The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of his papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collection
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
(2011)
Finding aid encoded by Lewis St. George Stubbs (2011)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Collection Summary
Biography of Betty Jane Wylie
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Restrictions on Access
Restrictions on Use
Custodial History
Detailed Description of the Collection
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION & AWARDS 1952-2004
PLAY, OPERA, TELEVISION & FILM SCRIPTS 1974-2010
WRITING 1961-2009
ORGANIZATIONS 1973-2007
DIARIES - BUNTING INSTITUTE 1961
CORRESPONDENCE 1987-2010
DAY PLANNERS & JOURNALS 1977-2007
BOOKS 1965-2003
EPHEMERA 1982
PHOTOGRAPHS & VIDEOCASSETTES (PC 150)
TAPE COLLECTION (TC 95) 1979-2002
ELECTRONIC RECORDS (EL 29) 2000
Collection Summary
Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collection
331 Elizabeth Dafoe
Creator:
Betty Jane Wylie
Title:
Betty Jane Wylie fonds
Dates:
1961-2010
Quantity:
3.6 m. of textual & other material including 21 photographs, 7 videocassettes, 11 audiocassettes, 1 CD & 2 computer discs.
Identification:
MSS 144, PC 150, TC 95, EL 29 A.10-91
Return to Top
Biography of Betty Jane Wylie
Betty Jane Wylie (nee McKenty) was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba in 1931. She attended the University of Manitoba where she earned a B.A. (Hons.) in French and English in 1951. She completed an M.A. in English in 1952, majoring in 20th century poetry, with minors in Anglo-Saxon and Old Norse. Soon after graduation in 1952, Wylie married William Tennant (Bill) Wylie, with whom she eventually had four children. For the first part of their marriage, the Wylies resided in Winnipeg where Bill Wylie was manager of the Manitoba Theatre Centre. They then moved from Winnipeg to Stratford, Ontario in 1968, where Bill Wylie served as administrative director of the Stratford Festival Theatre until his death in 1973. While married, and raising her four children, Wylie found some time to write poetry and plays, but Bill Wylie's sudden and unexpected death in 1973 caused her to take up writing as a career.
While coming to terms with her husband's death, Wylie wrote Beginnings: A Book for Widows (1977), which went through several editions, and has been published in six countries. Since then, Wylie has published books of various types such as children's books, cookbooks, self-help, and other non-fiction books. Over three dozen of her plays have been produced. During the 1989-1990 academic year, Wylie had a fellowship at the Bunting Institute, now part of Harvard University. She was one of only a handful of Canadians ever accepted as a fellow. At the Bunting Institute, Wylie began work on her book about women's diaries, Reading Between the Lines, by taking a Harvard seminar for fourteen invited participants on diaries. Her Bunting symposium took the form of a play about Alice James, performed twice unofficially in Boston and in Cambridge, and published by Playwright's Press as "A Native of the James Family".
Wylie has also been involved in radio and television productions, including a television movie called Coming of Age that aired on TMN (1994) and Global (1995), and won two Gemini Awards. She won the University of Manitoba Alumni Association's Alumni Jubilee Award in 1989. In 2003 she was the recipient of a D. Litt from the University of Manitoba and was named a member of the Order of Canada.
Return to Top
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The fonds consists of 12 series. They include: Biographical information & awards, Play, opera, television & film scripts, writing, Organizations, Diaries Bunting Institute, Correspondence, Day Planners & Journals, Books, Ephemera, Photographs & Videcassettes, Tapes & Electronic Records.
Return to Top
Restrictions on Access
There are no restrictions on access.
Return to Top
Restrictions on Use
There are no restriction on use.
Return to Top
Custodial History
The fonds was donated by Betty Jane Wylie in 2010.
