Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Jennifer Shay fonds: MSS 142, PC 176, TC 108, MC 9 (A.00-37, A.03-116, A.04-72)

Jennifer Shay fonds:

Jennifer Shay fonds:

An Inventory of Her Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Kendra Mikula and Allan Neyedly
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, MB
(1955-1999)

Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik and Jonathan Nordland (January 12, 2004 and August 2004)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - Mss 142 (A.00-37, A.03-116, A.04-72), MC 9, PC 176, and TC 108 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Jennifer Shay

Scope and Contents of the Papers

Organization of the Papers

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Detailed Description of A.00-37

Research

Canadian Forces Base (CFB) Shilo

Conservancy

National Parks

National Parks/City

City of Winnipeg Parks

Graduate Students

Oak Hammock Marsh

Museum/EMAN (Ecological Monitoring and Assessment Network)/Royal Society

Canadian Botanical Association

Talks/Conferences

Talks etc./Conservation

Consulting

Canadian Environmental Council

South Indian Lake

International Bio Program

Manitoba Ecological Reserve

Reserves/Areas Not Manitoba

Manitoba Naturalists Society

Canadian Council on Ecological Areas

Old/Model Forest

Conservation Projects

Landscape I

Landscape II

Courses

Lectures

Ecology Courses

Plant Ecology

Wetland Courses

Grants

Committees

University Committees

Non-University Committees

Correspondence

Clean Environment Commission (CEC)

Theses

Delta Marsh

M.Sc. and Ph.D.

Awards

Walker M.Sc. and Ph.D. - Theses

Detailed description of A.03-116

Personal Correspondence

Professional Correspondence

Awards

Publications and Research

Childhood Materials

University Education Records

Lectures and Affiliations

Biographical Materials

Committees and Philanthropic Activities

PhD Student Records

PC 176

TC 108

Oversized

MC 9

A.04-72,

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2N2

Creator:
Jennifer Shay

Title:
Jennifer Shay fonds

Dates:
1935-2003, predominant 1960-2002

Quantity:
27m of textual records, 1 map, 130 photographs, 13 slides, 4 negative strips, 1 video tape, 2 reel-to-reel audio tapes, and theses

Identification:
Mss 142

Language
English.

Return to Top

Biography of Jennifer Shay

Dr. Jennifer Shay, the daughter of Frank and Kathleen Walker, was born on March 27, 1930, in Hull, England. Dr. Shay was interested in natural history at a young age, discovering her passion for biology on high School field trips to Flatford Mill Field Centre. this experience, the encouragement of a High School biology teacher and her predisposition towards science made it possible to become one of the pre-eminent ecologist in Canada.

Upon graduation from Newland High School in 1948, Dr. Shay attended London University where she obtained a Bachelor of Science in 1952. She immediately accepted a position at the Flatford Mill Field Centre in Suffolk; however, due to a desire to expand her experience, She moved to Canada in 1957 where she worked as a research associate at the University of Manitoba (U of M). At the U of M, Dr. Shay completed her Masters of Science in 1959 and her Doctor of Philosophy in Sciece in 1964, while lecturing for the Department of Botany. She became an assistant professor in 1965 and was promoted to associate professor in 1967 and a full professor in 1975. In 1966, she was appointed founding director of the University Field Station at Delta Marsh (now Delta Marsh Field Station), a position she held until 1986. In addition, she fulfilled a joint appointment in the Departments of Landscape Architecture and Botany from 1975 to 1986 and again from 1989 to 1993. Although Dr. Shay retired from the U of M in 1993, she stayed on as a Senior Scholar and was awarded the title Professor Emerita in 1995.

The significance of Dr. Shay's academic career as both a student and a professor is punctuated by her long list of awards and distinctions. These include the Shikar-safari Conservation Award, 1970; Life-time membership to the Manitoba Naturalist Society, 1976; Canadian Nature Federation Douglas Pimlott Conservation Award, 1979; Manitoba Naturalist Society Ernest Thompson Seaton Distinguished Naturalist Award, 1982; Honorary life-time membership to the Manitoba Museum of Man and Nature, 1982; Canadian Botanical Association Distinguished Service Award, 1984; Peter D. Curry Chancellor's Award, 1987; Member of the Order of Canada, 1988; Honorary life-time membership to the Manitoba Association of Landscape Architects, 1990; University of Manitoba Outreach Award, 1990; University of Manitoba H.H. Saunderson Teaching Award, 1992; Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society J.B. Harkin Medal, 1992; Manitoba Eco-network Environmental Award, 1993; Honorary Member of the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects, 1994; Canadian Healthy Environment Award for Lifetime Achievement, 1996; YWCA Woman of Distinction, 1997; and, Officer of the Order of Canada, 2001. In addition, she has headed and been a member of various boards and councils throughout her life.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Papers

This fonds consists of three accessions. Accession A.04-72 contains one series of letters written by Jennifer Shay and received by her mother, Kathlene Walker. Accession A.03-116 contains thirteen series relating to Jennifer Shay's personal and professional life including Personal and Professional Correspondence; Awards; Publications and Research; Childhood Materials; University Education Records; Flatford Mill; Lectures and Affiliations; Biographical Material; Committees and Philanthropic Activities; and, PhD Student Records. A large portion of the manuscript collection consists of correspondence of a personal and professional nature from a colleagues and family. A.03-116 includes one map, 130 photographs, 13 slides, one video tape, and two reel-to-reel tapes. Accession A.00-37 contains forty series related to the professional life of Jennifer Shay including correspondence, course information, research material, talks and lectures, publications, committee information, student theses, and awards.

Return to Top

Organization of the Papers

Accession A.00-37 is organized into 40 series.

  • 1. Research
  • 2. Canadian Forces Base (CFB) Shilo
  • 3. Conservancy
  • 4. National Parks
  • 5. National Parks/City
  • 6. City of Winnipeg Parks
  • 7. Graduate Students
  • 8. Oak Hammock Marsh
  • 9. Museum/EMAN/Royal
  • 10. Canadian botanical Association
  • 11. Talks/Conferences
  • 12. Talks etc./Conservation
  • 13. Consulting
  • 14 Canadian Environment
  • 15. South Indian Lake
  • 16 International Bio Program
  • 17. Manitoba Ecological Reserve
  • 18. Reserve/Areas not in Manitoba
  • 19. Manitoba Naturalists Society
  • 20. Canadian Council
  • 21. Old/Model Forest
  • 22. Conservation Projects
  • 23. Landscape I
  • 24. Landscape II
  • 25. Courses
  • 26. Lectures
  • 27. Ecology Courses
  • 28. Plant Ecology
  • 29. Wetland Courses
  • 30. Grants
  • 31. Committees
  • 32. University Committees
  • 33. Non-University Committees
  • 34. Correspondence
  • 35. Clean Environment Commission (CEC)
  • 36. Theses
  • 37. Delta Marsh
  • 38. M.Sc. and Ph.D.
  • 39. Awards
  • 40 Walker M.Sc. and Ph.D.

Accession A.03-116 is organized in twelve series

  • 1. Personal Correspondence
  • 2. Professional Correspondence
  • 3. Awards
  • 4. Publications and Research
  • 5. Childhood Materials
  • 6. University Education Records
  • 7. Flatford Mill
  • 8. Undergraduate Lecture Notes
  • 9. Lectures and Affiliations
  • 10. Biographical Materails
  • 11. Committees and Philanthropic Activities
  • 12. PhD Student Records

Accession A.04-72 is organized into one series of Personal Correspondence

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

Graduate student material has been marked confidential.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

There are no restritions on this material.

Return to Top

Custodial History

Jennifer Shay donated the contents of the fonds to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in 2000 (A.00-37), 2003 (A.03-116), and 2004 (A.04-72)

Return to Top

Detailed Description of A.00-37

     Research

Box Folder  
1 1 Growth Chamber, 1967
  2 Phragmites Raw Field Data, 1968
  3 Germination of Phragmite Seeds Winter, 1970
  4 Phragmite Growth Chamber Program, 1969-70
  5 Weather Records (April-July), 1961-63
  6 Typed Methods and Materials, 1968
  7 Phragmites grown in Greenhouse Growth Records, 1970
  8 Calculation of factor to convert DPM to CO2/leaf/m, ca.1970
  9 Technical Data-sodium carbonate C14, 1968
  10 Cut quadrates, 1967
  11 Phragmites growth measurements, 1967
  12 Phragmites growth curves, 1967
  13 Phragmites :01, 1967
  14 Phragmites :02 (in a stand), 1967
  15 Phragmites :03 (exclusive in the shade), 1967
  16 Phragmites :04, 1967
  17 Phragmites :05, 1967
  18 Field data summary chart - calorific values, 1967
  19 Phragmites field data (odds and ends), 1967
  20 Leaf Area/Plant Cram Creek, 1967
  21 Phragmites Growth Measurements, 1967
  22 Phragmites Runners, 1967
  23 Phragmites Growth Measurements (dead channel),1967
  24 Phragmites Growth Measurements (new shoots), 1967
  25 Fresh weight Phragmites shoots, 1967
  26 Root sample weights, 1967
  27 100's of shoots, 1967
  28 Phragmites nutrient solutions, 1967
  29 Distance between shoots, 1967
  30 Water analysis, ca. 1967
  31 Vegetation-Denuded area, 1968
  32 Scolochloa Growth records, 1968
  33 Typha Growth records (country club), 1968
  34 Typha Growth records (growing in ditch), 1968
  35 Water Analysis, 1968
  36 Phragmite growth records (granite pond), 1968
  37 Phragmite growth records (growing in front of the lodge), 1968
  38 Phragmite growth records (Borrow pit), 1968
  39 Phragmite density count, 1968
  40 Temperature by pole in Phragmite stand, 1968
  41 Pyrheliometer reading (open area), 1968
  42 Thermohygrograph and Pyrheliometer, 1968

Scolochloa C14 experiments, 1968

Box Folder  
1 43-47 Scolochloa 13/7/68
  48-62 Scolochloa 20/8/68
  63 Typha, 1968

Typha C14 experiment, 1968

Box Folder  
1 64 013: 20/8/68
  65 01: 13/7/68
  66 02: 13/7/68
  67 012: 20/8/68
  68 07: 29/7/68
  69 017: 20/8/68
  70 016: 20/8/68
  71 015: 20/8/68
  72 014: 20/8/68
  73 011: 29/7/68
  74 010: 29/7/68
  75 09: ca. 1968
  76 08: ca.1968
  77-78 Draft paper by Walker and Waygood, ca. 1968
  79 Raw data for determination of factor 1.71, ca. 1968
  80 Raw data: content of glucose and protein in Phragmites, ca. 1968
  81 Typha experiment field data, 1968
  82 Scolochloa experiment field data, 1968
  83 Control of glucose and protein in Phragmites, 1969
  84 Chlorophyll content in fragments and Scolochloa, 1968
  85 Phragmites-correlation coefficients, 1968
  86 Phragmite: leaf area factor - chlorophyll content, 1968
  87 Check bicarbonate in C14 incorporation in Phragmite, 1968
  88 Phragmite experiment-chlorophyll determination, 1968
  89 Denuded area vegetation, 1969
  90 Climate average, ca. 1968
  91 Phragmite muffle furnacing results, 1967
  92 Acid extraction, ca. 1968
  93 Data sheets for chlorophyll determination, ca. 1968
  94 Phragmites Mg Chlorophyll/decimeter, ca.1968
  95 Phragmites photosynthesis/ Mg Chlorophyll, ca. 1968
  96 Phragmites-Research, 1967
  97 Phragmite experiment field data (15,16,17,18), 1968
  98 Phragmites, 1967

