LibGuides: Alumni Help: Alumni Databases A-Z

The UM Libraries is able to provide University of Manitoba alumni with remote access to the following electronic resources. Please use your 14-digit library ID and password to log in.

A-Z Index: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

A

ADA: Arctic Discovery & Access This link opens in a new window
ADA: Arctic Discovery & Access is a digital educational service that provides access to scientific research publications, research projects derived from license and permit information, K-12 educational resources, virtual exhibits, and the Arctic Institute of North America's online archives and special collections.
Africa Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
ADI Online provides a comprehensive collection of data on Africa available. It provides all those interested in Africa with a focused and convenient set of data monitoring development programs and aid flows in the region.
AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics This link opens in a new window
AgEcon Search serves as a permanent archive for the collection, indexing and distribution of full text copies of scholarly research in the field of agricultural economics, including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA, produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library, is one of the major indexes providing worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature. It corresponds to the printed index, Bibliography of Agriculture. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, while the remainder describe monographs, series, microforms, theses, patents, software and technical reports. A few records include abstracts.
American Doctoral Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1902 - present
An open access database containing hundreds of thousands of dissertations and theses from select American colleges and universities. Contains citations and full text where available.
American Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
The American Film Scripts database is an indexed electronic archive of selected American film scripts. It contains a bibliographic and biographical database of directors, writers, and the full text of selected film scripts. The database will be useful for film studies as well as for the study of popular culture, ethnic and gender issues, diversity studies, language and linguistics, writing, American history, anthropology, sociology and psychology.
American Verse Project This link opens in a new window
The American Verse Project is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920. The full text of each volume of poetry is being converted into digital form and coded in Standard Generalized Mark-up Language (SGML) using the TEI Guidelines, with various forms of access provided through the WWW.
AnthroBase This link opens in a new window
AnthroBase is a multilingual, searchable database of articles, theses, essays, reports, conference papers, field-notes etc., written by anthropologists and others with an interest in social and cultural diversity containing texts in Danish, English, German, Norwegian, Swedish, French and Russian. AnthroBase offers texts that may be freely downloaded, printed, linked to or bookmarked. Copies of downloaded or printed texts may be distributed to colleagues or students free of charge.
architecture.com This link opens in a new window
Searchable directory of architecture links by the Royal Institute of British Architects.
Arctic Health Publications Database This link opens in a new window
Contains references to a vast amount of literature on Northern health. Records are linked to the papers for many of the earlier gatherings of the International Congress on Circumpolar Health (ICCH). The publications database is one feature on the Arctic Health website.
Artists in Canada This link opens in a new window
Artists in Canada is a bilingual union list of Canadian artists compiled by the National Gallery of Canada Library. It contains brief biographies of more than 42,000 artists, with links to further documentation at libraries and galleries across Canada.
Artists in Canada Visual Arts Directory This link opens in a new window
A commercial directory of contemporary Canadian artists, art galleries and art-related businesses. Intended to provide marketing and communication opportunities, members create profiles of their work with links to their websites/galleries. Searchable by artist name, location, and artist technique/genre.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
arXiv.org is an open access database of preprints and e-prints of scientific papers, maintained by Cornell University Library, covering the subject areas of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. Mathematicians and scientists regularly upload their papers to arXiv.org for worldwide access before they are published in peer-reviewed journals. Content is updated monthly.
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, beginning with works from the late nineteenth century, with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. This collection includes a theater database, production database, photos, posters, and more.
Asian Development Bank Central Statistics Database This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Database System Online website is available to users free of charge. The Statistical Database System (SDBS) is the Asian Development Bank’s central statistical database that stores macro-economic and social data of its developing member countries (DMCs). The SDBS data come from statistical contacts that are mostly national statistics offices and central banks of the DMCs. SDBS also store data from other international organizations' databases and websites.

B

Balance of Payments Statistics This link opens in a new window
Balance of Payments Statistics summarizes, for a specific period, the economic transactions of an economy with the rest of the world. It reports total goods, services, factor income, and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world as well as capital transfers and changes in each economy's external financial claims and liabilities.
Bank of Canada This link opens in a new window
The Bank publishes a variety of periodicals for general and specialist audiences. Bank of Canada Review- A quarterly publication featuring articles related to the Canadian economy and to central banking, with summary statistical tables. FinancialSystem Review- A detailed review of developments in the financial system and an analysis of policy directions in the financial sector. Published twice a year.
BCcampus OpenEd Textbooks This link opens in a new window
Please Note: All of the textbooks are licensed under a variety of Creative Commons licenses. More information about the types of Creative Common licenses can be found here.