Return to Top
Detailed Description of the Collection
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION & AWARDS [1952-2004]
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Wylie's vitae 1987-1997 |
| 2 | Submissions & CVs ca.1990 | |
| 3 | Awards including D. Litt from the University of Manitoba & Order of Canada 2002-2004 | |
| 4 | Wylie's M.A. thesis - The Critical Attitudes of W.H. Auden 1952 |
Return to Top
PLAY, OPERA, TELEVISION & FILM SCRIPTS 1974-2010
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 5 | Lorraine draft (later Size 10) ca.1974 |
| 6 | Research material for Size 10 1977-1980 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | The Temptation of Carol Hamilton/ Size 10 1983 |
| 2 | Size 10 ca.1983 | |
| 3 | What's so Great about Size 10 1976 | |
| 4 | The Temptation of Carol Hamilton ca.1980 | |
| 5 | The Temptation of Carol Hamilton - work pages for a film 2003 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 1 | The Temptation of Carol Hamilton ca.1990 |
| 2 | Grace Under Pressure 1992 | |
| 3 | Grace Under Pressure 1998-2000 | |
| 4 | Grace Under Pressure - Reading 2000 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 1 | Help is on the Way ca.2000 |
| 2 | Help is on the Way - A soap serial for the stage in 6 episodes ca.2000 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 1 | Heart of Stone - film script ca.1994 |
| 2 | Heart of Stone ca.2000 | |
| 3 | Heart of Stone ca.2000 | |
| 4 | Boy in a Cage - opera script music by Ken Nichols 1987 | |
| 5 | Boy in a Cage 1987 | |
| 6 | Boy in a Cage 1994 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 1 | Soap Bubbles 1979 |
| 2 | Soap Bubbles 1979 | |
| 3 | Soap Bubbles - second version 1984 | |
| 4 | Soap Bubbles a musical comedy - music by Victor Davies 1984 | |
| 5 | Soap Bubbles - correspondence 1999 | |
| 6 | Steps 1982-1985 | |
| 7 | Steps - correspondence 1984 | |
| 8 | Steps ca.1990 | |
| 9 | Stop Me If You Can 2002 | |
| 10 | Stop Me If You Can 2002 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 1 | Mark 1972 |
| 2 | Mark - festival 1972 | |
| 3 | Beowulf music by Victor Davies 1977 | |
| 4 | Beowulf 2003-2006 | |
| 5 | The Book of Mathew 1986 | |
| 6 | The Book of Mathew - Breakthrough films 1992 | |
| 7 | The Book of Mathew 2002 | |
| 8 | Speculum- correspondence 1996 | |
| 9 | Speculum ca.1998 | |
| 10 | Woodgreen - CBC radio script 1991 | |
| 11 | Peggy Woodgreen 2004 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 8 | 1 | The Old Woman & the Pedlar & Kingsaver - PLaywrights Coop 1977 |
| 2 | Double Swap with Michael Cole 1979 | |
| 3 | "A Very Special Person" Emily Murphy a musical comedy with Beth Palmer 1979 | |
| 4 | "A Very Special Person" 1979 | |
| 5 | An Adaptation of Moliere's George Dandin - translated by Wylie ca.1980 | |
| 6 | Blind Spot ca.1980 | |
| 7 | Semi-Private ca.1980 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 9 | 1 | Summer soapnotes ca.1980 |
| 2 | John of a Thousand Faces ca.1980 | |
| 3 | The King & the Computer ca.1981 | |
| 4 | The Second Shepherd's Play - music by Quentin Dooloittle 1981 | |
| 5 | The Second Shepherd's Play 1981 | |
| 6 | A Place on Earth 1982 | |
| 7 | My Best Friend's Wife 1986 | |
| 8 | Time Bomb - old draft 1986 | |
| 9 | CBC scripts & correspondence 1989-1990 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 10 | 1 | Victoria Order of Nurses ca.1990 |
| 2 | Signy ca.1990 | |
| 3 | Blizzard - CBC Morningside 199 | |
