LibGuides: Actuarial Studies: Company Information

Go To

Click the links below to jump to sections:

Company Research Databases and Websites

Bloomberg Professional Service
more...less...
Available only at the Albert D. Cohen Management Library - Financial Data Centre. No remote access.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.

EDGAR EDGAR provides access to submissions from public companies required by law to file with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

IncFact.org This link opens in a new window
Please Note: For off-campus access, use the Virtual Private Network (VPN). For alumni, access is on-campus only.

IncFact.org is an open-access platform for company research that provides comprehensive profiles on public and private companies in the U.S. Its research features revenues and revenue histories, growth rates, industry segments (i.e., NAICS definitions), and SWOT analysis on demand.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.

Components include:
- USA Company Database
- International Company Database
Passport This link opens in a new window
Access limited to: UM Students, Faculty and Staff

Please Note: There are terms that the publisher requires you to agree to before accessing Passport database, please read carefully any terms of use statements.

Please Note: For improved performance, clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource.

Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. The University of Manitoba's subscription includes:
- Articles from country and consumer analysts
- Consumer lifestyles reports
- Country and consumer statistics
- Country profiles
- Country briefings
- Dashboards (visualization enhancements that reflect the data contained in the database)
- Future demographic reports
- Passport Industrial (Canada only)
PrivCo The Private Company Financial Database This link opens in a new window
PrivCo is a source for business and financial research on major privately-held companies as well as private M&A deals and funding rounds. Content includes private firm valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and company research.

SEDAR+ SEDAR+ provides access to public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the thirteen provincial and territorial securities regulatory authorities ("Canadian Securities Administrators" or "CSA") in the SEDAR+ filing system.

Is the Company Private or Public?

Check for public filings on EDGAR (U.S.) or SEDAR+ (Canada).

If you find your company listed and can locate current filings, it will be PUBLIC.
If you cannot locate the company, it will most likely be PRIVATE.

If it is a private company, run a search in PrivCo, a database that specializes in providing private company information. Enter the company name in the search box.

If it is a public company, use Mergent Online, Passport, Business Source Premier or Bloomberg Professional Service. Use the search tips in the box: Company research databases and website (found on this page).

Resources for Finding Company Financials

Tools and tips to assist in finding a company's financials.

Bloomberg Professional Service
No remote access via the UM Libraries. Contact the Financial Lab Advisor, Jack (Meng) Jiang (Meng.Jiang@umanitoba.ca) for access and assistance.
more...less...
Use the equity menu to display a list of sub-menus for equity market functions< EQUITY > < GO >. To find the Financial Summary for Johnson & Johnson, enter as an example, JNJ US < EQUITY > CH1 < GO >.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.

Components include:
- USA Company Database
- International Company Database
PrivCo The Private Company Financial Database This link opens in a new window
PrivCo is a source for business and financial research on major privately-held companies as well as private M&A deals and funding rounds. Content includes private firm valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and company research.

Finding Market Share

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides independent research on hundreds of industries in Canada and the U.S. Research reports include statistics, analysis and forecasts. Such industry reports can be used to evaluate market size, draft business plans, pitch books, forecasting and more.

Market Share Reporter - print only - HF5410 .M35
Provides selected information on market share for Canadian products, companies and/or services but main focus is U.S. and International.

Passport This link opens in a new window
Access limited to: UM Students, Faculty and Staff

Please Note: There are terms that the publisher requires you to agree to before accessing Passport database, please read carefully any terms of use statements.

Please Note: For improved performance, clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource.

Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. The University of Manitoba's subscription includes:
- Articles from country and consumer analysts
- Consumer lifestyles reports
- Country and consumer statistics
- Country profiles
- Country briefings
- Dashboards (visualization enhancements that reflect the data contained in the database)
- Future demographic reports
- Passport Industrial (Canada only)

Annual Reports and Public Filings

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.

EDGAR EDGAR provides access to submissions from public companies required by law to file with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.

Components include:
- USA Company Database
- International Company Database

SEDAR+ SEDAR+ provides access to public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the thirteen provincial and territorial securities regulatory authorities ("Canadian Securities Administrators" or "CSA") in the SEDAR+ filing system.

NOTE: Most public companies provide access to their annual reports from the Investor Relations section of their corporate website.

Company Rankings

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Fortune 500 company rankings are accessible by typing "Fortune 500" in search box and selecting appropriate publication date(s). Global 500 rankings are also available and be accessed using the term "Global 500".

Canada's 50 Best Managed Companies (Deloitte)
Access current list by clicking "Best Managed Winners" and then "Meet Our New Winners".

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
Financial Post 500 (FP500) company rankings are accessible by typing "FP500" in search box and selecting appropriate publication date(s).

Forbes lists
Lists include: The Global 2000, Canada's Best Employers

Actuarial Studies: Company Information