Phragmite experiment C14, 1968
 

Box Folder  
1 99 117: 20/8/68
  100 116: 20/8/68
  101 013: 20/8/68
  102 012: 20/5/68
  103 011: 20/6/68
  104 014: 20/5/68
  105 015: 13/7/68
  106 016: 13/7/68
  107 017: 13/7/68
  108 Experiment description, 1968
  109 MCW (Methanol Chloroform Water) extraction method, 1968
  110 Typha results - Radio Activity counts, 1968
  111 Phragmite radioactivity, 1968
  112 Phragmite field data, 1968
  113 Phragmite field data - carbon uptake, 1968
  114 Photographs
Box Folder  
2 1 The Pas, Netley data, 1959-96
  2 Vegetation Classification, Cadham & School Bays, 1964-66
  3 Carp project, 1972
  4 Evens, 1972
  5 Vegetation map, 1971
  6 Draft for Delta paper, 1973
  7 Marsh Ecology research, Don's plots data Jennifer, 1985
  8 Don's plots Fire, 1982-83
  9 Don's plots Fire paper comments, 1982-83
  10 Thompson & Shay Ecology, 1987
  11 Water Analysis forms, 1985
  12 Don's plots and other Thompson material, 1987
  13 Don's Thompson Biomass, 1981
  14 Don's plots-data analysis, 1981-83
  15 Don's plots, 1980
  16 Don's plots-mount, ca. 1980
  17 Don's plots Data analysis follow-up, 1982-83
  18 Don's plots follow-up, 1983
  19 Don's plots, 1980-83
  20 Don's plots, 1983
  21 L. Hoffstrom, 1984-85
  22 Don's plots computer calculations, 1981-85
  23 Don's plots - Raw Data, 1983
Box Folder  
3 1 Fire, Phragmites, Wetland Conference, Intercol, 1984
  2 Daily log, 1983
  3 Phrags Don's Plots, 1981
  4 Don's Plots - duplicate, 1981
  5 Don's Data, 1967-88
  6 Paper draft by Thompson and Shay, 1980
  7 Phragmites and water depth, 1988
  8 Water depth Phrags, 1988
  9 PhragmitesScolochloaTypha, N. Man., 1974
  10 Water chemistry, Delta, N. transect, 1974
  11 Sampling trip North, (Aug.) Phrags & Typha, 1974
  12 N. Transect weights, 1974
  13 N. Trip raw data, Phragmites & Typha, July, August, 1975
  14 N. Transect K, Ca, Mg, 1983
  15 N. Transect raw data, 1975
  16 N. Transect Phrags., Typha, 1976
  17 Phragmites, 1976
  18 N. Transect Weather records & site location, 1975
  19 N. Transect summaries, 1975
  20 Calorimetry data, 1975-76
  21 Phragmites Field Data, 1971
  22 Phragmites growth chamber (winter), 1974-75
  23 Scolochloa data, 1974
  24 Phragmites morphology summaries, 1967-75
  25 Sampling dates for all vegetation sampled, 1969
  26 Field data calc. - all field data summary sheets, 1968
  27 Pothole vegetation & ch. data, 1968
  28 Scolochloa field data, raw, 1969
  29 PhragmitesTyphaScolochloa (Delta) summaries, 1975
  30 Phragmite growth chamber, 1975
  31 Phragmites, Delta, 1974
  32 Veg. sampling sheets, Granite pond, sp. div. Delta, 1968
  33 Veg. sampling sheets, School Bay, sp. div. Delta, 1968
  34 Veg. sampling sheets, School Bay, sv. div. Delta, 1969
  35 Phragmites compensation point, 1969
  36 Scolochloa harvest raw data, 1971
  37 Scolochloa leaf area determination, ca. 1968
  38 Scolochloa correlation coefficient, ca. 1968
  39 Scolochloa chlorophyll, 1968
  40 Typha harvest raw data, 1971
  41 Earth & root samples data, 1969
  42 Typha, Delta, 1974-75
  43 Typha field data, 1969
  44 Phragmite bomb calorietry & chem. analysis, 1975-76
  45 Delta PhragmiteTyphaScolochloa, 1975
  46 Delta, 1974
  47 Phragmites Calorimetry raw data, 1975
  48 Phragmites summaries, height & species density, 1967-71
  49 Phragmites Field data summary calculations, 1971
  50 Phragmites, 1970
Box Folder  
4 1 Phragmites field growth, 1970
  2 Seminar Phragmite productivity, Nov. 13, 1969
  3 Phragmites Master, 1969
  4 Phragmites, 1969
  5 Phragmites, field data calculations summary sheets, 1969
  6 Phragmites, field data - raw, 1969
  7 Phragmites, growth, 1968
  8 Phragmites, calorific data, 1968
  9 Phragmites, Delta, 1968
  10-11 Phragmites, calorific data, 1967
  12 General Info Phragmites and Scolochloa, 1968
  13 Phragmites Experiments and Field Data, 1975
  14 PCC Plots, 1985
  15 Hartland Moor, 1966
  16 Nichoria Herbarium speciments, 1971-73
  17 Leture journal, ca. 1962-66
  18 Nichoria chapter, 1978
  19 Minnesota Messenia Expedition, 1976
  20 Mesara Wood List and Field Motes, 1984-86
  21 Mesara field notes, 1984
  22 Mesara Progress report, 1984
  23 Mesara Progress report, original, 1984
  24 Mesara Progress report, tables and maps, 1984
  25 Phragmites, 1986
  26 PCC (Portage Country Club) plots, 1985
  27-28 Delta data, ca. 1980
  29 Delta weather, 1980-83
  30 Prairie Wetlands in Western Canada, ca. 1985
  31-32 Prairie Wetlands in Western Canada, Shay & Shay, 1985
  33 Prarie Wetlands in Western Canada, 1985
  34 Delta Annotated Species List, 1998
  35 ELA Research (Experimental Lakes Area), ELARP, 1991-97
Box Folder  
5 1 ELARP papers, ca. 1993
  2 Hg. Methane, etc (1), ca. 1993
  3 ELA/ELARP, 1994-95
  4 ELA Research, 1993-94
  5 ELA/ELARP, 192-93
  6-7 ELA paper, Dyck & Shay, 1998
  8 Wildflower Paper, Pyrola, 1997
  9 Wetlands paper, 1999
  10 Delta Species List 1, 1998
  11 Delta Species List 2, 1998
  12 Delta Species List 3, 1998
  13 Delta Species List 4, 1998
  14-15 Phillips, Floyd, ca. 1985
  16 Centre Marsh Figures, 1976
  17 David Smith, 1976
  18 Centre Marsh Water levels, 1977
  19 Centre Marsh Report materials, 1977
  20 Centre Marsh Water depths, June-September, 1976
  21 Centre Marsh Vegetation Map, ca. 1976
  22 Centre Marsh Productivity, ca. 1976
  23 Centre Marsh; Final report, 1976
  24 Centre Marsh Aerial photos and key, 1976
  25 Centre Marsh Preliminary draft, ca. 1976
  26 Walker-Shay Ph.D. - Sites Revisited, 1980
  27 Vegetation dynamics in the Delta Marsh, 9th N. Am. Prairie Conference, 1985
  28-29 Vegetation dynamics in the Delta Marsh, 9th N. Am. Prairie Conference, 1986
  30 Vegetation Dynamics in Delta Marsh, ca. 1986
  31 Model Forest Research, 1993
  32 Model Forest money matters, 1993-95
  33 Model Forest Research, 1944
  34 Scirpus, 1989
  35 Scirpus paper II, ca. 1989
Box Folder  
6 1 Churchill, 1981-84
  2 Elk/Vegetation Shannon Robertson, 1988
  3 Island Lake, 1991
  4 St. Norbert Project, 1994
  5 Publications Non Referred, 1955
  6 Publications, 1968-78
  7 Publications, 1979-89
  8 Publications, 1990-99
  9 Deep Lake Plant Lists, 1975
  10 Deep Lake Vegetation Data, 1975
  11 Deep Lake Data, 1975
  12 Deep Lake Soils Map, 1975
  13 Deep Lake Soils, 1975
  14 Deep Lake Report Early Stages (1), 1975
  15 Deep Lake Report Early Stages (2), 1975
  16 Deep Lake Report Early Stages (3) 1975
  17 Nichoria (Greece) Shay Seminar, 1972
  18 Troy and Other Sites, 1983
  19 Kommos Progress Report, 1983
  20 Kommos Ordinations, 1984
  21-22 Kommos Data Analysis, 1988
Box Folder  
7 1 Souris Mouth Forts Results, 1983
  2 Delta Lemna study, 1989
  3 Souris Mouth Forts, 1983
  4 York Factory Project, 1969
  5-6 Olea Paper Photos
  7 Olea Text
  8 Olea Literature Search
  9-10 Blueberry Project, 1966
  11 Hoeffs Burning Vaccinium, 1967
  12 Leiffers and Shay paper
  13 McKernan, 1978
  14 Southern Indian Lake Lit. on Reservoirs, 1980
  15 Southern Indian Lake Lit. on Reservoirs, 1985
  16 Southern Indian Lake Lit on Paper, 1991
  17 N. Biome Pruitt, 1991
  18 Green Plan Proposal, 1992

Return to Top


     Canadian Forces Base (CFB) Shilo

Box Folder  
7 19 Remote Sensing of Vegetation and Selected Areas, 1979
  20 Shilo Environmental Advisory Committee (SEAC), 1974-80
  21 Shilo Environmental Advisory Committee(SEAC), 1981
  22 Shilo SEAC Correspondence, 1982
  23 SEAC, 1984-86
  24 SEAC, 1987-89
  25 McKeran and Shay Report of Military Training, 1983
  26 Lease, 1983
  27 Candidates, 1985
  28 Supply and Services Contract, 1985
  29 Project Budget, 1988
  30 Draft Report, 1986
  31 Draft Report, 1987
  32 Scott Wilson Publication Problems, 1985-89
Box Folder  
8 1 Scott Wilson Publication Problems, 1988-90
  2 Scott Wilson Published Without Permission, ca. 1990
  3 Reference Requests, 1988
  4 Correspondence, 1985-87
  5 Slide Graphics and Transparencies for SEAC meeting, 1988
  6 Shilo Environmental Advisory Committee (SEAC) Presentation, 1988
  7 Canadian Botanical Association paper on Shilo Victoria, 1988
  8 Meeting September 21, 1988
  9 Shilo Environmental Advisory Committee (SEAC), 1989
  10 Shilo Environmental Advisory Committee (SEAC), 1990
  11 Bird Study, 1991
  12 Dillon, August, 1991
  13 Dillon, October, 1991
  14 Dillon, March 1992
  15 Shilo SEAC, 1991-93
  16 Shilo SEAC, 1993-94
  17 Interim Report July by Gorrie, 1987
  18 Miscellaneous Plant Notes, 1988
  19 Shilo Report, February, 1989
  20 Progress Report July Gorrie, 1988
  21 Report Kenkel's Comments, 1988
  22 Report nd Fellers Questions, 1988
  23 Shilo Final, 1988
  24 Draft Report, 1988
  25 Shilo Report December, 1988
  26 Shilo Report No Figures, 1988
Box Folder  
9 1 SEAC Shilo Correspondence, 1988-90
  2 Shilo Budget, 1986-90
  3 Shilo Administration, 1988
  4-5 Shilo Correspondence, 1989
  6 Shilo Talk Delta, 1989
  7 Draft Report, 1989
  8 Pre Final Draft Report Shay et al., 1989
  9 Shilo Final Report Kunec and Shay, 1990
  10 Shilo Supplementary Report Kec and Shay, 1990
  11 Notes for Report, 1990
  12 Shilo Final Report, 1990
  13 CBC Interview Shay, 1990
  14 SHILO Final Report - Kunec and Shay, 1989
  15 Range Monitoring, 1993
  16 Prairie Restoration Morgan, 1993-95
  17 Shilo Data Sheets Blank, 1993
  18 Shilo Field Data, 1993
  19 Shilo Corridor and Spurge Study, 1993-95
  20 Shilo Biological control Report, 1993
  21 Shilo Biological Control, 1994
  22 Shilo Leafy Spurge Report Shay, 1993
  23 Dillon Environmental Assessment, 1994
  24 Shilo Maneuver Corridor Report, 1994
  25 Dillon, 1994
  26 Dillon Shilo Report, 1996
  27 Fire Paper Drafts Shay et al., 1997-99
  28 SHILO Fire Paper Drafts (II) - Shay et al., 1999
  29 Shilo SOP's Shay, 1999
  30 Shilo Protocols Shay, 1999
Box Folder  
10 1 Shilo Maps, ca. 1999
  2 SEAC, 1996-99
  3 Shilo SEAC, 1999
  4 SEAC Addresses, ca. 1999
  5 Recreational Development Plan Assinioine River Valley, 1977
  6 Interim Guidelines for Bald Head Hills, 1982
  7 Aggassiz Centre for Water Studies
  8 A Management Plan for the Souris River Wildlife Management, 1978

