Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Betty Jane Wylie fonds: MSS 144, PC 150, TC 95 (A.01-26)

Betty Jane Wylie:

Betty Jane Wylie:

An Inventory of Her Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Julianna Trivers
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(October 2001)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (March 2002)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 144, PC 150, TC 95 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Betty Jane Wylie

Scope and Contents of the Papers

Organization of the Papers

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

Correspondence, 1953-2000

Contracts 1970-1997

Professional Associations, 1979-1999

Early Work, [ca. 1943]-1994

Books, [195-?], predominant [197-?]-1999

Cookbooks 1963-1996

Unpublished Books [ca. 1992]

Articles 1967-2000

Poetry 1940-1999

Puppet Plays 1964-[1979]

Theatre [196-?]-1997

Radio, [ca. 1965]-1993

Television [196-?]-2000

Short Stories, [1974?]-1995

Speeches, Readings, Talks, [ca. 1970]-2000

Press, 1962-2000

Miscellaneous, 1964-2000

Catalogues, Journals, Publications, 1959-2000

Computer Diskettes [ca. 1985]-2000

Photograph Collection (PC 150) 1981-1995

Tape Collection (TC 95) 1974, [1976?]-[ca. 1989]

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections 
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Creator:
Betty Jane Wylie

Title:
Betty Jane Wylie fonds

Dates:
[ca. 1946]-2000

Quantity:
8.8 m of textual records and other materials [Includes 12 video cassettes; 2 audio discs; 11 audio cassettes; 1 audio reel]

Identification:
MSS 144, PC 149, TC 94

Language
English.

Return to Top

Biography of Betty Jane Wylie

Betty Jane Wylie was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba in 1931 to Dr. Jack and Inga (Tergesen) McKenty. Her grandparents, Hans Petur and Sigga Tergesen, immigrated to Canada before the turn of the 20th century and settled in Gimli, Manitoba. As a child Wylie spent her summers in a cottage in Gimli near her grandparents.

Wylie grew up in Tuxedo, a Winnipeg suburb; she attended Tuxedo School and Gordon Bell High School in Winnipeg after an early reading start at the Convent of the Sacred Heart, a private school. She entered the University of Manitoba in 1946 where she earned her B. A. (Hons.) in French and English in 1951. She completed her M.A. in English in 1952, with a major in 20th century poetry and minors in Anglo-Saxon and Old Norse. From a young age Wylie knew she wanted to write, and she early demonstrated an aptitude for writing, contributing to her schools' newspapers in elementary and high school. She wrote for the University of Manitoba's Manitoban and contributed poems to Creative Campus.

Seventeen days after she completed her M.A. in 1952, Wylie married William Tennant (Bill) Wylie, with whom she had four children, all of whom were born in Winnipeg. For the major part of their marriage the Wylies resided in Winnipeg where Bill Wylie was latterly manager of the Manitoba Theatre Centre. The Wylies moved from Winnipeg to Stratford, Ontario in 1968, where Bill Wylie served as administrative director of the Stratford Festival Theatre until his sudden death in 1973.

In 1975, Wylie moved from Stratford to Toronto, Ontario in order to be close to Canadian writing markets. She lived there for twelve years before retreating to a winterized cottage on a lake in the Muskoka region north of Toronto.

While married and raising her four children, Wylie found some time to write poetry and plays, but was never able to write as much as she wanted. Nevertheless, she wrote puppet plays for the Puppetry Troupe of the Junior League of Winnipeg and eventually became a volunteer script consultant for the Puppeteers of America. A collection of her seven puppet plays entitled Don't Just Stand There, Jiggle! was published in 1980. Her plays, Kingsayer, (a children's play), and Mark were produced in 1967 in Winnipeg and 1972 in Stratford respectively, and her adaptation of Ibsen's play An Enemy of the People in 1970 in Winnipeg. She adapted Sinclair Ross' book As For Me and My House for the stage but it was never produced.

Wylie decided to take up writing as a full-time career when her husband died in 1973, in order to support herself and her children. Wylie has had articles published in many major magazines and newspapers including Maclean's,Chatelaine, Homemaker's, Flare, Performing Arts, Recipes Only, Gourmet, Today, Quest, the Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star, the Winnipeg Free Press, and the Boston Globe, among others.

Two of Wylie's most notable investigative journalism endeavors, which she calls the "Old Lady Caper" and the "Psycho Trip," were published in the Toronto Star. For the "Old Lady Caper," in 1979 she set out to see what it was like to live as a single woman on the old age pension. After the success of this series of articles she was asked to bring attention to the plight of ex-mental patients; she went undercover again in 1980 and lived as an ex-mental patient in the Parkdale area of Toronto. This series of articles led to her appointment as a member of the OPSEU Commission investigating Cutbacks in Care for the Emotionally Ill and Mentally Handicapped in 1981.

While coming to terms with her husband's death, Wylie wrote an article about widowhood for Maclean's that was well received by its audience. In response, Wylie wrote Beginnings: A Book for Widows (1977), which is still in print and in demand. Published in six countries, it has gone through five editions in Canada and is given by several life insurance companies to widows receiving a death benefit.

Since then Wylie has published books of various types such as children's books, cookbooks, self-help, belles lettres, biography, poetry, drama, and other non-fiction books. As with her first book, Wylie drew heavily on her own life experiences as a source for her work. Her move from Toronto to a winterized cottage near MacTier, Ontario was accompanied by a drive to divest herself and her life of excess possessions, and by a striving for simplicity that would later be the subject of her book Enough: Lifestyle and Financial Planning for Simpler Living (1999). She details the experiences of her youngest son in The Book of Matthew: The Story of a Learning Disabled Child (1984). Letters to Icelanders: Exploring the Northern Soul (1999) is an exploration of her Icelandic roots.

Some of Wylie's other books include: The Best is Yet to Come: Planning Ahead For A Financially Secure Retirement (1985); Everywoman's Money Book (with Lynn MacFarlane) (1987); All in the Family: A Survival Guide for Living and Loving in a Changing World (1988); Betty Jane's Diary: Holidays and Celebrations (1991); New Beginnings: Living Through Loss and Grief (1991); Men! Quotations about Men by Women (1993); Reading Between the Lines: Diaries of Women (1995); Life's Losses: Living Through Sudden Change, Bereavement (1996); Solo Chef (1997); The Write Track: How to Succeed as a Free-lance Writer (1998). Wylie received the 1987 Education Award from the Psychological Foundation of Ontario for her book Successfully Single: How to Live Alone and Like It (1986).

In the 1960s Wylie's poetry was published in Fiddlehead, and Canadian Forum. She continued to write poetry throughout her career, and in 1989 published her first book of poetry, Something Might Happen. In 1995 a collection of poetic monologues based on Wylie's extensive reading of women's diaries was published, entitled The Better Half: Women's Voices. Her first published short story appeared in Unexpected Fictions: New Writing by Icelandic Canadians, edited by Kristjanna Gunnars, 1989. Another story from a collection was published in the summer 1993 edition of the Icelandic Canadian Magazine, followed by a few others, including one in Chatelaine magazine.