A searchable collection of open textbooks in 40 subject areas. Textbooks are available online in a variety of file formats (e.g., for eReaders, editable files like XML and HTML), and are freely available for use by students, teachers, and members of the public.
Belgica This link opens in a new window
Belgica is the Digital Library of the Royal Library of Belgium. It provides access to different categories of heritage documents: manuscripts, prints, maps, musical scores, sound recordings, collections of coins, medals, drawings and prints. Belgica, is also: a reference library oriented Belgicana, search engine indexing thousands of pages of newspapers, and virtual exhibitions.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art) covers the years 1990-2007; RILA (Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art) covers the years 1975-1989.
For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
The Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in French or English and all subject terms in French and English.
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes This link opens in a new window
A virtual library that presents texts and criticism relating to Spanish and Latin American culture. It also provides some spoken and written samples of texts of classic works, and videos of interviews with authors. Provides links to sites at major libraries, links to electronic reference works such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, calculators, maps, etc...
Bibliotheca Augustana : litteraturae et artis collection This link opens in a new window
As part of Bibliotheca Augustana, Ulrich Harsch provides an index to full-text versions of literary works dating from the eighth century to the 20th century. Users can perform searches by date, genre, or author. Biographical sketches and photographic images of selected authors are available.
Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Canadian public domain rules differ from those in the US. Contact the Copyright Office for additional guidance.

An open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. Provides access to thousands of natural history books and archival documents about life on earth from the 15th to the 21st centuries.
Black Drama This link opens in a new window
Black Drama contains a multitude of full text plays written from 1850 to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African Diaspora countries. More than a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays. Each play is extensively indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, ancillary information, a performance database, etc.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains numerous pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. Subjects indexed include colonialism, socialism, Marxism, democracy, capitalism, the Labor movement, segregation, poverty, education, religion, sharecropping, Jim Crow laws, the New Deal, and more.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
This edition of the collection includes a plethora of pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from 1500 to 1950, including several thousand pages of previously unpublished materials. The database includes journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of which is in copyright.

C

CAIRN e-Books This link opens in a new window
Cairn was formed in 1995 by four European publishing houses (Belin, De Boeck, La Découverte and Erès) and offers access to a comprehensive collection of French language books in the social sciences and humanities disciplines.
CAIRN Journals This link opens in a new window
Cairn was formed in 1995 by four European publishing houses (Belin, De Boeck, La Découverte and Erès) and offers access to a comprehensive collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines. The earliest full text coverage begins with 2001 issues to the present, in both html and pdf.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Please Note: July 16, 2024 - Cambridge University Press is temporarily unable to publish new content on Cambridge Core. They are working to resolve this technical issue as soon as possible.

Please Note: For open access publishing consideration: UML may have an institutional discount with this publisher for article processing charges (APCs). Consult the following library webpage for more information.

Cambridge Core provides access to unique, scholarly content from books and journals published by Cambridge University Press, in one online platform. The University of Manitoba has purchased book titles from the following subject packages: Economics, Management, Music.
Canadiana Collections This link opens in a new window
The Canadiana collections are the largest online collections of early textual Canadiana in the world. It includes three flagship collections: Early Canadiana Online, Heritage, and Canadiana Online.
Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window
Canadiana Online, provides unified full-text search and access to three major collections of digitized Canadian documentary heritage including: Early Canadian Monographs ; Government Publications ; and Serials, Periodicals, Annuals and Newspapers. These collections bring together all the content in the existing Early Canadiana Online (ECO), and the entire microfiche corpus of the Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions (CIHM).

Includes material written in 21 languages including French, English, Latin, Greek, and many First Nations languages (e.g. Micmac, Iroquois, Mohawk, Chipewyan, Nootka, Chinook, Ojibwa).
Canadian Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
The electronic edition of The Canadian Encyclopedia contains everything from the printed edition, originally published in 1985. Since the encyclopedia appeared online in 2001, it has been continuously updated and expanded.
Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC) This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC) Summary Information Database includes: daily and monthly Toronto Stock Exchange trading information about specific securities; information on price adjustments such as dividends, stock splits, recapitalizations, etc.; information on daily and monthly index levels; as well as selected other financial markets information. The database is divided into two parts: common equities and preferred equities.
Canadian Science Publishing Journals This link opens in a new window
Please Note: For open access publishing consideration: UML may have an institutional discount with this publisher for article processing charges (APCs). Consult the following library webpage for more information.

A collection of electronic journals published by Canadian Science Publishing, covering biological and natural sciences.
CanLit Guides This link opens in a new window
CanLit Guides is an open educational resource, created and maintained by Canadian Literature, which supplements classroom learning and private study.
Center for Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities and libraries that provides rare scholarly research resources. Its materials for the humanities, sciences, and social sciences include primary sources, public domain materials, foreign dissertations, newspapers, and microfilm.

