LibGuides: Kinesiology and Recreation Management: Journals/Databases

Image: White text on blue background with round thought bubbles Text: Ask Us

Best Bets for Articles

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus is an index of scholarly journal articles on sports, fitness, health, and sports medicine studies. Coverage dates back to 1800.

Search help for SPORTdiscus
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
PubMed Search Help
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multi-disciplinary citation database.

Other Relevant Databases and Tools

Multidisciplinary

Multidisciplinary databases can be used to research most topics, and are useful for research questions that are interdisciplinary in nature.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary scholarly database which includes full text.
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary citation database.

History of sport

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
This database covers American and Canadian history, and is useful for Canadian sport history research.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database covers world history, with limited coverage of Canada and US history. Useful for international sports history.

Physical Education

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC database provides extensive access to education-related literature. It can be used for research in physical education.
Note: ERIC can now be searched on either the ProQuest or the Ebsco platform. Please choose whichever platform you are most comfortable with.

Sports Psychology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This is the major database for psychological literature. Useful for research on areas such as mental health and sport psychology.

PsycINFO Search Help

Leisure Studies, Sociology of Sport, Tourism

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Recommended for sociological or social science aspects of research topics.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts is primarily intended for agriculture, but also includes very good coverage of recreation and leisure.
Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
The Management & Organization Studies Collection includes full text journals published by SAGE on those topics. It may be useful for the management and business aspects of topics related to Kinesiology and Recreation Management, for example in travel and tourism.

Health Science, Clinical Tools, and Evidence Based Practice

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the major source of literature for nursing and other allied health.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE covers the international journal literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Note that MEDLINE (Ovid) contains largely the same content as PubMed, so it is typically not necessary to search both.

Medline Search Help
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database with a more international focus than PubMed/MEDLINE.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library contains systematic reviews and other information to assist in making evidence-based diagnostic, treatment and other health care decisions.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey offers access to hundreds of Elsevier's medical and surgical books, thousands of videos and millions of images.
Please Note: To view ebook PDFs, users must create a personal account or use a Scopus ID.
Per publisher policy, ClinicalKey doesn't provide PDFs for all ebook titles.
Trip Pro This link opens in a new window
The TRIP database is optimized for evidence-based practice, including content such as systematic reviews, evidence synopses, and practice guidelines.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a point of care tool designed for use at the bedside. It provides options for diagnosis and management, including the efficacy, doses, and interactions of individual drugs, and includes a section for patients. Content is peer-reviewed and updated every four months.
Please Note: UpToDate only supports the latest browser versions (Edge, Chrome, Firefox, Opera, Safari)

Anatomy Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy contains numerous video clips of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors. The videos show moving structures—muscles, tendons, and joints—making the same movements that they make in life. The clips build complex structures step-by-step—from bone to surface anatomy—to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
Visible Body: Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Visible Body: Human Anatomy Atlas is a 3D visualization and learning tool that includes over 5,000 interactive, medically accurate male and female anatomical structures covering systemic anatomy, regional anatomy, senses, muscle action, and 25 cross-sections.Please Note: A mobile app is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play. To register, see the Instructions for Off Campus. System Requirements:
- most recent browser version
- only compatible with 64-bit Windows machines
- for iPhone: iOS 12.0 or later
- for Android: Android 5 or later

Social Sciences Liaison Librarian

Janice Winkler

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

(431) 334-9054

Subjects: Athletic Therapy, Disability Studies, Kinesiology, Linguistics, Physical Education, Recreation Management and Community, Women's and Gender Studies