Skip to main content

Slavic Studies Collection: Internet Resources

Associations

  • ASEEES (Association for Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies)
    AAASS, a nonprofit, non-political, scholarly society, that is a leading private organization in the world dedicated to the advancement of knowledge about the former Soviet Union (including Eurasia) and Eastern and Central Europe. The AAASS supports teaching, research, and publication relating to the peoples and territories within this area.
  • AATSEEL (American Association of Teachers of Slavic and East European Languages)
    AATSEEL advances the study and promotes the teaching of Slavic and East European languages, literatures, and cultures on all educational levels, elementary through graduate school. While the largest proportion of its activities and members concentrate in the area of Russian, AATSEEL embraces all Slavic and East European languages, literatures, linguistics and cultures
  • AWSS (The Association of Women in Slavic Studies)
    AWSS is a networking resource for people concerned with the problems, status, and achievements of women in the profession of Slavic Studies. It also attempts to cover research and teaching in women's studies and questions of gender and family life in Central/Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union. The organization is affiliated with AAASS
  • BASEES (British Association for Slavonic and East European Studies)
    BASEES advances education for the public benefit in the United Kingdom in the humanities and the social sciences as they relate to the Soviet Union and the countries of Eastern Europe. as they relate to the former Soviet Union EasEurope'
  • CAS (Canadian Association of Slavists)
    CAS was founded in 1954 at the University of Manitoba. It is an interdisciplinary gathering of scholars and professionals whose interests focus on the social, economic and political life of the Slavic peoples, as well as their languages, diverse cultures and histories.
  • ESSA (Early Slavic Studies Association)
    ESSA is a scholarly, non-profit organization dedicated to fostering closer worldwide communication among scholars interested in pre-eighteenth century Slavic studies; and to promoting the dissemination of scholarly information on early Slavic studies through the organization of meetings and conferences and through the Association's newsletter.
  • SEEFA (Slavic & East European Folklore Association)
    SEEFA is a non-profit organization devoted to an exchange of knowledge among scholars interested in Slavic and East European folklore.
  • SEES (Slavic & East European Section of the American Library Association)
    SEES represents nearly 300 librarians and specialists involved in Slavic and East European studies. In addition to Russia and the countries of Eastern and Central Europe, the section is concerned with those aspects of library service relating to the study of the Baltic, Central Asia and the Caucasus.

Other Major Slavic Collections

The British Library's collections in the field of Slavic, East European and Soviet Studies are the largest in the UK, and probably in Western Europe.

The Slavic Collection holds materials from Russia, Eastern and Central Europe, Central Asia, and the Caucasus in all Slavic, Baltic, and Western languages, and from various emigre communities from these areas scattered throughout the world. In addition to books, serials, and microforms, the collection includes videos, CD-ROMs, posters and ephemera, and electronic databases with Slavic content.

The Slavic and Baltic Division is the focus for the Library's single largest concentration of Slavic and Baltic vernacular language monographic and serial materials, with more than 465,323 volumes, 1,200 current serials, and 21,800 microform titles

The University of Toronto Library holds over 600,000 volumes in its Slavic and East European collection. The Petro Jacyk Resource Centre supports the activities of the Centre for European, Russian and Eurasian Studies (CERES) and the Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures.

The Slavic Collection at Stanford holds a strong Russian collection, followed by a significant collection pertaining to Poland. The remainder of material are in Serbian, Croatian, Bosnian, Czech, Ukrainian. Bulgarian, Romanian and Slovak.

The University of Alberta holds a large Slavic collection consisting of  books, serials, microforms that are mainly in the Ukrainian, Russian and Polish languages.

The UC Berkeley Library contains one of the largest Slavic collections among US   academic libraries. Materials are collected from all the countries of the former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe in all vernacular languages. The largest part of the collection supports the study of Russia, its history and culture. Strong research collections exist for Polish, Czech and Hungarian Studies.

The Slavic and East European collections contain over 588,500 volumes on Russia and the Soviet Union, Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan, as well as the countries of Eastern Europe, including Albania, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia and Macedonia

The Slavic and East European Library focuses on monographs, periodicals, and microforms focusing on Russia, the newly independent countries of the former USSR, as well as those of Eastern Europe. The Library holds approximately 190,700 volumes in the languages of the former Soviet Union, plus another 58,465 or so volumes on Russia and the former Soviet Union in other languages.The Library has about 99,818 additional volumes of Russian and Ukrainian titles in microform, including most serials of importance that are not available in the original.  There are also long runs on microfilm of some 155 newspapers in Russian, Ukrainian, and Estonian, including both pre-Revolutionary and Soviet titles. 

Currently the Slavic and East European holdings at UNC-Chapel Hill are approximately 500,000 volumes (monographs, serials and microforms). The UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries hold an excellent collection of materials in Slavic literature and linguistics, Soviet and Russian history, economics, and political science.

The Collection contains over 150,000 volumes concerning Central and Southeast Europe, as well as some 600,000 volumes relating to Russia and the countries of the former Soviet Union, Yale has one of the five largest collections in the United States.

News Sources

Literary Resources