The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of Its Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by V. Zvonik
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2013)
Finding aid encoded by V. Zvonik (2013)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Collection Summary
Administrative History of Ukrainian Professional & Business Club of Winnipeg
Scope and Contents of the Records
Restrictions on Access
Restrictions on Use
Related Materials
Custodial History
Detailed Description of the Collection
Administrative History of Ukrainian Professional & Business Club of Winnipeg (1968-1993)
Ukrainian Professional & Business Club of Winnipeg - Reports, Membership Rosters, 1983-1999
Ukrainian Professional & Business Club of Winnipeg - Bulletin, 1986-2000
UPBCW - Board of Directors Meetings, Correspondence, 1988-1993
Ukrainian Canadian Professional and Business Federation (UCPBF), 1984-1995
Ukrainian Festivals, Art, Artists, Melos Folk Ensemble
Miscellaneous Publications
Ukrainian Canadian Review - Voice of the Ukrainian Canadian Professional and Business Federation, 1966-1987
Social Justice: Teaching the Ukrainian Canadian Internment and Ukrainian Famine Genocide - Online Education, 2011
Collection Summary
Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Creator:
Ukrainian Professional & Business Club of Winnipeg
Title:
Ukrainian Professional & Business Club of Winnipeg fonds
Dates:
1983-2012
Quantity:
0.69 m of textual records
Identification:
Mss 403 (A12-126)
English, Ukrainian
Return to Top
Administrative History of Ukrainian Professional & Business Club of Winnipeg
The Ukrainian Professional and Business Club of Winnipeg was formed in the fall of 1943. A small group of Ukrainian Canadian professional men recognized a need for an organization which would play an important role in the cultural and social life of Ukrainians in Winnipeg. The first executive committee (W. Kushnir, V.F. Bachynski, J. Kereluk, V.H. Koman, P. Korman, A. Malofie, J.W. Semeniuk, M. Stechishin, W. Swystun) was formed on November 4, 1943, and elected their first President, Dr. B. Duma. The first official title of the Club was the Ukrainian Professional and Business Men's Club of Winnipeg which later changed it's name to the Ukrainian Professional and Business Club of Winnipeg in order to reflect the Ukrainian professional women's membership (1980's)
The Ukrainian Professional and Business Club of Winnipeg gave an impulse to the formations of other similar clubs across Canada, and the formation of the Ukrainian Canadian Professional and Business Federation in 1963. The Federation maintains the high standards of the Ukrainian cultural activities and promotes Ukrainian community projects across Canada.
The Ukrainian Professional and Business Foundation is a registered charity for the purpose of recognizing the charitable activities of the Ukrainian Professional and Business Club of Winnipeg. It supports many educational projects and institutions (Department of Slavic Studies, University of Manitoba, St Andrew's College, University of Manitoba, City of Winnipeg High Schools, Ukrainian War Veterans, and many other Ukrainian cultural organizations).
The most important objectives of the Ukrainian Professional and Business Club of Winnipeg are the consolidation and streamlining of Ukrainian organizations; the promotion of better communications; the implementation of the Manitoba Government's officially declared Manitoba Multiculturalism Act (1992); and the preservation of Ukrainian cultural heritage.
Return to Top
Scope and Contents of the Records
This fonds consists of the Ukrainian Professional and Business Club's reports, rosters, bulletin, correspondence and miscellaneous projects and publications.
Return to Top
Arrangement of the Papers
This collection is arranged into eight series:
Return to Top
Restrictions on Access
No restriction on acess.
Return to Top
Restrictions on Use
No restriction on use.
Return to Top
Related Materials
Processed Accessions of the Ukrainian Professional and Business Club of Winnipeg Archives (1943-1989) are held in the Ukrainian Cultural and Educational Centre "Oseredok".
Return to Top
Custodial History
The fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Josyf Mudryj and Sylvia Todaschuk in 2012.
Return to Top
Detailed Description of the Collection
Administrative History of Ukrainian Professional & Business Club of Winnipeg (1968-1993)
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | 50th Anniversary Review - Book II, 1968-1993 |
| 2 | Finding Aid (1943-1989) to the Records of the Ukrainian Professional and Business Club of Winnipeg held in the Ukrainian Cultural and Educational Centre in Winnipeg, 1991 | |
| 3 | Ukrainian Professional & Business Foundation - By-Laws, 1986-1987 | |
| 4 | Ukrainian Professional & Business Foundation - Registered Charity, 1990 - 1992 | |
| 5 | Ukrainian Professional & Business Club of Winnipeg (UPBCW) - Constitution, 1990 |
Return to Top
Ukrainian Professional & Business Club of Winnipeg - Reports, Membership Rosters, 1983-1999
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 6 | 1983-1987 |
| 7 | 1987-1990 | |
| 8 | 1990-1993 | |
| 9 | 1993-1996 | |
