Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Turnstone Press fonds: MSS 118, PC 120, TC 80 (A.90-49, A.91-42)

Turnstone Press:

Turnstone Press:

An Inventory of Its Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by John E. L. Richthammer
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(August 1996)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (November 2002)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 118, PC 120, TC 80 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Administrative History of Turnstone Press

Scope and Contents of the Records

Organization of the Records

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Records

I. BUSINESS RECORDS 1976-1986

II. LITERARY RECORDS 1976-1981, [19-?]

Photograph Collection (PC 120)

Tape Collection (TC 80)

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2

Creator:
Turnstone Press

Title:
Turnstone Press fonds

Dates:
1976-1983

Quantity:
7.5 m of textual records

Identification:
MSS 118, PC 120, TC 80

Language
English

Return to Top

Administrative History of Turnstone Press

The origins of Turnstone Press can be traced to an informal meeting at the Montcalm pub close to the University of Manitoba on a 1976 afternoon. A group of English professors and their friends began discussing their desire to establish a non-profit cultural partnership.

First located in a small but rent-free office in St. John's College at the University of Manitoba (though separate from it), the publishing house was administered by an editorial board initially consisting of professors/writers. Turnstone, named after the sturdily-built turnstone bird generally known as a great survivor, was established to publish the works of Manitoba poets and writers.

The founders of Turnstone Press, all of whom were young academics with impressive scholastic records and promisingly-creative minds, are as follows:

Gimli-born David Arnason, the son of a fisherman, studied at the Universities of Manitoba and New Brunswick (BA/1961, Cert. Ed/1963, MA/1969, all from Manitoba and a Ph.D. from University of New Brunswick in 1980). He was a high school English teacher before joining the English department of the University of Manitoba in 1972 as Canadian literature professor. Besides his writing talents, he became a recognized specialist in Canadian, contemporary American and commonwealth literature. He served as Dean of Studies at St. John's College, chairman of the Literary Press Group, was a co-founder of the Journal of Canadian Fiction and is a well-known Manitoba editor, publisher, award-winning author, journalist and broadcaster.

Dr. John Beaver, a native of England, was a French professor at University of Manitoba and was managing editor/business manager of Turnstone Press until a teaching offer from McMaster University in 1979 precipitated his move to Hamilton.

Dr. Dennis O. Cooley, a native of Estevan, Saskatchewan, earned three degrees from the University of Saskatchewan (B.Ed/1966, BA (Hons.)/1967, MA/1968 and a Ph.D. from the University of Rochester in 1971). He was appointed to the University of Manitoba in 1973 and is a Canadian literature professor and assistant chair of English as well as a critically-acclaimed writer and editor.

Robert Enright was born in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan and graduated from the University of Saskatchewan. He is well-known for his long career as an art/film critic and broadcaster (in both television and radio for the CBC).

Dr. Daniel S. Lenoski was born in Winnipeg, where he earned a BA (Hons.) and MA at the University of Manitoba. He received his Ph.D. from Queen's University. Dr. Lenoski spent many years as assistant and later associate professor of English at St. Paul's College, University of Manitoba. He was editor of the Canadian Journal of Irish Studies and is considered a specialist in Anglo-Irish, late Victorian and early 20th century literature.

A few years after its founding, Paul Hjartarson, who taught English at University of Manitoba, joined Turnstone as did Marilyn Morton (as managing editor of both Turnstone and Contemporary Verse II magazine) and David Michael Carr (associate editor). Carr was born in Chicago and came to Winnipeg in 1966. In 1985 he left Turnstone to work in the civil service.

By 1981 Turnstone had its own typesetters and began to produce much of its work on site as well as typesetting for others on a contract basis. Commissioned sales representatives distributed their books both nationally and internationally. Turnstone Press was incorporated in April 1983 with the following acting as first directors: Dr. David Arnason, David Carr, Dr. Dennis Cooley, Dr. Daniel Lenoski, Patricia Sanders and Dr. Wayne Tefs.

