Classical Studies: Primary Sources

Information on the Ancient Near East, with a collection of inscriptions. The website is in French.

The CIL collects all Latin inscriptions from the whole territory of the Roman Empire, ordering them geographically and systematically. The earlier volumes collected and published authoritative versions of all inscriptions known at the time—most of these had been previously published in a wide range of publications. The descriptions include images of the original inscription if available, drawings showing the letters in their original size and position, and an interpretation reconstructing abbreviations and missing words, along with discussion of issues and problems. The language of the CIL is Latin.

Images and archaeological information for curse tablets found in Roman Britain.

The Epigraphic Database Heidelberg contains the texts of Latin and bilingual (i.e. Latin-Greek) inscriptions of the Roman Empire. The epigraphic monuments are collected and kept up to date on the basis of modern research. With the help of seach functions specific queries can be carried out - e.g. a search for words in inscriptions and / or particular descriptive data. The seach results are often displayed together with photos and drawings.

The geographic focus is provided by the provinces of the Roman Empire. The total number of records rises continuously.

On this site you find a data base that records almost all Latin inscriptions. The texts are presented without abbreviations and completed where possible. The presentation of the texts is kept as simple as possible. Beside the commonly used indications for resolution, completions and erasures as few special characters as possible have been used. The abbreviations give the references for the publications used. The statistical data indicates which volumes (with how many texts per volume as far as the Latin inscriptions are concerned) are recorded completely in the data base.

Information on Greek epigraphy and inscription collections.

Images of Inscriptions from Eleusis.

A collection of Greek epigraphy, prepared by the Packard Humanities Institute.

Information about Linear A and B inscriptions from the University of Texas.

Parallel English and Latin text with English introduction and notes.

Information about Greek and Roman epigraphic sources located in the United States.

Writing tablets from the Roman fort Vindolanda in Northern England.

The online database of the Beazley archive, which houses a vast collection of Classical artwork, especially pottery. The database is searchable by such fields as location of origin, artist, shape and inscription.

A large collection of images of the Roman world, intended for educational use.

Searchable classical images

APIS is a tool for studying papryological material held in collections around the world. Descriptions and images of the papyri are typically available, translations are not always. The collection is searchable.

A list of manuscript and papyrus resources online.

Collection of papyrus from the Institut de Papyrologie de la Sorbonne. Website is in French.

Images and descriptions of the papyri.

Classical coins from McMaster Museum.

A searchable catalogue of Roman coins.