |
| 7 | History of Anthropology-syllabus, lecture notes, and exam templates 1968-1969 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 32 | 1 | Arctic Archaeology- lecture notes 1968 |
| 2 | World Ethnography 1968 | |
| 3 | Seminar notes-Carl Saver 1968 | |
| 4 | Anthropology handouts and reading lists 1968-1969 | |
| 5 | Anthropology 76:478-Background materials 1970 | |
| 6 | "Ways of Mankind" 1970-1973 | |
| 7 | Athapaskan Seminar 1971-1972 | |
| 8 | Culture Ecology-Shamanism-lecture notes 1971 | |
| 9 | Various Anthropology course schedules-includes correspondence 1971-1973 | |
| 10 | Integration-Cultural systems 1971 | |
| 11 | North American Indians-Anthropology 76:351 1972-1975 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 33 | 1 |
"Some Economic Aspects of Trade in Late Ninenteenth Century Northwest Alaska". Student essay 1972 RESTRICTED |
| 2 | Ethnohistory Bibliography 1972-1978 | |
| 3 |
New World Civilizations 1973 |
|
| 4 | Vanishing Peoples 1973 | |
| 5 | Ethnohistory 76:731-lecture notes, and outline, research articles, and correspondence 1973-1996 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 33A | 1 | Background materials for several Anthropology courses 1973-1979 |
| 2 | Religion and Ethnomedicine- Anthropology 76:478. Research materials 1973-1993 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 34 | 1 | Peoples of the Arctic-Lecture notes from E.S. Burch 1973-1974 |
| 2 | Social organization-Anthropology 76:252-lecture notes on basic concepts 1973-1974 | |
| 3 | Religion-lecture notes, background materials 1973-1989 | |
| 4 | Ethno Archaeology- Notes from C.W. Amsden Seminar 1973 | |
| 5 | Social Organization-Class handouts 1972-1974 | |
| 6 | History of Anthropology 76:205. Selected Bibliographies 1974-1979 | |
| 7 | Anthropology of Religion 76:705. 1974-1997 | |
| 8 | Ethnohistory lectures 1974 | |
| 9 | Townsend reviews and lecture material on Trade, Renfrew, Heider, Herskovitz, Polanyica.1975 | |
| 10 | Women in Cross-Cultural Perspective-lecture notes, syllabus, and exam templates 1975-1976 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 35 | 1 | Science and Religion-lecture notes, syllabus, and correspondence 1975-1976 |
| 2 | Ethnological Theory-course notes 1975 | |
| 3 | History of Anthropology-lecture notes ca.1975 | |
| 4 | North American Indians 1975-1976 | |
| 5 | Introduction to Anthropology and Origin and Antiquity of Man-course notes and exams 1976-1994 | |
| 6 | Culture, Man, and Nature. Anthropolgy 76:101 1976 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 36 | 1 | North American Indians-A Socio-Cultural Survey 1976 |
| 2 | Exams from various Anthropology courses 1976-1984 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 36 | 3 | Ethnohistory Seminar-student book reviews 1976-1996
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 37 | 1 | North American Indian Ethnology 1976-1989 |
| 2 | North American Indians-Anthropology 358 1976-1983 | |
| 3 | Ethnohistory 76:780-course outline, reading list, lecture notes, and articles 1976-1998 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 38 | 1 | Anthropology of Religion-course notes 1977 |
| 2 | North American Indian Ethnology-course evaluations 1977-1979 | |
| 3 | North American Indian Ethnology-Anthropology 359-lecture notes and background materials1977-1984 | |
| 4 | Ethnohistory course materials 1978 | |
| 5 | North American Indians-course outlines 1978-1983 | |
| 6 | Peoples of the Arctic-course notes, syllabus, and exam templates 1978 | |
| 7 | Ethnological Theory-course notes 1978 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 39 | 1 | Various Anthropology course notes, articles, and lectures 1978-1997 |
| 2 | North American Indians-Social Organization 1979 | |
| 3 | Introductory Anthropology-notes and articles 1979-1994 | |
| 4 | Introductory Anthropology-Human Origins and Antiquity-course notes 1979-1994 | |
| 5 | Ethnohistory 76:731-course notes and outline 1979-1987 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 40 | 1 | Various course notes from General Anthropology, Human Origins and Antiquity, Culture and Aging, and North American Indians 1980-1994 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 40 | 2 | Various student term papers ca.1980
RESTRICTED |
| 3 | Culture, Ideology, and Ritual-Anthropology 76:258-course notes and materials 1980-1990 | |
| 4 | Introductory Anthropology 1980-1989 | |
| 5 | Ethnohistory - course handouts and bibliography 1981 | |
| 6 | Exams for Introductory Anthropology and Cultural Anthropology 1981-1987 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 41 | 1 | Religion Lectures-course notes and outlines 1983-1998 |
| 2 | Religion Lectures-course notes and outlines 1983-1999 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 42 | 1 | Arctic Prehistory-lecture notes, correspondence, outline, and exam templates 1985 |
| 2 | Healing Course by Al Leray. Research materials and lecture notes summarized by Townsend 1985-1986 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 42 | 3 |
Various course evaluations 1986-1987 RESTRICTED |
| 4 | Anthropology of Illness-syllabus 1986-1987 | |
| 5 | Religion and Illness Seminar notes 1986-1987 | |
| 6 | Advanced Studies in Anthropology of Religion-course notes 1986-1987 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 43 | 1 | Ethnomedicine- lecture notes 1987-1998 |
| 2 | Anthropology of Illness-lecture notes 1987-1995 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 44 | 1 | Anthropology of Illness-lecture notes 1987-1996 |
| 2 | Religion lectures-course outlines, background materials 1987-1994 | |
| 3 | Theory, Proposition, Hypothesis, and Model-Anthropology 76:239-lecture notes 1987-1988 | |
| 4 | Anthropology of Ilness-syllabi, exam templates, course materials, and notes on readings 1987-1995 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 45 | 1 | Physical Anthropology and Archaeology - overheads and topic outlines 1988 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 46 | 2 | Introduction to Cultural Anthropology 1988-1997 |
| 3 | Ethnohistory-course outlines 1989-1998 | |
| 1 | Archaeology 121-lecture notes 1989-1994 | |
| 2 | Introductory Cultural Anthropology-lecture notes 1989-1996 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 47 | 1 | Religion and Individualist Religious Movements 1990-2003 |
| 2 | North American Indian Ethnology 1991 | |
| 3 | Western Traditional Religion-books and articles 1994-1996 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 48 | 1 | Religion and Ethnomedicine - course notes 1992-1993 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 48 | 2 | Culture Ideology Ritual-course evaluations 1992
RESTRICTED |
| 3 | Anthropology of Religion-lecture notes 1993 | |
| 4 | Disease and Illness 1993-1995 | |
| 5 | Ethno-Medicine 76:478-course outline, bibliographies 1993-1998 | |
| 6 | Anthropology of Illness-lecture notes, course outline, and correspondence 1993-1995 | |
| 7 | New Age and Neo-Shamanism: The Invention of Tradition-Social Organization 76:239-lecture notes 1993 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 49 | 1 | Anthropology of Belief Systems-course notes and class lists 1993-1997
RESTRICTED |
| 2 | Aging and Religion 1993-1999 | |
| 3 | Graduate seminar in Anthropological Theory-syllabus 1994-1995 | |
| 4 | Course Evaluations 1995-1996 | |
| 5 | Grading Point ranges 1995 | |
| 6 | Cultural Anthropology-exam templates and course notes 1995-1997 | |
| 7 | Anthropology of Religion 1997-1998 | |
| 8 | Ethnohistory text placed on reserve 1998 | |