All physical items are available to U of M users through our Document Delivery service. For more information, see the CRL LibGuide
Child Welfare Information Gateway This link opens in a new window
The Child Welfare Information Gateway is for researchers, practitioners, policy makers, and administrators working to prevent and treat child abuse and neglect, and to provide out-of-home placement and permanency planning services. Citations and abstracts are to books, journal articles, final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and more.
China: Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980 This link opens in a new window
China: Trade, Politics & Culture provides access to manuscript material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980, together with rare periodicals, colour paintings, maps, photographs and drawings. All of the printed materials (including the typescript records of Chinese Maritime Customs officials) have been double-keyed and are full-text searchable.
Church Missionary Society Archive This link opens in a new window
This primary source database provides original materials from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), founded in 1799 as an Anglican evangelical organization. It includes documents related to CMS missions to Africa, the Americas, India, the Middle East, Missions to Women, and the central records of the CMS.
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical Music Library from Alexander Street Press is a fully searchable database of classical recordings that range from Medieval music up to the present, including choral works, symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde. CML also includes a Reference section containing selected biographies, images, glossary, and other resources.
Classical Scores Library Vols. I - IV This link opens in a new window
Classical Scores Library is a source for scores of the classical canon, as well as lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. The collections include full, study, piano, and vocal scores.
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture This link opens in a new window
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is an electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance.
Cornell Historical Math Monographs This link opens in a new window
The Cornell Historic Math Monograph Collection consists of digital surrogates for materials that were part of a joint study involving Digital Preservation between Cornell University and the Xerox Corporation. The collection consists of 576 Math books (512 titles, 576 volumes).

D

Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1400-1920

Defining Gender provides access to original source documents related to the study of gender. The material is structured under five key topics: conduct and politeness, domesticity and the family, consumption and leisure, education and sensibility, and the body. This resource provides access to a wide range of original sources.
Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Irish Biography is a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy. The Dictionary includes the lives of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland from James Ussher to James Joyce, St Patrick to Patrick Pearse, St Brigit to Maud Gonne MacBride, Shane O'Neil to Eamon de Valera, Edward Carson to Bobby Sands.
Digital Collection of Manitoba Government Publications This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of digitized Manitoba government publications from the Legislative Library’s Digital Collection. New titles are added continuously. When links to government information on the Internet change or are removed, the Digital Collection preserves web access to the major government reports and departmental information.
Digital Library of the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Direction of Trade Statistics This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1947-1959 (annual), 1960-present (monthly/quarterly)

The Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS) presents, for most member countries of the International Monetary Fund, current figures on the value of merchandise exports and imports disaggregated according to their most important trading partners. Area and world aggregates showing trade flows between major areas of the world are presented as well.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) provides access to full text scholarly and scientific journals whose mandate is to publish research or review articles. All major subject areas are covered. Journal contributors include the academic, government, non-profit, and commercial sectors. The journals in DOAJ incorporate a funding model which does not charge users or institutions for access.
Dizionari Garzanti This link opens in a new window
An Italian, English and French dictionary that includes language guides, phrasebooks and language courses. Produced by Garzanti Linguistica, a leading publisher of language dictionaries.

E

Early Encounters in North America : Peoples, Cultures and the Environment This link opens in a new window
Early Encounters in North America documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1474 to the present. The collection is made up of personal accounts and unique perspectives.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Electronic HRAF is the electronic version of the Human Relations Area Files project begun at Yale in 1949. HRAF is a non-profit consortium of universities and other agencies whose mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society and behaviour. One of the ways this is accomplished is through the compilation of the Area Files, collections of documents and books dealing with the ethnography of selected cultural groups around the world. Database Help
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
This portal provides access to Sections I, II and III of Adam Matthew's digital project Eighteenth Century Journals.

It brings together rare journals printed between c.1680 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, while others run for several years.
Emily Dickinson Archive This link opens in a new window
An open-access repository of all known original manuscripts of poetry by Emily Dickinson. High-resolution images of the manuscript pages are available, with complete transcriptions from several editions. The primary intended audience is literary scholars seeking access to the original manuscripts. Dickinson's papers are scattered in several collections, and like many historical archives, physical access is extremely limited due to age and fragility of the materials.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Empire Online is a database/publishing project that allows researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society over the past five centuries. It contains a broad range of document types, written from both the European and the non-European perspective. Documents include exploration journals and logs, letter books and correspondence, periodical literature, diaries, official government papers, missionary papers, travel writing.
Erudit Journals This link opens in a new window
Érudit is a publishing consortium comprised of three major Quebec universities. The database contains scholarly and cultural publications in the social sciences and humanities, and includes journals, theses and dissertations, books and proceedings, and research reports. Primarily in French with some English titles.
Europeana This link opens in a new window
Europeana is a multilingual heritage portal with images contributed by European libraries, museums, archives, and multi-media collections.

Please Note: Rights are clearly indicated and vary by contributor. Please refer to Europeana's Terms and Policies
Pre-1700 English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) Search This link opens in a new window
Pre-1700 English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) Search is an independent, temporary search interface for the English Short Title Catalogue. It is an international union catalogue listing early books, serials, and selected ephemera printed between 1474 and 1700 containing text in English, Welsh, Irish or Gaelic.

F

Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
A database that offers information on sources of foreign law, including bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and references to secondary sources.
Free Prior and Informed Consent (FPIC) This link opens in a new window
This resource is a collaborative project of several higher education research institutions and provides access to information and resources related to the Right to Free Prior Informed Consent (articles, tool kits, videos, voice messages, and community stories about FPIC and Consultation).
Frontier Life : borderlands, settlement & colonial encounters This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1650-1920
Frontier Life is a digital collection of primary source documents that focus on the lives of settlers and Indigenous peoples. Various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia are highlighted.

