Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Managing Your References
Citation Management Software can help you organize and cite your references. See the Citation Management Software guide for more information.
Finding Journal Articles
If you are looking for journal articles in Agribusiness and Agricultural Economics, these are the databases to use:
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics
AgEcon Search serves as a permanent archive for the collection, indexing and distribution of full text copies of scholarly research in the field of agricultural economics, including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
CANSIM stands for Canadian Socio-economic Information and Management System. It is a database of current and historic time series, produced by Statistics Canada. A CANSIM time series consists of a number of observations for a given concept or variable at regular time intervals. There are millions of time series in this database. CANSIM time series cover a broad spectrum of social and economic aspects of Canadian life, including: agriculture, construction, demography, education, and more.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
Search interface for a variety of ProQuest databases
Trade Analyser provides access to time-series data on imports and exports in the Canadian International Merchandise Trade (CIMT) and World trade databases produced by Statistics Canada, International Trade Division. CIMT coverage is from 1988 - present. World trade coverage is from 1980 - 2005.
WDI Online (World Development Indicators)
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents current and accurate global development data and includes national, regional and global estimates. Data can be viewed or exported in a variety of formats.
EconLIT is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
Simultaneous user limit: 8
The CAB Abstracts database covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense.
It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, animal science, agricultural economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, soil science and veterinary medicine.
Here are some tips that should make your search more effective:
- Choose keywords from your topic/question
- Type these into the "search box" in the database
- Click on the search button
- Evaluate the search results
- Refine search: if the results are unsatisfactory, you may want to use different keywords or apply limits e.g publication year, language etc.