Initially Turnstone was strictly a poetry and prose fiction publisher but before long it began publishing drama, fiction, non-fiction and even plays. Turnstone's primary mandate has always been to facilitate exposure for both lesser-established and well-known writers by providing a quality prairie publishing house. As one of its editors commented in the April 1980 offering of Quill and Quire : "writers (in Manitoba) began as truck drivers, teachers, and farmers doing a little writing on the side. Access to publishing has helped them to take themselves seriously as writers." Among the established (and, in some cases, internationally-known) authors published by Turnstone were Sandra Birdsell, Bertram Brooker (posthumously), Patrick Friesen, Robert Kroetsch, Dorothy Livesay, Andrew Suknaski, Anne Szumigalski and Miriam Waddington. There have been several anthologies to come off Turnstone's presses. Reviews of Turnstone books are written and published worldwide and a number of the books themselves are required reading in many national universities.

Turnstone was able to function with the aid of Manitoba Arts Council grants over the years, along with intermittent funding from the Canada Council. Any profits realized from the sales of books went back into the publishing aspect of the press. Turnstone's first two publications were William Dempsey Valgardson's In The Gutting Shed and George Amabile's Open Country . The press fostered a growing group of Prairie or Manitoba writers and readers. When the Manitoba Writers' Guild formed in 1981, many of its founders were first-book authors with Turnstone.

Established during a period of significant growth in creative prairie literature, Turnstone quickly became a significant literary press in Canada and presently enjoys substantial national recognition.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Records

The Turnstone Press Collection documents all of the activities of this Winnipeg-based literary publishing house from its inception as a partnership in 1976 until its incorporation in 1983. The business and administrative records consist of minutes of Turnstone meetings (1977-1982), Literary Press Group meetings (1979-1981), minutes of special meetings, incorporation papers, financial and taxation statements, marketing/promotional events and author's tours, sales and distribution records, royalty statements, printer's invoices, grant applications and correspondence with government departments, arts councils, granting institutions, agents and booksellers.

Of the collection's important literary holdings, there are only a small number of original manuscripts; however, the majority of manuscripts published by Turnstone during the year 1976-1983 are present in the form of copies. Less than five published softcover books are included. There is substantial correspondence with authors, poets and other editors. Contained in literary correspondence records are letters from such Canadian writers of prominence as David Arnason, Dennis Cooley, Sandra Birdsell, Earle Birney, Chester Duncan, Patrick Friesen, Robert Kroetsch, Dorothy Livesay, Eli Mandel, Al Purdy, Andrew Suknaski, W.D. Valgardson and Miriam Waddington.

Also included is the complete correspondence by year relating to rejected manuscripts. The files for the late 1970s and early 1980s of Contemporary Verse II , a literary magazine edited by Dr. Dorothy Livesay and Robert Quickenden, are likewise part of the collection. For further archival holdings on CV II , the Dorothy Livesay Collection (MSS 37), also at Archives & Special Collections, may be consulted.

The Turnstone Photograph Collection (PC 120) is a combination of author's photographs and/or photographs used in a particular author's book. The collection is sporadic and limited. What few exist are photographs of authors or photographs printed in their books. One item from PC 120, an original charcoal poster used on the cover of Douglas Smith's Scarecrow , is oversized and was placed in the map cabinet. The Turnstone Tape Collection (TC 80) consists of one reel-to-reel audio tape (uneven sound) of an unidentified woman speaking about seniors.

Two other collections in Archives & Special Collections' holdings complement Turnstone Press--Saskatoon-based Thistledown Press (MSS 116) and the NeWest Press (MSS 117) of Edmonton, Alberta.

Return to Top

Organization of the Records

These records are organized into 4 series

  • I. BUSINESS RECORDS 1976-1986
  • II. LITERARY RECORDS 1976-1981, [19-?]
  • Photograph Collection (PC 120)
  • Tape Collection (TC 80)

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

The Collection is available to all who abide by copyright law as passed by the Parliament of Canada from time to time. Patrons must also exercise proper care in using the collection. Fair use excerpts should give proper acknowledgment and source attribution.

