Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ethics and Values in Social Work by
Alan Barsky used to teach in the social work program at the University of Calgary. His writing is clear and he uses many examples to demonstrate his points. Section I discusses the foundation of social work ethics – values, our ethical code, and how ethics apply in practice with individuals, families, groups and communities. Section II discusses in more depth the processes of making ethical decisions
Page 266 – 267– There are times when values and principles conflict with each other, making ethical decision-making difficult. These pages discuss the rules and principles that take precedence over other rules and principles.
Introduction to Applying Social Work Theories and Methods by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This book is a student-friendly introduction to social work theories and methods, drawing on current social work research. It is highly readable, easy to understand, gives clear direction about how to utilize theories, and provides good case studies. Theories and approaches included in the book: systems / ecological perspective, strengths perspective, empowerment, feminist theory and practice, person-centred approach, motivational interviewing, cognitive behavioural therapy, solution-focused practice, task centred practice, crisis intervention, community work and groupwork.
The SAGE Handbook of Conflict Communication by
Publication Date: 2013-02-14
This Handbook of Conflict Communication emphasizes constructive conflict management from a communication perspective, identifying the message as the focus of conflict research and practice. Editors John G. Oetzel and Stella Ting-Toomey, along with expert researchers in the discipline, have assembled in one resource the knowledge base of the field of conflict communication; identified the best theories, ideas, and practices of conflict communication; and provided the opportunity for scholars and practitioners to link theoretical frameworks and application tools. The section on interpersonal conflict – emotion & communication, social cognition, dating and marital relationships, intimate partner violence, conflict and mental health within families, managing conflict – provides excellent information for social workers
Theoretical perspectives for direct social work practice : a generalist-eclectic approach by
This is an excellent text providing an updated overview of the theories, models, and therapies that inform direct social work practice. The text is grounded in generalist social work principles and values and promotes a problem-solving model of social work practice as a framework for the eclectic use of theory, as well as for integrating the artistic, reflective elements of practice. It provides in-depth coverage of select psychodynamic, cognitive-behavioral, humanistic, critical, and postmodern theories. Empowerment Theory is included with a chapter on Feminist Theory. A chapter on Strengths-based Social Work is included in the section on meta-theories for social work practice. Other chapters include Emotion-focused Therapy and Collaborative Therapy. Updated research on the debate about the importance of theory/technique versus common (e.g., relationship) factors, and on the critique of the empirically supported treatment movement is included. Promotes a problem-solving model of social work as a flexible structure for integrating the eclectic use of theory with the artistic, reflective elements of practice•
Breaking Out of the Box by
Publication Date: 2019-12-04
Moving from the classroom to the field is often a daunting transition for social work students. In this new edition of their celebrated text, Kelly Ward and Robin Sakina Mama address student fears and concerns with a straightforward, adventure-based instruction method. Using interactive exercises to integrate cross-curricula content, Breaking Out of the Box, Fourth Edition, encourages students to gain perspective and insight as they navigate field placement and their growing careers. Previous editions of Breaking Out of the Box have been commended for their direct and honest approach to a wide array of concerns shared by social workers and students. The fourth edition returns to this mission with a new chapter on emotional intelligence written with the authors' hands-on and direct approach. The book's exercises allow students to become comfortable using vital social work tools and theories outside of the classroom. Emphasis on individual decision making within group settings fosters independent skills and confidence in addition to proficient group work and leadership skills. In Breaking Out of the Box, Ward and Mama prepare social work students for the full scope of their careers in the field in one crucial text.
The Social Work Field Placement by
Publication Date: 2018-10-28
This unique core text helps BSW and MSW students structure their field placement learning around the nine CSWE professional social work competencies. Empowering students to go beyond merely completing tasks, the book facilitates mastery and integration of these competencies by elucidating key concepts and applying them to realistic competency-based case scenarios. Each user-friendly chapter--directly linked to a particular competency--promotes thought-provoking reflection about field work with critical thinking questions, a detailed case example, and an online competency reflection log template. These tools reinforce learning by connecting competencies directly to students' internship experiences. Cases are structured to serve as models when students prepare their own cases and include a review of the competency; detailed practice settings; socioeconomic and context factors at micro, macro, and mezzo levels; a problem overview; an assessment of client strengths and weaknesses; and a closing summary. Additional learning aids include chapter opening vignettes and objectives, plus chapter summaries.