Return to Top

     Conservancy 

Nature Conservancy (NCC)

Box Folder  
10 9 1969-1975
  10 1976
  11 1977
  12 1978
  13-14 1979
  15 1980
  16-17 1981
  18-19 1982
  20-21 1983
Box Folder  
11 1 1984
  2 1985
  3 1984-86
  4 1986
  5 1986
  6 Oak Lake, 1986

Nature Conservancy (NCC)

Box Folder  
11 7 1987-88
  8 1990-95
  9 1996-97
  10 Nature Conservancy of Canada (NCC) - Bank Account, 1986-87
  11 Nature Conservancy of Canada (NCC) - Addresses, 1982, 1986
  12-13 Newsletters Reports
  14 Project Binder, 1997
  15 Organization of Biological Field Studies (OBFS), 1974-76
Box Folder  
12 1 OBFS Teaching Field Ecology, 1975-76
  2 OBFS Biological Stations, 1977-78
  3 OBFS, 1979-95
  4 OBFS Stations, 1995
  5 OBFS Data Management, 1982
  6 Canadian Council of University Field Stations (CCUFS)
  7 Plan Winnipeg, 1990
  8 Man. Environmental Council Lake Wpg. Churchill Nelson River, 1975
  9 OBFS Addresses

Return to Top

     National Parks

Box Folder  
12 10 Canadian Heritage Rivers, 1988-89
  11 Grasslands Park, 1976
  12 Kluane National Park, 1979
  13 Canadian Parks and Wilderness, 1983
  14 Acts legal and Noxious Weeds, 1993-95
  15 Memos, Letters, etc., 1976-79
  16 National and Provincial Parks Association (NPPAC) Correspondence, 1974-85
  17 Asessippi Ski Hill, ca. 1971
  18 Legislation, 1971
  19 Miscellaneous Parks, 1974-85
  20 History of CPAWS, 1972-74
  21 NPPAC, 1973-74
  22 NPPAC, 1975
  23 PGM and Budget of Committee, 1975-76

NPPAC

Box Folder  
12 24 1976
  25 1977
  26 1978
  27-28 1979
Box Folder  
13 1 1980
  2 1981-83
  3-4 1984
  5 1985

Return to Top


     National Parks/City
 

Box Folder  
13 6 NPPAC Nominating Committees, 1984-85
  7 NPPAC Parks, 1970-84
  8 NPPAC Program and Budget Committee Policy, 1975-77
  9 Turtle Mountain, 1970-71
  10 Riding Mountain, 1975-84

Return to Top

     City of Winnipeg Parks

Box Folder  
13 11 Assiniboine Forest Sampling Data Report Outline, 1976
  12 Assiniboine Forest Species List, 1976
  13 Assiniboine Forest with Vegetation Survey, 1975
  14 Assiniboine forest Reports, 1982
  15 Assiniboine Forest, 1974
  16 Brokenhead, Kings Park, and Assiniboine Forest, 1980
  17 Environmental Council
  18 St. James, 1968-78
  19-20 South St. Boniface, 1975
  21 Prairie Grassland, 1984
  22 Kings Park, 1985-96
  23 Forks River Bottom, 1988
  24 Ecological Data River Bottom Forests
  25 River Bottom Community, 1985
  26 Soils Pooled Data, 1971
  27-28 River Bank, 1984
Box Folder  
14 1 La Barriere, 1982
  2 John Bruce Road, 1996
  3 St. Norbert, 1996
  4 Ordination Reports, 1982-83
  5 ES Centres, 1981

Return to Top


     Graduate Students

Confidential

Box Folder  
14 6 Bailey, Brian, 1978
  7 Best, K., 1970
  8 Kevin Campbell, 1991
  9 Cohlmeyer, Cindy, 1975-76
  10 Copen, Stephen, 1976
  11 David, Steve, 1994
  12 DeGeus, Nelly - paper draft, 1988
  13 DeGeus Nelly Delta Water Levels, 1984-99
  14 DeGeusNelly, 1980
  15 DeGeus, Nelly thesis, 1984
  16 DeGeus, Nelly thesis, 1987
  17 DeGeus, Nelly - Contour Maps, ca. 1987
  18 DeGeus, Nelly, n.d.
  19 Diamond, Suzanne, 1982
  20 Dyck, Barbara, pt. 1 1982
  21 DyckBarabara - ELA, 1993
  22 Dyck, Barbara, pt. 2 ca.1982
  23 Ehnes, James, 1997
  24 Ehnes, James, pt.1, 1995-96
  25 Ehnes, James, pt.2, 1993-95
  26 Ehnes, James, pt.3, 1991-92
  27 Ehnes, James, 1992-97
Box Folder  
15 1 Ehnes, James - Report, ca. 1997
  2 Ehnes, James - Thesis, ca. 1997
  3 Essenburg, Carol, 1990
  4 Essenburg, Carol - Thesis Draft, 1991
  5 Frego, Katherine, 1984
  6 Fay, Mike, 1980
  7 Firlotte, Nicole, 1997
  8 Frego, Katherine, 1988
  9 Gorrie, Sandra, pt.1, 1987
  10 Gorrie, Sandra, pt.2, 1982
  11 Greenall, Jason, 1994
  12 Hoefs, Manfred, pt.1, 1969-70
  13 Hoefs, Manfred, pt.2, 1974
  14 Hoefs, Manfred, pt. 3, 1979
  15 Hoefs, Manfred - Thesis, 1974
  16 Hoefs, Manfred - Tables, 1968
  17 Hoefs, Manfred and Shay - Blueberry Paper, 1980
  18 Huebert, David, 1989-92
  19 Jablomski, Leanne, 1978
  20 Jones, Geoff, 1991
  21 Knudsen, Brian, 1981-86
  22 Krindle, David, n.d.
  23 Kunec, Diane, 1984-85
  24 Lieffers, Victor, pt.1, 1979-83
  25 Lieffers, Victor, pt.2
  26 Lieffers, Victor, 1982
  27 Loeppky, Heather, 1982
  28 MacAulay, Alexander, 1972-76
  29 MacAulay, Alexander - Thesis, Maps, ca.1976
  30 MacLachlan, Ted, 1978
  31 McIlraith, Alex, 1983-86
Box Folder  
16 1 McIlraith, Alex - Report, 1988
  2 McKernan, Michael, pt.1, 1981-84
  3 McKernan, Michael, pt.2, 1978-82
  4 Mowray, E.E., 1973-74
  5 Mowbray, Sonny, 1971-73
  6 Mico, Michelle, 1992
  7 Nachtigall, Karen, 1994
  8 Paton, David, 1978
  9 Philips, F., 1973-77
  10 Philips, F. - Thesis, ca. 1975
  11 Pinks, Clinton, 1994
  12 Pip, Eva, 1973-77
  13 RasoulzadeganYousef, 1992
  14 Rayner, Marilyn, 1974-78
  15 Shearer, Doug, 1992-93
  16 Sproule, A. - Correspondence, 1967-75
  17 Sproule, A. - Thesis, pt.1, 1972
  18 Sproule, A. - Thesis, pt.3, 1972
  19 Thompson, Don, 1977-82
  20 Thompson, Don - Study, 1979-80
  21 Thompson, Don - Field Data 1981-83
  22 Thompson, Don - Plots, 1983
  23 Walker, David, 1993-94
  24 Ward, Marjorie - Raw Data, 1976
  25-26 Ward, Marjorie - Thesis, 1976-80
  27 Carberry-Ward, 1980; 1987
  28 Ward, Marjorie - Baldhead Hills Air Photo's, n.d.
  29 Waters, Isobel - Thesis, 1985-91
Box Folder  
17 1 Waters, Isobel, 1988
  2 Waters, Isobel - Papers, 1990
  3 Witty, David, 1981-83
  4 Wright, John, 1969-71
  5 Wishart, Richard, 1976-82
  6 Zbigniewicz, Maria, 1981-85
  7 Zoerb, Darryl, 1991-92
  8 ZwiazekJanusz - Photo's, 1985
  9 ZwiazekJanusz - Pictures, 1985
  10 ZwiazekJanusz, pt.1, 1986-87
  11 ZwiazekJanusz, pt. 2, 1983-86
  12 Zastra, Judith, 1985

Return to Top


     Oak Hammock Marsh

Box Folder  
17 13 Oak Hammock Marsh Feasibitity Assessment, 1989
  14 Oak Hammock Management Plan, 1989-94
  15 Environment Engineering Assessment, 1989
  16 DU/Oak Hammock Office Proposal, 1990
  17 Report on Oak Hammock Marsh, 1991
  18 Vegetation and Wildlife Investigations, 1992
  19 Oak Hammock Press Clippings, 1990-92
  20 Oak Hammock News Clippings and Other Material, 1990-92
  21 Oak Hammock Brief, 1990
  22 Bovey Robin Report, 1990-91
  23 Friends of Oak Hammock, pt. 1, 1989-90
  24 Friends of Oak Hammock, pt. 2, 1990
  25 Friends of Oak Hammock, 1991
Box Folder  
18 1 Friends of Oak Hammock, 1992-93
  2 Friends of Oak Hammock - Court Case, 1990-91
  3 Federal Court, 1991
  4 Ducks Unlimited/Dept. of Natural Resources (DU/DNR) - Agreement, 1991
  5 Oak Hammock Legislation Acts, 1988-92
  6 Legislation, 1983-91
  7 DU/DNR Correspondence and Reports, 1991-92
  8 Addresses, n.d.
  9 Oak Hammock Monitoring, 1992-94
  10 News Holdings, 1992
  11 Duck Unlimited (DU) Leaflets, ca.1990
  12 Books and Booklets, ca. 1990
  13 Western Diversification, 1991

Return to Top


Museum/EMAN (Ecological Monitoring and Assessment Network)/Royal Society

Box Folder  
18 14 Museum of Man and Nature, 1978-86
  15 Museum of Man and Nature, 1987-90
  16 Museum of Man and Nature, 191-92
  17 Museum of Man and Nature, 1993-96
  18 Parkland Proposal, 1980, 1982; 1996
  19 Reports News Letters Etc., 1966; 1980-94
  20 Ecological Monitoring and Assessment Newtwork (EMAN), 1994-96
  21 EMAN, 1997
  22 EMAN, 1998
Box Folder  
19 1 Ecological Monitoring, 1992; 1996
  2 Global Climate Change, 1990
  3 Canada's Threatened Forests, 1983
  4 Northern Biosphere Observation, 1993
  5 Newsletters Handouts etc., 1990-93
  6 Royal Society Expenses, 1993
  7 Royal Society, 1986-91
  8 Royal Society, 1992
  9 Royal Society, 1993
  10 Royal Society, 1994-97