The theatre was always Wylie's first love. She continued to write plays even though they did not pay as well as prose. Over three dozen of her plays have been produced, one of the most popular ones being A Place on Earth (1982), the play that resulted from her undercover experience as a single woman living on the old age pension. It has been Wylie's most produced play to date with productions in Europe, the U. K., New Zealand, and the United States. Other plays by Betty Jane Wylie include Beowulf (1977), a musical with composer Victor Davies; Time Bomb (1986); Boy in a Cage (1987); a musical with composer Ken Nichol; How to Speak Male (1989); Veranda (1990), winner of the play contest held by the Canadian Association of Nordic Studies), Grace Under Pressure (1992), Speculum (1992), and Androgyne (1995).

Wylie received a Bunting Institute Fellowship at Radcliffe College in 1989, where she wrote A Native of the James Family about Alice James, Henry James' younger sister. Given three separate staged readings in Boston and Cambridge, the play has never been produced in Canada.

Between 1978 and 1982, Wylie wrote and performed a series of 90-second radio pieces that aired five times a week on independent Canadian radio stations. These pieces, entitled Betty Jane's Diary were of an inspirational nature, commissioned by Berkeley Studio of the United Church of Canada. Some of these pieces were collected in three books: Betty Jane's Diary: Lessons Children Taught Me (1981), Betty Jane's Diary: Holidays and Celebrations (1991), and Betty Jane's Diary: Passages (c1991).

Wylie began a long relationship with CBC Radio when her play I See You was picked up from the Stratford Festival Workshop in 1970. Her next effort for the CBC was a 10-part series called Sybil, in 1985. In 1988 she won the Education Award from the Canadian Nurses' Association for Victorian Spice, a five-part drama series on CBC Morningside. She also did a five-part series entitled Mountain Woman for Morningside in 1987, and a 3-part series called Memories of Canada in 1993.

Wylie has also made forays into the world of television beginning in the 1960s with a weekly feature on Winnipeg history on the first women's afternoon television program in Winnipeg. In the late seventies and early 1980s she was involved in the creation of 15-minute documentary films on subjects like health, nutrition, and life insurance. She co-wrote a TV film with Donald Martin entitled Coming of Age, which aired on TMN (1994) and Global (1995), and won two Gemini Awards. She was host, creator, and associate producer of a 13-part series entitled Women, Lifestyle & Money that aired in 1986 on independent Canadian television channels. She researched, wrote, and hosted a 12-part intergenerational series of feature films and documentaries for Vision TV.

Wylie was a founding member of the Playwright's Union of Canada and served on its executive several times. She acted as chair of the Writers' Union of Canada for the 1988-89 term. In 1980 she was a member of a team (playwright/novelist/poet) sent by Canadian External Affairs to the four Scandinavian countries to lecture on Can Lit and has been involved with the Nordic Association for Canadian Studies, participating in its triennial conferences in 1990, 1993, and 1999.

Wylie has taken speaking engagements across North America promoting her books, and communicating her knowledge on subjects such as widowhood, death, palliative care, writing, women's studies, and money management. She has spoken to life insurance companies, credit associations, women's, church, and mental health groups, schools, libraries, and universities. For two years she was a speaker with the Association of Canadian Clubs. She has served as writer-in-residence in a number of institutions including Burlington Public Library (1989), Humphrey Public Library (1990), the University of Winnipeg (1990), Kitchener Public Library (1999), and Toronto Metro Library, North York Branch (2001/2002). She taught at "Artsperience", Canadore College, North Bay, Ontario, in 1991 and 1995.

Wylie's achievements were recognized in 1989 when she won the University of Manitoba Alumni Association's Alumni Jubilee Award, and in 1999, when she was awarded a YWCA Women of Distinction Award.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Papers

The fonds consists of material mainly relating to Betty Jane Wylie's writing career, created between the early 1940s and 2000. This includes correspondence, notes, drafts, manuscripts, programs, essays, speeches, talks, tear sheets, promotional materials, audio recordings, videocassettes, and photographs.

Return to Top

Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 21 series.

  • Correspondence, 1953-2000
  • Contracts 1970-1997
  • Professional Associations, 1979-1999
  • Early Work, [ca. 1943]-1994
  • Books, [195-?], predominant [197-?]-1999
  • Cookbooks 1963-1996
  • Unpublished Books [ca. 1992]
  • Articles 1967-2000
  • Poetry 1940-1999
  • Puppet Plays 1964-[1979]
  • Theatre [196-?]-1997
  • Radio, [ca. 1965]-1993
  • Television [196-?]-2000
  • Short Stories, [1974?]-1995
  • Speeches, Readings, Talks, [ca. 1970]-2000
  • Press, 1962-2000
  • Miscellaneous, 1964-2000
  • Catalogues, Journals, Publications, 1959-2000
  • Computer Diskettes [ca. 1985]-2000
  • Photograph Collection (PC 150) 1981-1995
  • Tape Collection (TC 95) 1974, [1976?]-[ca. 1989]

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

There are no restrictions on the material in this fonds. Researchers must abide by the relevant copyright legislation if they wish to use any material in any published form.

Return to Top

Custodial History

The fonds was donated by Betty Jane Wylie to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in 2001.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

Correspondence, 1953-2000
     Chronological Correspondence, 1964-2000

Box Folder  
1 1 Correspondence and Rejects, 1964-1973
  2 Correspondence, 1971-1997
  3 Correspondence, 1973
  4 Correspondence, 1974-1975
  5 Correspondence, 1975
  6 Correspondence, 1976
  7 Old Correspondence, 1976-1991
  8 Correspondence, Queries, Rejections, etc., 1977-2000
  9 Correspondence, 1978
  10 Correspondence, 1979
  11 Correspondence, 1980-1981
  12 Correspondence, 1982
  13 Correspondence - another effort, 1982-1984
  14 Correspondence, 1984
  15 Correspondence, 1985
  16 Old Correspondence, 1985-1998
  17 Correspondence, 1986
  18 Correspondence, 1987
  19 Correspondence, 1988
  20 Correspondence, 1989-1990
  21 Correspondence, 1990
  22 Correspondence, 1991
  23 Correspondence, 1992
  24 Correspondence, 1993
  25 Correspondence, 1993-1994