| 4 | Veranda ca.1990 | |
| 5 | Androgyne Play - summerworks Toronto ca.1990 | |
| 6 | Death & Dying on the Life Channel ca.1990 | |
| 7 | Alice James play & business correspondence 1991-2003 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 11 | 1 | Radio plays 1991-2004 |
| 2 | Film scripts 1992 | |
| 3 | Crossing Over - Donald Martin documentary 1993 | |
| 4 | Film ideas sent to Accent Entertainment 1994 | |
| 5 | Opera & musicals correspondence 1995-2005 | |
| 6 | Fodor the Photographer TV series idea 1997-2002 | |
| 7 | Kate Rice, prospector 1997-2003 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 12 | 1 | Film ideas ca.2000 |
| 2 | The Discovery Trunk ca.2000 | |
| 3 | Recovering Paradise 2000 | |
| 4 | Mary Schaffer - Mountain Woman - film script 2002-2004 | |
| 5 | Christmas with Gloria 2004-2006 | |
| 6 | Gotcha opera - Dennis Fung 2005 | |
| 7 | Tapestry new opera works - Librato Labratory 2005 |
Return to Top
WRITING 1961-2009
| Box | Folder | |
| 13 | 1 | Article - Paradise Revisited in Gourmet magazine 1961 |
| 2 | Submissions book 1962-1986 | |
| 3 | Employment pitches 1977-2002 | |
| 4 | Article - The Frill of It All in City Magazine 1977 | |
| 5 | Stories & occasional pieces 1977-2001 | |
| 6 | Contracts 1977-2003 | |
| 7 | Guild of Canadian Playwrights - members catalogue 1978 | |
| 8 | The First Twenty-One Years - Manitoba Theatre Centre - Wylie interviewed 1978 | |
| 9 | 2 Articles - The New Volunteers & Furs & Company in City Woman 1978 | |
| 10 | Stratford Festival Story 1953-1980 | |
| 11 | Queries & submissions 1980-2001 | |
| 12 | Where is Everything - a booklet by Wylie 1980 | |
| 13 | Canada's Playwrights' A Biographical Guide - CTR Publications at York University 1980 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 14 | 1 | Mental Cruelty - unfinished novel ca.1980 |
| 2 | Family Quotations research material [1980-1990] | |
| 3 | Lines & Quotations [1980-1990] | |
| 4 | Manuscripts - Recovering Paradise ca.1980 | |
| 5 | Women's Quotations 1980-1990 | |
| 6 | Debbie Allen Dance/Exercise - Wylie was ghost writer 1982 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 15 | 1 | Literary Press Group catalogue 1983 |
| 2 | Rejection letters 1985-1995 | |
| 3 | Journal of Palliative Care - notes 1986-1988 | |
| 4 | Article: A Playwright's Guide to Workshop Survival: - Canadian Theatre Review 1986 | |
| 5 | Submissions & pitches 1989-2005 | |
| 6 | Fan mail 1989-2004 | |
| 7 | Quotations - The Telling of Self Thoughts ca.1980 | |
| 8 | Acceptance letters 1989-2003 | |
| 9 | Financial reports [1990s] | |
| 10 | Catalogue of Canadian Plays - Playwrights Union of Canada 1991 | |
| 11 | Key Porter Books catalogue 1991 | |
| 12 | Playwrights in Schools 1992-1993 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 16 | 1 | Speeches & interview 1993 - 2009 |
| 2 | Speeches & notes 1994 - 2003 | |
| 3 | Speaking engagements 1993 - 2006 | |
| 4 | History of rejections 1995 | |
| 5 | Rejections 1995 - 2009 | |
| 6 | Women in the Media Conference - Toronto 1995 | |
| 7 | Article - Age Can Not Whither - in Icelandic Canadian 1995 | |
| 8 | Artsperience 95 Summer School of the Arts - Canadare College 1995 | |
| 9 | Fridge door newsletter 1996-1998 | |
| 10 | Bookings Readings 1996-2008 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 17 | 1 | Tear sheets 1996-1998 |
| 2 | Poem in a Collection of Poems from the League of Canadian Poets - Toronto - Writes of Spring 1998 | |
