Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Manitoba Local Histories: Local History Collection

About the Manitoba Local Histories ProjectAn image of Louis Riel

The Manitoba Local Histories project was launched in partnership with the Manitoba Library Consortium. The aim of the project was to make Manitoba's history discoverable and searchable online through the digitization of local history books published across the province. Local history books provide unique information about the province's history, including the histories of families, farms, communities, schools, churches, businesses, and other institutions across Manitoba. Over the course of the project, over 800 books were digitized to mark Manitoba's 150th anniversary. These books are now available online for all Manitobans to access and enjoy.

When viewing the collection, it should be noted that historical materials contain language and terminology that reflect the culture and context of their creators. These materials may include descriptions and phrases that would now be deemed insensitive, outdated, inaccurate or offensive.  Views expressed in historical documents presented here do not reflect the views of the University of Manitoba nor its partners.  

Acknowledgements

The University of Manitoba Libraries would like to thank the members of the Manitoba Library Consortium, namely the Archives of Manitoba, Brandon University, the Legislative Library, the Manitoba Historical Societythe Millennium Library, Providence College, St. Boniface University, and the University of Winnipeg for their support throughout the project. We would further like to thank the Legislative Library and the Manitoba Genealogical Society, as well as numerous donors across the province, who provided many of the books that were digitized.

Copyright Statement

This collection is subject to copyright. Access has been provided for non-commercial educational and research purposes only. To request permission for other uses of these materials (including publishing, copying, or distributing) you must contact the copyright owner directly, not the University of Manitoba. Materials in this collection are subject to the University of Manitoba’s Take-Down Policy.”

 

View the Local Histories Collection


 

Cover of the book Altona: The Story of a Prairie
Cover page of Early Armstrong's Point
Cover page of Where Money Grew on Trees: A History of the Romanian Pioneers of Lennard, Manitoba
Cover of Morden: Reunion, July 1952
Cover of Ninga: Book of Days
Cover of Grand Beach: The Grand Old Days
Cover of Red Sucker Lake First Nation, 1949-1999
Cover of Pilot Mount 50 District 75 Reunion, July 1954
Cover of Romantic Winnipeg
Cover of Ville Cathédrale de Saint Boniface. The Cathedral City
Cover of Stories of Selkirk's Pioneers and Their Heritage
Cover of Welcome to The Pas: Gateway to the North
Cover of Those were the Days: A Pictorial History of Winnipeg Beach
Cover of The Wheat City: A Pictorial History of Brandon
Cover of Winnipeg Chinatown: Celebrating 100 Years of Remarkable Achievement, 1909-2009

Further Local History Resources

Alongside the Local Histories Collection, the University of Manitoba Libraries offers a number of resources documenting the history of Manitoba, including books, newspapers, maps, photographs, and textual records and digital exhibits. The resources below point to some of Manitoba's documentary heritage found at the University of Manitoba Libraries, as well as other resources found at institutions in Manitoba. While this is not a comprehensive listing of all materials related to Manitoba's history, it includes items that are accessible online and books available at various libraries across the province.

 

Cover of "Winnipeg Beach: Leisure and Courtship in a Resort Town, 1900-1967"

Barbour, Dale. Winnipeg Beach: Leisure and Courtship in a Resort Town, 1900-1967. Winnipeg: University of Manitoba Press, 2011.

Cover of "Reporting the Resistance: Alexander Begg and Joseph Hargrave on the Red River Resistance"

Begg, Alexander, Joseph James Hargrave, and J. M. Bumsted. Reporting the Resistance: Alexander Begg and Joseph Hargrave on the Red River Resistance. Winnipeg: University of Manitoba Press, 2003.

Cover of "A Diminished Roar: Winnipeg in the 1920s"

Blanchard, Jim. A Diminished Roar: Winnipeg in the 1920s. Winnipeg: University of Manitoba Press, 2019.

Cover of "A Thousand Miles of Prairie: The Manitoba Historical Society and the History of Western Canada"

Blanchard, Jim, John D Nichols, and Jim Blanchard. A Thousand Miles of Prairie: The Manitoba Historical Society and the History of Western Canada. Winnipeg, CA: University of Manitoba Press, 2002

Cover of "Dictionary of Manitoba Biography"

Bumsted, J. M. Dictionary of Manitoba Biography. Winnipeg: University of Manitoba Press, 1999.

Cover of "Night Spirits: the Story of the Relocation of the Sayisi Dene

Bussidor, Ila, and Üstün Bilgen-Reinart. Night Spirits : the Story of the Relocation of the Sayisi Dene. Winnipeg, Manitoba: University of Manitoba Press, 2000.

