Skip to Main Content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Social History of the Eastern Arctic Database: Home

About

The Social History of the Eastern Arctic database provides access to abstracts of records primarily dealing with what is now Nunavut. It further includes records from the Inuvialuit Settlement Area, Nunavik, and the Northwest Territories.

The database was created to allow community members, researchers, and students to access and learn about the social history of the Eastern Arctic region. Materials documenting this rich history are dispersed across numerous archives across Canada. This database provides users with the information they need to locate relevant information across these multiples archives, mainly, government records from the Northwest Territories Archives, and the National Archives of Canada (now Library and Archives Canada), as well as records from Prince of Wales Heritage Centre (Yellowknife, NWT), the Hudson's Bay Company Archives (Winnipeg, MB), and the Anglican Church of Canada (Toronto, ON). For users who are unable to access the original archival records, it is hoped that the abstracts themselves will provide enough detail to facilitate further research and discussion. Many of the abstracts also have the original documents attached to them, so please click the linked file for further information. 

Users of the database should note that the database covers the period between 1880-2002, and that it is not a comprehensive repository of records related to Inuit social history.  The database also does not include records obtained under the former Access to Information Act. Users who wish to access the original document, or obtain copies, should contact the archival repository that holds the original documents.

Research and archival document collection was conducted over 30 years by Frank Tester (University of British Columbia). During a number of research projects with Peter Kylchyski (University of Manitoba), dealing with arctic social history, and working with Inuit youth examining their history with Paul McNicoll (University of British Columbia), Tester built the database. 

The database was created through the assistance of the Nunavummiut elders who contributed much to the understanding of the records in the database.

CLICK HERE TO ACCESS THE DATABASE

 

 

               

      Mar 1, 1949. Winnipeg Free Press, “Doctors Fly North to Battle Plague”. [no RG]. (163.003).