Return to Top


     Canadian Botanical Association

Box Folder  
19 11 Canadian Botanical Association (CBA), 194-71
  12 CBA, 1971
  13 Meeting Organizing, 1981; 1989-92
  14 CBA constitutinon By-Laws, 1977-79
  15 CBA Phragmites, 1975
  16 CBA Exec., 1976-77
  17 CBA Meeting, 1976
  18 CBA, June 1977
  19 CBA Conference, 197
  20 Symposium, 1977
  21 CBA, 1978
  22 CBA - Awards, 1979
  23 CBA Exec., 1979
  24 CBA Carleton Ottawa, 1979
  25 CBA Nominating Committee, 1979
  26 CBA Ecology Section, 1967; 1977-78
Box Folder  
20 1 CBA - Correspondence, 1979
  2 CBA, 1980-81
  3 CBA, 1982-83
  4 North Dakota Symposium AIBS-CBA, August 1983
  5 CBA, 1984-88
  6 CBA, 1991-94
  7 CBA Membership, 1977-78
  8 CBA Conservation Action, 1981-87; 1993-94
  9 CBA Toronto, 1989
  10 CBA B.C., 1988

Return to Top


     Talks/Conferences

Box Folder  
20 11 Riverlot Fieldtrip Winnipeg to Selkirk, 1965
  12 CBC Live and Learn, 1965
  13 TV Live and Learn Series - Jennifer Walker, 1965
  14 MNS (Manitoba Nature Society) - Talk, 1967
  15 Talks Given - Delta Seminar, 1960-69
  16 Phragmites, 1969
  17 Talks, 1969
  18 Conservation Talk, 1971
  19 Phragmites, 1972
  20 Talks Given - Fly Fisherman, 1972
  21 Talks - Environmental Change by Man, 1970-78
  22 Talks: Council of Ducks Unlimited Oak Hammock, 1988
  23 Lecture NHS, May 1972
  24 Maurice F. Strong, 1975
  25 High-school Teaching Field Bio., 1975
  26 Teachers Workshops, 1975
  27 Ontario Wetlands Conference, 1981
  28 UND, February 1982
  29 Churchill, 1982
  30 Organic Farming and Horticulture, 1983
  31 Wildflowers, ca. 1983
Box Folder  
21 1 Wetland Talk, 1983
  2 Why Field Biology STAM, October 20-22, 1983
  3 STAM Teachers' Conference, 1988
  4 North American Prairie Conference, 1984
  5 Meeting (Water levels), August 18-22, 1984
  6 Intecol Wetland Conference, 1984
  7 Northern Prairie Wetland Symposium, 1985
  8 The Story of the Marsh, 1986
  9 UFS 20th Anniversary Talks, 1986
  10 High-school Talk, 1987
  11 Wetland Symposium, Edmonton, 1987
  12 Delta Marsh Rise and Fall, 1987
  13 Environmental Society, 1988
  14 The Green Plan, 1990
  15 Sustainable Development, 1989
  16 NHS Prairie Talk, 1989
  17 Conferences, 1981
  18 UFS Talk - 25th Anniversary, 1991
  19 University Field Stations, 1978-81

Return to Top

     Talks etc./ Conservation

Box Folder  
21 20 Academics Involvements Outside Biology, 1991
  21 Environmental Indicators, pt.1, 1992
  22 Third Prairie Conservation and Endangered Species Workshop Info Package, 1992
  23 American Society of Limnology and Oceanography (ASLO) and Society of Wetland Scientists, 1993
  24 Caring for Home Place: Protected Areas and Landscape Ecology, 1996
  25 University of Manitoba Biological Symposium, 1990-2000
  26 Ecosystem Management, 1994
  27 Manitoba Forestry, 1996
  28 Canadian Council on Ecological Areas (CCEA), 1996
  29 Society of Ethnobiology 17th Annual Conference, 1994
  30 Rare endangered Species, 1974
  31 Naturally Clean Rivers, 1985
  32 MB Environmental Groups, 1986
  33-34 Endangered Species, 1990-94
  35 Biodiversity, 1993
  36 Ecological Monitoring and Indicators, 1993
  37 Endangered Spaces, 1994
  38 Endangered Spaces, 1995
Box Folder  
22 1 Endangered Spaces, 1996
  2 Endangered Species Bill C-56, 1997
  3 Canadian Federation of University Women (FUW) Talk, 1994

Return to Top

     Consulting

Box Folder  
22 4 Golder, 1994
  5 Golder Report, 1993
  6 Golder Report, 1992-93
  7 Golder Report, 1992
  8 IDS Report
  9 Arbourg Project, 1974
  10 Arbourg Project, 1975-76
  11 Arbourg Project, 1977-79
  12 Forestry Branch Urban Community Forest Manual, 1994
  13 Alcan, 1981
  14 Shilo Consulting, 1993-95
  15 Tetres Spaceport Churchill Canada, 1994
  16 Tetres Request for Comments on Louisiana Pacific Forest Plan, 1995
  17 Tetres Roblin Project, 1997
  18 Tetres Roblin Project, 1998
  19 National Film Board - Film "On the Red River" by John Whiteway, 1998

Return to Top

     Canadian Environmental Council

Box Folder  
22 20 Canadian Environmental Advisory Council (CEAC), 1990
  21 CEAC, January - March, 1991
  22 CEAC, April - June, 1991
  23 CEAC, July - August, 1991
  24 CEAC, September - December, 1991
Box Folder  
23 1 CEAC, 1992
  2 Bill C78
  3 Bill C13
  4 Reports, 1984-95
  5 Manitoba Environmental Act, 1987
  6 Manitoba Environmental Council Meeting, 1972
  7 Environmental Council, 1974-75
  8 Manitoba Environmental Council, pt.1, 1984
  9 Manitoba Environmental Council, pt. 2, 1984-89
  10-11 Green Plan, 1990

Return to Top

     South Indian Lake

Box Folder  
23 12 South Indian Lake - Briefs News Reports, 1967-69
  13 South Indian Lake - Brief News Reports, 1970-72
  14 Press Clippings, 1968 - April 1969
  15 Press Clippings, January - May 1969
  16 News Clipping, 1970-74
  17 South Indian Lake Audubon Society Publications, 1969-72
  18 Transition in the North, 1967
Box Folder  
24 1 Reports, 1969-77
  2 South Indian Lake, 1968-69
  3 January - December 1969
  4 1970-71
  5 1972-75
  6 1983
  7 1969; 1974
  8 Ecological Monitoring Program Claim #18, 1983
  9 Conawap Project, 1989
  10 Conawapa Revised, 1990-93
  11 Report on the Panel on Public Enquiry, 1976
  12 Wildlife Conservation Issues in Northern Canada, 1981
  13 Bipole III Transmission Complex Workplan, 1989
  14 Winnipeg Tribune, 1969
  15 Long Bay South Indian Lake, 1977
  16 Long Bay Vegetation Analysis, ca. 1977
  17 South Indian Lake - Biomass Study, 1979
  18 South Indian Lake - Chemical Analysis, 1978
  19 South Indian Lake - Compilation of Material for Paper, 1976
  20 South Indian Lake - Long Bay Biomass, 1976
Box Folder  
25 1 South Indian Lake - Long Bay Biomass Original Weighing, ca. 1976
  2 Long Bay Biomass (binder), 1976-85
  3 South Indian Lake Paper, 1978
  4 Reports, 1990
  5 South Indian Lake - Biomass Correspondence, 1979-84
  6 South Indian Lake - Reference
  7 South Indian Lake
  8 South Indian Lake - Misc., 1990
  9 South Indian Lake - Bruce Johnson, 1990
  10 South Indian Lake - Maps
  11 South Indian Lake - data

Return to Top

     International Bio Program

Box Folder  
25 13 International Bio Program Ecological Sites in the Subarctic
  14 PBI/CT Quebec, 1975
  15 PBI/CT Quebec, 1973-75
  16-17 Canadian National Directory of International Bio Program (IBP) Sites, 1968-74
  18 International Bio Program, 1969
  19 1970
  20 1971
  21 1972
  22 1973
  23 1974
  24 1975
  25 1976
Box Folder  
26 1 International Bio Program - Saskatchewan, 1972-74
  2 International Bio Program - Newfoundland and Labrador, 1973
  3 International Bio Program - Alberta
  4 International Bio Program - Manitoba, 1972-73
  5 International Bio Program - B.C., 1970-73
  6 International Bio Program - Toronto Meeting-Annual Reports, 1970
  7 International Bio Program-Summary, 1970
  8 International Bio Program-Summary, 1972-73
  9 Miscellaneous International Bio Program, 1964-85
  10 International Bio Program Duties, 1970
  11 Bio Program - Consulting Panel, 1970
  12 International Bio Program - Monks Wood Data, ca. 1970
  13 Bio Program - Field Teams, ca. 1970
  13 Check Sheets, 1970
  14 International Bio Program - Check Sheet Summaries, 1968-73

Return to Top
     Manitoba Ecological Reserve
 

Box Folder  
26 16 Ecological Reserves, 1970-76
  17 1977
  18 1978
  19 1979-81
  20 1982
  21 1983-85
  22 1986
  23 1987
Box Folder  
27 1 1988-89
  2 1990
  3 Ecological Reserves Act, 1954; 1969-81
  4 Ecosystems Alive Committee, 1991
  5 Ecological Reserves Sites, 1978; 1988-89
  6 Ecological Reserves Program, 1972-87
  7 Ecological significant Areas Directory, 1987
  8 Ecological significant Areas Directory, 1979
  9 Brokenhead River Forest Project, 1976
  10 Five Year Report to the Legislature on Ecological Reserves, 1989-94

Return to Top

     Reserves/ Areas Not Manitoba

Box Folder  
27 11 Ecological Reserves in NB, 1975; 1981-82
  12 Ecological Reserves in BC, 1974-1990
  13 Ecological Reserves in BC, 1989-90
  14 Ecological Reserves in BC, 1988-89
  15-16 Ecological Areas in Quebec, 1974-85
Box Folder  
28 1 Ecological Reserves in Maritimes, 1974-88
  2 Ecological Reserves in Ontario, 1974-76
  4 Ecological Reserves in Alberta, 1977-82
  5 Miscellaneous, 1973-88
  6 Newspapers, 1974-89
  7 Newsletters and Handouts, 1975-92
  8 Ontario Natural Resources, 1976-88
Box Folder  
29 9 Established Natural Areas Arizona, 1974
  10 Yamnuska, 1974
  11 Conservation Values and Management Concerns, 1986
  12 Natural Areas Needs and Opportunities, 1970
  13 Status of Reserves in Canada, 1982
  14 Lake of the Woods General Land Use Plan, 1977

Return to Top

     Manitoba Naturalist Society

Box Folder  
28 15 Natural History Society, 1958-67
  16 The Vanishing Prairie NHS Field Trip, 1968
  17 Natural History Society, 1969
  18 Natural History Society, 1969-70
  19 Natural History Society - Executive, 1969-72
  20 Natural History Society - Membership, 1971
  21 Natural History Society, 1976-80
  22 Natural History Society Classification Sheets
  23 Natural History Society Briefs, 1971
  24 Natural History Society Newsletters, 1963-69
  25 Snowmobile News Clippings, 1971-72
  26 Conservation Action Committee, 1971-72
  27 Newsletters and Handouts, ca. 1978
  28 Manitoba Naturalists Society, 1972-85
  29 Manitoba Naturalists Society, 1987-91
  30 Manitoba Naturalist Society - Keynote Address, April 27, 1991
  31 Junior Naturalists, ca. 1967
  32 Manitoba Naturalists Society Newspaper Clippings, 1984-89
Box Folder  
29 1 Manitoba Naturalists Society Parks, 1972-89
  2 Manitoba Naturalists Society Parks, 1990-95
  3 NHS and Naturalists Guide, 1968-70
  4 Manitoba Naturalists Awards, 1984
  5 Manitoba Naturalists Research Fund, 1987
  6 North American Biodiversity Washington, 1996
  7 Biodiversity Montreal, 1996
  8 Commission for Environmental Cooperation, 1996
  9 Audubon Society, 1970
  10 Audubon Society, 1970-71
  11 Canadian Nature Federation, 1976-77; 1991-93