     Subject Correspondence, 1953-2000
 

Box Folder  
1 26 A Place on Earth - Business, 1980-1987
  27 All in the Family - Business, 1989
  28 Androgyne - Business, 1994
  29 Angel - Business, 1993
  30 Archives - U of M, 1985-2000
  31 As for Me and My House - Correspondence, 1963-1988
  32 Beginnings - Business , 1976-1995
  33 Beginnings - Rewrite, 1996
  34 Beginnings of Beginnings, 1974-1976
  35 Beowulf, 1970-1974
  36 Beowulf - Business, 1973-1982
  37 Beowulf - Business, 1973-1983
  38 Best Business (Cottier), 1996
  39 Betty Jane's Diary , 1981-1982
  40 Bjornvig, 1992
  41 Black Moss Press, 1982-1983
  42 Blind Spot - Business, 1983
  43 Blyth Festival, 1993
  44 Books in Canada, [ca. 1990]
  45 Boy in a Cage Business, 1987-1996
  46 Burlington Library, 1987
  47 Business Letters, 1993-1997
  48 Centre Stage Company, 1983
  49

Chatelaine, 1996-1998

  50 Cheese Book Accounts, 1983
  51 Nathan Cohen, 1968-1971
  52 Nancy Colbert - Business, 1980-1996
  53 Don Coles, 1985-2000
  54 Copyright Permissions Correspondence - " Men! ", 1990-1994
  55 Copyright Permissions Correspondence - " Men! ", 1993
Box Folder  
2 1-3 Copyright Permissions Correspondence - " Men! ", 1993
  4 Correspondence - Personal, 1989-1995
  5 Correspondence - Theatre (read it and weep), 1976-1996
  6 Correspondence Re drafts - Letters to Icelanders, Solo Chef, 1999
  7 Cottage Life, 1994
  8 Cottage Life, 1993-1994
  9 Cottier - Business, 1994
  10 Joyce Doolittle, 1969-1990
  11 Encore - Business, 1975-1983
  12 Enough - Business, 1997-1998
  13 Family - Business - Northstone Publishing, 1995-1996
  14 Fan Mail, 1977-2000
  15 Fan Mail (usable), 1979-2000
  16 Fan Mail (usable), 1982
  17 Fan Mail re "Diary", 1978-1980
  18 Farbers , 1992-1994
  19 Kathy Flaherty, 1989
  20 Fowler & Mildon, 1987-2000
  21 Ron Francis - dealings and submissions, 1987
  22 Generic Letters - Freefall - Recent, 1995-2000
  23 Susan Gold, 1991-1993
  24 Grace - Business, 1989-1991
  25 Harper Collins, 1991-1993
  26 Rolf Harvey, 1977-1990
  27 Horsburgh Business, 1980-1983
  28 Key Porter Books, 1996
  29 Lynn Macfarlane, 1993-1995
  30 Macmillan - Business, 1995
  31 Macmillan/NAL, 1980-1981
  32 Mark - Business, 1970-1987
  33 McClelland & Stewart - Business, 1977-1997
  34 Men! By Women, 1993-1994
  35 Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1993-2000
  36  
Box Folder  
3 1 Murphy Business, 1978-1981
  2 Gwen Nagel, 1990-1998
  3 Tom NcNeely, 1981-1982
  4 Necessary Angel, 1992-1993
  5 New Beginnings - Business, 1990-1995
  6 New Beginnings Permissions, 1990-1993
  7 New Play Centre, 1979-1983
  8 No Two Alike - Business, 1979-1980
  9 Nordic Association for Canadian Studies, 1989-1995
  10 John O'Connor, 1994-1996
  11 Tillie Olsen, 1984-1999
  12 Personal, 1984-1990
  13 Ted Phillips, 1988-1990
  14 Pitches, 1975-1999
  15 PLR [Public Lending Right], 1994
  16 Poetry - Business, 1975-1988
  17 Prairie Theatre Exchange, 1992
  18 PUC - Correspondence, Business, 1989
  19 Puppet Business, 1966-1980
  20 Queries (a sad history), 1973-1983
  21 Radcliffe, 1989-1990
  22 Laird Rankin - U of M Alumni Journal, 1977-1987
  23 [Reading Between the] Lines - Copyright Business, 1994-1995
  24 [Reading Between the] Lines Wrap, 1994-1995
  25 [Reading Between the] Lines/Self, 1991-1995
  26 Rejections, 1967-2000
  27 Rejections, 1993-1997
  28 Rejections, Correspondence, 1953-1964
  29 Elizabeth Richie, 1982-1985
  30 Mick Roche, 1986-1993
  31 Mick Roche, 1988-1994
Box Folder  
4 1 Sinclair Ross, 1988
  2 Royalty Statements Re: Everywoman's Money Book, 1984-1997
  3 S.P.I. [Publisher], 1993-1994
  4 Susan Schulman, 1981-1995
  5 Schulman/1992, 1986-1994
  6 Size Ten (Temptation) - Business, 1975-1982
  7 Soaps - Business, 1988-1989
  8 Steinam, 1994
  9 Submissions - history, 2000
  10 Theatre - Correspondence, Queries, 1983-1990
  11 Theatre Correspondence, 1974-1983
  12 Thelestam, Lars, 1994
  13 Time Bomb - Business, 1982-1988
  14 Turnstone Press - Business, 1995
  15 Veranda - Business, 1990-1991
  16 Voices - Business, 1994-1995
  17 YWCA, 1997-1999
  18 Waterloo Community Playhouse, 1979-1989
  19 Wylie Trust Fund, 1973-1976

Return to Top


     Contracts 1970-1997

Box Folder  
4 20 Contracts - A, 1978-1988
  21 Contracts - B, 1974-1996
  22 Contracts - Breakthrough Films, 1992-1994
  23 Contracts - C-G, 1970-1997
  24 Contracts - H-O, 1977-1995
  25 Contracts - P-S, 1979-1997
  26 Contracts - Seniors' Secretariat, 1993
  27 Contracts - T-Z, 1982-1995

Return to Top


     Professional Associations, 1979-1999
 

Box Folder  
4 28 Playwrights' Associations, 1979-1980
  29 PUC - Old Reports/Humour [Playwrights' Union of Canada], 1980-1981
  30 Writing for TWUC [Writers' Union of Canada] (Chair), 1989-1999

Return to Top


     Early Work, [ca. 1943]-1994
 

Box Folder  
4 31 Childhood Efforts, [ca. 1943]
  32 Writing - Early Days, 1944-1994
  33 "Boy With the Boot", 1957-1961
  34 Stories, [ca.1966]
Box Folder  
5 1 Short Stories, [196-?]
  2 My First Marriage, [196-?]
  3 Book - My First Marriage, [196-?]
  4 Articles, [196-?]
  5 University, [1946-1951]
  6 Fragments, [ca.1957]
  7 Free Press - Carbons, [ca. 1967]
  8 Miscellany - exercises, [1946-1951]
  9 Manitoba History, [1966?]
  10 Margaret McWilliams [for Clear Spirits], 1965-1966; 1988
  11 Early Work, [1946?]
  12 Manitoba, 1962
  13 School Broadcasts, 1962
  14 School Broadcasts - Language, 1963
  15 University Essays, 1946-51
  16 Muriel Poems - (University of Manitoba), [ca. 1946-51]