G

Gallica: bibliotheque numerique de la Bibliotheque nationale de France This link opens in a new window
Gallica provides access to thousands of digitized works, including pictures and audio. This collection brings together prestigious editions, dictionaries and periodicals. It involves many disciplines including history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics and political science.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Please Note: At this time, the University of Manitoba Libraries subscribes to select journals and books on GeoScienceWorld. Please use the Advanced Search to restrict searches to subscribed content.

GeoScienceWorld provides online access to geoscience publications from GSA, AAPG, Geological Society of London, the Paleontological Society, the Mineralogical Society, in addition to other publishers.
Global Economic Monitor This link opens in a new window
Global Economic Monitor is a portal for analysis of current economic trends and for economic and financial indicators. It provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Exchange rates, equity markets, emerging market bond indices, consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade are updated daily.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Google Books is a huge repository of books and magazines. In many cases, access is restricted to certain percentage of the contents, but many older works are fully readable on the screen.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources

Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.
Government Finance Statistics This link opens in a new window
Government Finance Statistics (GFS) database contains detailed annual statistical data on revenue, expense, transactions in assets and liabilities, and stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors as reported by member countries. Subannual GFS are available through the online application relating to International Financial Statistics (IFS).
Government of Canada Publications This link opens in a new window
Electronic publications produced by the Government of Canada

H

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new window
Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) is a bibliography of Latin American works selected and annotated by scholars and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. The Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Hathi Trust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Health Canada Departmental Library Catalogue Online This link opens in a new window
The catalogue represents the holdings of the Departmental Library, the National Clearinghouse on Family Violence Resource Center, the Division of Aging and Seniors Resource Center, and the Childhood and Youth Special Collection, as well as the Quebec Regional Library.
Hindawi This link opens in a new window
Hindawi is an academic publisher of peer-reviewed open access journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines.
Héritage This link opens in a new window
The Héritage project is a 10-year initiative to digitize and make accessible online some of Canada’s most popular archival collections encompassing roughly 60 million pages of primary-source documents. Chronicling the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s, this collection is a resource for Canadian historians, students, and genealogists

I

IET Journals This link opens in a new window
The open access IET Journal collection includes journals covering a wide range of engineering and technology fields published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). Articles from 2013 are available.
IMF eLibrary Complete This link opens in a new window
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new window
Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators
IncFact.org This link opens in a new window
Please Note: For off-campus access, use the Virtual Private Network (VPN). For alumni, access is on-campus only.

IncFact.org is an open-access platform for company research that provides comprehensive profiles on public and private companies in the U.S. Its research features revenues and revenue histories, growth rates, industry segments (i.e., NAICS definitions), and SWOT analysis on demand.
Index to Art in Canada to 1930 This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1823 - 1930

An index of works of art listed in Canadian exhibition, auction and collection catalogues from the early 19th-20th centuries.
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) This link opens in a new window
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, diaries, maps, and more. Its focus is primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials.
INIS Database (International Nuclear Information System) This link opens in a new window
The INIS database covers scientific literature on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. Subjects include nuclear engineering, safeguards and non-proliferation, applications of nuclear science in agriculture and health, and others. The database includes references to journal articles, science and technology reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations and standards, and web documents.
Intelex Past Masters This link opens in a new window
InteLex Past Masters provides access to collections of works by major figures in the humanities and social sciences, in the original language and an English translation. Much of the content is licensed from Oxford University Press, with significant collections from other major scholarly publishers including Harvard University Press, Indiana University Press and Pickering & Chatto.
Interactive ALR (American Language Reprint) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1530s - 1900s

The Interactive ALR is a linguistic database that allows for the comparative study of Native American languages. Built from the catalog of the American Language Reprint (ALR) series, it contains tens of thousands of entries, searchable by word, phrase, date, and more. It also includes interactive mapping and custom lexicon generation.
International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window
Produced by the World Bank, IDS focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies. Includes time series indicators from 1970 - 2016 and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2024.
International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Register for an account for access to the current year's standards. Search UML Catalogue, International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) for restricted items.

The IFRS Foundation provides free access to the PDF files of the current year's consolidated IFRS Standards and IFRIC Interpretations (Part A of the Issued Standards—the Red Book), the Conceptual Framework for Financial Reporting and IFRS Practice Statements.
International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
International Financial Statistics is produced by the International Monetary Fund. It includes country tables, world tables, commodity prices and an "economic concept view." Topics covered include: exchange rates, government finance, interest rates, international transactions, money & banking, national accounts, prices and production. Data can be viewed or exported into a variety of formats.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
A free archive that offers permanent access to historical collections that exist in digital format. It contains millions of texts, audio, moving images, software, and archived web pages. The archive also provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for persons with disabilities.
Invaluable (formerly ARTFACT.com) This link opens in a new window
Invaluable is an auction database service. It includes upcoming and past auction catalogs and price results for international art, antiques, and collectible auction houses including Artcurial, Christie's, Doyle's, Eldred's, Gallerie Koller, Hindman, Ritchie's, Sotheby's, Swann, Tajan, and Weschler's.
IOP Electronic Journals (Institute of Physics Publishing ) This link opens in a new window
Please Note: For open access publishing consideration: UML may have an institutional discount with this publisher for article processing charges (APCs). Consult the following library webpage for more information.

