LibGuides: Microbiology: Articles/Databases

Document Delivery

Do you need an article or book that is not available at the University of Manitoba Libraries?

You can place a document delivery request and the Libraries will obtain it from another library for you. This is a free service for students and faculty at the U of M.

For more information see the Libraries' Access Materials website (under Request from another institution).

Databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources

Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Finding Genes in PubMed
This video describes how to search for gene information in PubMed and Gene database records.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.

Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface. Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly. Allows users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original article.

PubMed Help

How to: Find published information on a gene or sequence
PubMed Tutorials
Finding Genes in PubMed
This video describes how to search for gene information in PubMed and Gene database records.

Subject Guide

Samuel Plato

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

431-334-8086

Subjects: Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Biotechnology, Genetics, Microbiology, Statistics