| 9 | Ethnohistory 76:780- material from "The Children of Aataentsic" 1998 |
Return to Top
STUDENT ESSAYS 1964-2001
| Box | Folder | |
| 50 | 1 | Student essays 1964-1980
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 50 | 2 | Draft thesis by Edward Howard Hosley, student of Townsend at UCLA 1966
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 50 | 3 | Student essays and reports 1968-1987
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 50 | 4 | Student essays 1969-1975
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 51 | 1 | Student essays 1973-1986
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 51 | 2 | Student essays 1973
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 51 | 3 | Student essays for Anthropology of Religion by Allen Gunderson 1974
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 51 | 4 | Thesis and draft by J.A. Sanford 1974
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 51 | 5 | Ethnohistory 76:731-student book reviews 1974-1983
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 52 | 1 | Student essays and book reviews-New Religious Movements, Possesion and Trance, and Magic 1976-1983
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 52 | 2 | Student essays and book reviews 1977-1980
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 52 | 3 | Student essays 1977-1988
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 53 | 1 | Draft thesis by Paula Holland 1979
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 53 | 2 | Student essays 1980-1999
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 53 | 3 | Student essay for Ethnohistory 76.731 by James Batura 1980
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 53 | 4 | Student essays 1983-1987
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 53 | 5 | Student book reviews for Ethnohistory 76:780 1983
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 53 | 6 | Student reports and presentations for Ethnomedicine 76:478 1983-1998
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 54 | 1 | Student essays for Anthropology of Religion 1986-1988
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 54 | 2 | Student papers on Economy and Trade for Ethnohistory 76:731 1987
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 54 | 3 | Student essays and reports 1990-1998
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 54 | 4 | Student papers on Cultural, Ideology and Ritual for Anthropology 76:258 1993
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 54 | 5 | Student term papers 1995-1998
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 54 | 6 | Student essays 1996-1998
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 54 | 7 | Student book reviews for Ethnohistory course 1997
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 54 | 8 | Student essays for Ethnomedicine course 1998
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 55 | 1 | Draft thesis by D. Popowich 2001
RESTRICTED |
Return to Top
ORGANIZATIONS 1962-1997
| Box | Folder | |
| 55 | 2 | Society for Applied Anthropology 1962-1979 |
| 3 | The Society of the Sigma XI, University of Manitoba Chapter 1968-1998 | |
| 4 | New York Academy of Science 1969 | |
| 5 | Churches, New Religious Movements, and Cults 1992-1980 | |
| 6 | The Advisory Council on the Status of Women 1974-1975 | |
| 7 | The X-Kalay Foundation (Manitoba) Inc. ca.1975 | |
| 8 | Unification Church newsclippings 1975-1984 | |
| 9 | Astara- brochures 1975 | |
| 10 | Winnipeg Psychic Society-constitution, catalogue of listings ca.1975 | |
| 11 | Monroe Institute of Applied Sciences-correspondence and tape transcript 1976-1984 | |
| 12 | International Institute of Integral Human Sciences 1975-1978 | |
| 13 | Alma Rumball-art done in a trance, research material 1977 | |
| 14 | Menninger Foundation 1977 | |
| 15 | Howard Eisenberg Parapsychologist-research materials 1978-1982 | |
| 16 | Association of Concern for Ultimate Reality and Meaning 1978-1985 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 56 | 1 | Healing Light Center Church-Rosalyn Bruyere. Includes correspondence and newsletter 1979-1984 |
| 2 | Newsletter for the Anthropological Study of Paranormal and Anomalistic Phenomena 1979-1982 | |
| 3 | Altered States of Consciousness 1980 | |
| 4 | Camping Guideposts-newsletters 1981-1982 | |
| 5 | Mind Science Foundation-San Antonio, Texas Research Institute 1981-1984 | |
| 6 | Parapsychology material 1981 | |
| 7 | Psychic-Spiritualist Groups 1981-1986 | |
| 8 | Mysticism, Parapsychology, Spiritualism, Mediums 1981-1982 | |
| 9 | News Tibet 1982 | |
| 10 | Vancouver Healing, Spiritual, Holistic Organizations 1982-1983 | |
| 11 | National Spiritual Growth Center 1982-1984 | |
| 12 | Wainwright House-Center for Development of Human Resources-newsletters 1982-1986 | |
| 13 | Psychic and Healing brochures and pamphlets 1982-1985 | |
| 14 | Aidan Barry-former Unification Church Official 1982 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 57 | 1 | Spiritualists Camp Chesterfield Trip-brochures and correspondence 1982-1985 |
| 2 | Victorious Faith Temple-Fundamentalist Christian sermons and letters 1982-1983 | |
| 3 | Therapeutic Touch 1982-1984 | |
| 4 | Research Working Group on New Religious Movements 1982-1983 | |
| 5 | Fraser Institute-various materials 1982 | |
| 6 | Fire Walking-Larry Short-research materials 1982-1985 | |
| 7 | Ben Wong and Jock McKeen Workshop on East/West Healing 1982 | |
| 8 | Rosicrucian Amore-information and correspondence, San Jose, California 1982 | |
| 9 | Mishaki-Center for the Study of Shamanism 1982-1983 | |
| 10 | Harner Shamanic Counseling Workshop-includes correspondence 1982-1986 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 58 | 1 | ESP Workshop with James Rae 1983 |
| 2 | Laurence Leshan Consciousness Research and Training Project Inc. with Joyce Gooderich 1983-1989 | |
| 3 | Dr. Stanley Krippner-Center for Consciousness Studies, Dallas, Texas 1984 | |
| 4 | Manitoba Museum of Man and Nature-Research Advisory Committee 1984-1992 | |
| 5 | Aura Research with Cecilia Johnson 1985 | |
| 6 | Center for Shamanic Studies-Michael Harmer-Newsletters 1986-1987 | |
| 7 | Osho Commune International-Osho Multiversity-Poona, India 1989 | |
| 8 | Bhajwa Shree Rajneerh-research material 1983 | |
| 9 | Triangles World Goodwill-commentary 1983-1984 | |
| 10 | Unity Church of Dallas 1983-1986 | |
| 11 | Chautauqua Learning Community-workshops 1983 | |
| 12 | Psychic Fair brochures 1983-1985 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 59 | 1 | Quest-Spiritual Healing Associations Manitoba Inc.-newsletters 1984 |
| 2 | Spiritualist Class meetings-Mary Young National Spiritual Growth Center, Winnipeg 1984 | |
| 3 | International Parapsychology Association Conference, Dallas, Texas 1984 | |
| 4 | School of Spiritual Healing, Leicester, North Carolina 1984 | |
| 5 | Reiki Healing Workshop- Level1- Beth Gray-research material 1984 | |
| 6 | North Texas Parapsychology Association Newsletter-Richardson, Texas 1984 | |
| 7 | Information North-The Arctic Institiute of North America 1985 | |
| 8 | Circle of Light-Magazine of Emerging Ideas 1985 | |
| 9 | Ananda-Shivani Luki-research material 1985 | |
| 10 | Spiritual Science Fellowship with Marilyn Rossner-brochures 1986-1988 | |
| 11 | Phoenix-Minneapolis 1988 | |
| 12 | Society for the Scientific Study of Religion and Religious Research Association Annual Meeting 1990 | |
| 13 | Monroe Institute 1997 |
Return to Top
PUBLIC LECTURES 1966-1993
| Box | Folder | |
| 60 | 1 | "An Anthropologist Looks at Culture Change"-Voice of Women-Winnipeg, Manitoba 1966 |