| 3 | Women & Money speech at Workshop - Kingston 1999 | |
| 4 | Career correspondence 1999-2006 | |
| 5 | Article - A Winter Walk on the Beach - Prairie Fire 2000 | |
| 6 | Grant applications 2000 | |
| 7 | Occasional writing [2000-2009] |
| Box | Folder | |
| 18 | 1 | The Writer's Union of Canada - Book of Canadian Quotations 2000 |
| 2 | Reviews, interviews, appearances/references 2001-2009 | |
| 3 | Magazines & correspondence 2000 | |
| 4 | Article - Downsizing the Hazards & Pleasures - CARP 55 plus 2000 | |
| 5 | Reviews 2001-2004 | |
| 6 | Revisions 2002-2004 | |
| 7 | Personal material 2002-2004 | |
| 8 | Writings 2003-2007 | |
| 9 | Poem for Don Coles in ARC 2003 | |
| 10 | Writings 2003 | |
| 11 | Tear sheets 2003-2009 | |
| 12 | Dundern publisher catologue 2003 | |
| 13 | File on the elderly 2003-2006 | |
| 14 | Playwrights Guild of Canada - correspondence 2005 | |
| 15 | The Chairs Report - Writers' Union of Canada 2007 | |
| 16 | Writers' Union of Canada Workshops 2009 |
Return to Top
ORGANIZATIONS 1973-2007
| Box | Folder | |
| 19 | 1 | Playwrights Union of Canada - Catalogue of Canadian Plays 2000 |
| 2 | Playwrights Union of Canada - Catologue of Canadian Plays 2001-2003 | |
| 3 | Directory of Canadian Plays & Playwrights 2003-2005 | |
| 4 | University Women's Club - workbook 2005-2006 | |
| 5 | University Women's Club of Toronto 2006-2007 | |
| 6 | University Women's Club of Toronto 2005-2006 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 19A | 1 | Ontario Arts Council - annual report 1973-1974 |
| 2 | Catalogue of Canadian Plays 1997-1998 | |
| 3 | Who's Who in the Playwrights Union of Canada - Directory of members 1988-1998 |
Return to Top
DIARIES - BUNTING INSTITUTE 1961
| Box | Folder | |
| 20 | 1 | The Bunting Institute of Radcliffe College - Directory 1961-1995 |
| 2 | Voices & Visions: Arts at the Mary Ingraham Bunting Institute of Radcliffe College 1962-1997 | |
| 3 | The Bunting Institute Diarists 1989-1990 | |
| 4 | Bunting Institute working paper - A Native of the James Party 1989 | |
| 5 | Bunting Institute Diary Workshop 1989-1990 | |
| 6 | Diaries Lifewriting notes ca.1990 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 21 | 1 | Diaries notes & quotes ca.1990 |
| 2 | Bibliographies for diaries ca.1991 | |
| 3 | Women's Studies research material 1993 | |
| 4 | Diaries research material 1994-2000 | |
| 5 | Reading between the Lines Women's Diaries 1998 | |
| 6 | Diaries & Journalling 1999-2001 |
Return to Top
CORRESPONDENCE 1987-2010
| Box | Folder | |
| 22 | 1 | Writer friends correspondence 1987-2008 |
| 2 | Sterling Lord 1987-1995 | |
| 3 | Joan Clark 1989-1995 | |
| 4 | Sara Stambaugh 1989-2002 | |
| 5 | Jane Rule 1989-2000 | |
| 6 | Donna Massel 1989-2006 | |
| 7 | Business corresondence 1989-2009 | |
| 8 | Writing in progress correspondence 1990-2002 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 23 | 1 | Mary Jane Moffat 1991-2000 |
| 2 | Correspondence 1992-1994 | |
| 3 | Nordic/Icelandic connections 1993-2001 | |
| 4 | Publishers 1993-2009 | |
| 5 | Millie Oliva 1995-2002 | |
| 6 | Business correspondence 1995-2008 | |
| 7 | Correspondence 1995-2009 | |
| 8 | Hebba Halldorsdottir 1995-2008 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 24 | 1 | Ken Paulson 1996-1997 |
| 2 | Donald Martin 1999-2004 | |
| 3 | Chester Duncan 1997-1999 | |
| 4 | Carolyn Gossage 1997-2009 | |
| 5 | Judy Bager 1998-2007 | |
| 6 | Xmas cards 1998-2010 | |