Provides access to the full-text of the Institute of Physics' electronic journals, including journals to which the UM Libraries do not subscribe. The Institute of Physics publishes physics, engineering, medical physics and physics education journals.

J

J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America This link opens in a new window
Primary sources originally produced by J. Walter Thompson, a major American advertising agency. Materials include publications, reports, research, memoranda, correspondence, meeting minutes, creative briefs, scripts, speeches, newsletters, artwork, and advertisements. The collection also includes complete files for nine key clients: Kellogg’s, Kodak, Kraft, Oscar Mayer, Pan Am World Airways, R.T. French, Scott Paper Company, United States Marine Corps, and White Castle Restaurants.

The documents published here range from the late nineteenth century up until the late 1990s with the bulk representing the post-1945 world.
Juriterm: Banque Terminologique de la Common Law This link opens in a new window
JURITERM est une banque de terminologie contenant le vocabulaire Français normalisé de la common law et des définitions dérivées de la common law, ainsi que des termes Anglais connexes.

JURITERM is a terminology bank containing the standardized French vocabulary of the common law and definitions derived from the common law, along with related English terms.
Justice Laws This link opens in a new window
Justice Laws (Canada), formerly known as Statutes of Canada, is an online source of federal consolidated Acts and regulations. It provides the most current version of statutes and regulations, allows for viewing of past versions, and the tracking of changes and amendments. Content includes regulations, statutes, orders, proclamations, and others.

K

N/A

L

Le Corbusier Plans This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Users must create a personal account using their University of Manitoba email address.

How to register:
1) Click on the "New User Registration" link.
2) Enter UofM email address and preferred nickname. Select @umanitoba.ca from the drop-down list.

Charles-Edouard Jeanneret, known as Le Corbusier (1887-1965), was one of the most influential architects of the 20th century. Le Corbusier Plans is a digital archive of his designs, plans, and diagrams spanning his lifetime of architectural works. Includes additional photos and introductions by contemporary researchers and architects discussing Le Corbusier's work.
Library Stack This link opens in a new window
Please Note:To borrow from the ‘Reserved Collection’, users must create a personal account using their University of Manitoba email address and select University of Manitoba from the dropdown menu upon registration.

Library Stack is a media archive and e-book lending library. It collects digital materials from art, architecture, design, media studies and theory, and its contents include both downloadable open-access publications and items from 'Reserved Collection' that can be borrowed.
Liebert Open Access This link opens in a new window
Open access content published by Mary Ann Liebert. Content includes open access journals and open access articles published in subscription journals. Subjects cover a wide range of scientific research and medicine.
London Low Life This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 18th - early 20th century

London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to London. Also includes secondary resources: a chronology, interactive maps, essays, online galleries and links to relevant websites.

M

Manitobia This link opens in a new window
An initiative of the Manitoba Library Consortium to gather and make accessible historically significant Manitoba documents and publications. Find information about the early development of the province and its people, including a newspaper archive, first-hand accounts from letters, memoirs and diaries, drawings, maps and photos. Topics include the founding of Manitoba, the Winnipeg General Strike, Immigration and more.
Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1937-1965

Mass Observation Online provides content for the study of Social History in the modern era. It contains original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass-Observation organization, together with printed publications, photographs and interactive features.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Medici.tv is an online platform for streaming classical music videos, concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, and educational programs. Available via web browser or mobile app. Please Note: Users must create a personal account using their University of Manitoba email address in order to use the app.

Medici.tv EDU for Android

Medici.tv EDU for iOS
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
This collection presents manuscripts of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land.
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
Migration to New Worlds offers a wide-ranging and in depth look at the emigration of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Government papers and pamphlets, letter collections, travel journals, diaries and oral histories provide a wealth of first-hand accounts for research into emigration experiences and the hardship of settlement.
MSpace This link opens in a new window
MSpace is the University of Manitoba's institutional repository, dedicated to collecting, storing, and preserving digital versions of the intellectual output of University of Manitoba faculty, researchers,and students. It contains datasets, undergraduate and graduate theses, historical pamphlets, and other research publications.