| 10 | 1996-1999 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Editorial Guidelines (draft), 1988 |
| 2 | Bulletin, 1986 | |
| 3 | 1987 | |
| 4 | 1988 | |
| 5 | 1989 | |
| 6 | 1990 | |
| 7 | 1991 | |
| 8 | 1992 | |
| 9 | 1993 | |
| 10 | 1994 | |
| 11 | 1995 | |
| 12 | 1996 | |
| 13 | 1997 | |
| 14 | 1998 | |
| 15 | 1999-2000 |
Return to Top
UPBCW - Board of Directors Meetings, Correspondence, 1988-1993
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 1 | Board of Directors, 1988-1989 |
| 2 | General Meeting, April 24, 1991 | |
| 3 | Board of Directors Meeting, May 1, 1991 | |
| 4 | Board of Directors Meeting, October 16, 1991 | |
| 5 | General Meeting, January 29, 1992 | |
| 6 | Board of Directors Meeting, June 10, 1992 | |
| 7 | Board of Directors Meeting, September 2, 1992 | |
| 8 | Board of Directors Meeting, November 4, 1992 | |
| 9 | Board of Directors Meeting, December 2, 1992 | |
| 10 | Board of Directors Meeting, February 3, 1993 | |
| 11 | Special Board Meeting, April 25, 1993 | |
| 12 | Board of Directors Meeting, May 1993 | |
| 13 |
Correspondence, 1989 Nestor Mudry - President |
|
| 14 |
Correspondence, 1990 William Nosaty - President |
|
| 15 |
Correspondence, 1991 William Nosaty - President |
|
| 16 | Correspondence - Finances, 1991 | |
| 17 |
Correspondence, 1992 Terry Hryniuk - President |
|
| 18 | Correspondence, 1992
Nick Diakiw - President |
|
| 19 | Manitoba Multiculturalism Act, 1992 | |
| 20 |
Correspondence, January - February 1993 Nick Diakiw - President |
|
| 21 |
Correspondence, April - May, 1993 Nick Diakiw - President |
|
| 22 | Correspondence - "Malanka" and "Quadra Club" Events - Announcements, 1987-1988, 1996 |
Return to Top
Ukrainian Canadian Professional and Business Federation (UCPBF), 1984-1995
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 1 | Ukrainian Canadian Professional and Business Federation - Newsletter, 1984 |
| 2 | National Executive Meeting - Minutes, December 11, 1989, January 15, 1990 | |
| 3 | Canada-Ukraine Economic Conference, Edmonton, 1991 | |
| 4 | Eastern Regional Conference, Ontario, 1992 | |
| 5 | Correspondence - Communications and Standardization Subcommittees, 1993 | |
| 6 | Ukraine: The New World Agenda - Winnipeg Convention, 1993 | |
| 7 | Ukrainian Professional Club of Ottawa, Edmonton - Newsletters, 1990 | |
| 8 | UCPBF - Reviews, 1993-1995 | |
| 9 | Tourist Industry Association of Manitoba, Annual Conference, March 5-7, 1989 | |
| 10 | Ukrainian Canadian Congress - Report on the Canada-Ukraine Foreign Policy Forum Meeting, 1990-1991 | |
| 11 | Ukrainian Canadian Congress - Supporting Democratic Freedom in Ukraine - Final Report, 2005 |
Return to Top
Ukrainian Festivals, Art, Artists, Melos Folk Ensemble
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 12 | Canada's National Ukrainian Festival, Dauphin, Manitoba - Souvenir Programs, 1984, 1986-87, 1994 |
| 13 | Ukrainian Festivals - Edmonton (1988), Teulon (1991) - Program Booklets | |
| 14 | Folklorama - Kiev Pavilion - Guest Book, Folklorama Programs, 1982-83, 2012 | |
| 15 | Volodymyr Hayduk - Editorial Cartoonist "OKO" - Newspaper Clippings, 1984-1991 | |
| 16 | Melos Folk Ensemble, By-Laws, 2007 | |
| 17 | Melos Folk Ensemble - Correspondence, 2007-2012 | |
| 18 | Ukrainian Events - Programs, 1989-1993 |
Return to Top
Miscellaneous Publications
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 1 | Institute of Public Administration of Canada - IPAC Conference, Winnipeg, 1992 |
| 2 | World Congress of Ukrainian Lawyers, Kiev, 1992 | |
| 3 | The North Mail Street Task Force "Our Place" - Final Report, 1997 | |
| 4 | Selkirk Avenue Business Association - Winnipeg Core Area Initiative - Winnipeg's North End | |
| 5 | Carpathia Credit Union, 2002 | |
| 6 | North End Agency - Resources Manual, 2003 | |
| 7 | Winnipeg Foundation Annual Report - Building Bridges, 2004 | |
| 8 | Selkirk and Pritchard - Revitalization - Merchand's Hotel - Proposal Feasibility Study, 2005 | |
| 9 | Merchand's Hotel - Liquer Control Act, 2005 | |
| 10 | Merchand's Hotel - Correspondence, 2005 | |
| 11 | "Stolittia Plastu" - Winnipeg - Information Booklet, 2012 |
Return to Top
Ukrainian Canadian Review - Voice of the Ukrainian Canadian Professional and Business Federation,1966-1987
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 1 | Ukrainian Canadian Review - Journals, 1966-1985
(incomplete) |
Return to Top
Social Justice: Teaching the Ukrainian Canadian Internment and Ukrainian Famine Genocide - Online Education, 2011
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 2 | Social Justice: Teaching the Ukrainian Canadian Internment and Ukrainian Famine Genocide, 2011 |
| 3 | WebQuest - Instructions for Educators, 2010 | |
| 4 |
Research Material - Ukrainian Parliamentarian Statement to the Canadian Government on the Internment, 1990 (includes newpaper clippings) |
|
| 5 | Research Material - Ukrainian Genocide in the Early 1930's (Booklet), [2006] | |
| 6 | Research Material - Model Curriculum for Human Rights and Genocide, California Department of Education, 2007 | |
| 7 | Research Material - Holodomor, Internment, 2011 | |
| 8 | Research Material - Distance and Online Adult Education, 2012 |
Return to Top