Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Indigenous Health: Home

Traditional Territories Acknowledgement

Photo of library area of the Indigenous Health Collection

The Indigenous Health Collection is located at the Bannatyne Campus in an area of the Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library known as Kanee Ga Ni-What Kee-Kandamowin Anishinabeck (First Peoples Place of Learning).

The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. 

We respect the Treaties that were made on these territories, we acknowledge the harms and mistakes of the past and present, and we dedicate ourselves to move forward in partnership with Indigenous communities in a spirit of reconciliation and collaboration. 

The Indigenous Health Collection

Books/DVDs/Reports - Locate items available from the UM Libraries

Use simple keywords for searching the UM Libraries collections --

(Indigenous OR aboriginal) AND (heart disease OR cardiovascular)

Inuit* AND tuberculosis

Metis AND determinants

"First Nations" AND resilien* AND health

Refine your results to focus on books.  Use the databases listed below for efficient searching for articles.

Journal Articles

Databases of journal articles and online book chapters -- See detailed instructions

Use interdisciplinary databases such as:

Scopus - includes MEDLINE, EMBASE, mental health, nursing, social and environmental determinants

EBSCOhost - Includes nursing (CINAHL), AgeLine (geriatrics), Alternative Press Index, the Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA), Child Development & Adolescent Studies, Family & Society Studies Worldwide, Social Work Abstracts, Women’s Studies International, a database of Canadian publications and many more interdisciplinary resources.  Note:  Select all databases to search in EBSCOhost

ProQuest Includes several interdisciplinary resources including ERIC (Education), Sociological Abstracts, Dissertations & Theses database, other scholarly collections, and some major Canadian newspapers.

Databases listed above are good choices for comprehensive, efficient searching of scholarly literature.  Other options might include:

EMBASEMEDLINE and PsycINFO on OVID for systematic reviews   Note:  You might find Scopus to be the better option for simultaneous, comprehensive searching of both EMBASE and MEDLINE for most scoping reviews or literature reviews.  Contact the Indigenous Health Liaison Librarian to map out your best strategy.

Don't forget to consider checking other sources of information in your search.  This might include searching open access databases; grey literature searching in Google Advanced or in the UM Libraries online and print collections; or searching Google Scholar to identify book chapters and articles not indexed in the databases listed above.

Please see the 35-page Guide to Identifying Information for Indigenous Peoples' Health: Finding Interdisciplinary, Evidence-based Research and Community-based Resources

Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) (1996)

The RCAP report is available in several forms including

           Note:  The following LAC pages are slow to download.  However, they are worth the wait if you want to search the full RCAP report and the hundreds of submissions made.

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has created a database of submissions made to the Commission, including intervenor submissions, research reports, and hearing transcripts.  The database includes hundreds of full-text documents that were not readily available online prior to 2016.  Search the database  (allow time for download)

 Sample keyword searching of RCAP document database ---

"medicine wheel"     Winnipeg     "baker lake"     metis     "phil fontaine"    "murray sinclair"    "mckay family"    "dene nation"

 

 

Truth and Reconciliation Commission

Welcome!

Profile Photo
Janice Linton
Contact:
Indigenous Health Liaison Librarian
Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library,
University of Manitoba, Bannatyne Campus
727 McDermot Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R3E 3P5
NJM Library is located next to Health Sciences Centre (HSC)

New

Suggested Reading

The two volumes are online at the above links and on the shelves at Neil John Maclean Library

Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library (University of Manitoba) --- ph. 204-789-3342 | healthlibrary@umanitoba.ca