Skip to Main Content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More

Learn at the Libraries

Learn more about university level writing, how to search the library, and the correct way to use references.

Workshops & Drop-Ins


Upcoming Workshops

Click on any of the workshops in the calendar below for details and the registration link. 

 

View as a List

Drop-In Study Sessions 


Are you looking for a quiet place to study or work on your research? Do you have a questions about finding or citing books, articles, and other information sources? Join us at one of our drop-in sessions where a librarian will be on hand to answer your questions. 

Everyone is welcome! No registration required.  
 

Elizabeth Dafoe Library
Brown Lab
 

Jim Peebles Science & Technology Library
Computer Lab 

Every Thursday in February & March*
1:00 - 2:00pm

Every Wednesday in February & March*
12:30 - 1:30pm

*There are no drop-ins scheduled during the Fall and Winter semester breaks.  

 

 

 

 

Data Visualization Drop-Ins (New!)

Get help with mapping, GIS, data cleaning, infographics, dashboards, Story Maps, and more!

Elizabeth Dafoe Library
Gold Lab
 

NJM Health Sciences Library
Main Floor Public Computers 

Thursdays 1:00 - 2:00pm 
February 8, 22
March 7, 21

Thursdays 1:00 - 2:00 pm
February 15, 29
March 14, 28

   

Library Essentials Workshops


View upcoming Library Essentials Workshops for the current semester.

 

Introduction to Searching

As a university student, learning how to find the best resources for your research papers is a very important skill. But how do you get started, and what do you need to know? Why isn’t it enough to just search for everything using Google? This introductory session will walk you through the process of searching for scholarly information – including how to generate appropriate keywords, select databases, use filters and cite your sources. Presenters will share a variety of practical strategies and tips to save you time, and help you find the best information for your assignments!

Advanced Searching

This session will give you the skills you need to search for research and information like a pro. Using a variety of search techniques (Boolean, truncation, phrase searching, etc), you will search more effectively and efficiently in the library catalog, scholarly databases, and in even in Google.

Zotero

This hands-on session will introduce you to Zotero - a popular free and open-source citation management tool. Zotero helps you organize references and PDFs and allows you to easily create bibliographies using 1000s of predetermined styles. This session will guide you through the layout of Zotero, how to import and export references, how to share Zotero libraries with colleagues, how to locate full-text articles, syncing across libraries, and how to create a bibliography in the style (e.g., Vancouver, APA, MLA) that you need. You will also explore ZoteroBib - a free and easy-to-use web tool for very quickly creating formatted citations.

EndNote

This hands-on session will introduce you to Endnote - a widely used citation management tool. Endnote helps you organize references and PDFs and allows you to easily create bibliographies using 1000s of predetermined styles. This session will guide you through the layout of Endnote, how to import and export references, how to share reference lists with colleagues, how to locate full-text articles, and how to create a bibliography in the style (e.g., Vancouver, APA, MLA) that you need.

Graduate Student Research Series

Graduate Student Research Series

 

Developing Your Research Question and Preparing Your Literature Review 

Literature reviews (also called narrative reviews) are found in various formats in academic writing. They can be stand-alone articles, a chapter in a thesis/dissertation, or a capstone project. This session will cover how to create a research question and why it's so important to the literature review. Topic selection, developing the search, keeping track of references, and structuring the literature review will also be discussed.


Selecting and Publishing Your Scholarly Work

This informative session guides you through the complete process of preparing your publication. It covers important factors to consider when selecting a journal, how the peer-review and revision process works, understanding open access options, copyright issues, and how to keep track of potential future citations of your work.


Intro to Open Access

This workshop will introduce graduate students to open access, providing a brief history of the topic, and a discussion of the increasing importance of open access. It will cover selecting and publishing in an open access journal, the different types of open access, and copyright rights.


Overview of Research Metrics

This session will demonstrate how to find individual research metrics (i.e. article citations, h-index, etc.) using library databases.  We will also discuss how research metrics are utilized in different fields, the value and drawback of utilizing these tools to enhance your researcher profile, and other significant elements in painting a complete picture of your research practice.


Introduction to Research Data Management

Research Data Management (RDM) practices are increasingly being mandated for researchers in Canada. This session will introduce students to the “what” and why” of RDM, including underlying principles and current requirements from funders and publishers. 


Establishing Your Research Identity

This session explores various networking and academic profile websites to help you determine why tools like these matter and to choose which one(s) are appropriate for you. These tools raise the profile of a researcher at any stage of their career and better highlight scholarly impact. ORCID, ScopusID, ResearcherID, and Google Scholar are compared. 

This workshop series can be added to your Experience Record.

Reserve a Seat