| 2 | "Indian Culture vs. Western Civilization"-National Council of Jewish Women 1967 | |
| 3 | "Genetics...for Dog Club"-Samoyed Club 1968 | |
| 4 | "Cultural Anthropology"-Alaska Women's Club 1968 | |
| 5 | Animal Domestication-Siberian Husky 1968 | |
| 6 | Lectures-Institute of Northern Studies 1972 | |
| 7 | "Civilizations of Mexico and Peru"-Medievil Guild of Manitoba 1973 | |
| 8 | Eskimo lectures-Institute of Northern Studies, University of Saskatchewan 1973 | |
| 9 | "Pacific Rim Societies of Alaska and Russian Mercantilism"-Texas A&M 1975 | |
| 10 | Public lecture notes 1979 | |
| 11 | Lecture notes for Ethnographic Tradition 1982 | |
| 12 | Family of Man-films and lectures, Beausejour, Manitoba 1980 | |
| 13 | Moonies-Unification Church Anthropology Colloquium 1982 | |
| 14 | Paranormal-Spiritual Healing-B'nai Brith 1983 | |
| 15 | Non-Orthodox Healing-University of Winnipeg 1984 | |
| 16 | Therapeutic Touch for the National Spiritual Growth Center 1984 | |
| 17 | Uses of Academics in the Quest for Personal Spiritual Transcendence...at the Spiritual Growth Center 1984 | |
| 18 | Tantrik Yoga-Yoga Society 1984 | |
| 19 | Shamanism-Psychic Fair 1985 | |
| 20 | Townsend presentation on "Shamanism" 1986 | |
| 21 | "Meditation-Non-Orthodox Healing" for Y-Neighbours 1989 | |
| 22 | Social Organization course lectures 1992-1993 |
Return to Top
GRANT PROPOSALS 1960-2003
| Box | Folder | |
| 61 | 1 | Grant Proposals and Awards 1960-1969 |
| 2 | Honours, Awards, Special Invitations, Summer Fellowships 1965-1973 | |
| 3 | Proposal to Manitoba Northern Studies-Iliamna Lake, Alaska 1965-1982 | |
| 4 | List of Research Grants 1970-1983 | |
| 5 | Grant Requests and Progress Reports for the Northern Studies Committee 1970-1973 | |
| 6 | Grant Application and Progress Report for the Northern Studies Committee 1970-1974 | |
| 7 | University of Manitoba Research Grant-includes proposal and correspondence 1972-1973 | |
| 8 | Canada Council Leave Fellowship-application, correspondence, and notes 1976-1978 | |
| 9 | Northern Studies Committee Grants 1975-1980 | |
| 10 | Theoretical Orientations-materials to use in Grant Proposals 1981-1984 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 61 | 11 | Transcendence and Healing, Search for New Religious Paradigms 1982-1983
RESTRICTED |
| 12 | Grant Applications 1982-1983 | |
| 13 | Reviewers comments on Townsend Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) proposal 1984 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 62 | 1 | Proposal to Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) 1982-1985 |
| 2 | Research Grant Application-Research Council of Canada 1983-1985 | |
| 3 | Proposal to Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC)-The Search for New Religious Paradigms 1982-1983 | |
| 4 | Proposal to Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC)-Individual Quests for Transcendence and Healing 1982-1984 | |
| 5 | Research Grant proposal to the University of Manitoba Research Grants Committee of the Research Board 1983 | |
| 6 | Therapeutic Touch-F. Chinchilla Grant Proposal 1984 | |
| 7 | Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC)-Leave Fellowship Application and Progress Reports 1984-1986 | |
| 8 | Proposal to Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) 1987-1989 | |
| 9 | Proposal to Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC)-Neo-Shamanism1987-1991 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 63 | 1 | Grant Applications 1987-1988 |
| 2 | Application for Research Development Grants 1990-1991 | |
| 3 | Grant opportunities, personal notes, and correspondence 1990-1991 | |
| 4 | Proposal to the Werner Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research 1991 | |
| 5 | Proposal to Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC)-Nepalese Shamanism 1991-1993 | |
| 6 | Humanities Research Fellowship Proposal and Application 1992 | |
| 7 | Grant Application to the Werner Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research 1993 | |
| 8 | Proposal to Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC)-The Internet and New Religious Movements 1996 | |
| 9 | Grant Application to Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) for International Conference Travel 2003 |
Return to Top
CORRESPONDENCE 1961-1999
| Box | Folder | |
| 64 | 1 | General correspondence 1961-1970 |
| 2 | Southern Illinois University correspondence 1963-1964 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 65 | 3 | Correspondence regarding the Alaskan Russian Church Archives 1963-1972 |
| 4 | Correspondence with Jack Smith 1963-1965 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 64 | 5 | Correspondence with the University of Manitoba regarding employment acceptance 1964 |
| 6 | Correspondence with Wendall Oswalt 1964-1965 | |
| 7 | Correspondence with Jim Vanstone 1964 | |
| 8 | Alaska correspondence 1964-1968 | |
| 9 | Correspondence with Don Dumond 1965 | |
| 10 | Correspondence with Rose Hedland 1965-1974 | |
| 11 | Correspondence with Logaria Foss 1965-1978 | |
| 12 | Correspondence with Jim Vanstone 1965 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 65 | 1 | Correspondence with Jim Vanstone 1966 |
| 2 | General correspondence 1966-1984 | |
| 3 | Correspondence with Jim Vanstone 1967-1974 | |
| 4 | Correspondence regarding Eskimo Seminar- notes, agenda 1968-1969 | |
| 5 | Correspondence regarding Kijik artifacts 1968-1982 | |
| 6 | Correspondence with Bill Vaudrin 1968 | |
| 7 | General correspondence regarding Alaska 1969-1975 | |
| 8 | Correspondence regarding sabbaticals 1969-1975 | |
| 9 | Correspondence regarding Kijik report 1970-1971 | |
| 10 | Correspondence with Annie Johnson 1970-1973 | |
| 11 | Correspondence with Vaughn M. Bryant-Texas A&M University 1975 | |
| 12 | Correspondence regarding declined invitations to Symposiums 1975-1978 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 66 | 1 | Correspondence with students 1976-1978 |
| 2 | Correspondence relating to salary inequities request 1978-1979 | |
| 3 | Correspondence with the University of Manitoba, Department of Anthropology 1970-1975 | |
| 4 | Correspondence and materials relating to Kijik Homestead litigation 1970 | |
| 5 | Correspondence with Northern Studies 1971-1972 | |
| 6 | Correspondence regarding Tanaina Handbook-includes contract 1971-1977 | |
| 7 | General correspondence 1972-1994 | |
| 8 | Correspondence with Arts Women's Studies Committee 1974 | |
| 9 | Correspondence with Keith Trexler regarding use of publication in Cook Inlet legal negotiations 1974 | |
| 10 | Correspondence with Richard A. Pierce 1974-1979 | |
| 11 | Correspondence with the Limestone Press 1974-1980 | |
| 12 | Correspondence concerning Russian/Native monograph 1975-1977 | |
| 13 | Correspondence and notes regarding films 1975-1983 | |
| 14 | Correspondence with the Western Canadian Journal of Anthropology 1975-1976 |
|
| 15 | Correspondence with Cook Inlet Region, Inc.-includes site maps 1975-1977 | |
| 16 | Correspondence with Lydia Black 1977-1982 | |
| 17 | Correspondence with The University of Montana regarding book review 1977-1978 | |
| 18 | Correspondence with Doug Reger. Includes one photograph 1977-1980 | |
| 19 | Correspondence with Harold Hassen regarding dissertation 1977 | |
| 20 | Correspondence with Marie Francoise Guedon 1977 | |
| 21 | Correspondence regarding review of D.J. Ray's "Eskimos of Bering Strait 1650-1898". 1977-1979 | |
| 22 | Correspondence with Lydia Black 1979 | |
| 23 | Correspondence with publishers regarding proposed manuscripts 1979-1980 | |
