The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
In this report, we describe the health status of Nunavummiut compared with the health of other Canadians. In some areas, the health of Nunavummiut is not as good as that of other Canadians.
[Available in English or Inuktitut] This document uses information from the Statistics Canada mortality database to provide insight into the health of Inuit
[English] Health Canada works with First Nations, Inuit, other federal departments and provincial and territorial partners to support healthy First Nations and Inuit individuals, families and communities. Includes strategic plan.
[English]This report provides the results of the Oral Health Survey of Inuit conducted by the Office of the Chief Dental Officer of Canada in conjunction with the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami and the Government of Nunatsiavut, Department of Health and Social Development (Newfoundland and Labrador); Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated (Nunavut); and the Inuvialuit Region Corporation (Northwest Territories). It provides estimates of the burden of oral health conditions as of 2008-2009 across all areas of Canada's north, except Nunavik.
[English] This fact sheet provides information about Inuit children aged 6 to 14 and those aged 15 and over, as reported in the Aboriginal Peoples Survey (APS) and 2006 Census.
Published under the authority of the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians. Ottawa, 2011
When the Census was taken in 2006, 1,172,785 people in Canada — representing about 4% of the Canadian population — identified themselves as Aboriginal.
Includes data on Inuit and non-Aboriginal populations in Canada and northern regions. Provides statistics on children, adults, Inuktitut language speakers, educational attainment, unemployment, income, household information and percentage of people living in overcrowded housing conditions.
This report focuses on selected social determinants of Inuit health. Information on health status is provided through data on self-reported health and chronic conditions. Determinants such as access to health care, education, housing, harvesting and country food consumption are examined.
Published by Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK) to provide a snapshot of life in Inuit communities. Includes data from the 2001 and 2006 census along with information from government and academic sources.
The Aboriginal peoples of Canada, as defined by the Constitution Act, 1982, comprise the Indian, Inuit and Métis peoples of Canada. These distinct groups have unique heritages, languages, cultures. Statistical information is available for the total Aboriginal population and each of the three groups.
Indigenous Health Liaison Librarian
Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library,
University of Manitoba, Bannatyne Campus
727 McDermot Ave.
Winnipeg, MB R3E 3P5
NJM Library is located next to Health Sciences Centre (HSC)
