Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Slavic Studies - Ukrainian Studies Guide

Library Search

Library Search
Course Reserves

Ask a Librarian

Image: White text on blue background with round thought bubbles Text: Ask Us

Electronic Dictionaries

Oxford Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 3

Oxford Dictionaries allows you to search Oxford University Press's English dictionary and bilingual dictionaries in French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian. The dictionaries can be searched or browsed, phonetic symbols are explained, and references can be emailed or exported to bibliographical software. Other features include audible pronunciation, grammatical notes, guides to cultural events of each country, and hints for writing in a variety of situations and formats.

Electronic Encyclopedias

The Internet Encyclopedia of Ukraine
The Internet Encyclopedia of Ukraine is an ongoing project that is hosted by the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies (CIUS), comprising the revised and updated content of the Encyclopedia of Ukraine edited by Volodymyr Kubijovic and Danylo Husar Struk. Once completed, it will be the largest English language online resource devoted to Ukraine.
more...less...
The Internet Encyclopedia of Ukraine is an ongoing project that is hosted by the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies (CIUS), comprising the revised and updated content of the Encyclopedia of Ukraine edited by Volodymyr Kubijovic and Danylo Husar Struk. Once completed, it will be the largest English language online resource devoted to Ukraine.

Print Dictionaries

Andrusyshen, C., et al. Ukrainian-English dictionary. Saskatoon ; Toronto : Published for University of Saskatchewan by University of Toronto Press , 1981, c1955.
Slavic Reference PG 3891 A7 1981
Balla, M.I.Anhlo-Ukrains'kyi slovnyk. Blyz'ko 120, 000 sliv. Kyiv: Osvita, 1996.
Slavic Reference PG 3891 B27 1996 T. 1&2
Barantsev, K. Ukrains'kyi frazeolohichnyi slovnyk.Kyiv: Vydavntstvo "Ridna Shkola", 1969
Slavic Reference PG 3891 B3
Benukh, O. and R. Galushko.Ukrainian-English, English-Ukrainian Standard Dictionary. New York, Hippocrene Books, 1995.
Slavic Reference PG 3891 B46 1995
Boikiv, O., et al. Slovnyk chuzhomovnykh sliv. N'iu Iork: Vydavnytstvo Mykhaila Borets'koho, 1955
Slavic Reference PG 3886 B6 1955
Deiko, M. et al.Anhliis'ko-ukrains'kyi ta anlhkiis'ko-ukrains'kyi slovnyk shyrokoho vzhytku. Tom 1 & 2. Avstraliia-Anhkiia: Vydavnytstvo "Ridna Mova", 1979.
Slavic Reference PG 3891 D44 1 T. 1&2
Dems'ka O., and I. Kul'chytskyi.Slovnyk omonimiv ukrains'koi movy. L'viv Feniks, 1996.
Slavic Reference PG 3886 D46 1996
Derkach, P. Korotkyi slovnyk synonimiv ukrains'koi movy. N'iu Iork: Naukovo-doslidche tovarystvo ukr. terminolohiï, 1975.
Slavic Reference PG 3885 D4 1975
Frazeolohichnyi slovnyk ukrains'koi movy. Knyha 1 & 2. Kyiv: Naukova dumka, 1993.
Slavic Reference PG 3888 F73 1993 kn. 1 & 2
Holovashchuk, S. Pravopysnyi slovnyk: Ponad 40,000 sliv. Kyiv: Vydavnytstvo "A.S.K.", 1999.
Slavic Reference PG 3833 H63 1999
Hrynchyshyn, D., and O. Serbens'ka. Slovnyk paronimiv ukrains'koi movy. Kyiv: Osvita, 2008.
Slavic Reference PG 3886 H78 2008
Hrytsak, IE., and K. Kysilevs'kyi.Ukrains'ko-Pol's'kyi slovnyk. Varshava: Vydavnytstvo Mizhmor'ia, 1990.
Slavic Reference PG 3893 P6 H7 1990
Ivchenko, A. Orfohrafichnyi slovnyk ukrains'koi movy. Kharkiv: Folio, 2001.
Slavic Reference PG 38333 I93 2001
Karachun, V. Orfohrafichnyi slovnyk naukovykh i tekhnichnykh terminiv: Ponad 30,000 sliv. Kyiv: Vydavnytstvo "Krynytsia", 1999.
Slavic Reference PG 3833 K37 1999
Karavans'kyi, S.Praktychnyi slovnyk synonimov ukrains'koi movy. L'viv: BaK, 2008.
Slavic Reference PG 3886 K37 2008
Karavanskyi, S. Slovnyk rym ukrains'koi movy. L'viv: Karavans'kyi Sviatoslav, 2004.
Slavic Reference PG 3881 K37 2004
Korotkyi tlumachnyi slovnyk ukrains'koi movy. Kyiv: Radians'ka shkola, 1978.
Slavic Reference PG 3888 K67
Mel'nychuk, O. (Ed.).Etymolohichnyi slovnyk ukrains'koi movy. Kyiv: Naukova Dumka, 1982.
Slavic Reference PG 3883.5 t.1-4
Orfohrafichnyi slovnyk ukrains'koi movy. Kyiv: Vydavnytstvo "Dovira", 1994.
Slavic Reference PG 3835 O7 1994
Poliuha, L.Slovnyk antonomiv ukrains'koi movy. Kyiv: Vydavnytstvo "Dovira", 1999.
Slavic Reference PG 3886 P65 1999
Rusanivs’kyi, V. Slovnyk ukrains’koi movy : u dvadtsiaty tomakh. Kyiv: Naukova Dumka, 2010
Slavic Reference PG 3888 S66 2010
Shylo, H. Naddnirians'kyo regional'nyi slovnyk. L'viv; N'iu Iork: Instytut ukrainoznavstva im. I. Kryp'iakevycha NAN Ukrainy; Naukove Tovarystvo im. Shevchenka v Amerytsi, 2008
Slavic Reference PG 3898 W4 S49 2008
Slovnyk synonimov ukrains'koi movy u dvokh tomakh. Kyiv: Naukova Dumka, 2000.
Slavic Reference PG 3886 S58 1999 T. 1&2
Slovnyk ukrains'koi movy. T. 1-11. Kyiv : Nauk. dumka, 1970-1980
Slavic Main StacksPG 3835 U5 1970 t. 1-11
Velykyi tlumachnyi slovnyk suchasnoi ukrains'koi movy. Kyiv: Irpin', 2007.
Slavic Reference PG 3888 V45 2007
Velykyi zvedenyi orfohrafichnyi slovnyk suchasnoi ukrains'koi leksyky. Kyiv: Perun, 2003.
Slavic Reference PG 3833 V45 2003
Zhaivoronok, V.V.Velyka chy mala litera? Slovnyk-dovidnyk. Blyz'ko 10,000 nominatsii. Kyiv: Naukova dumka, 2004.
Slavic Reference PG 3833 Z48 2004
Zubkov, Mykola.Novitnii Rosiis'ko-Ukrains'kyi / Ukrains'ko-Rosiis'kyi Slovnyk. Ta hramatychnyi komentar. 50,000 sliv. Kharkiv: Torsinh, 2005.
Slavic Reference PG 3893 R8 Z83 2005