| 24 | Correspondence with Frances Dahlberg regarding "Woman the Gatherer" 1979-1980 | |
| 25 | Correspondence regarding Conference on Russian America 1979 | |
| 26 | Correspondence regarding North American Indian Dictionary 1980 | |
| 27 | General correspondence 1980-1989 | |
| 28 | Correspondence with Rose Hedland 1981 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 67 | 1 | General correspondence 1981-1982 |
| 2 | Correspondence concerning Religion and Psychic 1981-1984 | |
| 3 | Correspondence regarding New Religious Movements 1981 | |
| 4 | Correspondence with New Ecumenical Research Association 1981-1982 | |
| 5 | Letters of thanks 1982-1994 | |
| 6 | Correspondence with Joan Halifax-The Ojai Foundation 1982-1983 | |
| 7 | Correspondence with Gary Heathcote-University of Toronto 1982 | |
| 8 | Correspondence with International Coalition Against Racial and Religious Intolerance. Includes report. 1982-1983 | |
| 9 | Correspondence with Charles Bishop and Estelle smith 1984-1985 | |
| 10 | Correspondence regarding Healing research 1984-1985 | |
| 11 | General correspondence 1988-2001 | |
| 12 | Correspondence with Dr. Paul D. Biscop 1989 | |
| 13 | Email correspondence relating to Seminar on the Study of Religions 1991 | |
| 14 | Academic correspondence 1991-1996 | |
| 15 | Nepal correspondence 1992-1994 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 68 | 1 | E-mail correspondence 1992-1993 |
| 2 | Correspondence regarding Lindbergh Grant Application 1992-1993 | |
| 3 | E-mail correspondence with Shamanism Discussion Group 1995 | |
| 4 | Correspondence with Leslie Conton regarding Neo-Shamanism Research 1995 | |
| 5 | Correspondence about Women Pioneers in Northern Anthropology 1995-1996 | |
| 6 | Correspondence regarding Shamanism 1997 | |
| 7 | Correspondence with Avis Musk regarding Conference at the University of Northern British Columbia 1997 | |
| 8 | E-mail correspondence 1998 | |
| 9 | Academic correspondence 1998 | |
| 10 | Correspondence with Antonia Mills including a conference paper 1999 |
Return to Top
ACADEMIC RESEARCH 1785-
| Box | Folder | |
| 69 | 1 | Articles and research notes on early Alaskan explorers: La Perouse, Davydov, and Zagoskin. 1785-1844 |
| 2 | Alaskan Ethnography/Ethnohistory articles 1787-1975 | |
| 3 | Diary transcript, notes, and correspondence on Father Juvenal 1796-1962 | |
| 4 | Alaskan Ethnography 1801-1904 | |
| 5 | Books on Nepal Shamanism 1801-1988 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 70 | 1 | Vital Statistics from Iliamna Area Villages 1818-1898 |
| 2 | Transcrioption of a letter between the Russian American Company and Governor General Muraviev regarding Aglegmiut Eskimos 1824 | |
| 3 | Russian Priests' Journals and documents relative to the history of Alaska 1828-1897 | |
| 4 | Russian sources of information on the Eskimos and Indians of Alaska-includes notes and vital statistics. 1828-1898 | |
| 5 | Early Russian journals, diaries and observations. 1832-1895 | |
| 6 | Nushagak Mission-death records 1842-1889 | |
| 7 | Fear and Trembling by Johannes De Silentio 1843 | |
| 8 | Kenai Mission-death records 1846-1889 | |
| 9 | Nushagak and Kenai Missions-Marriage patterns, village exogamy. 1846-1933 | |
| 10 | Death records from multiple missions 1850-1900 | |
| 11 | Research materials on early exploration of Alaska 1854-1943 | |
| 12 | Pacific Manuscripts 1861 | |
| 13 | Notes on the Island of UnAlaska District - Ivan Vaniaminof 1840 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 71 | 1 | Articles, books and government documents about Alaska-includes a bibliography of Alaska Historical Library Russian Collection 1870-1973 |
| 2 | Nushagak Mission-death records 1881-1899 | |
| 3 | Technology-guns, muskets, bows and arrows, and spears. Includes personal notes and research materials. 1887-1979 | |
| 4 | Excerpt from Ethnology of the Ungava District by Lucien M. Turner 1889-1890 | |
| 5 | Kenai Mission-death reports 1893-1933 | |
| 6 | Compilation of narratives of exploration in Alaska 1898-1900 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 72 | 1 | Nushagak Mission-death records 1900-1931 |
| 2 | Alaskan Ethnography/Ethnohistory articles 1900-1976 | |
| 3 | Geographic Dictionary of Alaska by Marcus Baker 1906 | |
| 4 | Anthropology-general research materials 1910-1982 | |
| 5 | General Religion books 1920-1983 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 73 | 1 | North American Indian Religion-books and articles. 1920-1967 |
| 2 | Popular Occult-research material. 1921-1990 | |
| 3 | General religion- The Social Teaching of the Christian Churches by Ernst Troeltsch 1931 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 74 | 1 | Illness, Health, Healing, and Medical Anthropology books. 1933-1984 |
| 2 | Alaska-Yukon Caribou by Olaus J. Murie in North American Fauna 1935 | |
| 3 | Tlingit articles 1936-1979 | |
| 4 | The Sekani Indians of British Columbia by Diamond Jenness for the National Museum of Canada 1937 | |
| 5 | General Anthropology-Invention of tradition materials 1937-1993 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 75 | 1 | North American Indians-research materials 1940-1990 |
| 2 | Articles, notes, and reports on Alaska and the Arctic 1940-1970 | |
| 3 | Religion in South Africa-various publications by Irving Hexham 1944-1998 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 76 | 1 | Arctic Ethnography reprints 1947-1965 |
| 2 | General Anthropology and Archaeology articles 1950-2001 | |
| 3 | Russian ethnographic materials 1950 | |
| 4 | Enthusiasm: A Chapter in the History of Religion by R.A. Knox 1950 | |
| 5 | General Anthropological research materials-includes newsclippings 1952-1992 | |
| 6 | A.L. Kroeber research material 1952-1958 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 77 | 1 | Anthropological studies of Eskimos-articles and reports 1953-1974 |
| 2 | Health and Illness articles 1952-1979 | |
| 3 | Social organization kinship articles 1953-1974 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 78 | 1 | Nutrition and Disease-research materials and bibliographies 1953-1979 |
| 2 | New Religious Movements articles. 1954-1978 | |
| 3 | Anthropological articles regarding Eskimos and Aleuts, Kodiak, and Pacific Rims 1954-1986 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 79 | 1 | Medicine and Health issues in the Arctic and Subarctic-reports and articles 1954 |
| 2 | Eastern Religion and Eastern Mysticism-books and articles 1955-1986 | |
| 3 | Fire walking 1955-1974 | |
| 4 | New Religious Movements 1955-1990 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 80 | 1 | Shamanism books 1955-1982 |
| 2 | Political Evolution articles 1955-1982 | |
| 3 | Tanaina Linguistic articles 1956-1977 | |
| 4 | Anthropological Types of the North-Eastern Paleoasiatics and Problems of the Ethnogenesis by M.G. Levin 1956 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 81 | 1 | Archeological surveys, reports, and articles from North America 1959-1971 |
| 2 | Articles on Disease, Epidemics, and Death 1956-1992 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 82 | 1 | Cargo cults and cult suicides-research articles and newspaper clippings. 1957-1997 |
| 2 | Ecological and wildlife articles about Alaska 1957-1963 | |
| 3 | Religious movements and anthropology of religion research 1957-1997 | |
| 4 | General Religion research 1957-1978 | |
| 5 | General theory and Epistemology articles 1957-1989 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 83 | 1 | Historical Changes in Tlingit Social Structure,dissertation by Samuel L. Stanley, Chicago.1958 |