Return to Top

     Canadian Council on Ecological Areas

Box Folder  
29 12-15 Reports, 1982-97
Box Folder  
30 1 Newsletters, 1984-88
  2 Canadian Council on Ecological Areas (CCFA), 1979-81
  3 Canadian Council on Ecological Areas (CCFA), 1982
  4 CCEA, January-February, 1983
  5 CCEA, March-December, 1983
  6 CCEA, 1984
  7 CCEA, 1985
  8 Minutes, 1984
  9 Minutes, 1985
  10 Minutes, 1986
  11 CCEA, 1985-86
  12 CCEA, 1987-89
  13 CCEA, Edmonton, 1989
  14 CCEA, 1990-95
  15 Windsor, August 1993
  16 IBP (International Biological Programme), 1968-83
  17 Acer follow-up, 1981-82
  18 NRC Association Committee on Ecological Areas, 1976-78
  19 Draft and Policy, 1971
Box Folder  
31 1 CCEA Reports, 1987-93

Return to Top

     Old/ Model Forest

Box Folder  
31 2 Old Growth Forests-Public Report, 1993
  3-4 Old Growth Forest - Interim Report, 1993
  5-6 Old Growth Forests - What We Heard, 1993
  7 Conserving Ontario's Old Growth Forest, 1994
Old Growth Forests
Box Folder  
31 8 1990-91
  9 January-June, 1992
  10 July-December, 1992
  11 January-March, 1993
  12 April-July, 1993
  13 August-December, 1993
  14 1994
  15 Natural Heritage Areas Strategy For Ontario, 1992
  16 Handouts Newsletters, News Clippings, Old Growth, 1989-93
  17 Model Forest, 1992
  18 1993
  19 1994
  20 1995-97

Return to Top

     Conservation Projects

Box Folder  
32 1 Hydro, 1976-91
Box Folder  
31 2 South Indian Lake Background, 1974-89
  3 Prairie, 1969-91
  4 Garrison, 1974-77; 1985
  5 C.F.I. (Churchill forest Industries), 1971
  6 Rafferty Alameda, 1991
  7 Delta Agriculture Brief, 1990-96
  8 St. Norbert, 1975-96
  9 Lake Francis, 1986-91
  10 Netley, 1970
  11 Oil, 1971
  12 Waste Management, 1989-90
  13 Noxious Weeds, 1974; 1995-99
  14 Purple Loosestrife, 1991-96
  15 Hazardous Wastes, 1986
  16 Endangered Species, 1995-96; 1999
  17 Rare Endangered Species, 1954-75
  18 Manitoba Conservation Data Centre, 1998-99
  19 CDC (Conservation Data Centre), 1994-96
  20 Green Team, 1996-98
  21 Environmental Education, 1991-92
  22 Florence - Nora Access Road Inc., 1993
  23 Repap, 1990-94
  24 Proposed Parking Structure, 1974
  25 Quetico Environmental Research Study, 1992
  26 Man. Surface Water Quality, 1988
  27 Cooperation in a Changing World, 1990

Return to Top

     Landscape I

Box Folder  
33 1 L.A. Loosestrife, 1982-92
  2 Architecture Mutations Course, 1967
  3 Landscape Pre Masters Lectures, 1971
  4 Landscape Pre Masters Outlines, 1971
  5 Environmental Ecology Conservation, 1971
  6 Environmental Ecology, 1971
  7 Landscape Ecology, 1972
  8 Landscape Assignments Environmental Factors, 1972
  9 Landscape Assignments Trees Shrubs, 1972-74
  10 Landscape Processes and Form, 1974
  11 Landscape Administration, 1974-75
  12 Landscape Masters I Asignments, 1974-75
  13 Landscape Pre Masters Fieldwork, 1975
  14 Trees in Communities, 1975
  15 Veetation Mapping, 1975
  16 Gridstone Point, 1975
  17 L.A. Assignments Deep Lake Class Data, 1975
  18 McHarg/Hough, 1975
  19 Landscape Fall, 1975
  20 Resource Analysis and Land Planning Workshop, 1975
  21 Field Activities in Ecology, 1976
  22 Landscape Courses Field Report P. Smith, 1976
  23 Landscape Courses, 1976
  24 L.A. Assignments, 1975-76
  25 Ecol. Determinism Assignments, 1976-77
  26 Ecol. Det. Student Biomes, 1976-77
  27 Landscape Masters I Outlines, 1975-78
  28 Ecological Determinism, 1977
  29 Field Report, 1977
  30 L.A. Field Report Ecol., 1978
  31 Field Report, 1978
  32 L.A. Ecological Determinism, 1980
  33 Brokenhead, 1981-82
  34 Ecological Determinism, 1981-82
  35 Ecological Determinism, 1982
  36 Ecological Determinism Course Evaluations, 1982
  37 Assignments, ca. 1982
  38 L.A. Course Outlines, 1983
  39 Landscape Ecological Determinism, 1983-84
  40 31.702 Assignmetns, ca. 1984
  41 Ecological Determinism, 1984-87
  42 L.A. Field Ecological Administration, 1985
  43 Landscape, 1987
  44 Assignments, 1988
  45 Ecological Determinism - Fang 4 Sites, 1987
  46 Landscape Field Ecology - A, 1989
  47 Landscape Field Ecology, 1986-92
  48 Landscape Papers, 1992; 1990
Box Folder  
34 1 Landscape Tests, 1975-81
  2 Field Trip, 1982

Return to Top

     Landscape II

Box Folder  
34 3 1.312 Mycology, 1954-64
  4-5 1.312 Mycology, 1963
  6 1.337 Trampling, 1969-70
  7 1.337 Renewable Resources, 1962-71
  8 1.337 Pollution Biology, 1972
  9 1.453 Quaternary ca. 1972
  10 1.453 Vegetation History, ca. 1972
  11 1.453 Phytogeography, 1972-79
  12 1.220 Plant Kingdom Photosynthesis, 1975
  13 1.220 Plant Kingdom Bryophytes, 1975
  14 1.220 Plant Kingdom Mosses, 1975
  15 1.220 Plant Kingdom Megasporogenesis, 1975
  16 1.220 Plant Kingdom Lichens, 1975
  17 1.220 Plant Kingdom Gymnosperms, 1975
  18 1.220 Plant Kingdom Ferns, 1975
  19-20 1.220 Plant Kingdom Algae, 1975
  21 1.220 Plant Kingdom Angiosperms, 1975
  22 1.220 Plant Kingdom, 1973-74
  23 1.220 Plant Kingdom, 1973
  24 Manitoba Vegetation, 1968
  25 Plant Kingdom, 1967-68
  26 1.220 Plant Kingdom, 1966
  27 Permafrost, 1981
  28 Acid Rain, 1981
  29 Sustainable Development, 1981
  30 Conseration Strategies Admin. Handouts, 1992
  31 Conservation Strategies Lectures, 1992
  32 World Conservation Strategy-Draft,[ 1989 ]
  33 Conservation Strategies Assignments, 1992
  34 Landscape Administration, 1981
  35 Landscape Handouts, 1990-92
Box Folder  
35 1 Landscape Administration, 1991-92
  2 Marks, 1969-92

Return to Top

     Courses

Box Folder  
35 3 Plant Ecological, 1966
  4 1.354 Silvertown, 1984
  5 1.354 Student List, 1984
  6 1.354 Star Lake Field Trip, 1988
  7 1.354 Reading List, General Text, 1984
  8 1.310 Plant Taxonomy (old)
  9 1.310 Taxonomy of Vascular Plant, 1960
  10 Lichen Course, 1978
  11 Flora - Desert
  12 Flora - Sub-artic/Arctic, 1969
  13 Flora - Boreal Forest, 1972
  14 Flora - Deciduous Forests and Mixed, 1981
  15 Flora - Aspen Parkland, 1976-79
  16 Flora - Prairie, 1981
  17 Flora - Physiology and Vegetation
  18 1.318 Plant Systematics Transparencies
  19 1.318 Plant Systematics Handouts, 1990
  20 1.318 Plant Systematics Assignments, 1990
  21 1.318 Plant Systematics Assignments, 1989
  22 1.318 Plant Systematics Lectures, 1989
  23 Flora Flower Parts and Taxonomic Ranks, 1989
  24 Floral Diagrams, 1989
  25 Flora Polypodium Key, 1987
  26 Flora Equisetum Key, 1987
  27 Flora Lycopodium, 1987
  28 Flora Filicales, 1987
  29 Flora Megasporogenesis, 1987
  30 Flora Friut Types, 1987
  31 Flora Ovary Evolution, 1987
  32 Flora Monocot/Dicot Relationships, 1987
  33 Flora Stem Types, 1987
  34 Flora Admin., 1987
  35 Flora, 1988
  36 Flora, 1989
  37 Floral Morphology, 1992
  38 Numerical Taxonomy, 1992
  39 Flora Dicot Relationships and Class, 1992
  40 Flora Handouts, 1992
  41 Flora Labs, 1990-92
  42 Vascular Plant Classification, 1989-90
  43 Angiosperm Families, 1989-90
  44 Flora Course Outlines Etc., 1989-90
  45 Flora Vegetation History, 1992
  46 Flora Vegetation, 1992
  47 Flora II, 1992
  48 Flora I, 1992
  49 Vascular Flora student Evaluations, 1992
  50 Exams, 1960-64
  51 Flora and ecology Exams, 1965-85
  52 Flora and Ecology Exams, 1983-92
Box Folder  
36 1 Flora Exam, 1992
  2 Delta Soils, 1982

Return to Top

     Lectures

Box Folder  
36 3 Community Ecology, 1990
  4 Individual Pop. Communities Niche Sampling, 1988
  5 Allelopathy Succession, Habbard Brook
  6 Vegetation I Prairie Deciduous Forests Mixed Woods
  7 Environmental Factors Soils
  8 Vegetation II
  9 Plant Ecology
  10 Soils
  11 Soils, 1995
  12 Environmental Factors
  13 Productivity
  15 Vegetation

Return to Top

     Ecology Courses

Box Folder  
37 1 Invations, 1969
  2 Ecological Energetics, 1969
  3 Plan Nutrients, 1969
  4 Marihuana, 1969
  5 Course Outlines, 1969
  6 1.336 Intro Ecology,
  7 Terrain Analysis, 1970
  8-9 Intro Ecology Field Course,
  10 Individual Pop, 1972
  11 Impact, 1972
  12 Intro Ecology, 1972
  13 Plant Communities, 1972
  14 Intro Ecology Student Reports, 1972
  15 Intro Ecology Student Reports, 1974
  16 Field Ecology Manual, 1974
  17 UFS (University Field site House) Delta Marsh (DM) Extention, 1974
  18 Intro. Ecology at Delta, 1984
  19 Trees in Winter, 1976
  21 Field Reports(Student), 1976
  22 Special Topics, 1976-92
  23 1.461 Topics, 1979
  24 Ecology Labs, 1979
  25 Star Lake Package, 1984
  26 Equipment, 1984
  27 Intro Ecology at Delta, 1974
  28 Community Ecology Student Reports, 1984
  29 Community Ecology - Student Reports, 1984
  30 Community Ecology - Admin., 1984
  31 Principles of Ecology - Labs, 1984
  32 Principles of Ecology, 1985
  33 Manitoba Vegetation, 1985
  34 Community Ecology, 1988
  35 1.330 Lab Summaries, 1988
  36 Community Ecology (student data),

1988

  37 Community Ecology - Star Lake, 1989
  38 Community Ecology, 1989
  39 Community Ecology (data), 1989
  40 Community Ecology, 1990
  41 Community Ecology (assignments), 1990
  42 Topics in Science Education - 81.303, 1985
Box Folder  
38 1 Community Ecology, 1975
  2 1.354, 1984
  3 Evening Course, 1967
  4 Extension, 1967

