The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Are you considering doing a systematic, scoping, 
or rapid review but don’t know how to get started? Attend our 5-part series that explores all aspects of comprehensive searching for a knowledge synthesis project. These sessions will focus on the actual skills needed to complete the documenting, searching, translation, deduplication, and screening processes of a systematic, scoping, rapid, or other large-scale comprehensive review. Participants will gain a solid understanding of what is needed to complete a systematic review and why they are an essential part of evidence-based practice.
Graduate students who register and attend all 5 sessions will have it added to their Experience Record
All sessions are online
Part 1: Systematic Reviews: The Essentials Tues May 7, 1 to 2 pm
Part 2: Building Your Systematic Review Step by Step Tues May 14, 1 to 2 pm
Part 3: Advanced Searching Techniques for Systematic Reviews Thurs May 16, 1 to 2:30 pm
Part 4: Efficient Database Searches for Systematic Reviews Tues May 21, 1 to 2 pm
Part 5: From ChatGPT to Covidence: Effective Use of Tools to Complete a Systematic Review Thurs May 23 1 to 2:30 pm
Our Spring 2024 sessions will be from May 7, 2024 - May 23, 2024.
See the left hand menu for resources and recordings of previous webinars
Discover the foundational elements needed to carry out a knowledge synthesis review and what types of reviews to consider including systematic or scoping reviews. This session provides an introduction to helpful tools and resources to develop a plan to carry out a publishable review.
By the end of the session participants will be able to:
For those embarking on a a systematic review, this session offers vital insights into necessary preparations. Learn to set up accounts across relevant programs, establish structured folder systems for seamless organization, and gain expert advice on documenting and conserving searches essential for protocol development.
By the end of this sessions participants will be able to:
Learn how to correctly modify an OVID Medline search strategy to be used in various databases. This is a difficult and necessary part of effective searching to carry out a quality review worthy of publication. You will learn how to select and use diverse databases and essential tools for documenting your search strategy methodology. The example used will translate an OVID Medline search to OVID Embase and will demonstrate the principles of how to do this for completing your searches in other OVID, EBSCOhost, or other databases if applicable.
By the end of the session participants will be able to:
This session provides practical advice and tips for taking an OVID Medline search strategy and translating it for use in other databases. Included will be a discussion of which databases to consider for your systematic review, how to document and search strategies, and exporting your results.
By the end of the session participants will be able to:
Systematic reviews demand time and complexity, but with the right tools, they become more manageable. Join us in this workshop to explore a diverse array of programs and tools, including emerging artificial intelligence (AI) tools, designed to streamline various aspects of the review process. From crafting protocols to translating search strategies, deduplicating search results, article screening, citation chaining, and conducting risk of bias assessments, this session covers it all. Tools covered will include Covidence, SR Accelerator, ChatGPT, Yale MeSH Analyzer, Ovid Term Finder, Ovid Search Finder, and others.
By the end of the session participants will be able to:
Have you spotted an error on this page? Please contact Library.Reviews@umanitoba.ca with details. Thank you.