| 2 |
Illness, health, healing, medical Anthropology, spiritual healing, Therapeutic touch-books and articles 1959-1986 |
|
| 3 | American Ethnological Society Proceedings 1959 | |
| 4 | New Religious Movements, revitalization Movements, and specific movements papers 1960-1988 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 84 | 1 | North American Indian Religion 1960-1991 |
| 2 | Anthropology: teaching in schools. 1960-1968 | |
| 3 | Nondalton-research notes. 1960 | |
| 4 | Tanaina Lodge proposal by Sam-Joe Townsend 1960-1961 | |
| 5 | Pedro Bay, Alaska-Field Notes 1960-1962 | |
| 6 | Alaska-early exploration, native contact, and culture. 1960-1962 | |
| 7 | Ethnohistory articles 1960-1966 | |
| 8 | Athabascan Society research materials 1960-1979 | |
| 9 | Arctic Research-articles and reports 1960-2001 | |
| 10 | Anthropological articles. 1960-1965 | |
| 11 | Anthropology newspaper clippings. 1960-1982 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 85 | 1 | General Theory and Epistemology articles 1961-1986 |
| 2 | Local climatological data from King Salmon, Alaska 1961 | |
| 3 | Pedro Bay, Alaska field notes, draft, and map ca.1961 | |
| 4 | Political Organization Evolution materials 1961-1981 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 86 | 1 | Archaeology in Katmai and Naknek and Alaska reports by Don E. Dumond 1961-1969 |
| 2 | Koning Eskimos-a bibliographic outline 1962 | |
| 3 | Bibliographies of Community Studies 1962 | |
| 4 | Research materials and notes relating to Sula, Jolo and Phillipine Islands regions ca.1962-1964 | |
| 5 | History of Religions books 1962-1992 | |
| 6 | Ethnographic notes -Kakhonak,Igiugig- includes field notes 1962 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 87 | 1 | Arctic Bibliographies 1963 |
| 2 | "Dog Traction" research notes ca.1963 | |
| 3 | Tanaina-research materials and notes ca.1963-1964 | |
| 4 | Research ideas for papers 1963-1970 | |
| 5 | Nushagak Mission-Vital statistics, marriages, births, and baptisms between 1842 and 19301963-1972 | |
| 6 | Register books at Kenai from 1842 to 1853-includes notes by Townsend. 1963-1969 | |
| 7 | Pedro Bay-Lithic Artifact Data Analysis ca.1964 | |
| 8 | Iliamna Lake Archeaological Site Survey 1964-1969 | |
| 9 | Newspaper and magazine clippings about Alaska 1964-1979 | |
| 10 | Ground and Chipped Lithic point and Projectile Point Data Analysis at Pedro Bay. 1964 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 88 | 1 | Maps of Alaska ca.1964 |
| 2 | Alaska research materials 1964-1968 | |
| 3 | Horoscope articles and materials 1964-1982 | |
| 4 | Iliamna Lake Archaeological Expedition-notes, analysis reports, and sketches. Includes eleven 4x5 negatives of work site. 1964-1969 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 89 | 1 | Archeological Survey Reports from Alaska 1964-1971 |
| 2 | Russian translation ca.1965 | |
| 3 | Alaska-maps, research materials, and correspondence 1965-1980 | |
| 4 | Economic Anthropology articles, book reviews, and scholarly papers 1965-1986 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 90 | 1 | Anthropological article summaries ca.1965-1975 |
| 2 | The Superorganic: Science or Metaphysics by David Kaplan 1965 | |
| 3 | Manitoba Prehistory-1965 -manuscript by William J. Mayer-Oakes 1965 | |
| 4 | Ethnohistory articles 1965-1991 | |
| 5 | New Religious Movements-articles. 1965-1989 | |
| 6 | Druids ca.1965 | |
| 7 | Women 1965-1975 | |
| 8 | Kijik, Alaska-research materials 1966 | |
| 9 | Russian Point Archaeological Expedition-data analysis, field notes, sketches 1966 | |
| 10 | Ethnographic Filming and the Netsilik Eskimos by Asen Balikci and Quentin Brown 1966 | |
| 11 | Alaska Field Reports and Notes 1966-1967 | |
| 12 | Ethnographic Bibliographies 1966-1969 | |
| 13 | Archaeological Digging Permits-Alaska 1966-1969 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 91 | 1 | General Religion articles 1966-1991 |
| 2 | Witchcraft books. 1966-1985 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 92 | 1 | Dissertation bibliographies and indices 1966-1977 |
| 2 | Pedro Bay site-Accession Sheets 1966-1967 | |
| 3 | Parapsychology and Occult Scientific Studies articles. 1966-1991 | |
| 4 | Alaska Commercial Company Records 1868-1911 by Wendell H. Oswalt 1967 | |
| 5 | Indian Trade Silver by Donald B. Webster in the Canadian Antiques Collector 1967 | |
| 6 | Alaska Field Books 1967 | |
| 7 | Infections and Epidemic Diseases-reports, articles, clippings, and notes 1967-1995 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 93 | 1 | Anthropology of Religion-articles and notes 1967-1983 |
| 2 | Religions, Myths, Rituals, and Traditions-articles and notes 1967-1980 | |
| 3 | Shananism books. 1967-1984 | |
| 4 | Articles by John M. Campbell 1967-1968 | |
| 5 | Ethnohistory-articles and notes 1967-1978 | |
| 6 | Economic Systems-books and articles 1967-1977 | |
| 7 | Science, Physocal Anthropology, Cultural Anthropolgy, Archeaology, and Agriculture-magazine articles and book reviews 1967-1977 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 94 | 1 | Iliamna Lake Archaeological Survey 1968 |
| 2 | Tenure and promotion to associate professor 1968-1972 | |
| 3 | Digging Permits-Alaska 1968-1972 | |
| 4 | Political Evolution of Societies-research notes 1968-19805 | |
| 5 | General Religion materials 1968-1989 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 94 | 6 | Materials relating to Townsend's application for full professor 1968-1979
RESTRICTED |
| Box | Folder | |
| 95 | 1 | History of Russia, origins of capitalism, and industrialization. 1968-1990 |
| 2 | Witchcraft in Early Modern Europe-research materials. 1969-1987 | |
| 3 | Humanistic Psychology, Trance, and Consciousness-books and articles 1969-1990 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 95 | 4 | Student EthnographicEssays on the Yakuts, the Kamchadal, the Koryak 1969
RESTRICTED |
| 5 | Spiritualism-books and articles 1969-1993 | |
| 6 | Women's Issues-articles and newsclippings 1969-1982 | |
| 7 | The Sacred Canopy: Elements of a Sociological Theory of Knowledge by Peter L. Berger 1969 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 96 | 1 | An Outline of Recent Research on North American Eskimos 1969 |
| 2 | Journals of the Priests to the Tanaina at Kenai-articles and research notes 1969-1971 | |
| 3 | Popular Occult books 1970-1990 | |
| 4 | Science, New Physics, Consciousness, and Psychology articles 1970-1982 | |
| 5 | Map Distribution of the North Athapaskan Indians-Yale University Publications ca.1970 | |
| 6 | Shamanisn and Mystical Movements-articles, notes, and correspondence 1970-1998 | |
| 7 | United States Census-Alaska 1970-1971 | |
| 8 | Ethnographic trip to Pedro Bay - Field book 1970 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 97 | 1 | The Survival of Groups and the Evolution of Boundaries by Tom McFeat with comments by Townsend. ca.1970 |
| 2 | Religion and Healing 1970-1995 | |
| 3 | Maps of Alaska, the Arctic, and New Guinea 1970-1975 | |
| 4 | Nunamiut Ethnoarchaeology articles by Chuck Amsden 1970-1972 | |
| 5 | Brazilian Indian Genocide articles 1970-1974 | |
| 6 | Endorphins, Trance, Peak Experience, Dreams, Mysticism, and Firewalking articles. 1971-1985 | |
| 7 | Linguistics for Anthropologists: A Syllabus by R.T. Carter and H.C. Wolfart 1971 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 98 | 1 | University of Manitoba Faculty Activity Analysis 1971-1973 |
| 2 | Commercial Fish and Fur articles from 1920 to 1972. ca.1971-1972 | |
