Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Open Education Resources: Finding OERs

Find Open Education Resources By Subject

Open Education Resources can be accessed and downloaded from several different websites. Many of these sources allow you to search by subject area making it easy to identify potential textbooks for your courses. 
 

undefined

 

Open Ed Manitoba provides access to a shared catalogue of open textbooks that faculty and students can view or download. It is offered in partnership with BC Campus Open Ed. All textbooks in this collection have been created, reviewed or adapted by faculty at institutions in British Columbia. 

How to Find Textbooks by Subject:

  1. Follow this link to the Open Ed Manitoba textbook catalogue. 
  2. Choose your subject on the left. 
  3. Click on the title of the textbook to view the different versions available to download. 

undefined


BC Campus a shared catalogue of open textbooks with Campus Manitoba and also offers toolkits to faculty on how to create and adapt OERs. All textbooks in this collection have been created, reviewed or adapted by faculty at institutions in British Columbia. 

How to Find Textbooks by Subject:

  1. Follow this link to the BC Campus OpenEd catalogue.
  2. Choose your subject on the left. 
  3. Click on the title of the textbook to view the download options available.

undefined

 

The Open Textbook Library includes textbooks authored by academics at several American universities and can be searched by subject area. The collection is made available from the University of Minnesota Centre for Open Education.

How to Find Textbooks by Subject:

  1. Follow this link to the Open Textbook Library catalogue
  2. Choose your subject from the list.
  3. Click on "Read More" to view the contents and download options.

undefined

 

The OER by Discipline Guide from McMaster University is a reference resource for open textbook materials organized by subject area. It is an open work in progress that is updated regularly. 

How to Find Textbooks by Subject:

  1. Choose "Read Book" from the McMaster OER by Discipline Guide
  2. Choose your subject from the Contents menu on the left. 
  3. Click on the book title to access the book from it's original source. 


Other Sources For OERs
The websites below can be searched for additional OER content. Some websites such as ECampus Ontario provide access to publications already available through BC Campus. Other websites, such as OASIS and George Mason allow you to search multiple catalogues simultaneously.

undefined

 

E-Campus Ontario is a shared collection of textbooks and other OERs, including textbooks from the BC Campus and Campus Manitoba catalogue. The collection also includes learning modules and video lectures. 

undefined

 

The Directory of Open Access Books is an extensive collection of peer reviewed materials from several international publishers. DOAB materials are also available through the UM Libraries search. 

undefined

 

OER Commons provide a database of OERs for a wide range of levels and disciplines. The collection includes textbooks, lesson plans, lectures, and other modules. 

undefined

 

Open Stax is a collection of open peer-reviewed materials from Rice University. The textbooks available are for introductory U.S. college level courses. Open Stax requires users to create a free account. 

 

OASIS is an OER search engine available from SUNY that indexes 97 different sources for OERs. In addition to textbooks, OASIS can be searched for videos, primary sources, lessons, and other course materials. 

undefined

 

The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) searches 21 different sources of OERs but unlike other search engines it also searches for materials in public databases such as Hathi Trust and DPLA.