LibGuides: Actuarial Studies: Home

Go To

Click the links below to jump to sections:

Best Bet Databases (Literature) for Actuarial Studies

This is a list of selected resources that fall under Actuarial Studies. For a full list of business-related resources, go to the Resources page.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.

Canadian Institute of Actuaries
For recent articles, go to the "Publications" tab
Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS) Library (Formerly DARE & RAD)
Publicly available website featuring all articles ever published by CAS plus many more. Searchable by author, title, abstract, publication field. Also browse taxonomy terms by subject area. It also houses an extensive, thorough and up-to-date analysis of the theory and empirics of risk assessment for property-casualty insurance.

EconLIT This link opens in a new window
EconLIT is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet, maintained by the American Mathematical Society, is a Web-based index to the mathematics literature. Coverage includes reviews and abstracts from Mathematical Reviews (updated monthly) from 1940 to the present, and Current Mathematical Publications (updated daily).
Project Euclid (Prime) This link opens in a new window
Euclid Prime is a growing aggregation of well-cited peer-reviewed journals and ebooks in mathematics and statistics.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search interface for a variety of ProQuest databases
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.

Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Scopus Search Help
SIAM Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access journals published by SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics).
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a comprehensive multidisciplinary bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface.

Components include:
- BIOSIS Citation Index (2010-present)
- BIOSIS Previews (1926-present)
- Current Contents Connect (1998-present)
- Data Citation Index (1900-present)
- Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present)
- KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present)
- MEDLINE® (1950-present)
- Preprint Citation Index (1991-present)
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index (1637-present)
- SciELO Citation Index (1997-present)
- Web of Science Core Collection (1900-present)
- Zoological Record (1864-present)
Web of Science Search Help

Recommended Journals in Actuarial Studies

This is a selective list of key journals available through the UM Libraries. For additional titles, contact the subject librarian.

Best Bet Databases (Data/Statistics) for Actuarial Studies

Canadian Census Analyser This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Census Analyser provides access to a variety of commonly requested Canadian Census data and documentation, produced by Statistics Canada. It includes Profile data at several levels of geography, and for several censuses, in some cases going back to 1961. It also provides access to the Census Individuals public use microdata files, and the Postal code conversion file. Users can create subsets and then output the results in a variety of formats.
CANSIM II This link opens in a new window
CANSIM stands for Canadian Socio-economic Information and Management System. It is a database of current and historic time series, produced by Statistics Canada. A CANSIM time series consists of a number of observations for a given concept or variable at regular time intervals. There are millions of time series in this database. CANSIM time series cover a broad spectrum of social and economic aspects of Canadian life, including: agriculture, construction, demography, education, and more.
Current Index to Statistics Database This link opens in a new window
The Current Index to Statistics (CIS) is a bibliographic index of publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. It includes data from approximately 160 core journals, 1,200 additional journals in related fields, and 11,000 books. The bulk of the content in CIS is from 1975-2017.

Human Mortality Database
Contains original calculations of death rates and life tables for national populations (countries or areas), as well as the input data used in constructing those tables. The input data consist of death counts from vital statistics, plus census counts, birth counts, and population estimates from various sources.
Society of Actuaries
To access modeling tools, go to "Research & Publications" then click "Tables, Calculators, & Modeling Tools"

Ask-a-Librarian

Image: White text on blue background with round thought bubbles Text: Ask Us

Liaison Librarian

Donna Sikorsky

Email Me

Subjects: Accounting, Actuarial Studies, Finance, Law, Marketing