| 3 | Publications and notes regarding the proposed building of a gas pipeline in the Arctic 1971-1974 | |
| 4 | Tundra Times 1971-1979 | |
| 5 | Illness, Health, Healing, Medical Anthropology books and articles 1972-1987 | |
| 6 | University of Manitoba Instructor's Reports 1972-1980 | |
| 7 | University of Alaska Archives correspondence regarding Alaska Commercial Company Records 1972-1973 | |
| 8 | Politics and North American Indians 1972-1995 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 99 | 1 | Alaska and Northern Canada-History and native Culture articles and notes 1972-1988 |
| 2 | Study Concerning the Position of Female Anthropologists in Canadian Universities by Mavis A. Joensen and M.J. Sicard-Gordon 1972 | |
| 3 | Illness and Healing materials 1972-1998 | |
| 4 | Religion-Introductory Anthropology articles ca.1972-1975 | |
| 5 | Illness, Health, Healing, and Medical Anthropology articles 1973-1990 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 100 | 1 | New Religious Movements, Revitalization Movements, and Specific Movements-articles 1973-1993 |
| 2 | Nepal Shamanism books 1973-1978 | |
| 3 | Tarot Card Readings-research materials and notes 1973-1984 | |
| 4 | Announcements regarding Anthropology course on Women 1973-1974 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 101 | 1 | Aspects of Prehistoric and Historic Trade on the Interior Plateau of British Columbia by Paul Donahue 1973 |
| 2 | Asian Medicine materials 1973-1977 | |
| 3 | Selected Religion Bibliography-Revitalization Studies 1973 | |
| 4 | Anthropology articles citing Townsend's work 1973-1980 | |
| 5 | Snake Handlers article in "Foxfire" 1973 | |
| 6 | Occult: Theoretical and Professional 1973-1990 | |
| 7 | The Cult of Tara by Stephen Beyer 1973 | |
| 8 | Research articles about the Tlingit Community in Alaska 1973-1984 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 102 | 1 | Illness, Health, Healing, Medical Anthropology-Social Science and Medicine Journal 1973-1980 |
| 2 | Russian Native relations-research notes and maps 1973-1979 | |
| 3 | General Anthropology articles 1973-1992 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 103 | 1 | New Religious and Revitalization Movements-books and articles 1973-1979 |
| 2 | Parapsychology and Occult Scientific Studies 1973-1990 | |
| 3 | The University and the Canadian North-Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada 1973 | |
| 4 | Department of the Interior-draft Environmental Impact Statement for Lake Clark National Park-proposal, notes, and correspondence 1973-1974 | |
| 5 | Department of the Interior-draft Environmental Statement-Iliamna National Resource Range 1973 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 104 | 1 | Religion-newspaper clippings 1974-1994 |
| 2 | Health and Disease-newspaper clippings 1974-1996 | |
| 3 | National Archives and Records Service-Seatlle Archives Branch-list of holdings and correspondence 1974 | |
| 4 | Sea Otter Hunting-research notes and correspondence 1976 | |
| 5 | Popular Occult articles 1974-1998 | |
| 6 | Book review and personal notes about "Natural Symbols" by Mary Douglas 1974 | |
| 7 | Journal for International Scientific Study of Religion-book reviews 1974 | |
| 8 | Articles about the Aleuts ca.1974 | |
| 9 | Health and Healing-newspaper articles 1974-1986 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 105 | 1 | Women-Newspaper articles 1974-1979 |
| 2 | Anthropological Papers of the University of Alaska 1974-1980 | |
| 3 | Shamanism- The Structure of Finnish Shamanic Therapy dissertaion by Matt. T. Salo 1974 | |
| 4 | Articles about Women 1974-1976 | |
| 5 | Women and Religion, Feminism, the Goddess-research materials 1974-1992 | |
| 6 | Healing and Fundamentalist Groups, Winnipeg. 1974-1982 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 106 | 1 | Traditional Non-Western Religions 1974-1993 |
| 2 | Transcendental Meditation 1974-1977 | |
| 3 | Illness Healing-popular books 1974-1990 | |
| 4 | The Catalpa Bow: A Study of Shamanistic Practices in Japan by Carmen Blacker 1975 | |
| 5 | Haida Society-research materials 1975-1982 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 107 | 1 | New Religious Movements and Revitalization Movements materials 1975-1989 |
| 2 | History: Remembered, Recovered, Invented by Bernard Lewis 1975 | |
| 3 | Tanaina Language-Krauss notes and correspondence 1975-1978 | |
| 4 | Bibliography on Trade research ca.1975 | |
| 5 | Notes and research ideas about Alaska ca.1975 | |
| 6 | New Religious Movements Theory research materials 1975-1989 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 108 | 1 | Women-Bibliographiess 1975 |
| 2 | Women-Course outline and ideas 1975 | |
| 3 | Political organization research materials ca.1975 | |
| 4 | Women-articles, news clippings 1975-1979 | |
| 5 | Death, Dying, and Reincarnation 1975-1990 | |
| 6 | Spiritual Enlightenment, Holistic Healing, Auras, Eckankar-articles, reports, news clippings, and correspondence 1976-1998 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 109 | 1 | Tarot and Astrology articles and advertisements 1976-1988 |
| 2 | Pacific Manuscripts-Russian America research materials 1976-1977 | |
| 3 | Application for Graduate Student Support for Russian Mercantilism and Alaskan Native Social Change research 1976 | |
| 4 | University of Manitoba Departmental Annual report-merit pay 1976-1980 | |
| 5 | Requests for Papers 1976-1977 | |
| 6 | Illness, Health, Healing, and Medical Anthropology 1976-1992 | |
| 7 | The Western Canadian Journal of Anthropology, Cross-Sex Relations: Native Peoples 1976 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 110 | 1 | Arthur Ray Archive Lecture notes. 1976 |
| 2 | Religion, Witchcraft, and Magic articles 1976-2000 | |
| 3 | Illness, Health, Healing, and Medical Anthropology books 1976-1985 | |
| 4 | Illness, Health, Healing, and Medical Anthropology books and articles 1976-1980 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 111 | 1 | Townsend's comments for Western Journal of Anthropology 1977 |
| 2 | Psychics in Winnipeg-articles. 1977-1985 | |
| 3 | Pacific Manuscripts-Russian America Literary Collections, Volume IV 1977 | |
| 4 | Critique of Anthropology-Women's Issue 1977 | |
| 5 | Unification Church correspondence and articles 1977-1982 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 111 | 1 | Co-operatives and Cultural Change in the Canadian Artic: A Case Study - draft thesis by Lon Duncombe 1977
RESTRICTED |
| 2 | Magic and the Millenium by Brian Wilson. Includes notes. 1977-1980 | |
| 3 | Pacific Manuscripts-Russian America, Volume VI 1977 | |
| 4 | Lord and Peasant in Russia-article and notes ca.1978 | |
| 5 | General Ethnographic data ca.1977 | |
| 6 | Pacific Manuscripts-Russian America, Volume VII 1977 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 112 | 1 | Culture, Medicine and Psychiatry Journal, Volume 1-2 1977-1978 |
| 2 | Serfdom and Alaska-research notes and correspondence ca.1977 | |
| 3 | Pacific Manuscripts-Russian America , Part II 1977 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 113 | 1 | Pacific Manuscripts-Russian America , Part III 1977 |
| 2 | Shamanism in Nepal-research notes and article 1978-1990 | |
| 3 | Shamanism books. 1978-1992 | |
| 4 | Religious Commitment Statistics in the United States and Canada 1978-1981 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 114 | 1 | General Religion-research materials, notes, and correspondence. 1978-1993 |
| 2 | Jonestown Cult-article and newsaper clippings 1978-1979 | |