Return to Top

Custodial History

The Turnstone Press Collection was donated to Archives & Special Collections in 1992 by two of Turnstone's original founders/editors, Drs. Dennis Cooley and Wayne Tefs, professors of English at the University of Manitoba. The papers were appraised by the National Archival Appraisal Board and later declared "Cultural Property" (a gift to Canada) by the Canadian Cultural Property Export Review Board in March 1993.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Records

I. BUSINESS RECORDS 1976-1986

     History

Box Folder  
1 1 Turnstone Press: History

     Minutes

Box Folder  
1 2 Minutes: Meetings 1977-1982
  3 Minutes: Literary Press Group 1979-1981


     Business Correspondence
 

Box Folder  
1 4 Correspondence: Alberta Culture 1980-1981
  5 Correspondence: Dept. of Cultural Affairs, 1982-1982
  6 Correspondence: French Canadian Anthology, 1985-1986
  7 Correspondence: Promotion, tours by authors, special meetings 1980-1983
  8 Cloudland Literary Press 1979-1980


     Legal Records
 

Box Folder  
1 9 Incorporation 1979-1983


     Grant Applications
 

Box Folder  
1 10 Canada Council 1977-1982
  11 Manitoba Arts Council 1976-1983
  12 Saskatchewan Arts Board 1977-1982
  13 Secretary of State 1979-1981


     Payroll/Sales/Distribution Records
 

Box Folder  
2 1 Payroll 1983-1984
  2 Accounts ledger 1980-1982
  3 Book sales ledger 1976-1978
  4 Book sales ledger 1978-1981
  5 Book sales ledger Jan. 1980-Apr. 1982
  6 Book sales ledger Dec. 1980-Mar. 1982
  7 Sales: Distribution by Inland Book Co. and Gryphon House 1982-1983
  8 Sales: Distribution by Stanton & MacDougall 1981-1983
  9 Sales: Various distributors 1981-1983
  10 Sales: Frankfurt Book Fair 1982-1983
  11 Sales: Reports & data 1979-1983
  12 Sales: Representative Gordon Garner 1982-1983
  13 Printer's invoices 1981-1983
  14 Royalty statements 1977-1982
  15 Book sales inventory and costing 1976-1984
  16 Turnstone office file 1984


     Taxation Records
 

Box Folder  
3 1 Financial statements 1976-1982
  2 Financial statements and income tax 1983
  3 Payments re: T-4s 1980-1982
  4 Payments re: T-4s 1983

Marketing Records

Box Folder  
  5 Publishing on contract 1980-1982
  6 "Sub-rights" 1979-1984
  7 Standing orders
  8 Publicity 1976-1981
  9 Publicity: press parties Apr. 1, 1978 and Mar. 31, 1979
  10 PublicityTurnstone brochure 1978-1979
  11 Book publishing survey 1982-1983

Return to Top


II. LITERARY RECORDS 1976-1981, [19-?]
     Correspondence

Box Folder  
  12 Correspondence: General 1976-1980
  13 Correspondence: Dr. Richard E. Bennett
  14 Manitoba Novelists' Bibliography
  15 Mailing list Oct. 1979
  16 Adamson, Arthur
  17 Allen, Elizabeth
  18 Amabile, George
  19 Ammeter, Arthur E.
  20 Arnason, Dr. David (also see Michael Olito)
Box Folder  
4 1 BaastadErling Friis
  2 Banting, Pamela
  3 Barbour, Douglas
  4 Beardy, Jackson
  5 Birney, Earle
  6 Birdsell, Sandra L.
  7 Bitney, Katherine (Kate)
  8 Bowering, George
  9 Carriere, Elizabeth
  10 Christensen, Peter
  11 Chudrick, Gerald P. (poems)
  12 Cooley, Dr. Dennis O.
  13 Crozier (Uher) Lorna
  14 Dagg, Mel
  15 Daniel, Lorne
  16 Davey, Frank
  17 David, Jack
  18 Deeley, Ann (& poems)
  19 Dillon, Norma
  20 Duncan, Chester (& musical scores)
  21 Dyck, Edward Frank
  22 Fifik, Robert (& poems)
  23 Foster, Robert
  24 Friesen, Patrick (& poems)
Box Folder  
5 1 Geddes, Gary
  2 Grace, Gregory
  3 Gruending, Dennis
  4 GunnarsKristjana
  5 Gutteridge, Donald
  6 Hawley, Helen Maud
  7 Hayman, Patrick
  8 Helwig, Sarah Magdalen (Maggie)
  9 Hitching, James (a.k.a. Jim Wallace)
  10 Jankola, Elizabeth (Beth) (& poems)
  11 Johnson, Dr. Stephen Marshall
  12 KlymkiwMyroslaw (Slawko)
  13 KoehnLala Heine
  14 Kroetsch, Dr. Robert
  15 Lane, John C.
  16 Lane, Patrick
  17 Le Dressay, Anne Marie
  18 Livesay, Dr. Dorothy (also see Contemporary Verse II )
  19 MacLulich, Dr. T. Donald
  20 McLauchlan, Laura
  21 Mandel, Dr. Eli (also see Davey, Frank and Draft Anthology, 1981)
  22 Marlatt, Daphne
  23 Marriott, Anne
  24 Morrissette, George
  25 Noyes, Steven
  26 Olito, Michael (& Dr. David Arnason)
  27 Peters, Elizabeth
  28 Philips, Elizabeth
  29 Powell, Craig
  30 Purdy, Al (see Whyte, Jon)
  31 Reed, Valerie Gail Caasi
  32 Reid, Monty
  33 Riches, Brenda (& poems)
  34 Rutland, Enid Delgatty
Box Folder  
6 1 Ryga, George
  2 Scobie, Stephen
  3 Shaw, Margaret A.
  4 Siemienuk, Les
  5 Silver, Alfred
  6 Smart, Carolyn
  7 Smith, Douglas
  8 Smith, Steven
  9 SproxtonBirk (re: Bertram Brooker)
  10 Story, Gertrude
  11 Suknaski, Andrew
  12 Swiderek, Yvonne
  13 Szumigalski, Anne
  14 Tefs, Dr. Wayne
  15 Tregebov, Michael
  16 Turner, Gordon
  17 Upward, Edward
  18 Ursell, Dr. Geoffrey Barry
  19 Valgardson, William Dempsey
  20 Waddington, Miriam
  21 WallaceBronwen
  22 Wallace, Jim (see Hitching, James)
  23 Waltner-Toews, Dr. David
  24 Wayman, Thomas
  25 Weis, Lyle
  26 Whyte, Jon Anthony
  27 WiebeArmin
  28 Woodcock, George
  29 Young, Patricia Rose