Cover of "Friends, Foes, and Furs: George Nelson's Lake Winnipeg Journals, 1804-1822"

Duckworth, Harry W. Friends, Foes, and Furs: George Nelson’s Lake Winnipeg Journals, 1804–1822. Montréal, CA: McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2019.

Cover of "Rural Life Portraits of the Prairie Town, 1946"

Giffen, P. J., and Gerald Friesen. Rural Life Portraits of the Prairie Town, 1946. Winnipeg, Man: University of Manitoba Press, 2004.

Cover of "Abandoned Manitoba: from Residential Schools to Bank Vaults to Grain Elevators"

Goldsborough, Gordon. Abandoned Manitoba : from Residential Schools to Bank Vaults to Grain Elevators. Winnipeg, Manitoba: Great Plains Publications, 2016.

Cover of "The North End Revisited"

Paskievich, John, Alison Gillmor, George Melnyk, and J. S. Osborne. The North End Revisited. Winnipeg, Manitoba: University of Manitoba Press, 2017.

Cover of "Rooster Town: The History of an Urban Métis Community, 1901-1961."

Peters, Evelyn, Matthew Stock, and Adrian Werner. Rooster Town: The History of an Urban Métis Community, 1901–1961. Winnipeg, CA: University of Manitoba Press, 2018.

Cover of "My Parents: Memoirs of New World Icelanders"

Romanow, Roy, Birna Bjarnadóttir, Finnbogi Gudmundsson, Birna Bjarnadottir, and Birna Bjarnadóttir. My Parents: Memoirs of New World Icelanders. Winnipeg, CA: University of Manitoba Press, 2007.

Cover of "Communal Solidarity: Immigration, Settlement, and Social Welfare in Winnipeg's Jewish Community, 1882-1930"

Ross, Arthur. Communal Solidarity : Immigration, Settlement, and Social Welfare in Winnipeg’s Jewish Community, 1882-1930. Winnipeg, Manitoba: University of Manitoba Press, 2019.

Cover of "The Story Behind Manitoba Names: How Cities, Towns, Villages and Whistle Stops got their Names"

Stone, Ted. The Story Behind Manitoba Names : How Cities, Towns, Villages and Whistle Stops Got Their Names. Calgary: Red Deer Press, 2006.

Cover of "Settler City Limits: Indigenous Resurgence and Colonial Violence in the Urban Prairie West"

Tomiak, Julie, Tyler McCreary, David Hugill, Robert Henry, and Heather Dorries. Settler City Limits : Indigenous Resurgence and Colonial Violence in the Urban Prairie West. Winnipeg, Manitoba: University of Manitoba Press, 2019.

Cover of "Making Ends Meet: Farm Women's Work in Manitoba"

Van de Vorst, Charlotte, and Charlotte van de Vorst. Making Ends Meet: Farm Women’s Work in Manitoba. Winnipeg, CA: University of Manitoba Press, 2002.

Collections below include content from the Architecture and Fine Arts Library, Archives & Special Collections, and Icelandic Collections.

An aerial photograph of the Hudson Bay Railway bridge in The Pas over the Saskatchewan River. Source: Andrew Taylor fonds A photograph of the St. Boniface cathedral. Source: Henry Kalen fonds. A photograph of Gabriel Dumont. Source: Kenneth Hayes Collection. A poster advertising gay and lesbian socials in Brandon, Manitoba organized by the Gays and Lesbians of Brandon and Elsewhere (GLOBE). Source: Manitoba Gay and Lesbian Archives.   A photograph of Louis Riel, age 14. This black-and-white portrait was taken in Montréal in 1858 and depicts Riel as a student at the Petit Séminaire at the Collège de Montréal; it is the earliest known photograph of Riel. Source: Louis Riel Photograph Collection. A photograph of a locomotive in Gillam, Manitoba in the 1920s. Source: Nan Shipley fonds. A photograph of the interior of Winnipeg Arena, full of fans at a Winnipeg Jets game. Source: Winnipeg Tribune fonds.
Andrew Taylor fonds​

Photographs of Northern Manitoba.

Bill Lobchuk fonds

Photographs of Ukrainian-Canadian families in Manitoba.

Brown and Gold Yearbooks

Yearbooks documenting approximately sixty years of students and staff at the University of Manitoba.

Connie Macmillan Collection

Portraits of Indigenous Peoples in Winnipeg from the 1880s.