Return to Top

     Plant Ecology

Box Folder  
38 5 Extention
  6 1.455 Weeds, 1971
  7 1.455 Transpiration
  8 1.455 Star Lake
  9 1.455 Species List, 1978-89
  10 1.455 Snow, 1971
  11 1.455 Seeds, Seed Beds
  12 1.455 Sampling
  13 1.455 Plant Collecting
  14 1.455 Phenology
  15 Halophytes, 1976-78
  16 Field Manual, 1976-78
  17 Field Exercises (evolution)
  18 Ecology Films, 1970-87
  19 Ecology Careers, 1987
  20 Cycles
  21 Coastal Vegetation
  22 Climates
  23 Classification of Plant Communities
  24 C3, C4 Plants
  25 Antecology
Handouts and Topics
Box Folder  
38 26 Lab Data Ecology 1.336, 1967
  27 Star Lake, Aspen Forest
  28 St. James Prairie, 1985
  29 Star Lake Jack Pine Forest, 1985
  30 Star Lake - Lake Shore, 1985
  31 Star Lake Outcrop, 1985
  32 Lasalle River, 1985
  33 Star Lake - Spruce Bog
  34 King's Park Forest, 1985
  35 Assiniboine Forest, 1985

     Course Data

Box Folder  
38 36 1.336 Plant Ecology, 1968
  37 Paleoecology, 1968
  38 Ecology Student Presentations, 1979
  39 Ecology Assignments, 1979
  40 Ecology Assignments II
  41 Plant Ecology Pattern, 1967
  42 1.441 Advanced Ecology, 1969
  43 Pesticides, 1970-72
  44 Plant Ecology Bibliography, 1974
  45-46 1.455 Plant Ecology, 1977
  47 1.455 Plant Ecology Allelopathy, 1977
  48 1.455 Plant Ecology Course Outlines, 1979
  49 Student Essays, 1981
  50 1.338 Plant Ecology, 1982
Box Folder  
39 1 Plant Ecology Student Essays, 1982
  2 Special Topics, 1983; 1984; 1993
  3 1.354 Assignments, 1988
  4 Winter Twigs, 1971-72
  5 Vegetation History, 1984
  6 Trees and shrubs Manitoba, 1995
  7 Strategies Grime, 1979
  8 Soils Summaries Outlines
  9 Soils Costs, 1989
  10 Soils Analysis Procedures
  11 Soils Ch. and Methods
  12 Serengeti
  13 Sawatsky
  14 Species List La Barriere, St. Francis, 1986
  15 Star Lake Species List, 1982
  16 Species List, 1969; 1982-83; 1993
  17 Species List Prairie - St. James, 1969; 1980-81
  18 Species List Prairie Aspen Parkland, 1976
  19 Species List Forested Ridge, 1975-90

Return to Top

     Wetland Courses

Box Folder  
39 20 Species List Carberry, 1972-81
  21 Species List Borrow Pit, Oxbow, Forested Ridge, 1976-82
  22 Species List birds Hill, 1970-71; 1989
  23 Site Summary Sheets
  24 Random Numbers
  25 Productivity Misc. Info
  26 Productivity World
  27 Productivity Cultivated/Natural
  28 Prairie Ecology Data, 1975-76
  29 Populations
  30 Pollution, 1968-71
  31 Pollen Sediment Preparation, 1968
  32 Plane Table Mapping
  33 Plant Collecting
  34 Plant Metabolism, 1973
  35 North American Vegetation, 1948
  36 Mineral Nutrients
  37 Map Boreal Trees
  38 Manitoba Physiographic Divisions
  39 Manitoba Physiographic Divisions North of 56, 1960
  40 Herbicides, 1970
  41 Geological time and Scale
  42 Forest Regions of Canada
  43 Field Sampling, 1982-88
  44 Europe Glaciation
  45 Environment and Natural Areas, 1971
  46 Ecology Morphological and Anatomical
  47 Ecology Life Cycles, 1953
  48 Dust Bowl USA
  49 Delta Ridge Section, 1976-77
  50 Delta Key to Plant Groups, 1974
  51 Cycles Nitrogen, 1964
  52 Cycles Phosphorus
  53 Continental Movement, 1970
  54 Climate Vegetation and Soils
  55 Circumference-Circular Area
  56 Calorific Values
  57 Bitterlich Method
  58 Winnipeg Rivers, 1967-68
  59 Lake Basins, 1967-68
  60 Wetland Management, 1967-68
  61 Wetland Registry, 1967-68
  62 Wetland Policy, 1967-68
  63 Wetland Lists, 1967-68
  64 Marsh Ecology Essays, 1967-68
  65 Marsh Ecology, 1969
  66 Marsh Definitions and Classification, 1971
  67 Marsh Ecology, 1971
  68 Succession and Productivity, 1975
  69 Wetland, 1975
  70 Wetland Assignments, 1976
  71 Bogs, 1979
  72 Aquatic Macrophytes, 1979
  73 Marsh Ecology Assignments, 1979
Box Folder  
40 1 Marsh Ecology Assignments, 1979
  2 Marsh Ecology, 1979
  3 References Marsh

Return to Top

     Grants

Box Folder  
40 4 Grants, 1959-69
  5 Funding, 1969
  6 NRC, 1970-71
  7 Funds, 1974
  8 Grants, 1974
  9 Grants, 1974-75
  10 Funding Request to Tudorancea, 1977
  11 Grants, 1981
  12-13 Grants, 1982
  14 NSERC, 1980-81
  15 Kommos Grants, 1981-83
  16 Grants, 1984
  17 Grants, 1985
  18 Grants, 1986
  19 Grants Applications, 1987
  20 Grants, 1987
  21 Grants, 1988
  22 Grants, 1989-90
  23 Grants, 1991
  24 Grants, 1990-97
  25 Grant Expenditures, 1995
  26 Model Forest Agreement, 1993
  27 Canadian Shield Foundation, 1986; 1996-97
  28 Career Start Challenge, 1985-88
  29 Career Start Challenge, 1989-99
  30 Expenses, 1986-94
  31 Shay Donations, 1983-88
  32 Shay Study Leaves, 1986-91
  33 Staff/Assistants, 1981
  34 Staff/Assistants, 1991-96
  35 Summer Jobs, 1994

Return to Top

     Committees

Box Folder  
41 1 Wildlife Foundation of Manitoba, 1975
  2 Fort Whyte, 1975-79
  3 Fort Whyte, 1980-83
  4 Fort Whyte, 1984-85
  5 Fort Whyte, 1986-87
  6 Fort Whyte, 1988-89
  7 Fort Whyte, 1986-87
  8 Fort Whyte, 1988-89
  9 Fort Whyte, 1990-91
  10 Fort Whyte, 1991-92
  11 Fort Whyte, 1993
  12 Wildlife Habitat Canada, 1986
  13 Appendix I - Maps and Overlays of the Fort Whyte Site
  14 Legislation Parks Crown Land etc., 1972-73
  15 Manitoba Pollution Probe, 1970
  16 Pollution, 1970-71
  17 Manitoba Association of Landscape Architects, 1991-96
  18 East Meadows, 1973-76
  19 Churchill, 1984
  20 Churchill Research Centre, 1975-82
  21 Winnipeg Environmental Management Committee, 1991-92
  22 Canadian Institute in Athens, 1986-87
  23 Biological Council of Canada, 1986-88
Box Folder  
42/43 1 Intergroup Natural Areas Survey, 1990-92
  2 CCRM, 1983
  3 Canadian Institute of Forestry, 1972
  4 The Nature Conservatory of Canada, 1985
  5 Committees, 1977-78

Return to Top

     University of Committees

Box Folder  
42/43 6 Field Station Committee, 196-70
  7 Riverbank Resource Committee, 1975-83
  8 Herbarium, 1979; 1991-96
  9 Institutes and Interdisciplinary Groups, 1972-78
  10 Department Seminars, 1970-80
  11 Space, 1994
  12 Adhoc Biology, 1993-96
  13 Greenhouse List, 1969-93
  14 Northern Studies, 1975-77
  15 UFS (University Field Station, Delta Marsh) Committees, 1988-92
  16 Ecology Botany/Zoology, 1977-91
  17 Grad Committee, 1992
  18 Department Meetings, 1989-90
  19 Department of Botany, 1990
  20 Department of Botany, 1991
  21 Department of Botany, 1992
  22 Department of Botany, 1993

Return to Top

     Non-University Committees

Box Folder  
42/43 23 Commission for Environmental Cooperation, 1996
  24 Manitoba Forestry Association, 1993-96
  25 Friends of Assiniboine Conservatory, 1989-96
  26 Defenders of NOPOMING, 1994-95
  27 NRC - CISTA (Natural Research Council - Committee of International Scientific and Technological Affairs), 1984-88
  28 Wetland Clarification, 1968
  29 National Wetlands Work Group, 1979
  30 Wetlands Working Group, 1978-94
  31 Wetlands Working Group, 1979-80
  32 Wetlands Model, 1982

Return to Top

Correspondence

     Correspondence

Box Folder  
44 1 1957-61
  2 1962
  3 1963
  4 1964
  5 1965
  6 1966-67
  7-8 1968
  9-10 1969
  11 1970
  12 1971
  13 1972
  14 1973
  15 1974
  16 1975
  17 1976
  18 1977-78
  19 1978-79
  20 1979-80
  21 1980-81
Box Folder  
45 1 1982
  2 1983
  3 1984
  4 1985
  5 1986
  6 1987
  7-8 1988
  9 1989
  10-12 1990
  13 1991-92
  14 1992
  15 1993-94
  16 1995-96
  17 1997-98
  18 1999
  19 Nat. Museum, 1997-98
  20 Work Diary, 1998-99
  21 Work diary, 1997-98
Box Folder  
46 1 Student Reference Requests, 1986-89
  2 Students Refs., 1971-85

Return to Top

     Clean Environment Commission (CEC)

Box Folder  
46 3 Hudson's Bay Mining and Smelting, 1972
  4 Pollution Control Report, 1972
  5 Brief to Environmental Canada, 1972
  6 Presentation, 1972

     Clean Environment Commission Reports
 

Box Folder  
46 7 October - November, 1971-72
  8 December 1971
  9 January - February, 1972
  10 March 1972
  11 April 1972
  12 May 1972
  13 June 12-13, 1972
  14 June 26, 1972
  15 July 24, 1972
Box Folder  
47 1-2 Province of Manitoba Mailouts, 1972
  3 Springfield Hearing, 1972
  4 Licenses Etc., 1969-71
  5 CEC Regulations, 1969
  6 Acts Drafts, 1972
  7 Acts and Bills
  8 Planning Subcommittees, 1972
  9 Research Branch
  10 Environmental Protection, 1972
  11 CEC reports, 1972
  12 CEC, 1970-71
  13 CEC-FYI, 1970
  14 CEC, 1972
  15 CEC Submissions re: License Applications, 1972
  16 CEC Expenses, 1972
  17 Pesticides, 1972