- Correspondence primarily with authors, poets and other writers

Published Literary Manuscripts And Books, Drafts And And Related Correspondence
Ackerman, Caroline
Box Folder  
7 1

Kids in the Kitchen Cookbook - manuscript copy

Adam, Ian

Box Folder  
7 2

The Last Prairie Poem - original manuscript and correspondence


Adamson, Arthur

Box Folder  
7 3 Notes From a Dark Cellar - revised manuscript copy
  4 The Inside Animal - original draft manuscript
  5 The Inside Animal - draft two
  6

Bestiary - softcover book

Allan, Elizabeth

Box Folder  
7 7 War Games - editor's working manuscript copy
  8

War Games - final manuscript copy


Amabile, George

Box Folder  
7 9 Wilderness Edge: The Prairies - manuscript copy
  10 Ideas of Shelter - editor's manuscript copy
  11

Open Country - softcover booklet


Ammeter, Arthur E.

Box Folder  
7 12 Berens River Poems - original manuscript
  13 Berens River Poems - revised original manuscript 13
  14

For Christina Rosetti - manuscript copy


Amprimoz, Dr. Alexandre L


 

Box Folder  
7 15 Portrait of Louis Riel as a Young Poet - short original manuscript
  16

Paul Savoie's Eternal Laughter - short original manuscript


Arnason, Dr. David

Box Folder  
7 17 50 Stories and a Piece of Advice - editor's manuscript copy
Box Folder  
8 1 Marsh Burning - manuscript copy
  2

The Icelanders - transcript of interview with Humphrey & Inga Olson


Barbour, Douglas

Box Folder  
8 3

Shore Lines - manuscript (c. 1979) copy


Birdsell, Sandra L.

Box Folder  
8 4 After the Flood - all versions (originals)
  5 The Night Travellers - original and revised manuscript copy
  6 Stones - short original manuscript (1977)
  7 Truda - copies of various manuscript drafts
  8 The Rock Garden - two draft manuscript copies
  9 Flowers for Weddings and Funerals - manuscript copy
  10 "Arlington Street" - copy of short manuscript
  11 Journey to the Lake - original manuscript
  12 There is No Shoreline - copies of two manuscript versions
  13 The Wild Plum Tree - manuscript copy
  14 The Wednesday Circle - manuscript copy
  15 Judgment - two versions of manuscript
  16 The Day My Grandfather Died - original manuscript
  17 Stones - manuscript copy (1977)
  18

A Mouse in a Glass Jar - original manuscript


Bitney, Kate

Box Folder  
8 19 While You Were Out - original submission copy (edited)
  20

While You Were Out - final manuscript copy


Bowering, George

Box Folder  
9 1

The Mask in Place: Essays on Fiction in North America - original manuscript


Cooley, Dr. Dennis O.