N

NASA Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing millions of bibliographic records in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints, which are searchable through highly customizable query forms.
National Centers for Environmental Information This link opens in a new window
National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) is responsible for hosting and providing access to one of the most significant archives on Earth, with comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric, and geophysical data. From the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun and from million-year-old sediment records to near real-time satellite images, NCEI is a leading authority for environmental information. Databases include Coral Reef Temperature Anomaly Database (CoRTAD), World Ocean Database (WOD), Marine Environmental Buoy Database, the NCEI archive and more.
National Library of Medicine LocatorPlus This link opens in a new window
LocatorPlus is the National Library of Medicine's online catalog, containing records for journals, books, reports and audiovisual materials. LocatorPlus may also be searched from PubMed by selecting "NLM Catalogue" or "NLM Gateway."
Native American Ethnobotany Database This link opens in a new window
A database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers derived from plants, representing traditional use by Native American peoples. Supported by the National Science Foundation, each entry includes a link to the USDA Plants Database.
Native Health Database This link opens in a new window
The Native Health Databases contain bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The databases provide information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.
NCJRS Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window
The NCJRS database is produced by the U.S. Department of Justice's National Criminal Justice Reference Service. It is an international clearinghouse for research on courts, corrections, crime prevention, criminal justice systems, drug abuse, fraud, juvenile justice, law enforcement, etc. Literature abstracted includes books, conferences, government reports, journal articles, research reports, symposia and theses/dissertations.
NGA GeoNet Names Server (GNS) This link opens in a new window
The US National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency database is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names. It includes variant spellings and non Roman script spellings. Useful for establishing official spellings of place names for cartography and GIS purposes.
Nineteenth-century Scholarship Online (NINES) This link opens in a new window
NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first. NINES aims to gather the best scholarly resources in the field and make them fully searchable and interoperable; and to provide an online collecting and authoring space in which researchers can create and publish their own work.

NINES also is home to Juxta, a tool for comparing and collating multiple documentary instances of the same work; and to Ivanhoe, a collaborative game-space for interpreting textual and other cultural materials. Other interpretive tools and applications are in the planning stages.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides a personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. It includes hundreds of thousands of pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
The database presents the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Includes biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs.
North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
This collection contains the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present, many of them unpublished, by writers from the U.S. and Canada. Also includes playbills, production photographs and other ephemera.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
This collection includes published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, including previously unpublished materials and some biographies. Content is drawn from journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, and much of the material is in copyright. Most age groups, life stages, ethnicities and geographical regions are represented.
NRCan Open Science and Technology Repository This link opens in a new window
This platform provides public, web-based access to federally authored scientific publications and information. Its purpose is to collect, preserve, and share research output from Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) to reach the broadest possible audience and extend the impact of Canadian science. OSTR allows you to access all NRCan publications previously housed in the Canadian Forest Services and GEOSCAN databases.

O

OECD Health Data This link opens in a new window
OECD Health Data is a comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries, allowing users to build tables, extract and download large volumes of data, and view detailed metadata on methodology and sources.
Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
Oral History Online is a database of English language oral histories. Full-text content is updated quarterly and includes Ellis Island narratives and rare Black Panther Party interviews. This resource is also an index to free oral history information on the Web.
OSTI.GOV This link opens in a new window
The primary search tool for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), OSTI.GOV provides free access to millions of science, technology, and engineering research citations. It also includes numerous full-text documents, primarily from 1943 forward. Content includes journal articles; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.

OSTI.GOV replaces SciTech Connect, DOE Information Bridge, and Energy Citations Database.

P

Pascal and Francis This link opens in a new window
Pascal and Francis is an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases. Content is multilingual and includes bibliographic references of articles, conference papers, and conference proceedings. FRANCIS covers disciplines in human and social sciences; PASCAL covers sciences technology and medicine. Produced by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique (Inist) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS).
Payments to Artists This link opens in a new window
This database records payments to artists in Rome between 1576 and 1711, providing the primary means for analyzing the socioeconomic lives of painters in early modern Europe - their wealth and earnings - as opposed to resale prices or inventory evaluations. Painters active in Rome for part of their careers is limited to their Roman phase.
PEDro: The Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Perdita Manuscripts This link opens in a new window
The Perdita Project is a database of digitized works written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, concentrating on rare and obscure works which exist only in manuscript form ("Perdita" means "lost woman"). Produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An online archive of digitized, full-image journal articles, Periodicals Archive Online (formerly PCI Full Text™) offers access to international, scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 2005.
Piers Plowman Electronic Archive This link opens in a new window
The Piers Plowman Electronic Archive, a collaborative open-access project, presents the rich textual tradition of Piers Plowman, a fourteenth-century allegorical dream vision attributed to William Langland. The Archive enables users to explore late medieval literary and manuscript culture through the many variations of Piers Plowman.
Pre-1700 English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) Search This link opens in a new window
Pre-1700 English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) Search is an independent, temporary search interface for the English Short Title Catalogue. It is an international union catalogue listing early books, serials, and selected ephemera printed between 1474 and 1700 containing text in English, Welsh, Irish or Gaelic.
Project Euclid (Prime) This link opens in a new window
Euclid Prime is a growing aggregation of well-cited peer-reviewed journals and ebooks in mathematics and statistics.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is a collection of free ebooks which are not restricted by copyright, allowing for free downloading and printing. They can be read on your PC and various mobile readers.

