Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

John Yuzyk fonds: Home

John Yuzyk

John Yuzyk:

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collection

Inventory prepared by V. Zvonik
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2013)

Finding aid encoded by V. Zvonik (2013)
Finding aid written in English. 

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of John Yuzyk

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Related Materials

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

John Yuzyk - Biographical Information

Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association

Artifacts - Pins, Oversize

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Creator:
John Yuzyk

Title:
John Yuzyk fonds

Dates:
1938-2003

Quantity:
0.25 m of textual records and other material

Identification:
Mss 390 (A12-94)

English, Ukrainian

Return to Top

Biography of John Yuzyk

John Yuzyk was born on April 19, 1913 in Rein, Saskatchewan. He grew up in a Ukrainian pioneer family. His father Dmytro Yuzyk came to Canada at the age of fifteen from Kopychyntsi, Husiatyn, Ukraine and settle down on a farm in Kamsack, Saskatchewan. John studied music and received a degree from London College of Music in 1940. He recorded two albums (1960) and his songs were played on the ethnic radio stations. In Regina, he worked for Saskatchewan Civil Service in Assessment Branch.

During WWII he served overseas with R.C.A.F. as an aircraft mechanic. There, he joined other Canadian Ukrainian personnel and together they formed Ukrainian Canadian Service Personnel’s Association. He was appointed a Pilot Officer of R.C.A.F. in 1959. After his honorable discharge from the military, John Yuzyk dedicated his life to Ukrainian veterans' organizations in Canada. He was a longtime member of the Ukrainian Canadian Veterans Branch #141, Royal Canadian Legion and also president of the Ukrainian Canadian Veteran Association of Canada (1971-1974).

In Winnipeg, he worked in a real estate for 35 years and retired in 1986. John Yuzyk was an active member of many Ukrainian organizations and received many awards and recognitions from the Government of Manitoba and the Ukrainian community. He passed away in Winnipeg on October 21, 2003.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

This fonds consists of John Yuzyk's biographical information and Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association's minutes of meetings, financial statements and other material.

Return to Top

Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into three series:

  • 1. John Yuzyk - Biographical Information
  • 2. Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association
  • 3. Artifacts - Pins, Oversize Documents

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

No restriction on access

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

No restrictions on use

Return to Top

Related Materials

Michael Ewanchuk fonds, Mss 75 (A04-129)

Return to Top

Custodial History

The Accession was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives by Mary Anne Yuzyk-Shore in 2012.

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

     John Yuzyk - Biographical Information

Box Folder  
1 1 Biographical Information, 1938-2003
  2 Awards, Certificates, 1962-2001
  3 Ukrainian Centennial Memorial Cenotaph, Dauphin, 1991
  4 Correspondence, 1993-2001
  5 Royal Canadian Air Cadets - 573 Squadron, 1963-1983

Return to Top

     
     Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association

Box Folder  
1 6 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association, 1965-1975
  7 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association - National Convention, 1965
  8 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association, 1982-1987

(includes two photographs)

  9 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association, Manitoba Division - Minutes of Meetings, 1984
  10 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association, Manitoba Division - Minutes of Meetings, 1985
  11 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association, Manitoba Division - Minutes of Meetings, 1986
  12 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association, Manitoba Division - Minutes of Meetings, 1987
  13 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association, Manitoba Division - Minutes of Meetings, 1988
  14 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans, Branch 141 - Internal Audit Report, 1987-1988
Box Folder  
2 1 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans, Branch 141 - Financial Statements, 1983-1988
  2 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association - Cultural Events - Youth and Cultural Committee - Annual Reports, 1983-1988
  3 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association, Branch 141 - Correspondence, 1976-1988
  4 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association, Branch 141 - Programs, 1984-1987
  5 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association - Newsletters, 1964-1985
  6 Ukrainian Canadian Veterans' Association - Newspaper Clippings, 1986-1988
  7 Ukrainian Bulletin. New York, 1948-1960, 1965
  8 Ukrainian Festivals - Programs, 1982-1987

Return to Top

     Artifacts - Pins, Oversize

Box Folder  
2 9 Artifacts - Royal Canadian Legion, Manitoba, Ukrainian Pins

(17 pins)

    Oversize - Appointment to the Officer in Royal Canadian Air Force, 1959Oversize - Tenth Anniversary no. 573 Air Cadet Squadron, May 26th, 1953-1963

(located in the Map Cabinet)

Return to Top