Return to Top

     Books, [195-?], predominant [197-?]-1999
 

Box Folder  
5 17 Lifelines - notes, 1976-1977
  18 Beginning of Beginnings, 1973
  19 Beginnings Business, 1976-1983
  20 Beginnings - Draft Copy, [197-?]
  21 Widowhood Book Jan/Feb '77 [Notebook], 1977
  22 Beginnings - Revisions for 5th Edition, 1979-1982
  23-24 No Two Alike, 1980
  25 Tecumseh , [1982?]
  26 The Book of Matthew, July '82 [Notebook], 1982
  27 The Book of Matthew, 1984
  28 Everywoman's Money Book, [198-?]
Box Folder  
6 1 Money Book Business, 1982-1983
  2 Revision of Money Book, 1988-1999
  3 Women on Women, 1994
  4 Reading Between the Lines - Revisions - Preface, Chapters 1-8, [ca. 1995]
  5 About Men, by Women, 1993
  6 Men, 1993
  7 About Men - Women's Quotations, [ca. 1994]
  8 Men Quotes, [1993?]
  9 Manuscript - The Telling of Self # 1, [ca. 1994]
  10 Manuscript - The Telling of Self # 2, [ca. 1994]
  11 Reading Between the Lines , 1994-1995
  12 Reading Between the Lines - draft, [ca. 1995]
  13 Reading Between the Lines - draft, [ca. 1995]
  14 Reading Between the Lines - draft Chapters 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, [ca. 1995]
  15 Reading Between the Lines - Revisions, [ca. 1995]
  16 Reading Between the Lines - Revisions, [ca. 1995]
  17 Reading Between the Lines - Revisions, [ca. 1995]
  18 Penultimate Draft - Reading Between the Lines, [ca. 1995]
  19 Family Notes, [ca. 1997]
  20 Family Book (Mutual Life) Early Notes, 1981-82
Box Folder  
7 1 (Negatives in) the Family Album (Early drafts, some used, Feb. '88), 1988
  2 Family Book (Mine), [1994?]
  3 Family Workbook, 1994
  4 Family Album (the original idea), [1994?]
  5-6 Family - Revisions, [ca. 1997]
  7 Family - Galleys, 1997
  8 Voluntary Simplicity: Notes/Comments/ Leads/interviews, Spring '97 [Notebook], 1997
  9 Enough - Notes, [1997?]
  10 Consumption, [1997?]
  11 Ethical Investing, [1997?]
  12 Internet Research - Enough, [1997?]
  13 Frugal Tips - Recycling, [1997?]
  14 Enough - Manuscript, [1997?]
  15 Enough - Voluntary Simplicity, 1997
  16 Writers' Guide - Outlines, 1996
  17 Writing to Live, [1996?]
  18 The Write Track, [1996?]
  19 The Write Track, [1996?] - 1997
  20 The Write Track, [1996?]
  21 The Write Track, 1997
Box Folder  
8 1-2 Write Track - Revisions, 1997
  3 Letters to Icelanders - Workbook, [1999?]
  4 Letters to Icelanders - Publishing Details, 1999
  5 Email Sources and Info [Letters to Iceland], 1998-1999
  6 Academic, 1993-1997
  7 Edda (Snorri), 1999
  8 Film, 1996-1998
  9 Food, 1998-1999
  10 Gimli, 1989-1998
  11 Glaumbaer, [ca. 1998]
  12 History - Sagas, Eddas, Literature, 1993-1995
  13 Hofsos, 1996-1999
  14 Iceland, 1988-[ca.1998]
  15 Iceland , 1992
  16 Icelandic National League, 1996-1998
  17 Islendingadagurinn, 1998
  18 Language, Names, Genealogy, 1995-1998
  19 Minnesota (North America), 1996-1998
  20 Poetry, Eddas, etc, 1998-1999
  21 Quotes, [ca. 1998]
  22 Runes, 1998-1999
  23 Sagas, 1995-1999
  24 Stats, [ca. 1998]
  25 Steam - Geothermal energy, 1998
  26 Trolls (fairies, elves, tales), [1999]
  27 Toasts (of others), 1960-1992
  28 Waterfalls, Glaciers, Volcanos, 1997-1998
  29 Women, 1988-1998
  30 Letters from Iceland, 1989-1993
  31 Iceland clippings, 1996-1998
  32 [Iceland] Journal 1995-96 (Nov. 26 - Feb. 3) New Year and Book, 1995-1996
Box Folder  
9 1 Iceland Copy, [ca. 1999]
  2 Postcards from Iceland, 1998
  3 Newsclippings 1998-1999, 1998-1999
  4 Letter to W. H. Auden, 1999
  5 Cookbook [reference], [ca. 1950-1980]
  6 Icelandic Woman, [ca. 1998]

Return to Top

     Cookbooks 1963-1996

Box Folder  
9 7 Cookbook, 1963-1978
  8 Cookbook - Galleys, 1974-1979
  9 Encore Galleys, 1979
  10 Cheese Notebook, 1983
  11 Cheese Book for McCains, [198-?]
  12 Cheese Book, 1982-1983
  13 Cheese Cookbook, 1984
  14 Cooking Ideas, 1984
  15 Cooking For One - Notebook, [ca. 1994]
  16 Solo Chef, 1996
  17 Solo Chef - 1st draft, 1996
Box Folder  
10 1-2 Solo Chef - draft, 1996
  3-4 Solo Chef - Revisions, 1996
  5 Solo Chef - Draft, 1996

Return to Top

     Unpublished Books [ca. 1992]
 

Box Folder  
10 6-7 Mirrors - very 1st draft, [ca. 1992]
  8 Mirrors - early draft, [ca. 1992]
  9 Mirrors - draft, [ca. 1992]
  10 Mirrors - Chapters 1 - 17, [ca. 1992]
  11 Mirrors - Chapters 18-30, [ca. 1992]
  12 Mirrors (Chapters 1 -13) [1 of 2 folders], [ca. 1992]
  13 Mirrors (Chapters 14-25) [2 of 2 folders], [ca. 1992]