| 3 | Consciousness Research and Training Project Inc.-Leshan Newsletter 1978-1996 | |
| 4 | Bibliotheca Australiana-includes research notes 1978 | |
| 5 | Religion and Spirituality-articles and correspondence 1978-1999 | |
| 6 |
Manitoba Workshop Publications 1978 No.1-The Manitoba List: A Students Guide to Marxist Social Science, compiled by L.E. Sweet |
|
| 7 | Diseases and Epidemics ca.1978 | |
| 8 | Cults 1978-1998 | |
| 9 | Research in Parapsychology-notes and articles 1978-1983 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 115 | 1 | Illness and Healing books 1978-1979 |
| 2 | Ethnographic notes ca.1978 | |
| 3 | Slavery-notes, articles, and bibliography ca.1978-1979 | |
| 4 | Religious Liberty in Canada: Deprogramming and Media Coverage of New Religions-edited by M. Darrol Bryant 1979 | |
| 5 | New Religious Movements in North America 1979-1985 | |
| 6 | Indians and Eskimos in North Alaska, 1816-1977: A Study in Changing Ethnic Relations, by Ernest S. Burch Jr. in Arctic Anthropology. 1979 | |
| 7 | Cortes Centre for Human Development-brochures, articles, and newsletters 1979-1984 | |
| 8 | Deprogramming articles 1979-1982 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 116 | 1 | Culture, Medicine and Psychiatry Journal-Volumes 3-4 1979-1980 |
| 2 | Political, economic, and social evolution on the Northwest Coast 1979 | |
| 3 | Shamanism in Nepal 1980-1990 | |
| 4 | Lecture notes from John Matthasson's class on Religion 1980 | |
| 5 | Alaskan Ethnohistory between 1741-1900. ca.1979 | |
| 6 | Pacific Rim Societies ca.1980 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 117 | 1 | New Religious Movements 1980-1989 |
| 2 | New religious Movements and Revitalization Movements-theory, books, and articles. 1978-1990 | |
| 3 | Healing: Psychic, Shaman, Spiritual, and Alternative-articles, reports, and correspondence.1979-2002 | |
| 4 | Stretching Forth Thine Hand to Heal, by R.A. Richard Spread ca.1980 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 118 | 1 | Townsend research material-general. 1980-1983 |
| 2 | Holistic Medicine and new ideas about sickness and health-articles, brochures, and notes.1980-1994 | |
| 3 | Shaman research-notebook 5-9 1981-1992 | |
| 4 | Townsend's comments on an article for the Canadian Journal of Anthropology 1981 | |
| 5 | Out of body, near death, and reincarnation research materials ca.1981 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 119 | 1 | Townsend's full professor application 1981 |
| 2 | Article review request by Syesis 1981 | |
| 3 | Discovery: An Introduction to the Gateway Experience Guidance Manual 1981 | |
| 4 | "Children of God" lecture by Gary Beal 1982 | |
| 5 | Mediums and Healers, Winnipeg 1981-1982 | |
| 6 | Spirituality and Healing research materials 1981-2000 | |
| 7 | North American Indian Religion 1981-1994 | |
| 8 | Ira Progroff Meditation Workshops 1981-1984 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 120 | 1 | Culture, Medicine and Psychiatry Journal, Volumes 5-6 1981-1982 |
| 2 | Townsend's research ideas 1982 | |
| 3 | Religion and Theology-research materials, notes and correspondence 1982-1997 | |
| 4 | Bibliography for research journal articles 1982 | |
| 5 | Article review request by Syesis. 1982 | |
| 6 | Science of Mind Journal 1982-1984 | |
| 7 | Anti-Cult research material 1982 | |
| 8 | Hypnosis and Parapsychology Workshop, Vancouver. 1982 | |
| 9 | Eisenberg Workshop, Winnipeg. 1982 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 121 | 1 | Navajo Religion and Culture Selected Views; Papers in Honor of Leland C. Wyman, edited by David M. Brugge and Charlotte J. Frisbie 1982 |
| 2 | Medical Anthropology Papers 1982-1993 | |
| 3 | New Age: Professional and popular materials. 1982-1994 | |
| 4 | Application for graduate student support for research into New Religious Movements 1982 | |
| 5 | Departmental complaints regarding Aiden Barry lecture 1982 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 122 | 1 | The Book of the Goddess Past and Present: An Introduction to Her Religion, edited by Carl Olson 1983 |
| 2 | Healing research. 1983-1986 | |
| 3 | Bev Williamson and Joy Kato psychic research-includes two papers. 1983-1984 | |
| 4 | The Sign of the Prophets: Automatic Writings... , dictated by Jess Johnson and A. Wenchuk.ca.1983 | |
| 5 | Health and Illness articles 1983-1988 | |
| 6 | Orthodox Medicine and Non-Orthodox Healers: Interaction in State Society-research materials for Egypt paper 1983-1986 | |
| 7 | Harner Shamanism Workshop 1983 | |
| 8 | Leshan Beginning Class Workshop, Los Angeles. 1983 | |
| 9 | Townsend commentary regarding the promotion of Mary Lee Stearns ca.1983 | |
| 10 | Evaluation Chart for Townsend and Faculty of Anthropology. 1983-1986 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 123 | 1 | Shamanism research-notebooks 1-4. 1984-1994 |
| 2 | The Near-Death Experience: Problems, Prospects, Perspectives, edited by Bruce Greyson and Charles P. Flynn 1984 | |
| 3 | Request for review of article in Arctic Anthropology. 1984 | |
| 4 | Townsend notes on Stanley Krippner lecture, Unity Church, Dallas. 1984 | |
| 5 | Clairvoyance records regarding the Candice Derksen murder. 1984-1985 | |
| 6 | Lawrence LeShan research material 1984 | |
| 7 | Rodney Stark lecture on "Sociology and the Study of New Religions". 1984 | |
| 8 | Reiki healing work with Beth Gray, Dallas. 1984 | |
| 9 | Advanced Therapeutic Touch Workshop 1984 | |
| 10 | LeShan advanced class, Los Angeles. 1984 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 124 | 1 | Research Grant funding agencies. 1984-1993 |
| 2 | "The Light Bearer: the Art and Science of Healing Newsletter 1984-1985 | |
| 3 | Research Questionnaires regarding Egyptian Workshop with Rosalyn Bruyere-Austin, Texas.1984 | |
| 4 | Religion and New Religious Movements 1984-1998 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 125 | 1 | Shamanism-Proceedings of the Interational Congress on Shamanism, San Rafael, California 1984 |
| 2 | Neo-Shamans and Shamanic Spirituality 1985-1999 | |
| 3 | Notes on Healing Class with Al Leroy 1985-1986 | |
| 4 | Habits of the Heart: Individualism and Committment in American Life by Bellah et al. 1985 | |
| 5 | Navajo and Hopi land dispute research materials 1985-1987 | |
| 6 | Harner Shaman Counsel Dream Dance questionnaires 1986 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 126 | 1 | Shamanism-Proceedings of the International Congress on Shamanism and Alternate Modes of Healing in California. 1986-1987 |
| 2 | Religious research materials 1986 | |
| 3 | International Union of Anthropologica and Ethnological Sciences Intercongress in Egypt. Includes Townsend's paper and travel expenses. 1986 | |
| 4 | AIDS-articles, reports, and notes. 1987-1993 | |
| 5 | Anthropological Healing Studies-research materials and notes. 1987-1993 | |
| 6 | Bibliograhies ca.1988 | |
| 7 | Child and Adolescent Psychiatry-articles, notes, and bibliography 1988 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 127 | 1 | Shamanism research articles and notes ca.1988-1990 |
| 2 | Not Necessarily the New Age, edited by Robert Basil. 1988 | |
| 3 | Brain Mind Bulletin 1989 | |
| 4 | New Religions and the Theological Imagination in America-Mormons, christian Science, Scientology, Unification, Moonies, Theosophy, and New Age. 1989 | |
| 5 | Nepal Shamanism tape transcriptions 1989 | |
| 6 | Psychic Fair, Winnipeg 1989 | |
| 7 | Native Legal Systems-news clippings ca.1989 | |
| 8 | Newsclippings about the Nepal Uprising. 1990 | |