Box Folder  
9 2

untitled poetry - manuscript copy

Dagg, Mel

Box Folder  
9 3

Same Truck, Different Driver - manuscript copy


Daniel, Lorne

Box Folder  
9 4

Lodgepole - manuscript copy


Davey, Frank

Box Folder  
9 5

Surviving the Paraphrase: Eleven Essays in Canadian Literature - manuscript copy


Dillon, Norma

Box Folder  
9 6 untitled poetry - manuscript copy Draft Anthology - Dr. Dennis O. Cooley (editor)
  7 correspondence relating to Draft
  8 manuscript copy
  9

permissions from authors
 

Dyck, Edward Frank

Box Folder  
10 1

The Mossbank Canon - correspondence and original manuscript


Easton, Tristan

Box Folder  
10 2

Fishboat Blues - manuscript copy


Enns, Victor

Box Folder  
10 3 The Jimmy Bang Poems - manuscript copy (1979)
  4 Where the Smiles Go at Night - correspondence and manuscript copy
  5

Musical Interlude - manuscript copy


Foster, Robert

Box Folder  
10 6

Boulder Outlines at Bannock Point - original manuscript


Friesen, Patrick

Box Folder  
10 7 The Shunning - original manuscript (file one)
Box Folder  
11 1 The Shunning - partly original manuscript (file two)
  2 Lands I Am - various partly original manuscripts
  3

Bluebottle - printed manuscript copy


Geddes, Gary

Box Folder  
11 4 The Acid Test - manuscript copy
  5

The Acid Test - softcover book (1981)


Grace, Gregory

Box Folder  
11 6 The Man With the Styrofoam Head - original manuscript (1979)
  7

The Man With the Styrofoam Head - softcover book


Helwig, 'Maggie'

Box Folder  
11 8

Walking Through Fire - correspondence and manuscript copy


Hilles, Robert

Box Folder  
11 9 Look the Lovely Animal Speaks - original manuscript
  10

Look the Lovely Animal Speaks - final manuscript copy (1980)


Lane, John

Box Folder  
11 11 I Want to Tell You Lies - manuscript copy (1980)
  12 End of Summer - manuscript copy
  13 untitled poetry - original manuscript (1978)
Box Folder  
12 1

Redemption of Alfie - manuscript copy


Lane, Patrick

Box Folder  
12 2 The Killing Table - manuscript copy
  3

The Weight - manuscript copy


Lane, Patrick and Lorna (Uher) Crozier

Box Folder  
12 4

There Are No Longer Two People - manuscript copy


Lanteigne, M.P.

Box Folder  
12 5 "Poems" - original manuscript
"Poems" - original manuscript
Box Folder  
12 6 This Body That I Live In - original manuscript draft
  7

This Body That I Live In - original edited manuscript


Livesay, Dr. Dorothy

Box Folder  
12 8

The Raw Edges - original edited manuscript (1981)


McLauchlan, Laura

Box Folder  
12 9 Lacuna (originally The Painted Territory) - original submission copy (1979)
  10

Lacuna (originally The Painted Territory) - original manuscript (c. 1980)


MacLulich, Dr. T. Donald

Box Folder  
12 11 Explorations (later Voyages) - original manuscript
  12

Explorations (later Voyages)- final original manuscript


Marlatt, Daphne

 

Box Folder  
12 13

How to Hug a Stone - manuscript copy


Morrissette, George

Box Folder  
12 14 Finding Mom at Eatons - original manuscript
  15 Finding Mom at Eatons - two original revised manuscripts
  16 Finding Mom at Eatons - two editor's working copies
Box Folder  
13 1 In Favour of the Open Sky - original manuscript and unidentified poems
  2

The Millionaire of Goatfield - original manuscript


Philips, Elizabeth

Box Folder  
13 3

Breaking Through Ice - original manuscript


Powell, Craig

Box Folder  
13 4

Rehearsal For Dancers - softcover book (1978)


Reed, Valerie

Box Folder  
13 5 When the Dogs Bark at Night - original manuscript pages
  6 copies of poems
  7

Love and Other Terrors - original manuscript (1981)


