Psychology: Find Books

Topics in psychology are catalogued under BF call number classification. Print books are found on the second floor of Elizabeth
Dafoe Library. All books in print and ebook format can be located using  Library Search. 

Tip: To locate print books in the Dafoe Library search on your topic and the call number of BF as below

Graduate students may want to expand the search for books outside of the University of Manitoba Libraries. Search the WorldCat catalogue below and request a loan through our Document Delivery service. 

Reference books can help you learn more about a topic and get started focusing a research question. The titles below are a small selection of reference works available in print in the Dafoe Library and/or online. You can search for other reference books in Library Search. 

• A Student's Dictionary of Psychology and Neuroscience (2022)
• A Research Guide to Psychology (2018)
• Handbook of Psychology (2013)
• International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2015)
• Handbook of Child Psychology (2006)
• Handbook of Psychological and Educational Assessment of Children (2003)
• Learning and Memory: a comprehensive reference (2008)
• Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures (2008) 
• APA Educational Psychology Handbook (2012)
• APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology (2012)
• Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment (2007)
• APA Dictionary of Psychology
• MedlinePlus Mental Health and Behavior (open access) (NLM/NIH)

A source for dictionaries and encyclopedias in Psychology and related areas.
 Basic Credo Search  and  Psychology Reference Books 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM 5)
The DSM 5 is online via the Psychiatry Online database. For earlier editions and related materials use Library Search.