Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Evelyn Shapiro fonds: MSS 244 (A2006-74)

Evelyn Shapiro:

An Inventory of Her Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Vladimira Zvonik
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2007)

Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (2007)
Finding aid written in English.



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
Evelyn Shapiro
 
Title:
Evelyn Shapiro fonds
 
Dates:
1974-2006
 
Quantity:
0.87 m of textual records
 
Identification:
Mss 244, A2006-74
 
Language:
English

Return to Top


Biography of Evelyn Shapiro

Evelyn Shapiro, C.M. is an internationally respected speaker, researcher, educator, and an expert on aging and health care issues in Manitoba. She is a senior researcher with Manitoba Care Home Program and a professor and a senior scholar in the Department of Community Health Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, University of Manitoba. Evelyn Shapiro is a well known for developing and implementing the first provincial home care program in Manitoba. She is an author of many articles dealing with aging population, universal home care, and health care reforms. As a senior policy advisor to the Minister of Health, Manitoba Provincial Government, she has consulted many health care professional organizations and served on health advisory committees. Her research was instrumental in developing similar programs in other parts of Canada. Evelyn Shapiro is a recipient of many honors and awards, including an honorary Doctor of Laws degree, University of Manitoba (2000) and the Order of Canada (2007). She is a passionate advocate for a geriatric care in Canada.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds consists of Evelyn Shapiro's articles, speeches, correspondence, the history of the implementation of Universal Home Care Program in Manitoba and her involvement in the community (Civic Reform Coalition).

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into seven series:

  • 1. Curriculum Vitae, Awards
  • 2. Civil Reform Coalition, 1974-76
  • 3. Reprints - articles by Evelyn Shapiro and Associates
  • 4. Chapters - written by Evelyn Shapiro
  • 5. Speeches, 1977-2005
  • 6. Universal Home Care Program, 1977-2001
  • 7. Logan Area Expropriation Inquiry, 1981-82

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

One folder is marked confidential

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

One folder is marked confidential.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Evelyn Shapiro in 2006.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Curriculum Vitae, Awards
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 Curriculum Vitae, December 2006
  2 Awards - Various, 1993-2005
  3

Award - Doctor of Laws Degree, U of M [ 2000 ]

(includes correspondence - congratulatory messages)

  4 Award - Doctor of Laws Degree, U of M - correspondence, 2000

Return to Top


Civil Reform Coalition, 1974-76
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 5 Organization, c 1974-1976
  6 Press, Releases, and Newspaper Clippings, 1974-75
  7 Membership, 1974
  8 Correspondence, 1974-75
  9 Community Participation, 1974-2000

Return to Top


Reprints - Articles by Evelyn Shapiro and Associates, 1980-2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 10 [1995-2005]
  11 [1986-1994]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 [1980-1985]

Return to Top


Chapters, 1986-1995
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 2 [1986-1991]
  3 [1994-95]

Return to Top


Speeches, 1977-2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 4 [2005]
  5 [2004]
  6 [2003]
  7 [2002]
  8 [2001]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 1 [2000]
  2 [1999]
  3 [1998]
  4 [1997]
  5 [1996]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 1 [1995]
  2 [1994]
  3 [1993]
  4 [1992]
  5 [1991]
  6 [1990]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
5 1 [1989]
  2 [1981-1988]
  3 [1977-1985]

Return to Top


Universal Home Care Program 1977-2001
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
6 1 History of the Implementation of Universal Home Care Program in Manitoba, 1977
  2 Case Study for the Harvard-Duke Series - Implementation of a Universal Home Care Program, 1981
  3 Home Care and the Physically Disabled Adult, Report - Consultation, 1985
  4

Personal Care Home - Reports, 1986-1990

(correspondence, reports)

  5

Health Reform - Evelyn Shapiro, Senior Planning and Policy Advisor, Manitoba Health, 1987-1989

(correspondence, reports, consultations, recommendations)

Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
7 1

Home Care Privatization Issues, 1996-1999

(newspaper clippings, correspondence, publications)

  2 Home Care Privatization Issues - Evelyn Shapiro's input, 1997
  3 Issues in Privatization of Dearness Home - Consultation, 1997
  4

Consultation - Ron Hikel, Manitoba Provincial Government, 2001

(confidential)

Return to Top


Logan Area Expropriation Inquiry, 1981-1982
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
7 5 Newspaper Clippings, 1981-1982
  6 Commission of Inquiry into Expropriation of Logan -C.P.R. Area - submitted by E. Shapiro, 1982

Return to Top