Return to Top

     Articles 1967-2000

Box Folder  
10 14 Calgary Magazine, 1982-1984
  15 The Canadian, 1976-1979
  16 Canadian Living, 1979-1980
Box Folder  
11 1 Canadian Motorist, 1973-1986
  2 Canadian Theatre Review, 1983
  3 Carbons, early magazine work, 1974-1979
  4 Carbons - Festival Articles, OAC, 1973-1977
  5 Chatelaine, 1967-1989
  6 The City Magazine, 1977-1978
  7 City Woman, [ca. 1978]
  8 Homemakers', 1980-1984
  9 Homemakers' II, 1974-1981
  10 Maclean's, 1973-1975
  11 Miss Chatelaine, 1977-1979
  12 Motion Magazine (film), 1973-1975
  13 1001 Decorating Ideas, 1976-1979
  14 Ontario Living, 1987
  15 Reader's Digest, 1975-1983
  16 Saturday Night, 1989
  17 Toronto Life, 1975-1982
  18 United Church Observer, 1979-1988
  19 Star Column, 1974-1976
  20 Georgian Bay Newsletter, 1992-1993
  21 Tear Sheets, 1978-2000
  22 Tear Sheets, 1979-1999
  23 Tear Sheets, 1974-1997
  24 Tear Sheets, 1973-1995
  25 Tear Sheets, 1974-1992
  26 Articles, 1987-1997
  27 Tear Sheets, 1977-1996
  28 Summer Soap, 1979
Box Folder  
12 1 Star Soaps, 1978 - 1979
  2 "Time Bomb" - Newspaper Series, 1981
  3 Old Lady Caper, 1979
  4 "Child Mother", 1977 - 1982
  5 Parkdale Series, 1980 - 1981
  6 "Woman - Either/Or", 1982
  7 Articles, 1985 - [1990?]
  8 Articles, 1972 - [199-?]

Return to Top


     Poetry 1940-1999
 

Box Folder  
12 9 Early Poetry, [194-?] -[197-?]
  10 Poetry - Early Stuff, [1940-1980]
  11 Physiotherapy - Poetry, 1980
  12 Poetry Notebooks, [ca. 1976]
  13 New Poetry, [ca. 1960-1980]
  14 Young Lover Poems, [198-?]
  15 Poetry - Edited [Something Might Happen], 1988
  16 Awe Like Fear - Poetry, [198-?]
  17 Early Drafts - Awe Like Fear (Something Might Happen), [198-?]
  18 Poetry - Awe Like Fear, [198-?]
  19 Revelations - the impetus, [199-?]
  20 Poetry, [199-?]
  21 Poetry - Banff, [ca. 1970-1990]
  22 Poetry that became Speculum, 1976
  23 Speculum, 1992
  24 Survival (early draft of Speculum), [ca. 1992]
Box Folder  
13 1 Women's Voices - Women's Studies, 1994
  2 Women's Voices, 1995
  3 Voices - Copies, [1995?]
  4 Occasional Poetry, 1999
  5 Letter to W. H. Auden [is actually to Riel], [ca. 1960-1980]

Return to Top
     
Puppet Plays 1964-[1979]

 

Box Folder  
13 6 Puppet Plays, 1964-1966
  7 Puppet Plays, 1968-1973
  8 Puppet Plays [Don't Just Stand There, Jiggle!], [1979]

Return to Top

     Theatre [196-?]-1997
 

Box Folder  
13 9 Branweaver, [ca. 1960-1970]
  10 White Bread, [196-?]
  11 Brand - fragment, [196-?]
  12 As For Me and My House - Copy of First Draft, [ca. 1962]
  13-14 As For Me And My House, [ca. 1962]
  15 Canada First, 1962-1963
  16 George Dandin, [1964?]-1980
  17 George Dandin, [1964?]
  18 Ding Dong There's A Dandin in the Well, [1964?]
  19 Dark Side, 1962-1967
  20 Kingsayer - script, [1967?]
  21 Kingsayer # 1, 1970-1975
  22 Kingsayer # 2, 1969-1978
  23 An Enemy of the People, [1970]
  24 Dinner For Two - Play, [197-?]
  25 Mark # 1, [1972?]
Box Folder  
14 1 Mark # 2, [1972?]-1981
  2 Mark # 3, 1972-1979
  3 Signy, 1969-1973
  4 Horsburgh #1, 1971-1981
  5 Horsburgh - Notes, 1974
  6 Horsburgh #2, 1971-1981
  7 Horsburgh Notes, [ca. 1974]
  8 Horsburgh #3, [ca. 1974]
  9-10 Beowulf, [ca. 1977]
  11 Beowulf, 1975-1976
  12 O. O. Broadway Script (with autographs), [ca. 1977]
  13-14 New Beowulf and Staging, 1976-[ca. 1980]
  15 The Old Woman and The Pedlar, 1977-1980
  16 The Old Woman and The Pedlar, [ca. 1975-1977]
  17 Toronto/Soaps - Notes, Songs, 1976-1977
  18 Soap Bubbles - Rough Notes, [1979?]
Box Folder  
15 1 Soap Bubbles - Notes, [1979?]
  2 Soap Bubbles, [1979?]
  3-4 Soap Bubbles - Script, 1979
  5 Soap Bubbles - Second Script, 1979
  6 Soap Bubbles II, [1979?]
  7 Soap Bubbles - Master Copy, 1979
  8 Soap Bubbles -Master Script, July 1981, 1981
  9 Double Swap - First Drafts, [1979?]
  10-11 Double Swap, [1979?]
  12 Double Swap, 1979
  13 Double Swap - Script, [1979?]
  14 Double Swap - Director - corrected copy, [1979?]
  15 Double Swap - Miscellaneous, 1979-1985
  16 Blind Spot, 1977
  17 Blind Spot, 1982-1985
Box Folder  
16 1 Blind Spot, [1980-1982?]
  2 Blind Spot (Waiting Room), [ca. 1980]
  3 Second Shepherd's Play, 1977-1989
  4 Second Shepherd's Play, 1979-1993
  5 Second Shepherd's Play - 1st draft, [1981?]
  6 The Second Shepherd's Play - Drafts, Poetry, [1980?]
  7 2 SP [Second Shepherd's Play] (Arcane), 1981
  8 2SP [Second Shepherd's Play] for Ottawa, 1981
  9 Ottawa - 2SP [Second Shepherd's Play], 1981-1988
  10 Child Mother, [ca. 1980]
  11 Semi-Private, 1972-1982
  12 Semi-Private [ca. 1980]
  13 Stop Me If You Can1981
  14 A Place on Earth - Research, [ca. 1979]
  15 A Place on Earth - Drafts, 1979-[ca. 1982]
  16 A Place on Earth 1980-1995
  17 Parkdale Project/ Time Bomb (play), 1981
  18 Time Bomb (Early draft), [1981?]
  19 Time Bomb #1, 1982-1986
  20 The Time Bomb Is Me [ca. 1981]
Box Folder  
17 1 The Time Bomb Is Me, 1982
  2 New Play Centre Workshop - Work in Progress, 1982
  3 Time Bomb - Clippings, 1985-1986
  4 Time Bomb - Newspaper Tear Sheets, 1981
  5 Kohai Project - Notebook, 1983
  6 Brock School Play Project, 1981-1983
  7 Artists in the Schools - Kohai Play, 1983
  8 Magic In Room Six, [1983?]
  9 Temptation of Carol Hamilton, 1983
  10 Murphy - Vancouver Notes, [ca. 1979]
  11 A Very Special Person - 2nd Draft, 1982
  12 Emily Murphy - 1st draft, 1979
  13 A Very Special Person - Script - 1979, 1979
  14 A Very Special Person - Script - 1980, 1980-1983
  15 Emily Murphy # 1, 1979-1981
  16 A Very Special Person - Fall '82 Draft, 1982
  17 A Very Special Person - Script - Fall 1983, 1983
  18 A Very Special Person - Script, [ca. 1983]
  19 Emily Murphy # 2, [ca. 1980]
  20 Double Vision - Notes, [ca. 1986]
  21 Double Vision, [ca. 1986]
Box Folder  
18 1 Double Vision - Theatre Direct, 1985
  2-3 Double Vision Drafts, [ca. 1986]
  4 Boy [ in a Cage ], 1986-1988
  5 Boy in a Cage (early work, correspondence), 1980-1987
  6 Boy in a Cage II, 1980-1986
  7-8 Boy in a Cage, [1986?]
  9 Boy In A Cage - Opera/Play, [1986?]-1991
  10 Boy In A Cage - Prairie Opera, 1994-1997
  11 Boy In A Cage - Score, 1987
  12 Jason ( Boy [ in a cage ]) - Toronto Fringe '91, 1990-1991
  13 Karen Blixen, [ca. 1984]
  14 The Pact - Stage Play - early draft, [ca. 1984]
  15 The Pact - Play, [ca. 1984]
  16 The Pact - script, [ca. 1987]
  17 The Pact - CDN Stage, 1993
Box Folder  
19 1 The Pact - Radio Series - "Sibbe", 1984
  2 Steps (earlier draft), [ca. 1987]
  3 Steps, [1979?]
  4 Steps, 1987
  5 Alice - Notes, 1989-1990
  6 A Native of the James Family - 1st Draft, 1989
  7 A Native of the James Family - Drafts, 1990
  8 Alice [A Native of the James Family], 1990
  9 Alice James, [1989]-1994
  10 Veranda - Notes, 1982-1990
  11 Veranda - Draft, 1982-[1990?]
  12 Veranda - Script, [1990?]
  13 Veranda, [1989 or 1990]
  14 Veranda, [ca.1990]-1994
  15 Survival/Skirmish for Fringe w/ Lisa Bunting, 1991
  16 Grace Under Pressure, [ca. 1991]
Box Folder  
20 1 Grace Under Pressure - Waterloo Playhouse, [ca. 1991]
  2-3 Grace Under Pressure, [ca. 1991]
  4 Grace Under Pressure - Money Farce, 1990
  5-6 Xmas w/ Gloria, 1992
  7 Angel ( of Death ), [1993?]
  8 Androgyne - notes, [ca. 1984]
  9 Androgyne - Earlier draft, [ca. 1993]
  10 Androgyne, 1994
  11 Androgyne, [1994?]