Project Gutenberg Free Use Policy
Project Gutenberg Mobile Reader How-to
Project MUSE Full Database This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers full-text articles from scholarly journals from major university presses, covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.

Q

N/A

R

RAND Publications This link opens in a new window
A topical listing of online publications by RAND, a nonprofit research organization. Contains the full text of many of their publications in the following areas: The Arts, Child Policy, Civil Justice, Education, Energy and Environment, Health and Health Care, International Affairs, Latin America, Methodology, National Security, Population and Aging, Public Safety, Science and Technology, Terrorism and Homeland Security.
Real Academia Espanola This link opens in a new window
This site provides access to dictionaries created by the Royal Academy of Spain: one of everyday Spanish (DRAE), one of historical language (DHLE), one for schools, one for grammar and another for spelling. It also includes a link to their database, links to other resources, academic news, and current research.
Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal This link opens in a new window
An academic project which evaluates and promotes the scientific quality of knowledge about Ibero-America. Redalyc provides access to a bibliographic database and a digital library of Open Access journals.
RehabData This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1956 - present

REHABDATA is a database focusing on disability and rehabilitation. Content covers physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center.
revues.org This link opens in a new window
This database federates French humanities and social sciences reviews online. It offers access to periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage varies by journal.
Roman de la Rose This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 14th-16th Centuries

A joint project of the Sheridan Libraries at Johns Hopkins University and the Bibliothèque nationale de France, the Roman de la Rose Digital Library aims to digitize all known manuscript copies of the Roman de la Rose, which number around 300.
Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) This link opens in a new window
Highlights from the Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples, released in 5 volumes in 1996. The Commission was established in August 1991 to investigate the relationship among Aboriginal peoples (Indian, Inuit and Métis), the Canadian government and society as a whole. The Commission was charged with proposing specific solutions to the problems confronting aboriginal people raised by the mandate set out by the Canadian government.

View and download the full report here.

S

SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
SAE Mobilus includes access to SAE technical papers, SAE Journals from 2008, Edge Research Papers, SAE current standards and specs and SAE magazines.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Please Note: For open access publishing consideration: UML may have an institutional discount with this publisher for article processing charges (APCs). Consult the following library webpage for more information.

SAGE Journals Online provides online access to the full text of SAGE journals, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 2015 - present

SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of practice datasets to assist in learning qualitative and quantitative data analysis. The datasets use data from real research in a variety of social science disciplines, with data in various forms: numeric, surveys, time-series, interview transcripts, and others. The University of Manitoba Libraries has access to Dataset 1.
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods Online provides access to books, reference works, and journal articles by academics from across the social sciences, including a large collection of qualitative methods books. Intended to help researchers design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct research, and write up their findings.
Scott index to Canadian legal periodical literature This link opens in a new window
Formerly the Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature, the Scott Index of Canadian Legal Periodicals lists texts published since 1998. Content includes legal articles from law and related subject journals (such as Canadian Journal of Political Science), commentary on judgments, and texts of conferences.
Shelley-Godwin Archive This link opens in a new window
The Shelley-Godwin Archive will provide the digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft, bringing together online for the first time ever the widely dispersed handwritten legacy of this uniquely gifted family of writers. The result of a partnership between the New York Public Library and the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities, in cooperation with Oxford’s Bodleian Library, the S-GA also includes key contributions from the Huntington Library, the British Library, and the Houghton Library. In total, these partner libraries contain over 90% of all known relevant manuscripts.
Sigma-Aldrich This link opens in a new window
A searchable online catalog of Sigma-Aldrich chemical products, such as dyes and indicators, solvents, fragrances, flavors, polymers, fluorinated products, and rare chemicals.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1490-2007

This resource is a portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Countries covered include America, Africa, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba, as well as European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade. Content includes images of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps, and other documents.
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research results by publishing submitted abstracts and by soliciting abstracts of research papers around the world.
South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) This link opens in a new window
South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) is an open access collection which includes historical and contemporary sources covering the arts, humanities, and social sciences, in English and South Asian languages, from and about South Asia.
Spenser Online This link opens in a new window
Spenser Online is an open-access database that brings together resources to support the reading, discussion, and enjoyment of the works of Edmund Spenser. It includes a biography, chronology, critical bibliography, and online texts. It also hosts the International Spenser Society and its publication, The Spencer Review.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy provides access to articles on philosophy written by experts in the field and revised on a regular basis. It changes frequently, so to ensure a stable citation for scholarly purposes, you should not cite the dynamic portion of the Encyclopedia.
SUDOC Catalogue (Systéme universitaire de documentation) This link opens in a new window
The Sudoc catalogue lets you search bibliographic and holding information on all types of documents held in a variety of formats by French academic and research libraries and resource centres, and on serials to be found in non-academic documentation institutions (such as town libraries, other resource centres, etc.). Sudoc also strives to list all dissertations/theses produced in France.

