LibGuides: Psychology: Getting Started

Best Bets for Articles

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This is a major psychology database and will have many peer-reviewed journal articles relevant in psychology topics.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This is another psychology database that will provide you with full-text and peer-reviewed journal articles relevant for a variety of topics in psychology.
Psychology & Counseling: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
This database has a collection of full-text articles published by SAGE. To use this database you can browse the list of psychology journals or conduct a search using the 'Search' button at the top.

For more suggestions on places to find articles, please see Find Articles tab in this libguide.

Buros Tests in Print
Provides a comprehensive bibliography of commercially available tests in English and guides readers to test reviews in Mental Measurements Yearbook.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
From the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements. Online searchable Ebsco database of descriptions and reviews of commercially available tests incorporates all previous editions of the MMY and integrates Tests in Print. Search by keyword, test name, author, or test category.

For more suggestions on places to find assessments, tests and measures, please see Find Assessments, Tests, & Measures tab in this libguide.

Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of streaming video files on psychotherapy. Designed for teaching, training, and education, the database features demonstrations and counseling sessions with participants on a host of therapeutic topics. Videos are searchable by therapeutic approaches, therapeutic issues, expert therapists, population, and titles.
Symptom Media Mental Health Video Collection This link opens in a new window
A library of mental health simulation videos, Symptom Media’s films provide viewers with visual guideposts to better understand mental health diagnoses and decrease the stigma for those facing psychological issues. The collection includes the DSM 5 and ICD 10 Guided Video collection.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Access selected videos on Kanopy, an on-demand streaming video service. Students and staff may recommend that the University of Manitoba Libraries consider acquiring Kanopy videos that will support their research and/or academic work.
NFB Education This link opens in a new window
CAMPUS is the online media portal of the National Film Board of Canada, containing documentaries, animated films, interactive productions, and short films in English and French.