Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Carol Cooke (librarian): Home

Carol Cooke MLIS

Profile Photo
Carol Cooke
she / her / hers
Contact: Website

Office Hours

Monday - Friday
8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Address

Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library
University of Manitoba
Rm 226 - 727 Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E 3P5
Canada

Biographical Summary

Carol is a Health Sciences Liaison and a Librarian with the University of Manitoba.  She graduated from the University of Western Ontario where she received a Master of Science in Library and Information Sciences in 1993.  She has held a position at the University of Manitoba Libraries from 1994 to present.

In her roles with the Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library, she is responsible for providing reference services and training for faculty, staff, and students at the University of Manitoba Bannatyne Campus and more specifically the Max Rady College of Medicine.

Collection responsibilities

As the functional specialist for collections, I am responsible for coordinating all large-scale collections projects at the NJMHS Library.  Recently completed projects include:

  • Removing paper-based journals which are held electronically through perpetual access and creating space in our library for increased study space.

Upcoming Presentations

Topic: Citation Tracking: an alternative to literature searching
Audience: interested parties
Date: Nov 23, 2022
Description:  This hands-on session introduces you to using citation tracking as an alternative method to the traditional literature search.  Topics covered will include the strengths and weaknesses of this method, when to use it and the tools used to do forward and backward citation tracking (Google Scholar, Scopus, Web of Science).

Recent Presentations

Topic: Managing your references with Zotero
Audience: Interested parties
Date: Oct 5, 2022
Description: This hands-on session will introduce you to Zotero - a popular free and open-source citation management tool. Zotero helps you organize references and PDFs and allows you to easily create bibliographies using 1000s of predetermined styles. This session will guide you through the layout of Zotero, how to import and export references, how to share Zotero libraries with colleagues, how to locate full-text articles, syncing across libraries, and how to create a bibliography in the style (e.g., Vancouver, APA, MLA) that you need. You will also explore ZoteroBib - a free and easy-to-use web tool for very quickly creating formatted citations.

Topic: Library Orientation for PGME Y1 - Internal Medicine
Audience: First year Internal Medicine Residents
Date: Jul 7, 2022
Description: Brief overview of library services and resources for new residents.

Topic: Designing Research Abstracts
Audience: Research in Medicine Interest Group (MMSA)
Date: Apr 20, 2022
Description: Abstracts are the advertising copy of the world of research.  They are a distillation of research into a summary of work which invites the audience to learn more.  Learn about the standard elements of research abstracts and how they are applied to conferences and publications.  This session will also briefly review abstract submission guidelines and review processes. Get started on disseminating your research today!

Topic: BSc Systematic Searching
Audience: BSc (Med) & BSc (Dent) students
Date: Jun 7, 2022
Description: Provides an overview of systematic searching process for literature, systematic and scoping reviews.  Including a discussion of protocol development and PRISMA guidelines.

Topic: BSc Citation Management with EndNote and Covidence
Audience: BSc (Med) & BSc (Dent) students
Date: Jun 9, 2022
Description: An introduction to the use of EndNote and Covidence for citation management in literature, systematic and scoping reviews.  

Topic: BSc Preparing for Publication
Audience: BSc (Med) & BSc (Dent) students
Date: Jun 22, 2022
Description: Provides an overview of a number of issues around publication including:

  • journal selection
  • peer review process
  • open access
  • copyright
  • ORCiD

Topic: Library Orientation for Medical Licensure Program IMG
Audience: International Medical Graduates
Date: Jun 16, 2022 (session 1); Jun 27, 2022 (session 2)
Description:  Introduction to the resources and services available to learners in the International Medical Graduate Programs of the Max Rady College of Medicine.

Topic: PGME New Trainee Orientation: Library Essentials
Audience: PGY1
Date: Jun 29, 2022
Description: A brief introduction to the Neil John Maclean Library and our services and supports to residents in the College of Medicine.

Scholarly Work

Bibliography

Loading ...