The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art by 
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography 
A Yellow Cup, 1998. Image courtesy Larry Qualls Archive, ARTstor.
When researching contemporary art, you will be gathering information from a plethora of materials. For biographical and exhibition information, you should start with our dictionaries and biographies. Once you know a bit more about your artist, you can retrieve contemporary art criticisms and reviews by using our databases, as outlined under <Articles>. Well known artists have a catalogue raisonné, which means their entire oevre has been gathered and illustrated in a book. Sometimes your artist may not have a body of literature written about them, so artist files and web sites may be your only source of information. There are many fantastic web sites, but make sure you use your critical eye and evaluate them thoroughly. Have fun! Don't forget to try "One Stop Search" as it is good for gathering together newspaper articles and other resources. See <Course Guides> for handouts for Art in New Media and Art & Nature seminars.
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
Fast forward: contemporary collections for the Dallas Museum of Art
MOMA Highlights Since 1980
Art at the Turn of the Millenneum
200 artworks, 25 years : artists' editions for ParkettA Dictionary of Canadian Artists - This resource contains over 5000 biographical entries for Canadian artists.
Dictionary of Modern to Contemporary Art