| 9 | Health and Illness articles 1990-2000 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 128 | 1 | New Religious Movements-articles. 1990-1999 |
| 2 | New Religious Movements-books. 1990-1991 | |
| 3 | Shamanism articles. 1990-1999 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 129 | 1 | North American Indian Religion- The Invented Indian: Cultural Fictions and Government Policies, edited by James A. Clifton 1990 |
| 2 | University of Manitoba Department of Anthropology teaching load and course requests. 1991-1994 | |
| 3 | The New Age Connection newsletter. 1991 | |
| 4 | Bricolage-Levi Strauss research materials 1991 | |
| 5 | Faith and Healing-articles and notes. 1991-2003 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 129 | 6 | Correspondence and notes regarding academic fraud stemming from Townsend article "The Goddess: Fact, Fallacy and Revitalization Movement. 1992
RESTRICTED |
| 7 | Articles relating to New Religious Movements and Individual Quests for Transcendence. 1992 | |
| 8 | University of Manitoba Faculty Association (UMFA) Gender Inequity salary adjustments. 1992-1994 | |
| 9 | Amerindian Bibliography. 1992 | |
| 10 | Nepal research trip- Foundation for Shamanic Studies. 1992 | |
| 11 | Research notes on Nuvendaltin Quht'ana:The People of Nondalton, by Linda Ellanna and Andrew Balluta 1992 | |
| 12 | Research notes on publishing academic books. 1992 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 130 | 1 | History of Medicine research articles. 1992 |
| 2 | Religion articles from the Internet. 1993-1996 | |
| 3 | Introductory comments about Dr. John Matthiasson's book: Living on the Land 1993 | |
| 4 | Notes on Raine Eisler's The Chalice and the Blade 1993 | |
| 5 | New Religious Movements 1993-1997 | |
| 6 | The Family-Children of God research materials and news clippings. 1993 | |
| 7 | Boston Movement-Church of Christ Internet discussions. ca.1993 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 131 | 1 | Waco and the Branch Davidians-research materials, magazine articles, and news clippings.1993 |
| 2 | Illness and Ethno Medicine-Religion and the Social Order 1993 | |
| 3 | Aging and Spirituality Newsletter 1994-1996 | |
| 4 | Internet research and material 1994-1998 | |
| 5 | Shamanism and Neo-Shamanism Bibliographies ca.1994 | |
| 6 | Notes on Shamans and Other Healers: Alternative Realities- 1994-2000 | |
| 7 | Introduction to New Religious Movements-notes and research material 1994-1999 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 132 | 1 | Illness and Ethno Medicine-Religion and the Social order-articles. 1994 |
| 2 | Indigenous Healing Practices, by Daniel Benjamin Hollenberg 1995 | |
| 3 | Flowers of Wiricuta, by Dr. Thomas Pinkson 1995 | |
| 4 | Brief Response of the Research Committee of Senate to the Comments on Research in the Roblin Report. ca.1995 | |
| 5 | Townsend Departmental Activities Reports. 1995-1998 | |
| 6 | Nepal research material 1995-1997 | |
| 7 | Research Assistance Agreement with Brian Myhre 1996 | |
| 8 | Spiritualism-draft article and correspondence 1996 | |
| 9 | Illness and Ethno Medicine-Religion and the Social Order-articles. 1996 | |
| 10 | Professor Emerita references. 1997 | |
| 11 | Articles on Myths and Rituals ca.1998 | |
| 12 | Shaman paper research material and articles. 1999 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 133 | Artifacts from Russian Point, Alaska 1984 |
Return to Top
PHOTOGRAPH COLLECTION 1960-1992
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Alaska Archaeology slides from Pedro Bay excavation pits ca.1964-1968 |
| 2 | Slides from Pedro Bay, Alaska archaeological site and artifacts ca.1960-1968 | |
| 3 | Slides from Pedro Bay Site House Pit 1960-1967 | |
| 4 | Slides from Alaska, including family. ca.1960-1969 | |
| 5 | Slides from trip to Nepal 1989 | |
| 6 | Slides from trip to Nepal 1992 | |
| 7 | Beauty Way-A Navajo Ceremonial 1974-1975 | |
| 8 | Slides of maps, medicine wheels, ghost dances, and sun dances. 1986 | |
| 9 | Slides from Peru and Bolivia 1975 | |
| 10 | Photos of Margaret Moto and Eskimo girls-Deering, Alaska 1969 | |
| 11 | Photos of Rock paintings at Clam Cove, Chinitna Bay, Cook Inlet, Kijik. ca.1960-1970 | |
| 12 | Photos of artifacts from 2 private collections in Deering, Alaska. ca.1969-1970 | |
| 13 | Photos of artifacts found by Bob walker at Iliamna, Alaska. ca.1969-1970 | |
| 14 | Reprinted photos and negatives of the Old Iliamna Village in the early 1900s. ca.1965-1975 | |
| 15 | Photos of Security Cape, Nome Alaska. ca.1970 | |
| 16 | Photos of Shaman Ceremonial Ritual in Nepal. ca.1989-1992 | |
| 17 | Alaska Boundary Tribunal photos. ca.1961 | |
| 18 | Negatives from Alaska Diary-Iliamna area and people. ca.1962-1970 | |
| 19 | Negatives of Alaska scenery and people. ca.1960-1969 | |
| 20 | Negatives of Pedro Bay Site, House and Artifacts. ca.1962-1975 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Over 1500 personal and academic slides of Shamanism, Egypt and Joseph Campbell books, trips to Florida, Japan, Seattle, Oregon Coast, and various archaeological sites in Peru, Mexico, Utah, California, and New Mexico. 1962-1995 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 1 | Over 1100 negatives of artifacts and excavation digs in Alaska. ca.1962-1975 |
Return to Top
AUDIO TAPE COLLECTION 1967-1992
| Box | |
| 1 | 45 Audio-cassettes on spiritual healing, religion, tarot reading, neurolinguistic programming and various interviews. ca.1975-1998 |
| Box | |
| 2 | 48 Audio-cassettes of interviews, workshop proceedings, religion, shamanism, auras, druids, new religious movements, healing, Nepal, and Tamang Sherpa music. ca.1975-1998 |
| Box | |
| 3 | 51 Audio-cassettes of interviews, workshop proceedings, lectures, and classes. Includes hypnosis, healing, shamanism, religion and the new science, parapsychology, reincarnation, Krishna, spiritual healing, meditation, exorcism, paranormal and more. ca.1975-1998 |
| Box | |
| 4 | 49 Audio-cassettes of interviews, workshops, and lectures. Includes shamanism, Maile, Karna, Gateway Discovery, Spiritual Science Fellowship, Reiki, and Australian aboriginals. Also includes interviews from citizens of Pedro Bay, Alaska. ca.1967-1992 |
| Box | |
| 5 | 50 Audio cassettes of interviews, workshop proceedings and lectures on Krishna, Shamanism, UFOs, healing, exorcism, religion and ritual, and Jebi. ca.1980-1992 |
| Box | |
| 6 | 37 Audio cassettes and 13 micro-cassettes of interviews with George Bazin and discussions about Maile/Karna. 1978-1992 |
| Box | |
| 7 | 8 Reel-to-reel audio tapes relating to Tanaina linguistics, music, and word lists. Also includes proceedings from Eskimo conference, an interview regarding folk medicine, and Eskimo and Russian Christmas songs. ca.1962-1970 |
Return to Top
MICROFILM REELS 1842-1933
| Box | |
| 1 | 18 Microfilm reels from the Alaska Russian Church Archives, Pacific Manuscripts and the University of Alaska Archives. Includes material relating to early Russian exploration of Alaska, as well as the Alaska Commercial Company Records. 1842-1913 |
| Box | |
| 2 | 8 Microfilm reels from the Alaska Russian Church Archives regarding Nushagak, Kenai, as well as early Russian travel journals. Includes a copy of Ober's Social Economy of the Night.1842-1933 |
Return to Top
MAP COLLECTION ca.1964-1990
| Box | |
| 1 | 33 maps of Alaska and surrounding area. ca.1964-1990 |
Return to Top
COMPUTER DISKETTES 1987-1998
| Box | |
| 1 | 52 computer diskettes Arcana/Shaman lists, Internet research regarding religious tolerance, e-mail discussion groups, course notes, completed manuscripts and related data. |
Return to Top