T

TERMIUM Plus This link opens in a new window
TERMIUM Plus® is a terminology and linguistic databank, providing content in English, French, Spanish and Portuguese. Users can find terms, abbreviations, definitions and usage examples in a wide range of specialized fields. Content is updated monthly, and includes acronyms and official titles.
Theatre in Context Collection This link opens in a new window
Covering the Colonial times to the present, this collection provides detailed reference information for theatrical figures, plays, theatres, major productions and production companies in Canada and the United States.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video provides access to online streaming videos of theatre in performance, as well as documentaries, interviews and instructional materials relating to theatre.
Theses Canada This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1926 - present

Theses Canada indexes Canadian theses and dissertations held by Library and Archives Canada (Canada's national library), acquired from participating Canadian universities. Any thesis/dissertation not available full-text online can be ordered through interlibrary loan.
TRID Database This link opens in a new window
TRID provides access to transportation research worldwide, combining records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new window
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains the full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present. Many of the works are rare, out of print, or previously unpublished. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

U

UNdata This link opens in a new window
A portal to major United Nations databases and those of several international organizations. Includes statistics compiled by the United Nations statistical system and other international agencies, as well as estimates and projections. Databases cover Agriculture, Education, Employment, Energy, Industry, etc. Replaces UNstats.
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) This link opens in a new window
UN Comtrade is the United Nations International Trade Statistics Database. This database provides free access to detailed global trade data; it's a repository of official international trade statistics and analytical tables. Coverage dates back to 1962.

The United Nations Statistics Division holds the copyright to COMTRADE data. All rights reserved.
United Nations Digital Library This link opens in a new window
United Nations Digital Library provides a single point of access to current and historical UN-produced materials: documents, maps, speeches, voting data, and publications in multiple languages.
United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window
This site reflects the activities of the Treaty Section of the United Nations Office of Legal Affairs. It includes the full-text of multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, with participating countries, communications and entry into force. The database also includes treaty resources such as registration and publication checklists, handbooks, training, and treaty events.
University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of digitized books from the University of Michigan mathematics collection, published from the 19th to early 20th century.

V

Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1779 - 1930

Victorian Popular Culture is a resource for the study of popular entertainment during the Victorian Era, containing a range of source material from America, Britain and Europe.

The resource is divided into four sections:
- Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema
- Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment
- Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
- Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic
Victorian Studies Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Victorian Studies Bibliography indexes journals that have a bearing on the Victorian period, covering a wide range of disciplines. Prepared by the staff of Victorian Studies at Indiana University and a committee of the Victorian Division of the Modern Language Association of America.
NOTE: The bibliography was moved to Zotero in 2021 and is no longer actively managed or maintained.
Victorian Web This link opens in a new window
The Victorian Web presents images and documents, including entire books, as nodes in a network of complex connections. This unique approach allows users to see relationships between different fields and encounter books, paintings, political events, and other content in multiple contexts.
Victorian Women Writers Project This link opens in a new window
The Victorian Women Writers Project, begun at Indiana University, highlights lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres: poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.
Virtual Museum of Métis History and Culture This link opens in a new window
A database chronicling traditional Métis history and culture. Content is presented in visual, audio and video formats, and includes oral history interviews, photographs and archival documents.
Voilà This link opens in a new window
Voilà is a single point of access to search the collections of libraries across Canada. Content includes books, magazines, maps, music, and more, as well as special formats such as braille, large print, talking books, captioned videos, and others.

To search the holdings of Library and Archives Canada, use Aurora

W

Walt Whitman Archive This link opens in a new window
A collection of works by and about Whitman, America's most influential poet and a writer of global renown. He is also the most challenging, as the sheer volume of his work and multiple drafts present textual difficulties. Content includes Whitman's published works, personal manuscripts and notebooks, biography, letters, bibliography and criticism, audio, portraits, teaching materials, and more.
WDI Online (World Development Indicators) This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents current and accurate global development data and includes national, regional and global estimates. Data can be viewed or exported in a variety of formats.
Web Gallery of Art This link opens in a new window
A virtual museum and searchable database of European fine art from the 8th to mid-19th centuries. It is a free, privately maintained resource, not related to any museums or art institutions. Includes virtual tours, glossary, period music, and a postcard service.
Winnipeg Building Index This link opens in a new window
The Winnipeg Building Index is an ongoing project which identifies sources of information on Winnipeg's rich and varied architecture. The sources may include monographs, journals articles, ephemera, plans, elevations and images.
Winnipeg Tribune This link opens in a new window
The Winnipeg Tribune, one of western Canada's oldest newspapers, ran from 1890 to 1980. While it had excellent coverage of local events and personalities, it also reported on national and international news.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities.
Wright American Fiction This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1774-1900

This database is a compilation of the three-volume set of "American Fiction 1851-1875" by Lyle H. Wright, considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult fiction of the 18th and 19th centuries.

X

N/A

Y

N/A

Z

N/A

Alumni Help: Alumni Databases A-Z

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

K

L

M

N

O

P

Q

R

S

T

U

V

W

X

Y

Z

Ask a Librarian