Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Manitoba Research Gateway: Information for Manitoba Librarians

Our World

Our World, on the Manitoba Research Gateway, is a collection of Gale resources available to all Manitobans, made possible by the University of Manitoba Libraries and Gale Cengage.  These are not a subscription, this was a perpetual access purchase.

Two ways to access:

Direct link to Our World:  www.manitobaresearchgateway.ca/ourworld

  • Add this link to your website to allow access via MB IP address, with no login required

Request Your Own Links: https://support.gale.com/

  • If your library wants to allow patrons to use its existing authentication method, Gale will create them for you
  • This will allow your authenticated patrons to access the resource outside of Manitoba
  • This will allow you to track usage stats

Search Widget

<iframe src = 'https://support.gale.com/widgets/reader/?loc=univmanitoba&id=gdc&w=200&h=95&geo=1&bg=9feca8a03bae509ed5820ad2c5bd2e93_p_7626.png' style = 'width:200;height:95;' scrolling='no' frameborder='0'></iframe>

Other Useful Information

Contact Information

Resources Included

  • 17th & 18th Century BURNEY Collection of UK Newspapers
  • 17th & 18th Century NICHOLS Collection of UK Newspapers
  • 19th C. UK Periodicals I: Women's, Children's, Humour, Leisure
  • 19th C. UK Periodicals II: Empire/Colonial, Travel, Culture, Missions
  • American Fiction, 1774-1920
  • Brazilian & Portuguese History & Culture:  Oliveira Lima Library I
  • Brazilian & Portuguese History & Culture:  Oliveira Lima Library II
  • British Library Newspapers, PART I:  1800-1900
  • British Library Newspapers, PART II:  1800-1900
  • British Library Newspapers, PART III:  1741-1950
  • British Library Newspapers, PART IV:  1732-1950
  • British Library Newspapers, PART V:  1746-1950
  • British Literary Manuscripts I, 1660-1900
  • British Literary Manuscripts II, Medieval & Renaissance
  • Chatham House Online I
  • Chatham House Online II
  • China: Empire to Republic: Missionary, Sinology & Lit. Periodicals, 1817-1949
  • Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920
  • Daily Mail, 1896-2004
  • Eighteenth Century Collection Online I
  • Eighteenth Century Collection Online II
  • Financial Times
  • Illustrated London News
  • Indigenous Peoples: North America
  • LGBTQ History & Culture, 1946-2000s
  • Liberty Magazine, 1924-1950
  • National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online 1: British Politics and Society
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online 2: Asia & The West: diplomacy and cultural exchange
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online 3: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: high and popular culture
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online 5: Europe and Africa: commerce, Christianity, civilization, and conquest
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online 6: Photography: the world through the lens
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online 7: Science, Technology, and Medicine Part 1
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online 8: Women: Transnational Networks
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online 9: Science, Technology, and Medicine Part 2
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online 10: Children Literature and Childhood
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online 11: Mapping the World: maps and travel literature
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online 12: Religion, spirituality, reform, and society
  • Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
  • Picture Post, 1938-1957
  • Punch, 1841-1992
  • SABIN Americana, History & Culture
  • Slavery & Anti-Slavery 1:  Debates - Slavery & Abolition
  • Slavery & Anti-Slavery 2:  Slave Trade in Atlantic World
  • Slavery & Anti-Slavery 3:  Institution of Slavery
  • Slavery & Anti-Slavery 4:  Age of Emancipation
  • Smithsonian 1:  World’s Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow
  • Smithsonian 2:  Trade Lit and Merchandising of America, 1820-1923
  • Smithsonian 3: Evolution of Flight, 1784-1991
  • Smithsonian:  Smithsonian (1970‐current) + Air & Space (1986‐current)
  • The Economist, 1843-2011
  • The Independent, 1986-2016
  • The Listener, 1929-1991
  • The Making of the Modern World, Part I:  1450-1850
  • The Making of the Modern World, Part II:  1851-1914
  • The Sunday Times, 1822-2006
  • The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000
  • The Times (London), 1785-2009 (with updates)
  • The Times Literary Supplement (TLS), 1902-2010 (with updates)
  • Women’s Movements and Issues, part of the Women’s Studies Archive program