Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Manitoba Gay and Lesbian Archives: Home

Manitoba Gay and Lesbian Archives

National Gay Conference, 1975

Written and researched by:

Graham Stinnett, MA 
Archival Assistant

The formation of the Manitoba Gay and Lesbian Archives is a symbolic culmination of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered, Two-spirited, and Queer individuals and organizations recording people’s history. Through this active approach to preservation and self-awareness, an outstanding body of knowledge exists today on the life, literature, art, philosophy and history of the Winnipeg LGBTTQ community dating back to the 1920s. Like all social histories, the context of the world surrounding a place in a given time plays a large part in shaping this body of material. However, Winnipeg experienced a particularly active movement of well-organized individuals and groups who took it upon themselves to create their own liberation, seeking to advance the rights of gays and lesbians throughout the province.


Browse the Manitoba Gay and Lesbian Archives finding aid

View the Manitoba Gay and Lesbian Archives digital collection

Learn how to use our archives

For more information on transgendered people, visit the University of Victoria's Transgender Archives.



Credits

Website text and layout

  • Graham Stinnett

Arrangement and description of records:

  • Graham Stinnett
  • Cynthia Worseley

Creation of finding aid

  • Graham Stinnett

Scanning and description of digital collection

  • Graham Stinnett
  • Andrea Martin

Website creation

  • Brett Lougheed

Project administration and management

  • Brian Hubner
  • Brett Lougheed

We also wish to acknowledge the contributions of Ryan Schultz for the preservation of the Manitoba Gay and Lesbian Archives prior to its donation to the University of Manitoba and for acting as a consultant throughout this project.

We are also indebted to David Churchill (Director) and the University of Manitoba Institute for the Humanities' LGBTTQ Initiative, whose historical knowledge and training greatly influenced this project at all levels.


We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through Library and Archives Canada, and administered by the Canadian Council of Archives.

We also acknowledge the financial support of the University of Manitoba and the Institute for Humanities through the Academic Enhancement Fund.