Return to Top

     

Box Folder  
20 12 Play With A Tiger, [196-?]
  13 1st Drafts (Betty Jane's Diary), [1978-1982]
  14 To Everything There Is A Season, 1978-1981
  15 BJ's Diary Scripts, 1978-1993
  16 BJ's Diary Scripts, 1978-1981

     Radio, [ca. 1965]-1993

Box Folder  
21 1 BJ's Diary (Middle Age), 1978-1981
  2 Radio Talks, [ca. 1965]
  3 BJ's Diary, 1978-1991
  4 BJ's Diary, 1978-1981
  5 BJ's Diary Scripts, 1978-1981
  6 BJ's Diary, 1978-1981
  7 Homilies, 1978-1981
  8 Mountain Woman - Radio Scripts, [1987?]
  9 Mary Schaffer Warren, [1987?]
  10 V. O. N. Script, 1987
  11 Help Is On the Way - Outline, [1989?]
  12 Help Is On the Way, [1991?]
  13-14 Help Is On the Way - drafts, 1989
  15 Hospital SeriesHelp Is On the Way [1 of 2 folders], [1989?]
Box Folder  
22 1 Hospital Series : Help Is On the Way [2 of 2 folders], [1989?]
  2 CBC Flurry w/ " Help is On the Way ", 1990-1991
  3 Passages, 1991
  4 How to Speak Male - notes/clippings/book, 1989-1990
  5-6 How to Speak Male, [1989?]
  7-8 Understanding Men, [1989?]
  9 How to Speak Male - Radio Play, [1989?]
  10 How to Speak Male - CBC, [1989?]
  11 CBC Voices [ of Canadian Women ], 1992-1993

Return to Top

     Television [196-?] - 2000
 

Box Folder  
22 12 Sylvia Segal, [196-?]
  13 T V Play, 1962
  14 I See You, I See You, [ca. 1970]
  15 I See You, I See You, 1964-1966
  16 Potter's Field Day, 1967
  17 Winter and Martha, 1971-1978
  18 Double Helping - TV Sitcom Pilot, 1991
  19 Breakthrough Films, 1991-1992
  20 Film, T. V. - Barterhouse, [1993?]
Box Folder  
23 1-2 Coming of Age, 1992
  3 Coming of Age - Shooting Script, [1993?]
  4 Coming of Age, 1992
  5 Workbook Fall '92, 1992
  6 Aging, 1991
  7 Coming of Age, 1992
  8 Coming of Age, [1992?]
  9 Coming of Age - Final Draft, 1993
  10 More Coming of Age, 1992-1993
  11 Breakthrough Films - Coming of Age - Bound, 1992
  12 Coming of Age - Senior's Secretariat, 1994
  13 Discover Choices Discussion Guide, 1993
  14 Discover Choices - Coming of Age - notes for script, 1993-1994
  15 Coming of Age Discussion Guide (Senior's Secretariat), 1993-1994
  16 A Movie Never Made, [ca. 1995]
  17 Shadow Lake (Beginning Again) , 1995-1996
  18 Shadow Lake - Research, 1996
  19 Shadow Lake - Back Stories, 1995
  20-21 Shadow Lake # 1, 1995
  22 Shadow Lake - Treatments, 1995
  23 Shadow Lake - outlines, 1996
  24 Shadow Lake - Draft, 1995
  25 Shadow Lake - Draft 2, 1996
Box Folder  
24 1 Shadow Lake - Script, 1996
  2 Shadow Lake # 3, 1996
  3 Shadow Lake [Novella - Ghost written by Wylie], 1997
  4 Moral Intelligence of Children - Vision TV Project, 1997
  5 Vision TV Report and Crosstalk, 1998
  6 Shadow Lake - Scripts, [1996?]
  7 Women, Lifestyle, & Money, 1999-2000
  8 Paradise Falls Outlines, 1994-1997
  9 Paradise Falls Outlines, [1996?]
  10 Paradise Falls - Notes, 1996
  11 Paradise Falls - Notes, 1996
  12 Paradise Mall - Episode 1, 1996-1997
  13 Paradise Falls # 1, 2000
  14 Paradise Falls # 2, 1996
  15 Paradise Falls # 3, 1996

