Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

College of Medicine Archives: Collections

 

Collections

Biographical | Institutional | Private | Publications and Reports| Past Exhibits

 

 

Biographical
 

The Faculty of Medicine Archives Biographical Records Collection contains the records of faculty members, students, alumni, as well as other individuals associated with the Faculty of Medicine. There are over six-hundred Biographical Records in our Archival Description Database.


Documentary forms within this collection include biographical sketches, curricula vitae, correspondence, and press releases, in addition to photographic and audio materials.
The Biographical Records Collection is organized by surname. Access the Archival Description Database by clicking a title in alphabetical listing below.

Biographical A
Biographical B
Biographical C
Biographical D

Biographical E
Biographical F
Biographical G
Biographical H

Biographical I
Biographical J
Biographical K
Biographical L

Biographical M
Biographical Mac
Biographical Mc
Biographical N

Biographical O
Biographical P
Biographical R
Biographical S

Biographical T
Biographical U
Biographical V
Biographical W
Biographical Y

__________

Institutional
 

The Faculty of Medicine Archives contains recorded information created by the academic departments, institutes, administrative units and affiliates of the Faculty of Medicine. Access this section of the Archival Description Database by contacting the Faculty of Medicine Archives.

Certain record series have restrictions on access.

 

RECORD CREATOR

Anesthesia
Biochemistry and Medical Genetics - historical materials, newsletters, and retreats 
Clinical Health Psychology
Community Health Sciences
     J.A. Hildes Northern Medical Unit
Emergency Medicine
Family Medicine - historical materials and newsletters  
Human Anatomy and Cell Science
Immunology - historical materials and newsletters 
Internal Medicine- historical materials and newsletters 
Medical Education - historical materials and mission statement 
Medical Microbiology - historical materials and research report 
Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library
Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences
Ophthalmology
Otolaryngology
Pathology - historical materials, computer aided instruction, and annual reports 
Pediatrics and Child Health
Pharmacology and Therapeutics
Physiology
Psychiatry
Radiology
Surgery
School of Medical Rehabilitation

Department of Research

RECORD SERIES

Interdepartmental Programs and Services
Central Administration
Students
Admissions
Education - Undergraduate
Education - Postgraduate Clinical
Education - Continuing Medical Education (CME)
Graduate Studies and Research
Finance
Architecture
External Organizations - Hospitals
External Organizations - Government
External Organizations - Other
Medical College and Faculty History
Archives
Publications

__________

Private Records
 

Baragar, Charles
Bell, Gordon
Bell, Lennox (Buzz) Gordon
Bihler, Ivan
Black, Elinor
Boyd, William
Cadham, Frederick Todd
Cameron, Alexander Thomas
Chown, Henry Bruce
Chown, Henry Havelock
Doupe, Joseph
Ewart, William Bissett
Fahrni, Gordon Samuel
Friesen, Rhinehart
Maclean, Neil John
Manitoba Association of Health Information Providers (MAHIP)
Naimark, Arnold
Mitchell, Rosslyn Brough
O'Donnell, John Harrison
Paine, Alfred Leroy
Roland, Charles
Smith, William Harvey
Stewart, David Alexander
Thompson, Ian Maclaren

An overview of the Hollenberg Clinic

 

__________

Publications and Reports

 

Yearbooks

  • Askelepios (College of Medicine)
  • Explorer (College of Dentistry)
  • College of Rehabilitation Sciences

 

Journals

  • University of Manitoba Medical Journal
  • Manitoba Medical Review
  • Manitoba Medicine
  • Medical Faculty Gazette
  • The Examiner
  • The Meditoban

 

Curriculum

  • Manitoba Medical College Calendar
  • University of Manitoba, Faculty of Medicine Calendar
  • B.Sc. (Med) Projects
  • Convocation Guides

 

Selected Works

  • By Author
  • By Department

 

Past Exhibits  

Archives on Display - March 2012 - 19th Century Surgery in Manitoba 

This exhibit contains surgical instruments typically used by Manitoba's medical doctors in the mid to late 1800s. One surgical instrument set and one amputation kit are showcased in this exhibit. Also on display are materials documenting the first successful brain operation in Manitoba (November 1889) performed by Dr. A.H. Ferguson, Professor of Surgery, Manitoba Medical College.

 

Archives on Display - April 2012 - Microscopes and Bones 

This exhibit contains two Leitz microscopes from the 1920s and 1930s. The microscope on the far right was awarded to Dr. Margaret Rioch in 1924 as part of the Chown Prize in Medicine. Microscopes such as these were used by students in practical anatomy, histology, and bacteriology among other medical courses. As microscopes were expensive in the 1930s (approximately $80.00) many students opted to make staggered payments over a period of three years. 

The second component of this exhibit showcases an early 20th Century Osteological set. Supplied by Millikin & Lawley, London (Est. 1815), this "box of bones" was used to educate medical students in the early 1900s until this type of teaching tool was eventually replaced by anatomical museums as well as plastic fiber replicas of the human skeleton. This skeleton set was found by the Faculty of Medicine archivist and a Professor of Pathology while working in an older section of the medical campus in 2011. 

 

Archives on Display - June 2012 - J.A. Hildes Northern Medical Unit Collection 

In the third of an ongoing series of exhibits, the Faculty of Medicine Archives showcases the J.A. Hildes Northern Medical Unit Collection. Highlighting items within the collection such as soapstone artwork, archival photographs and documents, this exhibit also contains a streaming video documenting the history of the Northern Medical Unit since its inception in 1970. 

 

Archives on Display - August/September 2012 - Revising the Boyd Pathology Museum

The Manitoba Medical College Pathology Museum was started in 1894 by Dr. Gordon Bell, first professor of Pathology at the University of Manitoba, and Dr. Sidney Pearce, pathologist at the Winnipeg General Hospital. In its early stages, the museum housed a relatively small number of specimens which were used in medical education to illustrated particular facets of disease. Upon the arrival of Dr. William Boyd, the pathology museum grew considerably from one room containing five-hundred specimens in 1925 to five rooms and over three-thousand specimens in 1956. 

Each item within the museum is anonymised and accompanied by a card describing the gross and microscopic features of the specimen, providing important points of the patient's history as well as autopsy findings. In addition to illustrating innovative surgical procedures of the early to mid-20th century, the museum illustrates disease or stages of disease processes - such as tuberculosis, rickets, and neoplasia in advanced stages - that are no longer commonly encountered by contemporary medical practitioners. Forensic, neurological, and congenial heart specialties are well represented within the museum, as are a broad range of 20th century public health issues. 

The Faculty of Medicine Archives is currently investigating the provenance of the Boyd Pathology Museum and its potential utility in 21st century medical education and research. 

Curatorial responsibilities for the museum are divided between both medical and information science professionals.