Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Medicine Archives Services - Researchers: Home

How to Cite Archival Sources

When citing archival material held within the Faculty of Medicine Archives please include the following information:

  • The full name of the institution - University of Manitoba Faculty of Medicine Archives and UMFMA for subsequent citations.
  • The collection title and/or number, box number, folder number, and item number if available.

Examples of properly cited material from the Faculty of Medicine Archives

Biographical and Private Records:

"University of Manitoba Faculty of Medicine Archives, Biographical Records collection, Bruce Chown, Box 2, Folder 2"

"University of Manitoba Faculty of Medicine Archives, William Boyd collection, Box 2, Folder 5"

Institutional Records:

"University of Manitoba Faculty of Medicine Archives, Department of Community Health Sciences, Series 2.6.1. - Department of Community Health Sciences correspondence files, Folder 2"

"UMFMA, Department of Human Anatomy and Cell Science, Series 2.1.4. - The Manitoba Anatomy Act files, Folder 1"

Photographs:

"University of Manitoba Faculty of Medicine Archives, Medicine Photograph Collection, MPC 4.3.52.B."