Return to top

     Short Stories, [1974?]-1995
 

Box Folder  
24 16 Early Stories, [ca. 1974 - 1980]
  17 Almost Home, [1974?] - [1975?]
  18 Almost Home, [1975?] - [1995?]
  19 Stories - Workshop, [1975?] - [1995?]
  20 Almost Home, [1975?] - [1995?]
  21 Regaining Paradise, 1995

Return to Top


     Speeches, Readings, Talks, [ca. 1970]-2000
 

Box Folder  
24 22 Reading Material, [ca.1970-2000]
  23 Speeches, Seminars, Readings, 1970-1999
  24 Notebooks, 1976-[1994?]
Box Folder  
25 1 M. D. R. T. Speech, 1978
  2 Speeches, [ca. 1980]-1994
  3 Speeches, 1979-1988
  4 Notes for NACS Talk (first draft), [1990?]
  5 Palliative Care, 1994-1995
  6 Mexico Symposium, 1998
  7 Viking Gala, 2000

Return to Top

     Press, 1962-2000

Box Folder  
25 8 Press - Plays, 1977-1997
  9 Reviews - More, more, more, 1979-1999
  10 Trans-Tasman Theatre Guide , 1985
  11 Press Clippings, 1969-2000
  12 Press, 1966-1997
  13 Press Clippings, 1986-2000
  14 Press - Reviews, 1978-1990
  15 Press - Appearances, 1977-1996
  16 Press - Reviews, Promotion, 1969-1997
  17 Press - Reviews/Clippings/Pix - Books, 1984-1996
  18 Encore Clippings, 1979-1980
  19 Money Book Clippings, 1984-1992
  20 Beginnings Clippings, 1977-1994
  21 Veranda Clippings, 1990
  22 New Beginnings - Reviews/Clippings, 1991
  23 Singles Clippings, 1986-1987
  24 Men! Clippings, 1993
  25 Writer-in- Library - Burlington - Clippings/Flyers, 1987-1988
  26 Cheese Book Clippings, 1984
  27 Book of Matthew Clippings, 1984-1985
  28 Posters, Clippings, Programmes, 1962-1999

Return to Top

     Miscellaneous, 1964-2000

Box Folder  
25 29
Daddy's Writing, 1964
  30 Style, [197-?]
  31 Early Writing Courses , [ca. 1972]-1981
Box Folder  
26 1 Canada Council [theatre reviews], 1974-1984
  2 Ontario Arts Council, 1976
  3 Spring Thaw Ideas, [ca.1977]
  4 Toronto Star Reviews (by me), 1979-1998
  5 Singles, [ca. 1978]
  6 Sex, [198-?]
  7 Widowers, 1980
  8 Carbon Barbie Allen Book, 1981
  9 Miscellaneous Writing, 1981-1982
  10 Freefall, [ca.1983]
  11 Balancing Act, [ca. 1988]
  12 Rich Witch, [199-?]
  13 Where Is Everything?, 1990-1991
  14 Memoirs, 1991
  15 Writing, 1993-1995
  16 Ideas - fish that got away, 1995
  17 "Pataphysics" - correspondence with Shields and Harrison, 1998-1999
  18 Copy, [199-?]
  19 Miscellaneous - Chat line - bits and pieces, 1978-2000
  20 Essays - Book?, [betw. 1980-2000]

Return to Top

     Catalogues, Journals, Publications, 1959-2000

Box Folder  
26 21 The Fiddlehead, Fall 1963
  22 The Fiddlehead, Summer 1962
  23 The Fiddlehead, Fall 1962
  24 The Fiddlehead, Winter 1966
  25 Canadian Titles - Winter 1997/98 Macmillan Canada, 1997-1998
  26 Books for Everybody - Quill & Quire, [ca. 1984]
  27 Oxford Books - Spring & Summer 1984 Don Mills, ON: Oxford University Press, 1984
  28 Autumn Books 1979 McClelland & Stewart - The Canadian Publishers Toronto: McClelland & Stewart Ltd., 1979
  29 Books of the Season for Prairie Readers - McNally Robinson, 2000
  30 Key Porter - Spring 1995
  31 Key Porter Books - Spring 1987
  32 Red Deer College Press - New Titles & Selected Backlist - Spring 1991
  33 Key Porter Books - Spring 1989
  34 Key Porter Books - Fall 1988
  35 The Icelandic Canadian - Summer 1993
  36 The Icelandic Canadian - Spring 1994
  37 Manitoba Pageant - January 1963 Volume 8, Number 2 1963
  38 Manitoba Pageant - January 1959
  39 The Canadian Forum, March 1962
  40 Puppeteers of America 1967 - Canadian Centennial Festival, Waterloo, ON, 1967
  41 The Puppetry Journal - January/February 1969
  42 The Puppetry Journal - May-June 1970
  43 Waterloo Community Playhouse - Grace Under Pressure Jan10-18, 1992
  44 Waterloo Community Playhouse - Veranda Jan 23-Feb 3,. 1990
  45 The Right Speaker Toronto: Laura M. Ferrier & Associates [ca. 1990]
  46 Arts List: A Directory of Performing Arts Attractions for Schools 1977-78
  47 Performance - A Handbook of the Performing Arts in New Zealand 1981 and 1982 Wellington N. Z.: The Association of Community Theatres, 1981
  48 Canadore College's Artsperience '91, 1991
  49 Directory of Canadian Plays & Playwrights - Tenth Anniversary Edition Toronto: Playwrights Canada, 1981
  50 Playwrights' Union of Canada Catalogue 1985/6
  51 The Guild of Canadian Playwrights - Workshop Survey 1979-80 Toronto: Guild of Canadian Playwrights, 1980
  52 The Writers' Union of Canada - 20th Anniversary Commemorative Program 1973-1993Toronto: The Writers' Union of Canada, 1993
  53 Guild of Canadian Playwrights - Members' Catalogue Toronto: Guild of Canadian Playwrights,1979
  54 Canadian Plays For Young Audiences Toronto: Playwrights' Union of Canada, 1993
  55 Catalogue of Plays - Playwrights Canada Press Toronto: Playwrights Canada Press, 1990
  56 The 9th Annual Gemini Awards Program 1995 - The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, 1995
  57 Reaching Out - Deja Demain 1982 - Mutual Life of Canada Convention 1982
  58 Book of Abstracts - Rediscovering Canada - The Sixth Triennial Conference of the Nordic Association for Canadian Studies, The University of Iceland, Reykjavik, 5-8 August, 1999 - University of Aarhus, 1999
  59 Women's Studies & Research on Women in the Nordic Countries 1994-95
  60 Islendingadagurinn 1993 Official Souvenir Program 1993
  61 The 19th Annual YWCA Women of Distinction Awards - Inspiring Women to Achieve, 1999
  62 Robert Fulford - An Introduction to the Arts in Canada Toronto: Copp Clark Publishing, 1977.
  63 Ontario Arts Council Annual Report 1973-74 Tenth Anniversary Toronto: Ontario Arts Council,1974
  64 Canadian House & Home - Summer 1994
  65 The Middle Years: From the Human Journey Series - London Life [198-?]
  66 Stratford Festival Story 1953-1978
  67 1972 Stratford Festival - Twentieth Season 1972

