This is a list of selected resources for Labour Studies. For a full description of the resource, hover over the icon.
Labour Studies IndexIndexes the publications relevant to Canadian labour studies including books, book chapters, journal articles, reviews, commissioned reports, and theses. Indexes comprehensively the journals Labour/Le Travail, Relations industrielles/Industrial Relations and Just Labour: A Canadian Journal of Work and Society. The Index is produced by Desmond Maley and Dan Scott, J.-N. Desmarais Library, Laurentian University. For each respective journal, go to Selected Labour Studies Journal Titles below.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Alternative Press IndexThis link opens in a new windowAlternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper and magazine articles from international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Covering 1991 to the present, it provides access to emerging theories and practices of social change.
Alternative Press Index ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowThis archive companion to the Alternative Press Index is a guide to articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage spans 1969 through 1990.
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowSimultaneous user limit: 6
America: History and Life is an index to scholarly literature dealing with Canadian and U.S. history. It covers the history of these two countries from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes articles, book reviews and dissertations. Political, diplomatic, military, economic, social, cultural, religious and intellectual history are included. The history of science, technology and medicine is also covered.
Business Source PremierThis link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)This link opens in a new windowCanadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
Conference Board of Canada e-LibraryThis link opens in a new window Please Note: There is a 60-day viewing embargo on webinars.
Conference Board of Canada e-Library contains research documents produced by the Conference Board of Canada and Conference Board Inc. (New York). These documents include research reports that provide insights into key areas of economic trends, organizational performance and public policy. To access: You may see an option to access this document without creating an account or create a new account. Please choose the "without creating an account" option to access the item.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
LabourSourceThis link opens in a new window Please Note: Before searching, select LabourSource from My Subscriptions on the right side of screen.
LabourSource integrates labour-related case law, labour arbitration decisions, court decisions, and labour and employment related legislation from all Canadian jurisdictions. Includes access to Canadian Labour Arbitration, Fourth Ed. (Brown & Beatty).
PAIS InternationalThis link opens in a new windowPAIS International, from Public Affairs Information Service, is an index to literature on political, economic, and social issues of current interest. The database covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences. Emphasis is on issues that are, or might become, the subject of legislation. Coverage dates back to 1915.
ScopusThis link opens in a new window Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.
Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Sociological AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1952 - present
Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from serial publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThe Sociology Collection is a database of bibliographic records and the full-text of journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as Childhood, Contemporary Sociology, Comparative Sociology, Consumer Culture, Classical Sociology, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and Sociology of Work and Employment (Labor Studies).