Return to Top

     Theses

Box Names
48

Dyck B. M.Sc., 1998

Greenall J.A. M.Sc., 1995

Mico, M.A. B.Sc., 1993

Zoerb D. N. MLA, 1993

Dyck B. B.Sc., 1992

Essenburg C.B. M.Sc., 1991

McIlraith A. M.Sc., 1988

Waters I. Ph.D., 1989

Parker B. MLA, 1987

Zwiazek J.J. Ph.D., 1987

DeGeus P.M.J. M.Sc., 1987

Zbigniewicz M. M. Sc., 1985

McKernan J.M. M.Sc., 1984

Neckles H.A. M.Sc., 1984

Zbigniewicz M. B.Sc., 1982

Box Folder
49

Thompson D.J. M.Sc., 1982

Bailey D. MLA, 1981

Lieffers V.J. Ph.D., 1981

Jablonski L. B.Sc.Hon., 1979

Rayner M.R. M.Sc., 1978

McLaclan E.B. MLA, 1978

Cohlmeyer C.D. MLA, 1977

Phillips S.F. Ph.D., 1976

Macauley A.J. Ph.D., 1973

Sproule T.A. M.Sc., 1972

Return to Top

     Delta Marsh

Box Folder  
50 1 Delta Censuses, 1977-79
  2 Small Mammal Census, 1986
  3 Transect Delta, 1978
  4 Vegetation of the Central Unit Delta, 1977
  5 Phenological Data, 1974
  6 Phonology of Plants, 1976
  7 Aquatic Botany, 1968-74
  8 Wildlife Research Unit, 1970
  9 Delta, 1971-86
  10 Field Stations, 1970
  11 Wilderness, 1972
  12 Muskrats, 1974
  13 Penner Lake Manitoba Water Levels, 1975
  14 Delta Ditch Water Levels, 1968
  15 Mapped Quadrats, 1970
  16 D.U. Delta Marsh, 1969-81
  17 Marshes Management and Delta, 1976
  18 Delta Marsh Development Proposals, 1978-81
  19 Delta Marsh D.U. Devepment Proposals, 1981
  20 Delta Marsh Plan, 1978
  21 Marsh Ecology, 1968
  22 Maps
  23 Delta and Oak Hammock Interpretation, 1975
  24 Lake Manitoba Delta Marsh Development Feasibility, 1966
  25 Delta Marsh Project Water Supply and Drainage, 1978
  26 Marsh Plan, 1978
  27 Lake Manitoba Regulation, 1973
  28 Delta Marsh Project Centre Unit, 1976
  29 Delta Marsh Project Centre Unit Engineer Study, 1976
  30 Report on Measures for the Control of Waters, 1958
  31 Geological and Ground Waater Investigation of Portage Division, 1965
  32 Wetlands Conservation Policy in Canada, 1987
  33 Role of Field Stations in Biology, 1971
  34 Lake Winnipeg Regulation, 1972
  35 Manitoba Heritage Marsh Program, 1982

Delta Marsh Annual Report

Box Folder  
50 36 1972
  37 1980
  38 1983
Box Folder  
51 1 1986
  2 Post Glacial Sedimentation and History of Lake Manitoba, 1979
  3 Manitoba Water Commission - Lake Manitoba Regulation, vol.1, 1973
  4 Forest Insect and Disease Conditions in Manitoba, 1990
  5 Task Force Report, 1978
  6 North America Waterfowl Management Plan, 1985
  7 Prairie Habitats a Prospectus, 1986
  8 Wetlands a Celebration of Life, 1993
  9 A New Horizon for Biology Field Stations, 1995
  10 Canada Committee on Ecological Land Classification, 1980
  11 Delta Channel
  12 Aerial Surveys, 1991
  13 Handouts and Newsletters, 1977;1980
  14 Delta News Clippings, 1981;1991
  15 Field Guide, 1977
  16 Delta Handouts for Courses, 1972
  17 Summer Courses, 1986
  18 High-school Program, 1976
  19 Users, 1970-85
  20 UFS Current, 1984-86
  21 Users, 1988
  22 Watson, 1979
  23 Wickstrom, P., 1972
  24 Delta Tee Advisory Committee, 1971-78
  25 Delta Marsh Management Committee, 1966-67
  26 Technical Committee, 1968
  27 UFS Advisory Committee, 1982-93

     Correspondence

Box Folder  
51 28 1966-71
  29 January - August, 1972
  30 September - December, 1972
  31 1973
  32 1973; 1990
  33 1969-88
  34 Pictures
  35 20th Anniversary
Box Folder  
52 1

History of Delta, 1964-69

Record Books, 1966-87

Return to Top

     
     M.Sc. and Ph.D.

Box Folder  
52 2 Evolution and Speciation
  3 Ph.D. Courses Animal Ecology, ca 1954
  4 Animal Ecology
  5 Animal Conservation
  6 Population and Cycles, ca. 1961
  7 Tutorial Topics, 1958-59
  8-9 M.Sc.
  10 Raw Data, 1958
  11 Untitled, 1958
  12 Thesis 1st Draft M.Sc., ca 1958
  13-14 Thesis I, ca 1958
  15 Climate, 1959
  16 Partially Worked Data, 1958
  17 Field Notes, 1959
  18 Frequency Data, ca. 1959
  19 Literature Review
  20 Tables and Figures, ca. 1959
  21 Ph.D. Exam Review
  22-23 Delta Ph.D., 1959-61
  24 General Notes, 1963
  25 Species in Zones, 1962
  26 Soils Draft I
  27 Thesis Negatives and Photo's, 1962
  28 Figures and Tables, 1960
  29 Figures and Tables, 1959-61
  30 Delta, 1960-80
  31 F% C.A., 1959
  32 Delta Plant/Site Data, 1960
  33 Species List Delta, 1954
  34 Soil Colours, 1958-60
Box Folder  
54 1-2 Soil Summaries, 1960-65
  3 Soils, 1962
  4 Organic Soils
  5 Soils Draft, 1960
  6 Delta Soil Analysis, 1984
  7 Delta Data Analysis, 1974
  8 Delta Preliminary Data, 1962
  9 Data Summaries, 1960
  10 Delta Data Sheets, 1960
  11 Raw Data, 1959-61
  12 Diagrams and Figures, 1964
  13 Preparation for Ph.D. Exam Booklet, ca. 1960

Return to Top

     Awards

Box Award Name
53

Shikar Safari Conservationist of the Year, 1969

Historical Society Centennial Commemoration, 1970

Manitoba Naturalists Society Life Membership, 1976

Seton Medal Manitoba Naturalists Society, 1982

University of Manitoba 25 years, 1983

Canadian Botanical Association Distinguished Service Award, 1984

University of Manitoba Peter Curry Chancellors Award, 1987

Order of Canada, 1988

Manitoba Association of Landscape Architects

Honorary Membership, 1991

Commemorative Medal 125th Anniversary of Confederation, 1992

Saunderson Teaching Award University of Manitoba, 1992

University of Manitoba Retirement Certificate, 1993

Eco Network Environmental Award, 1993

Canadian Society of Landscape Architects Honorary Membership, 1994

University of Manitoba Professor Emerita, 1995

Environment Canada Healthy Environment Award, 1996

YM-YMCA Woman of Distinction

Not in Box:

Order of Canada Medal

Harkin Medal Canadian Parks and Wilderness

Canadian Nature Federation Douglas Pimlott Conservation Award, 1979

Manitoba Museum of Man and Nature Honorary Life Membership, 1982

University of Manitoba Outreach Award, 1990

Manitoba Association of Landscape Architects, 1991, Honorary Member

Manitoba Naturalists Society - In appreciation of her lecture "Environmental Ethics", May 1, 1972

Return to Top

     Walker M.Sc. and Ph.D. - Theses

Box Folder  
54 14-15 Ph.D. Thesis Negs
  16 Delta Marsh Map
  17 Mapped Transects, ca. 1960
  18 Mapped Quadrants', ca. 1960
  19 Thesis, 1970
  20 Draft of Paper
  21 Ph.D. Publication Questions, 1970
  22 J.M. Walker M.Sc. Transects, 1959
  23 J.M. Walker Ph.D. Transects, 1964
Box Folder
55

Master Thesis Transects

Index Cards Reference for Thesis

Maps

Return to top

     Detailed description of A.03-116

Return to Top

     Personal Correspondence

Box Folder  
1 1 Personal Correspondence Letters concerning Royal Wedding 1947
  2 Personal Correspondence, 1950s
  3 Personal Correspondence, Letters from God-children 1967-97
  4 Personal Correspondence, Thank-you letters from God-children 1960s
  5 Personal Correspondence, 1962
  6 Personal Correspondence, 1965
  7 Personal Correspondence, 1966
  8 Personal Correspondence, 1967
  9 Personal Correspondence, 1968
  10 Personal Correspondence, 1969
Box Folder  
2 1 Wedding Correspondence, 1970
  2 Personal Correspondence, 1970s, 80s, 90s
  3 Personal Correspondence, 1970s
  4 Personal Correspondence, 1970
  5 Personal Correspondence, 1971
  6 Personal Correspondence,1972

1 photograph - Black and White

  7 Personal Correspondence, 1973
  8 Personal Correspondence, 1974
  9 Personal Correspondence, 1975
  10 Personal Correspondence, 1976
  11 Personal Correspondence,1977

2 Photographs - colour

Box Folder  
3 1 Personal Correspondence, 1978
  2 Personal Correspondence, 1979
  3 Personal Correspondence, 1980
  4 Personal Correspondence, 1981
  5 Personal Correspondence, 1982
  6 Personal Correspondence, 1983
  7 Personal Correspondence, 1984
  8 Personal Correspondence,1985

1 Photograph - Colour

  9 Personal Correspondence, 1986
Box Folder  
4 1 Personal Correspondence, 1987
  2 Personal Correspondence, 1988
  3 Personal Correspondence, 1989

3 Photographs - Colour, 1 Photograph - Black and White

  4 Personal Correspondence,1990

3 Photographs - Colour

  5 Personal Correspondence, 1991
  6 Personal Correspondence, 1992
  7 Personal Correspondence, 1993
Box Folder  
5 1 Personal Correspondence, 1994

12 Photographs - Colour

  2 Personal Correspondence, 1995
  3 Personal Correspondence, 1996
  4 Personal Correspondence, 1997
  5 Personal Correspondence,1998

5 Photographs - Colour

  6 Personal Correspondence,1999

4 Photographs - Colour

  7 Personal Correspondence,2000

8 Photographs - Colour

Box Folder  
6 1 Personal Correspondence, 2001
  2 Personal Correspondence, 2002
  3 Personal Correspondence, 2003

Return to Top

     Professional Correspondence

Box Folder  
6 4 Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1965-1989
  5 Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1993-1999

Folder 1 of 2

  6

Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1993-1999

Folder 2 of 2

  7 Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1996-1997

4 Photographs - Colour

  8 Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1998-2000
  9 Miscellaneous Correspondence, 2000
  10 Miscellaneous Correspondence, 2001
Box Folder  
7 1 Miscellaneous Correspondence, 2002-2003
  2 Teaching Annual Reports, 1960s-1980s
  3 Career File, 1960-1969
  4 Summary of Assessment of Research Proposal, 1970
  5 Career File, 1970-1979

1 Photograph - Black and White

Folder 1 of 2

  6 Career File, 1970-1979

Folder 2 of 2

  7 Career File, 1980-1985

4 Photographs - Black and White

  8 Teaching - Soils Notes, 1983
Box Folder  
8 1 Career File, 1986

4 Photographs - Black and White

  2 Career File, 1987-1989

2 Photographs - Colour

  3 Career File, 1990

1 Photograph - Colour

  4 Career File, 1991
  5 Career File, 1992

2 Photographs - Colour, 6 Photographs - Black and White

  6 Presentation Book and Cards for Jennifer Shay Retirement,1993

Folder 1 of 2

  7 Presentation Book and Cards for Jennifer Shay Retirement,1993

Folder 2 of 2

  8 Retirement, 1993

1 Photograph - Black and White

  9 University of Manitoba Field Station - Delta Marsh Brochures
  10 Consulting - Tetres, 1994-1996

Return to Top

     Award
 

Box Folder  
9 1 Order of Canada (Member), 1988-1989

1 Photograph - Colour

Folder 1 of 2

  2 Order of Canada (Member), 1988-1989

4 Photographs - Black and White

Folder 2 of 2

  3 Tyler Prize Nomination, 1994
  4 Professor Emeritus, 1995
  5 Tyler Prize Nomination, 1996 and 1998
  6 The Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal, 2002
  7 Order of Canada (Officer),2001