Print Encyclopedias

Babychev, F. (Ed.). Ukrains'kyi radians'kyi entsyklopedychnyi slovnyk. Kyiv: Holovna redaktsiia Ukrains'koi Radians'koi Entsyklopedii, 1986.
Slavic Reference AG 60 U4 U4 1986 t. 1-3
Bazhan, M. (Ed.). Ukrains'ka Radians'ka Entsyklopediia. Kyiv: Holovna Redaktsiia Ukrains'ka Radians'ka Entsyklopediia, 1977.
Slavic Reference AE 60 U4 U38 1977
Dziuba, I. (Ed.). Entsyklopediia Suchasnoi Ukrainy. Kyiv: Koordynatsiine biuro Entsyklopedii Suchasnoi - Ukrainy NAN Ukrainy, 2001.
Slavic Reference AE 60 U4 E54 2001
Kohut, Z. Historical Dictionary of Ukraine. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2005.
Slavic Reference DK 508.444 K64 2005
Kozyts'kyi A. and I. Pidkova (Eds.). Entsyklopediia L'vova. L'viv: Litopys, 2007
Slavic Reference DK 508.95 L86 E587 2007
Kubijovyč, V. (Ed.). Encylopedia of Ukraine. Toronto: Published for the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies, the Shevchenko Scientific Society (Sarcelles, France), and the Canadian Foundation for Ukrainian Studies by University of Toronto Press, 1984-1993.
Dafoe Reference; Slavic Reference; Slavic Main Stacks DK 508 E52 1984
Kubijovyč, V. (Ed.). Ukraine: A Concise Encyclopedia. Volume 1&2. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1963.
Dafoe Reference; Slavic Reference ; Slavic Main Stacks DK 508 U413 v.1&2.
Kubijovyč, V. and Z. Kuzela. Entsyklopediia ukrainoznavstvo v dvokh tomakh. Miunkhen; N'iu Iork: Naukove Tovarystvo im. Shevchenko, 1949.
Slavic Reference AE 60 U5 E5. v. 1-2
Ukrains'kyi entsyklopedychnyi slovnyk-kalendar. Ternopil': Navchal'na knyha-Bohdan, 2003.
Slavic Reference DK 508.45 U373 2003
Velyka iliustrovana entyklopediia Ukrainy. Kyiv: "Makhaon-Ukraina", 2009
Slavic Reference DK 508.444 v45 2009

Slavic Studies - Ukrainian Studies Guide: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Library Search

Ask a Librarian

Electronic Dictionaries

Electronic Encyclopedias

Print Dictionaries

Print Encyclopedias