Articles & Databases

Journal articles are a common way for researchers and scientists to publish, or make public, the results and significance of their research. Articles can report on original research, re-analyze prior research, review existing research and literature, or contain opinions.

You may also see the phrases peer-reviewed articles, scholarly articles, scientific articles, research articles, or academic articles. These all refer to journal articles.

Key Databases

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive multidisciplinary bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly. Components include:Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)Index Chemicus (1993-present)Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present) Web of Science Search Help
Scopus This link opens in a new window Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari. Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.Scopus Search Help
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window Access to 1961-2014 content only. SpringerMaterials provides curated data and functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields. SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, and also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window arXiv.org is an open access database of preprints and e-prints of scientific papers, maintained by Cornell University Library, covering the subject areas of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. Mathematicians and scientists regularly upload their papers to arXiv.org for worldwide access before they are published in peer-reviewed journals. Content is updated monthly.
INIS Database (International Nuclear Information System) This link opens in a new window The INIS database covers scientific literature on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. Subjects include nuclear engineering, safeguards and non-proliferation, applications of nuclear science in agriculture and health, and others. The database includes references to journal articles, science and technology reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations and standards, and web documents.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.PubMed Search Help

CERN Document Server (CDS)

Top UM Physics & Astronomy Faculty Journals

The journals that U of M Physics & Astronomy faculty most published in, from 2020-23 (data from SciVal).

High-Impact Physics Journals

High-impact physics journals, based on SciVal's CiteScore 2022 metric.

High-Impact Science Journals

High-impact multidisciplinary sciences journals, based on SciVal's 2022 Citescore metric.

Lean Library Browser Extension

Access your research anytime, anywhere. The Lean Library browser extension makes it simple to access academic articles, journals and databases licensed by the UM Libraries, wherever you are and whenever you need it.

Install the browser extension once and enjoy a simpler, faster way to get access.

Connecting from Off-Campus

The University of Manitoba Libraries use a proxy server to allow access to licensed electronic resources from off-campus. When you choose a resource that needs to be authenticated, you'll be asked for your Library ID and password. Your Library ID is your UMNetID and UMNetID password, the same username and password you use to login to many U of M online systems. Contact the IST Help and Solutions Centre if you need assistance with your UMNetID.