Folder 1 of 2

  8 Order of Canada (Officer),2001

5 Photographs - Colour

Folder 2 of 2

  9 YM-YWCA Woman of Distinction Award, 1997

Return to Top

     Publications and Research

Box Folder  
10 1 Jennifer Shay Publication Copies, 1954-1985
  2 Jennifer Shay Publication Copies, 1986-1993
  3 Jennifer Shay Publication Copies, 1998-1999
  4 Jennifer Shay Publication Copies, 2000-2002
  5 Research and Drafts - "A Survey of Vegitation in the Centre Unit, Delta Marsh," 1999
Box Folder  
11 1 Correspondence with Canadian Jounal of Botany - "Vegetation of Two Bogs in the Experimantal Lakes Area, North-western Ontario. I. Community Composition and Biomass,"1998
  2 Research and Correspondence - "Short-term Effects of Fire Frequency on Vegitation Composition and Biomass in Mixed Prairie in South-western Manitoba," 1997-2000
  3 Publisher Correspondence - "Short-term Effects of Fire Frequency on Vegitation Composition and Biomass in Mixed Prairie in South-western Manitoba," 1997-2000
  4 Phragmite/Scholochloa Data Summaries, 1971-1987
  5 Rough Draft - "The Effects of Water Level on the Growth and Reproduction of Scirpus Maritimus var. Paluosus," published 1981
  6 Research - Katherine A. Frego Draft Manuscript, "The Relationship Between Soil and Four Dominant Species in the Delta Marsh, MB," 1989
  7 Research - Katherine A. Frego, "Effects of Water Depth on Phragmites," 1985-1988

Folder 1 of 3

  8 Research - Katherine A. Frego, "Effects of Water Depth on Phragmites," 1985-1988

Folder 2 of 3

  9 Research - Katherine A. Frego, "Effects of Water Depth on Phragmites," 1985-1988

Folder 3 of 3

  10 Rough Draft, "A Morphological Comparison of Scirpus Actus and S. Validitus in southern Manitoba," published 1988

4 photographs - colour, 3 Photographs - Black and White, 3 Negatives

Box Folder  
12 1 Leafy Spurge Study - Data Analysis
  2 Leafy Spurge Study - Misc. Correspondence with Dr. Peter Harris, 1990-1992
  3 Peter Harris Leafy Spurge Study - Maxim, Broadview and Cypress River, 1990-1993
  4 Correspondence and Drafts - "Recovery and Mixed-grass Prairie Following Leafy Spurge (Euphorbia Esula) Suppression by (Aphthona Nigriscutis) in South-central Manitoba," 2000
  5 Correspondence and Drafts - "Bio-control of Leafy Spurge with Black Dot Beetle in Mixed-grass Prairie," 1999-2000
  6 Correspondence with Publisher - "Bio-control of Leafy Spurge with Black Dot Beetle in Mixed-grass Prairie," 2000-2001
  7 Research Projects, 1988
Box Folder  
13 1 Shilo Annual Report, 1987
  2 Shilo Annual Report, 1988
  3 Shilo Annual Report, 1989
  4 Shilo Supplementary Report, 1990
  5 Prairie Conservation Action Plan (Draft), 1996-2001
  6 Correspondence - Manitoba Conservation Data Centre, 1995
  7 Correspondence and Minutes - Shilo Environmental Advisory Committee
  8 Standard Operating Proceedures of Vegetation Monitoring as CFB Shilo, Manitoba
  9 Shilo Herbarium Specimens Sent by Jennnifer Shay, 1996-1999
  10 Certificate of Appreciation from CFB Shilo
Box Folder  
14 1 "Terrestrial Vegetation Monitoring Protocals," 1999
  2 Article - "Submerged and Emergent Plants in Lakes and Rivers," 1999
  3 Correspondence - "Dune Colonization in the Bald Head Hills, Manitoba," 2000
  4 Correspondence and Drafts - Dune Colonization in the Bald Head Hills, South-western Manitoba," 2000-2001
  5 Near Final Report - "Vegitation and Impact Study of deep Lake Riding Mountain Park," March 1979

7 Photographs - Colour

  6 Article - "Vegitation of Significant Natural Areas in Winnipeg," September 1996
  7 Jennifer Shay Talks and Briefs, 1972-1994

Return to Top

     Childhood Materials

Box Folder  
15 1 Drawing Books - Brentwood House School - 5-11 years old
  2 Drawing Books - Newland High School - 12-14 years old
  3 Nature Diary and Pressed Flowers, 1944Sketches of Seedlings, 1943
  4 Royal Wedding Scrapbook, 1947
Box Folder  
16 1 Letters of Reference, 1947-1948

2 Photographs - Black and White

  2 Newland High School Academic Award Certificates, 1941-1947

Return to Top

     University Education Records

Box Folder  
16 3 Miscellaneous Undergraduate Documentation,

2 Photographs - Black and White

  4 Masters of Science - Graduate study record and examination, 1958-1959
  5 Masters of Science thesis draft, 1959
  6 PhD documentation and correspondence, 1960-1963
  7 PhD thesis tables, 1964

MSc and PhD Parchments located in Oversized Box 29

  8 Scripts and Newspaper articles for BBC broadcasts, 1954-1955
  9 Flatford Mill briefings for courses and talks,1953

Folder 1 of 2

  10 Flatford Mill briefings for courses and talks,1953

Folder 2 of 2

Sketches removed to Oversized Box 29

  11 Flatford Mill, 1952-1957
Undergraduate Lecture Notes
Box Folder  
17 1 Lecture Notes - Intermediate Botany, 1949
  2 Lecture Notes - Geology Field Trip Maps
  3 Field Trips - Geology - Shropshire, 1950 Edinburgh, 1951
  4 Geology - Field trip report, 1950
  5 Geology - Edinburgh filed trip report
  6 Lecture Notes - Geology - Introduction Sedimentary and Metamorphic
  7 Lecture Notes - Geology - Stratigraphy, 1950
  8 Lecture Notes - Petrology
  9 Lecture Notes - Geology - Practical Stratigraphy
  10 Lecture Notes - Geology - Palaeontology labs
  11 Lecture Notes - Geology - Palaeontology, 1950
  12 Lecture Notes - Geology - Crystallography
Box folder  
18 1 Lecture Notes - Botany - Systematics, 1949
  2 Lecture Notes - Botany - Anatomy, 1949
  3 Lecture Notes - Botany - Genetics, 1950
  4 Lecture Notes - Botany - Bryophytes, Pteridophytes, 1950
  5 Lecture Notes - Botany - Algae and Fungi, 1951
  6 Lecture Notes - Botany - Plant Ecology
  7 Lecture Notes - Botany - Physiology, 1950
  8 Lecture Notes - Botany - Physiology, 1951
  9 Field Trip Notes - Dale Fort, 1950 Kew, 1951
  10 Field Trip Notes - Port Erin, 1951
  11 Assignments
  12 Lecture Notes - Geology - Practical Maps
  13 Lecture Notes - Plant Ecology course at Cambridge, 1975
Box Folder  
19 1 Lecture Notes - Zoology - Vertebrates, 1950
  2 Lecture Notes - Zoology - Vertebrates, Statistics, Histology, 1951
  3 Lecture Notes - Zoology - Invertebrates, 1951
  4 Lecture Notes - Zoology - Invertebrates, 1952
  5 Lecture Notes - Zoology - Practical, 1950-1951
  6 Lecture Notes - Zoology - Labs - Invertebrates
Box Folder  
20 1 Lecture Notes - Zoology - Labs - Invertebrates, 1949
  2 Lecture Notes - Zoology, 1949-1950
  3 Lecture Notes - Chemistry, 1949
  4 Lecture Notes - Chemistry - Labs, 1949
  5 Lecture Notes - Botany - Labs, 1949-1951

Return to Top

     Lectures and Affiliations

Box Folder  
20 6 Plant Ecology References
  7 Wetland Courses References
Box Folder  
21 1 Arctic Lecture
  2 Lectures Attended, 1960s-1984
  3 International Botanical Congress, Seattle, 1969
  4 Lectures Attended, 1966-1980s

Folder 1 of 2

  5 Lectures Attended, 1966-1980s

Folder 2 of 2

  6 Lectures Attended, 1966-2001
  7 International Wetland Conference, Trebon,1984

2 Photographs - Black and White

  8 Natural Resources Presentation - Manitoba Naturalist Society, 1998
Box Folder  
22 1 Field Exercises and Handouts
  2 Landscape Student Reports, 1976
  3 Field Course Manuals based on Jennifer Shay's field ecology, 1995 and 1997
  4 Field Course Manuals based on Jennifer Shay's field ecology, 1995 and 1997
  5 Women's Walk - Trans Canada Trail
  6 Memberships

Return to Top

     Biographical Materials

Box Folder  
22 7 Passports
  8 Emigration to Canada, 1969
  9 Employment Applications and Letters, 1950s and 1960s
  10 Curriculum Vitae, 1960-1994
  11 Curriculum Vitae background material
Box  
23 Daily Journals, 1964-1982
Box  
24 Daily Journals, 1985-1999

Return to Top

     Committees and Philanthropic Activities

Box Folder  
25 1 The Nature Conservancy of Canada - Scientific Advisory Committee Manitoba, 2000-2002
  2 Hentecleff Park Foundation - Hentecleff Tree Nursery Correspondence, 1996-1999
  3 Hentecleff Park Foundation - Hentecleff Tree Nursery Correspondence, 2000
  4 Hentecleff Park Foundation - Hentecleff Tree Nursery Correspondence, 2000-2003
  5 Manitoba Envirothon, 1999-2003
  6 Centre for Indigenous Environmental Resources Correspondence, 2000-2002
  7 Fort Whyte Centre - Meeting Correspondence and Minutes, 2000-2001

Return to Top

     PhD Student Records

Box Folder  
26 1 Sandra Gorrie - Admission to PhD Program
  2 Sandra Gorrie - PhD Thesis, 2000-2001
  3 Sandra Gorrie - PhD Thesis Evaluation

Restricted

  4 Sandra Gorrie - Correspondence, 1981-1983
  5 Sandra Gorrie - Correspondence, 1984-1989
  6 Sandra Gorrie - Correspondence, 1990-1997
  7 David B. Huebert - thesis, [ 1992 ]

Return to Top

     PC 176

Box Folder  
27 1 Photos - Misc., 1950s

#1-42

  2 Photos - Misc.,1960s

#43-82

  3 Photos - Misc.,1970s

#83-122

  4 Photos - Field Station, Greek Plants, Ecology Course

#123-125

Photos #134-141 removed to Oversized Box 29

  5 Personal Photos, 1962-1966

#126-131

Photos #132 and 133 removed to Oversized Box 29

  6 10 Slides 1966
  7 2 Slides 1991
  8 Miscellaneous Photo negatives

Return to Top

    TC 108

Box Folder  
28 1 Video - Healthy Environment Awards, 1996
  2 Audio tape removed from wedding Correspondence,1970

Box 2, Folder 1

  3 Audio Tape - CBC interview between Peter Holting, Tom Shay and Jennifer Shay, January 25, 1972

Return to Top

     Oversized

Box Folder  
29 1 Photos - Field Station, Greek Plants, Ecology Course
  2 Personal Photos 1962-1966

132 and 133

  3 Sketches - Flatford Mill briefings for courses and talks, 1953
  4 MSc and PhD Parchments

Return to Top

     MC 9

Map of Shilo, 1981

Map Cabinet #3

Return to Top

     A.04-72,Personal Correspondence

Box Folder  
1 1 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1952
  2 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1957
  3 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1958
  4 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1959
  5 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1960
  6 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1961
  7 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1962
  8 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1963
  9 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1964
  10 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1965
  11 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1966
  12 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1967
  13 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1968
  14 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1969
  15 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1970
  16 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1971
  17 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1972
  18 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1973
  19 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1974
  20 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1975
  21 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1976
  22 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1977
  23 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1978
  24 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1979
  25 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1980
  26 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1981
  27 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1982
  28 Personal Correspondence Received by Kathleen Walker, 1983

Return to Top