Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Petit Robert Intégral This link opens in a new window
A reference to write and speak French, Petit Robert Intégral brings together Le Petit Robert de la langue française and Le Petit Robert des noms propres.
Oxford Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 3
Oxford Dictionaries allows you to search Oxford University Press's English dictionary and bilingual dictionaries in French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian. The dictionaries can be searched or browsed, phonetic symbols are explained, and references can be emailed or exported to bibliographical software. Other features include audible pronunciation, grammatical notes, guides to cultural events of each country, and hints for writing in a variety of situations and formats.
Real Academia Espanola This link opens in a new window
This site provides access to dictionaries created by the Royal Academy of Spain: one of everyday Spanish (DRAE), one of historical language (DHLE), one for schools, one for grammar and another for spelling. It also includes a link to their database, links to other resources, academic news, and current research.
CAIRN Journals This link opens in a new window
Cairn was formed in 1995 by four European publishing houses (Belin, De Boeck, La Découverte and Erès) and offers access to a comprehensive collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines. The earliest full text coverage begins with 2001 issues to the present, in both html and pdf.
Erudit Journals This link opens in a new window
Érudit is a publishing consortium comprised of three major Quebec universities. The database contains scholarly and cultural publications in the social sciences and humanities, and includes journals, theses and dissertations, books and proceedings, and research reports. Primarily in French with some English titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
Le Monde This link opens in a new window
Written in the French language and covering leading issues and events, like World War II and the Fifth Republic, to French, European and international politics, society and business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Le Monde reveals the day-to-day news coverage.
Bibliotheque des lettres (Bibliopolis) This link opens in a new window
La Bibliothèque des lettres brings together the contents of eight Bibliopolis collections. Users can now search all these works at once or restrict to one or more collections. BdL includes: Autour du romantisme: le roman, 1792-1886. Corpus des oeuvres de philosophie en langue française. La Critique littéraire de Laharpe à Proust. Écrits sur l'art de Diderot à Proust. Encyclopédie de la littérature française etc...
Corpus de la première littérature francophone d'Afrique noire This link opens in a new window
A corpus of comprehensive French literature of black Africa. This corpus of more than 11,000 text covers all Sub-Saharan Francophone Africa, a twenty countries and more than a hundred ethnic groups, and meets the most genres variety of this literature to be discovered (novels, stories, novels, stories, plays, poetry, myths, legends, fables, proverbs, riddles, songs). Based on an extensive bibliographical research, collection and compilation of text, the body is a scientific publishing work and Heritage Preservation African Cultural written and oral.
Corpus de la première littérature francophone de l'Océan Indien This link opens in a new window
This corpus provides, to the fullest possible extent, all of French literature written and spoken in the Indian Ocean origins (18th century) to Independence (1960, date of death of the author).
Base Internationale de Lettres Electroniques du Moyen Age au XXe siecle Litterature narrative This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5
The Corpus de la litteratire narrative is the first part of B.A.S.I.L.E. (International database of electronic literature). It provides access to numerous narrative works, novels, tales and short stories taken from the French cultural heritage.
ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) is a database of texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing, and a Provençal database that includes texts in their original spellings. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.
Belgica This link opens in a new window
Belgica is the Digital Library of the Royal Library of Belgium. It provides access to different categories of heritage documents: manuscripts, prints, maps, musical scores, sound recordings, collections of coins, medals, drawings and prints. Belgica, is also: a reference library oriented Belgicana, search engine indexing thousands of pages of newspapers, and virtual exhibitions.
Gallica: bibliotheque numerique de la Bibliotheque nationale de France This link opens in a new window
Gallica provides access to thousands of digitized works, including pictures and audio. This collection brings together prestigious editions, dictionaries and periodicals. It involves many disciplines including history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics and political science.
SUDOC Catalogue (Systéme universitaire de documentation) This link opens in a new window
The Sudoc catalogue lets you search bibliographic and holding information on all types of documents held in a variety of formats by French academic and research libraries and resource centres, and on serials to be found in non-academic documentation institutions (such as town libraries, other resource centres, etc.). Sudoc also strives to list all dissertations/theses produced in France.
Bibliographie de la littérature française This link opens in a new window
The online BLF is an inventory of all the studies which have appeared in France and abroad since 1998 concerning French and Francophone literature from the sixteenth century to the present day.