Return to Top

     Computer Diskettes [ca. 1985]-2000
 

Box Folder  
26 68 Androgyne - Mar./ 1994
  69 Back-up - Articles, 1992-1994
  70 Boy in a Cage, [ca. 1989]
  71 Boy in a Cage, Mary Schaffer, Gloria , [ca. 1989]
  72 Back-up - CBC Memories of Canada - 3 Women Diarists - Feb/93, 1992-1993
  73 Film Files - Barter House, 1991-1992
  74 Coming of Age, 1992
  75 Seniors' Guide - Back-up, 1993
  76 SR Backup for (Toronto) 12/12/93, 1993
  77 Cookbook: 1st Draft - Jan '96, 1996
  78 Cookbook March/96 - Solo: Cooking for One (2nd draft), 1993-1996
  79 Solo: Cooking for One WP60 - Betty Jane Wylie - March 21/96, 1996
  80 Solo Chef by Betty Jane Wylie - Disk File 1-5 - WP60 - April 16 1996
  81 Solo Chef - Bibliography, Title Page, Addenda - May 17/96, 1996
  82 Cookbook Back-up, 1996
  83 1) Cookbook Back-up '96, 1996
  84 2) Cookbook Back-up '97, 1996
  85 Another Disk of Enough - MS Word 2.1, 1997
  86 V. S. 1st Back-up - Sept/97, 1997
  87 Enough (final draft) - November '97, 1997-1998
  88 Family Book - Nov. 1996
  89 Family Book Back-Up - Nov/96, 1996
  90 Family Book Back-Up - Nov/96, 1996
  91 Back-up - Gloria - Mar '93 - Voices - Poems, 1993
  92 Ice Letters - back-up - Dec 23/98, 1998
  93 Letters to Icelanders by Betty Jane Wylie - Feb. 1, 1999
  94 Letters to Icelanders - Wylie - March/99, 1999
  95 Letters to Icelanders 1999, 1996-1999
  96 Icelandic Book Back-up, 1994
  97 Mary - Radio Play, [ca. 1985-2000]
  98 Mary 2 - Radio Play, [ca. 1985-2000]
  99 Back-up Money Book - Lynne's Corrections - Aug. 19/94, 1994
  100 Money Book Revised Edition - Fall '94, 1994
  101 Back-up - Paradise Stories '95, 1994-1995
  102 Back-up - Paradise Mall - Characters/3 Episodes, 1996
  103 Paradise Mall, 1996
  104 Back-up - Paradise Falls , 1997
  105 Paradise Falls - Episodes 46, 47, 48 (final drafts) August/ 2000
  106 Diaries - Backup/Keepers, 1992-1996
  107 Back-up Self - New Draft, 1992
  108 Jan '94: Lines draft before rewrites, 1993
  109 Back-up Lines Book, 1993
  110 final (?) draft of Lines - Jan/Feb/ 1994
  111 Back-up Lines (corrections) - Oct/ 1994
  112 Lines - Dec. '94 (Toronto Back-Up), 1994-1995
  113 Final draft of Reading Between the Lines - December/94, 1994-1996
  114 Countdown on Lines, 1997
  115 Women's Voices - Incomplete, 1992-1994
  116 Back-up - CBC Voices - 3 Episodes, 1992-1993
  117 CBC Morningside, CDN Voice Drafts, 1992-1993
  118 Writers' Guide Back-up - December '96 1996
  119 Writers' Guide Book Back-up, 1997
  120 The Writers' Guide - all files in Lotus & in WP 5.1 - Betty Jane Wylie, 1997
  121 Wylie: Writers' Guide - Lotus & WP 5.1, 1997

Return to Top


     Photograph Collection (PC 150) 1981-1995
 

Box Folder  
1 1 "Coming of Age", [1994?]
  2 B. J. Wylie, " Coming of Age " 79:30 minutes, [1994?]
  3 Grace Under Pressure - Waterloo Community Playhouse - Jan. 1992
  4 YWCA Women of Distinction Awards 1999 - Recipient - Betty Jane Wylie - 2 minutes, 1999
  5 Betty Jane Wylie MTN-WPG - Reading Between the Lines, May 1, 1995
  6 Boy In A Cage (Nichols & Wylie) Prairie Opera - April 1995
  7 Betty Jane Wylie - Golden Opportunities - May 25, 1994
  8 CKVR - Coming of Age - October 3 - 79:30 mins, 1993
  9 CKVR - The Making of "Coming of Age" - July 6, 1993 - 30:00 mins 1993
  10 CKVR - Three Themes - "Women & Money" - IVR Co. Production - Dec. 7/95 - 2 mins - News Story, 1995
  11 The Great Debate - 60 Min 4/7/81 1981
  12 "Its Your Library " - Host: Jeanne Scargal, Guest: Betty Jane Wylie - 25:00 min Colour Audio on Channel 1, n.d.

Return to Top

     Tape Collection (TC 95) 1974, [1976?]-[ca. 1989]
Compact Discs, 1974
 

Box Folder  
1 1 Beowulf - A Musical Epic - Highlights -- Music by Victor Davies, 1 1 Lyrics by Betty Jane Wylie, 1974

Audio Cassettes, [1976?] - [ca. 1989]
 

Box Folder  
1 2 "When You Touch Me" -- Betty Jane Wylie/K. Nichols, 1986
  3 Boy in a Cage -- Nichols/ Wylie, [1988?]
  4 Boy in a Cage -- Betty Jane Wylie, K. Nichols, 1988
  5 Boy in a Cage - Scenes I - IV -- Wylie/Nichols, 1987
  6 [The Horsburgh Scandal] Act I, Act II, [1976?]
  7 "Rest of Act II - Horsburgh", [1976?]
  8 Stereo Theatre - How to Speak Male, [ca. 1989]
  9 Second Shepherd's Play Excerpts -- Betty Jane Wylie and Quenten Doolittle, [1981?]
  10 Second Shepherd's Play -- Wylie-Doolittle, [1981?]
  11 Soap Bubbles - Demo Tape -- Davies and Wylie, [1979?]
  12 Emily Murphy, [ca. 1980]

     Audio Reels [1964?]
 

Box Folder  
1 13 George Dandin - Betty Jane Wylie, [1964?]

     Vinyl Records 1974
 

Box Folder  
1 14 Excerpts from Beowulf - Daffodil Records, 1974

Return to Top