Shame and Social Work by
Publication Date: 2020-07-01
Examining experiences of shame and stigma in the context of austerity and the declining welfare state, this book shows how social work can ameliorate the impacts of shame through sensitive, reflective and relationship-based practice. It provides a broad understanding of shame and looks at its impact on both service users and practitioners. Section I examines the theory of shame and takes a very sociological perspective. Section II examines the experiences of service users. Application of shame for those experiencing poverty are many – those receiving social assistance, food bank users, those earning minimum wage, homeless people, those receiving unemployment assistance. Other applications of shame in social work practice include any child who experiences sexual abuse, women who experience partner abuse or rape, children who are in care. People who experience physical disabilities might also feel shame about their “lesser abilities”.
The social work field instructor's survival guide by
Publication Date: 2016
This is a sage, practical guide for social work field instructors who want to provide expert guidance to their students in the field and in the classroom. It helps field educators to impart the knowledge, skills, and values of the social work profession and to assist students in translating classroom knowledge into effective practice in realworld settings. The book helps instructors to master the nuts and bolts of field education by delineating how to orient students to field work and supervision, monitor cases, evaluate student performance, navigate professional ethics, comply with CSWE practice competencies, and fulfill all requirements of a social work practicum. The authors, who are seasoned social work practitioners and veteran field instructors, distill years of hard-earned wisdom regarding all components of the field education process. They describe how to recruit practicum students and facilitate positive collaboration between school and field agency. The chapters outline dos and don'ts of supervision, learning assessment planning and agendas, evaluation plans and techniques, how to integrate theory and practice, and how to best assist students who are struggling. Plentiful examples from social work programs and field agencies clearly illustrate the challenging process of providing field instruction to both graduate and undergraduate social work students.
Social Work Theory and Methods by
Publication Date: 2017-10-23
This is the first text a student should consult if they feel deficient in their knowledge about theory in social work. This gateway text lays the foundations for a thorough knowledge of the theory and methods that social workers need. Pulling together the work of a team of experts, this book uses the innovative “theorizing practice” approach, rather than the traditional “applying theory to practice” approach, thereby providing a much more satisfactory basis for understanding the relationship between theory and practice and making it easier for practitioners to employ theory in practice. Part I sets the scene by examining the relationship between theory and practice, how research can be used to inform practice and the important role of policy and organizational factors. Part II provides 14 chapters, each exploring a different theoretical approach
Understanding emotions in social work : theory, practice and reflection by
Publication Date: 2015
This practical guide will help social work students and practitioners to recognize, reflect upon and use emotions in their practice. The chapter on ‘Reflection and the exploration of emotions’ is a good one to assist students with their task of becoming self-reflective and critically analytical. ‘Emotions, supervision and support’ discusses the place of emotions within the supervisory relationship, and how they can contribute to the development of a supervisory arrangement that allows for reflection and learning. The final chapter 7 brings together professionalism and emotion – another chapter that will be useful for students when contemplating their learning objectives related to professional and ethical practice.
Reflective Learning: Key to Learning from Experience
Reflective learning is the process of internally examining and exploring an issue of concern, triggered by an experience, which creates and clarifies meaning in terms of self, and which results in a changed conceptual perspective. We suggest that this process is central to understanding the experiential learning process. In this article, we describe the process of reflective learning as identified through analysis of three distinct sets of data, including sequential interviews, single interviews, and written questionnaires, using three separate samples. The sequential interviews revealed a pattern of becoming aware of one's own reflective learning patterns and deciding to use them consciously. Then, the six stages in the reflective learning process are abstracted and described. Implications of the process for personal change and growth, for facilitating learning from experience and changing perspectives, and for further research are also discussed.