Frederick Philip Grove fonds

Records documenting the experiences of immigrants, as well as photographs of Ashfield, Manitoba.

Henry Budd Letters

Correspondence referencing Cumberland and The Pas from 1841-1851.

Henry Kalen fonds

Photographs of architecture in Manitoba.

Historical Diary of Winnipeg

A listing of events that occurred in Winnipeg in the late 1800s and early 1900s

John Zborowsky fonds

Photographs of the Lourdes Calvary Grotto and the Ukrainian Catholic church in Cook's Creek, Manitoba.

Josiah Jones Bell fonds

Photographs of the Red River Valley around 1870.

Kathleen Rice fonds

Newspaper clippings and manuscripts about Kathleen Rice and her time in Northern Manitoba.

Kenneth Hayes Collection (North-West Resistance)

Records and photographs related to the North-West Resistance.

Kip Park fonds

Records relating to Winnipeg's architectural history.

Louis Riel Letter to Pierre Lavallée

A letter relating Riel's thoughts on the relationship between the Métis and French Canadians. 

Louis Riel Photograph Collection

Photographs and paintings of Louis Riel from 1858-1886.

MacDonald Family fonds

A diary detailing the homesteading experience of a Scottish immigrant family in Manitoba.

Manitoba Eastern European Heritage Society fonds

Photographs documenting the architecture and history of Manitoba's Ukrainian churches.

Manitoba Gay and Lesbian Archives

Records of the LGBTTQ community in Manitoba from the 1960s to the late 1990s.

Melita and David A. Ennis fonds

Scrapbooks depicting life in Churchill, Manitoba.

Michael Ewanchuk fonds

Recordings, photographs and documents relating to Ukrainian pioneers in Manitoba.

Monique Hébert fonds

Recordings with Franco-Manitoban women.

Nan Shipley fonds

Photographs of hydro and railroad development in northern Manitoba.

Neepawa Film Collection

Film footage the 1966 fire at St. Mary's Ukrainian Catholic Church in Neepawa, Manitoba.

Philip Ruh fonds

Photographs and blueprints of Ukrainian churches in Manitoba.

Rooster Town Collection

Documents related to the history of the Rooster Town Métis community.

Spencer Family fonds

Diaries and account books detailing the homesteading experience of an English family in Russell, Manitoba.

Skapti Arason fonds

A memoir of one of the first Icelandic settlers in Manitoba. 

Tennenhouse Family fonds

A manuscript documenting 75 years of farming in Manitoba.

Veterans of Icelandic Descent

Photographs of Second World War veterans of Icelandic descent.

Visitor's Guide Book and Jubilee Souvenir

A guide book with early photographs of Winnipeg to mark Queen Victoria's Jubilee in 1887.

William Wsiaski fonds

A film about the history of the Ukrainian Voice newspaper and Ukrainian immigration in Manitoba.

Winnipeg Building Index

Architectural photographs of Winnipeg

Winnipeg Tribune Personalities Collection

Photographs of notable personalities from Manitoba.

Photograph of Frank Pound’s greenhouse at 1044 Mulvey Avenue. A photograph of a streetcar on fire surrounded by crowds on Bloody Saturday (June 21, 1919) during the Winnipeg General Strike. Source: Pitblado Family fonds. Black and white photograph of an immigrant family standing in front of a car. Photograph of Louis Riel and his councilors, ca. 1969. Source: Red River Cartes de visite Collection.

Prairie Immigration Experience

A collection of digitized archival records, including correspondence, diaries, photographs, and audio-visual records, which document the experiences of immigrants across the Prairies.

Professional Hockey in Winnipeg

An exhibit on hockey players, coaches, fans, management and other community figures in Winnipeg.

Red River Cartes de Visite

A collection of thirteen cartes de visites related to the Red River settlement.

Rooster Town

An online exhibit with research material, genealogical records, photographs, documents, and maps about Rooster Town.

Unbreakable: The Spirit of the Strike

An online exhibit with photographs and documents related to the people, places and events of the Winnipeg General Strike.

Our World

Digitized historical content, including newspapers, photographs, and maps related to Manitoba.

UM Digital Collections

A database of digital materials held by the University of Manitoba Libraries.

University of Manitoba World War II Service Database

Information on University of Manitoba alumni and former faculty and staff who served in the Second World War.

Winnipeg Tribune Photograph Database

Photographs and negatives of Manitoba from approximately 1930 to 1980.

 

Viking statue in Gimli, Manitoba (Winnipeg Tribune)