Reid, Monty

Box Folder  
13 8

The Dream of Snowy Owls - original manuscript (1981)


Riches, Brenda

Box Folder  
13 9 Dry Media - original edited manuscript
  10

Dry Media - original revised manuscript


Rutland, Enid Delgatty

Box Folder  
13 11 The Cranberry Tree - first manuscript submitted
  12 The Cranberry Tree - corrected draft manscript
  13

The Cranberry Tree - editor's working manuscript copy


Siemieniuk, Les

Box Folder  
13 14

Almost a Ritual - original manuscript


Silver, Alfred

Box Folder  
13 15 Thimble Rig - edited manuscript copy (1981)
  16 Dud Shuffle - third draft manuscript copy
  17 Idiot Strings - manuscript copy
  18

More of a Family - manuscript copy


Smart, Carolyn

Box Folder  
14 1

Swimmers In Oblivion - manuscript copy


Smith, Douglas

Box Folder  
14 2 The Light of Our Bones - manuscript copy
  3 Scarecrow - various draft copies and unidentified poetry
  4

Scarecrow - softcover book (1980)


Smith, Steven

Box Folder  
14 5

Ritual Murders - manuscript copy (1980)


Sproxton, Birk (editor)

Box Folder  
14 6 Sounds Assembling: The Poetry of Bertram Brooker - four drafts of introduction by Sproxton
  7

Sounds Assembling: The Poetry of Bertram Brooker - manuscript copy


Suknaski, Andrew

Box Folder  
14 8 Taber Child (later Montage For An Interstellar Cry) - edited manuscript copy (1979)
  9 Taber Child (later Montage For An Interstellar Cry) - original submitted edited manuscript
  10 Taber Child (later Montage For An Interstellar Cry) - first edited revision copy
  11 Taber Child (later Montage For An Interstellar Cry) - original second draft manuscript
  12 Taber Child (later Montage For An Interstellar Cry) - third revision copy
  13 Taber Child (later Montage For An Interstellar Cry) - original fourth revision manuscript
  14

Taber Child (later Montage For An Interstellar Cry) - original fifth revision manuscript


Szumigalski, Anne

Box Folder  
14 15 Game of Angels - editor's working manuscript copy (1980)
Box Folder  
15 1 Game of Angels - final manuscript copy
  2

Dedication for a Book Titled "A Century of Man" - original manuscript copy


Tregebov, Michael

Box Folder  
15 3 Forty Love Poems & A Letter To The Boss - original edited manuscript
  4 Forty Love Poems & A Letter To The Boss - second draft copy
  5 Forty Love Poems & A Letter To The Boss - revised manuscript copy
  6

Changehouse - softcover book (1976)


Uher (Crozier), Lorna

Box Folder  
15 7 The First Woman - original and copy manuscript sections
  8 Humans and Other Beasts - original manuscript (1980)
  9 Death Wish: A Poem in Sequence - manuscript copy
  10

The Foetus Dreams - original manuscript


Upward, Edward

Box Folder  
15 11 Pastoral Madness - original manuscript
  12

Pastoral Madness - revised original manuscript


Ursell, Dr. Geoffrey Barry

Box Folder  
15 13

The Art of Pulling Hearts - original manuscript


Valgardson, William Dempsey

Box Folder  
15 14

In The Gutting Shed - original manuscript


Waddington, Miriam

Box Folder  
16 1

Mister Never in a Dream of the Gatineau - manuscript copy


Wallace, Bronwen

Box Folder  
16 2 The Cancer Poems - manuscript copy and editor's notes (1979-80)
  3 The Cancer Poems - original manuscript (1979-80)
  4

All That Uneasy Spring - original manuscript


Waltner-Toews, David

 

Box Folder  
16 5 Whole Wheat Buns - original manuscript - second original manuscript
  6 Whole Wheat Buns - second original manuscript
  7 The Earth is One Body (formerly Whole Wheat Buns) - final manuscript copy (1978)
  8 The Earth is One Body (formerly Whole Wheat Buns) - softcover book (1979)
  9

Tante Tina's Lament - original manuscript


Wayman, Thomas

Box Folder  
16 10 A Planet Mostly Sea - manuscript copy
  11 A Planet Mostly Sea softcover book (1979)
  12

