Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Criminal Law: Online Resources

Canadian Criminal Law Notebook
The Canadian Criminal Law Notebook is a legal reference tool that features articles which have been sourced from legislation (i.e. the Criminal Code) and case law. The content is divided into five subject areas, substantive criminal law, criminal procedure, search and seizure, evidence and sentencing.


Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides international coverage of the literature of criminology and related disciplines, including: journal articles, books, reports, and dissertations. Topical areas covered include: crime trends, crime prevention, deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.


CriminalSource
WestLaw's CriminalSource® is a comprehensive collection of case law, annotations, and commentary from criminal law experts.
(Note: Before searching, select CriminalSource from My Subscriptions list on right side of screen.)


Duhaime on Criminal Law
Duhaime.org | Learn Law is a privately operated legal information website intended for the general public.  It features a legal dictionary and articles on various legal topics authored by lawyers and subject authorities.  Links and bibliographies are provided for further research.


Criminology & Criminal Justice: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
The Criminology Collection includes full-text journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article.


Martin's Online Criminal Code
Provides users with access to the Criminal Code at a particular point in time, along with the corresponding commentary. Users can browse through previous versions of Martin's Annual Criminal Code, or search for a particular section or subsection at a specific date. Martin's Online Criminal Code includes the full text of the following: - all versions of the Criminal Code dating back to 1955, cross-references, synopses, and annotations from Martin's Annual Criminal Code dating back to 1955 cases.


World Trials Library
HeinOnline’s World Trials Collection contains trial transcripts, critical court documents, and trial-related resources such as monographs which analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials. It also includes biographies of many of the greatest trial lawyers in history.

Canada Supreme Court Reports (HeinOnline)
HeinOnline's Canada Supreme Court Reports contain the official, bilingual series published under the authority of the Supreme Court of Canada. This collection contains more than 9,400 case decisions.

Tip: S.C.R. can also be found via lexum

 

Justice Laws Canada/Lois et règlements codifiés du Canada
Justice Laws (Canada), formerly known as Statutes of Canada, is an online source of federal consolidated Acts and regulations. Search the database to find the most current version of a statute or regulation, and to get point-in-time searches of statutes and regulations, as well as track changes and amendments to them. Browse regulations, statutes, or other documents (orders, proclamations) by title, or browse annual statutes.

 

National Crime Prevention Centre
The National Crime Prevention Centre (NCPC) coordinates crime prevention work in Canada across all levels of government. The website provides crime prevention tools and resources, information on funding programs, and projects.  It also includes crime prevention news releases, publications and reports, as well as links to all Public Safety departments.  

 

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (U.S.)
The NCJRS Virtual Library and Abstracts Database is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information. It includes resources published by the bureaus, offices, and agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice.  More than 225,000 collection records, including more than 80,000 online resources, and all known Office of Justice Programs' works are available.

 

Statistics Canada: Statistics by Subject - Crime and Justice
Browse Statistics Canada’s collection of data, articles, reports, and surveys on the subject of crime and justice. Documents can be filtered by topic, by date or by type of resource.

Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies
“CAEFS is an association of self-governing, community-based Elizabeth Fry Societies that work with and for women and girls in the justice system, particularly those who are, or may be, criminalized.”  Relevant fact sheets, annual reports, press releases, and position papers are available on the website, as well as links to other resources.

 

Canadian Criminal Justice Association
The CCJA is an independent national umbrella organization representing areas of the criminal justice system and the public. The CCJA’s briefs and articles, book reviews, and position papers are available on the website. Abstracts to the Justice Reports and the Journal of Criminology are also provided.

 

International Centre for Criminal Law Reform and Criminal Justice Policy
International Centre for Criminal Law Reform and Criminal Justice Policy is a joint initiative of the University of British Columbia, Simon Fraser University and the International Society for the Reform of Criminal Law with contributions from the Government of Canada and the province of British Columbia. Besides links to relevant resources, the website offers access to committee publications and reports.

 

Journal of Prisoners on Prisons
The Journal of Prisoners on Prisons is “a prisoner written, academically oriented and peer reviewed, non-profit journal, based on the tradition of the penal press.”  Full-text access to articles is given, as well as links to other resources.

 

Centre for Restorative Justice
Founded by faculty members in the Simon Fraser University School of Criminology and community partners, the Centre for Restorative Justice “is a resource and research centre dedicated to promoting the values and principles of restorative justice through education, research, and dialogue with academics, practitioners and community.”

 

Criminal Lawyer's Association
The CLA assists members in the practice of criminal litigation, develops and hosts continuing education programs for criminal law practitioners and holds an annual conference. The association also publishes a newsletter For The Defence, maintains a blog, and produces interventions and submissions/reports on various issues and legislation affecting criminal law.

 

Prisons Research Centre (University of Cambridge)
The Cambridge Institute of Criminology Prisons Research Centre investigates “how prisons operate, socially, morally and operationally, how they are experienced, and the relationship between these moral and social qualities, and their effects.” The website provides an overview of the Centre’s current research projects, latest books and articles.

Liaison Librarian

Profile Photo
Matthew Renaud
Contact:
E.K. Williams Law Library
(204) 474-6371
Subjects: Law