| 7 | John Millyard 1998-1999 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 25 | 1 | OSIEM workshop 1998-2000 |
| 2 | Lorna Tergeson 1999-2006 | |
| 3 | Grants 1999-2001 | |
| 4 | Marianne Brandis 1999-2010 | |
| 5 | Marla Hayes 1999-2009 | |
| 6 | William Wolfe-Wylie 2000-2003 | |
| 7 | J.J. Steinfeld 2000 | |
| 8 | Art Mauro 2000 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 26 | 1 |
Submissions & rejections 2000-2007
|
| 2 | Correspondence 2000-2009 | |
| 3 | U.of MB. Archives 2001-2005 | |
| 4 | Pamela Paul 2002-2006 | |
| 5 | Gwen Nagel 2003-2009 | |
| 6 | Applications & submissions 2003-2009 | |
| 7 | Audrey Charters 2003 | |
| 8 | George Montague 2003-2010 | |
| 9 | Susan Van Norman 2004 | |
| 10 |
Madeline Thompson 2004
|
|
| 11 | Marjorie Swanson 2005-2010 | |
| 12 | Family correspondence 2006-2010 | |
| 13 | Liz Wylie 2007-2009 | |
| 14 | Thank you notes 2007-2008 | |
| 15 |
Joan Mann 2009
|
|
| 16 | Access/Payback for writers claim form 2010 | |
| 17 | Sharon Batula 2010 | |
| 18 | Correspondence 2008-2010 | |
| 19 |
Meg & William Wolfe-Wylie 2003-2010
|
Return to Top
DAY PLANNERS & JOURNALS 1977-2007
| Box | Folder | |
| 27 | 1 | Day Planners 1977-1980 |
| 2 | Day Planners 1981-1987 | |
| 3 | Agenda 1988-1989 | |
| 4 | Day Planner 1989 | |
| 5 | Day Planner 1990 | |
| 6 | Day Planner 1991 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 28 | 1 | Daily Journal 1998-1999 |
| 2 | Daily Planners 1998-2002 | |
| 3 | Daily Journal 2000 | |
| 4 | Day Planner 2001 | |
| 5 | Day Planners 2001-2002 | |
| 6 | 3 month journal - weight watchers 2001-2005 | |
| 7 | Day planner 2003 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 29 | 1 | Day Planners 2003-2004 |
| 2 | Day Planners 2004-2006 | |
| 3 | Day Planners 2005 | |
| 4 | 3 month journal - weight watchers 2007 |
Return to Top
BOOKS 1965-2003
| Box | Folder | |
| 29 | 5 | Silences by Tillie Olsen contains Wylie's comments 1965 |
| 6 | The Joy of Writing - by Pierre Berton mentions Wylie 2003 |
Return to Top
EPHEMERA 1982
| Box | Folder | |
| 30 | 1 | Writer-in-Library ca.1980 |
| 2 | Licence plate for BMW for Women, Lifestle & Money T.V. series ca.1980 | |
| 3 | Night of 100 Authors poster - Toronto 1982 | |
| 4 | Letters to Icelanders Exploring the Northern Soul - book cover ca.2000 |
Return to Top
PHOTOGRAPHS & VIDEOCASSETTES (PC 150)
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | 20 Publicity shots 2002 |
| 2 | Order of Canada Award 2003 | |
| 3 | Boy in a Cage videocassette scenes I-IV | |
| 4 | Videocassette -Tall & Short Tales & Happily Ever After - A Kohai Play 2001 | |
| 5 | Videocassette - Vikings in Canada Gala - Icelanders in Kinmount 2000 | |
| 6 | Order of Canada 2004 | |
| 7 | Coming of Age | |
| 8 | Double Vision - Love & Work Enough | |
| 9 | A Place on Earth 1993 |
Return to Top
TAPE COLLECTION (TC 95) 1979 - 2002
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | 1.Soap Bubbles music demo 2.Partial interview from Morningside 3.Feb.23,1981 4. Betty Jane's play 5. Interview with Matt 6. Mom training Matt 7. CAssie CAn You Sing from Boy in a Cage music by Ken Nichols 8. When You Touch Me from Boy in a Cage 9. Boy in a Cage Scenes 5-7 10-11 When You Touch Me from Boy in a Cage 12.Beowulf music by Victor Davies 1979-2002 |
Return to Top
ELECTRONIC RECORDS (EL 29) 2000
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Two disc of Paradise Falls episodes 46,47.48 that Wylie worked on 2000 |
Return to Top