Anthology: Going For Coffee - manuscript copy


Whyte, Jon

Box Folder  
16 13

untitled manuscript - edited copy and related correspondence


Woollatt, Richard

Box Folder  
16 14

Eastbound From Alberta - softcover book (1981)


Young, Patricia Rose

Box Folder  
16 15 No Trombones - original manuscript
  16 Traveling the Floodwaters - manuscript copy

Listed by author's surname


Correspondence Related To Rejected Manuscripts
 

Box Folder  
17 1 1976
  2 1977
  3 1978
  4 1979
  5 1980
  6 1981
  7 1982
  8 1983


Literary Magazine Publishing
Essays on Canadian Writing:

Box Folder  
17 9 Correspondence 1977-80
  10 Bibliography of 19th century literary periodicals held in Elizabeth Dafoe Library (as at 1974)
Contemporary Verse II:
Box Folder  
18 1 Second issue, CBC Anthology: Women Poets of the Maritimes
  2 Bluelines, Vol. 2, No. 3, 1978

(includes a letter from Dr. Dorothy Livesay)

  3 Submissions for Vol. 3, No. 2
  4 Vol. 3, No. 4
  5 Montreal issue, 1977, of correspondence and poems
  6 Vol. 7, No. ?
  7 Satire issue, 1977-78, with face sheets and correspondence. Compiled by Dr. Dorothy Livesay and Robert Quickenden
  8 Face Sheets general issue, 1978, with correspondence
  9 Vol. 4, No. 1, with correspondence and poems
  10 submissions, n.d., to Dr. Dorothy Livesay


Miscellaneous
 

Box Folder  
18 11 Manitoba Literature 1866-1966

Lecture delivered by G.L. Broderson, Dean of Arts & Sciences, as first of the St. John's College Centennial Lecture Series on Saturday, November 19, 1966. Delivered under the auspices of the University of Manitoba Alumni Association as a continuing studies seminar.

Return to Top


     Photograph Collection (PC 120)

The Turnstone Press Photograph Collection consists of authors' photographs and any artwork or photographs used in their books.

Box Folder  
1 1 Ackerman, Caroline:

cover photographs from Cooking With Kids

  2 Adamson, Arthur:

author's photograph, original and copied artwork by Adamson

  3 Amabile, George:

black and white unidentified, undated negatives

  4 Arnason, Dr. David:

author's photograph and colour copy negative

  5 Bowering, George:

author's photograph, c. 1981-82

  6 Helwig, Magdalen Sarah (Maggie):

author's photographs taken at Kingston, Ontario in 1981

  7 Hilles, Robert:

author's photographs taken in 1980 for Look The Lovely Animal Speaks

  8 Koehne, Lala Heine:

colour and black and white photographs submitted c. 1980-81 for Eyes of the Wind by W. M. Kollman

  9 Lane, John C.:

original cover of Return Fare

  10 McLauchlan, Laura:

author's photographs, 1980. One 5x7 photograph by Nelson Wiseman

  11 Marlatt, Daphne:

original cover design for How to Hug a Stone - photograph from above-noted book

  12 Powell, Craig:

Powell, Craig:

  13 Smith, Douglas:

charcoal original poster used as cover for Scarecrow. Filed in map cabinet due to oversize dimensions.

  14 Sproxton, Birk and Bertram Brooker:

professional colour 4x5 negative and transparency of oil painting on canvas by Bertram Brooker (1888-1955) entitled "Sounds Assembling" (also title of Sproxton's book on Brooker). Negative of painting taken by Ernest Mayer from collection of Winnipeg Art Gallery

  15 Szumigalski, Anne:

polaroid black and white author's photographs from Game of Angels

  16 Turner, Gordon:

author's photograph

  17 Upward, Edward:

author's photograph, taken by Dr. Dennis Cooley

  18 Waddington, Miriam:

colour slide of a painting by Surrey (used in Mister Never)

  19 Valgardson, William Dempsey (W.D.):

negatives and contact sheets, author's photo and other photographs used in The Gutting Shed

  20 Waltner-Toews, David:

author's photograph taken in 1982 by Mary Delaney of "The Barrie Examiner"

Return to Top

Tape Collection (TC 8)

Box Folder  
1 1 Unidentified woman speaking on the role and work of senior citizens, n.d.

Extremely uneven sound. Less than a quarter of the beginning of the tape contains the speech; the rest is unused.

Return to Top