Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Connecting from Off-Campus
The University of Manitoba Libraries use a proxy server to allow access to licenced electronic resources from off-campus. When you choose a resource that needs to be authenticated you'll be asked for your Library ID and PIN. Here's what they are:
Library ID and Password
Your Library ID is your UMNetID and UMNetID password. Contact the IST Help and Solutions Centre if you need assistance with your UMNetID.
Welcome to the Microbiology Subject Guide
In this guide you will find access to a variety of resources that will be useful to you as you study and research the many facets of chemistry .
The tabs at the top of the guide provide access to lists of books, ebooks, journal collections, article databases and online resources!
While every attempt is made to help you become a self-sufficient researcher, be sure to check out the Librarian Contact if you need any assistance.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.
Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This version of Google Scholar includes links to the University of Manitoba ejournals.
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface.
- BIOSIS Citation Index (2010-present)
- BIOSIS Previews (1926-present)
- Current Contents Connect (1998-present)
- Data Citation Index (1900-present)
- Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present)
- KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present)
- MEDLINE® (1950-present)
- Russian Science Citation Index (2005-present)
- SciELO Citation Index (1997-present)
- Web of Science Core Collection (1900-present)
- Zoological Record (1864-present)