Economics: Databases

EconLIT is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.

Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper and magazine articles from international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Covering 1991 to the present, it provides access to emerging theories and practices of social change.

This archive companion to the Alternative Press Index is a guide to articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage spans 1969 through 1990.

Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.

Cairn was formed in 1995 by four European publishing houses (Belin, De Boeck, La Découverte and Erès) and offers access to a comprehensive collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines. The earliest full text coverage begins with 2001 issues to the present, in both html and pdf.

The Nation is America's oldest weekly magazine and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception in 1865. The Nation has long been regarded as one of the country's definitive journalistic voices of writing on politics, culture, books and the arts and continues to stand as the independent voice in American journalism. This database contains indexing & abstracting and full text for the complete archive of The Nation beginning with its first issue in 1865 through to the present.

Contains the full-text of working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research. The NBER covers four areas of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals. Many of its publications, including its working papers, NBER reporter, and NBER digest, are available for download.

PAIS International, from Public Affairs Information Service, is an index to literature on political, economic, and social issues of current interest. The database covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences. Emphasis is on issues that are, or might become, the subject of legislation. Coverage dates back to 1915.

Search interface for a variety of ProQuest databases

Please Note: For open access publishing consideration: UML may have an institutional discount with this publisher for article processing charges (APCs). Consult the following library webpage for more information.

SAGE Journals Online provides online access to the full text of SAGE journals, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine.

Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.

Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research results by publishing submitted abstracts and by soliciting abstracts of research papers around the world.

Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly.

Components include:

• Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
• Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)
• Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)
• Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)
• Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)
• Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)
• Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)
• Index Chemicus (1993-present)
• Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
• Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).

Please Note: This resource is currently unavailable. We are working with the publisher to have access restored as soon as possible.
Please Note: Full text access is provided via PDF -- scroll down to find links along right side of screen.

The Hill Times is an independently owned newsweekly based in Ottawa that covers the Canadian federal government and politics. The publication offers relevant news items and public policy briefings, lists, surveys, feature stories, profiles, opinion columns and analysis. The Embassy focuses on Canadian foreign policy issues.

Full-text coverage of The New York Times, offering coverage of national and international news, important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.

Coverage: 1984-present

Full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition.

Simultaneous user limit: varies by title.

Ebook Central from ProQuest provides access to electronic books across a wide range of disciplines from well known and lesser known publishers.

Simultaneous user limit: varies by title.

EBSCOhost's ebook collection provides access to a growing collection of electronic books from various publishers.

Please Note: There is a 60-day viewing embargo on webinars.

Conference Board of Canada e-Library contains research documents produced by the Conference Board of Canada and Conference Board Inc. (New York). These documents include research reports that provide insights into key areas of economic trends, organizational performance and public policy. To access: You may see an option to access this document without creating an account or create a new account. Please choose the "without creating an account" option to access the item.

The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.

SpringerLink provides access to a growing collection of scientific documents, including
journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. University of Manitoba Libraries subscribes to select (but not all) SpringerLink content.

* By default, a search in SpringerLink includes Preview-Only content. If a yellow lock icon is next to the book, article, or chapter title, UML does not have access to the full text. You can preview the first two pages of any chapter using the Look Inside button, but you cannot download it
* Ebooks with full text available will not have the yellow lock icon and will have buttons to view online or download either the whole book or each chapter individually as a PDF
* To browse ebooks with full text available:
Connect to SpringerLink (E-Books and E-Journals)
Scroll to the bottom left and click on Books under Our Content.

ADI Online provides a comprehensive collection of data on Africa available. It provides all those interested in Africa with a focused and convenient set of data monitoring development programs and aid flows in the region.

Balance of Payments Statistics summarizes, for a specific period, the economic transactions of an economy with the rest of the world. It reports total goods, services, factor income, and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world as well as capital transfers and changes in each economy's external financial claims and liabilities.

The Bank publishes a variety of periodicals for general and specialist audiences. Bank of Canada Review- A quarterly publication featuring articles related to the Canadian economy and to central banking, with summary statistical tables. FinancialSystem Review- A detailed review of developments in the financial system and an analysis of policy directions in the financial sector. Published twice a year.

Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.

The Canadian Census Analyser provides access to a variety of commonly requested Canadian Census data and documentation, produced by Statistics Canada. It includes Profile data at several levels of geography, and for several censuses, in some cases going back to 1961. It also provides access to the Census Individuals public use microdata files, and the Postal code conversion file. Users can create subsets and then output the results in a variety of formats.

The Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC) Summary Information Database includes: daily and monthly Toronto Stock Exchange trading information about specific securities; information on price adjustments such as dividends, stock splits, recapitalizations, etc.; information on daily and monthly index levels; as well as selected other financial markets information. The database is divided into two parts: common equities and preferred equities.

CANSIM stands for Canadian Socio-economic Information and Management System. It is a database of current and historic time series, produced by Statistics Canada. A CANSIM time series consists of a number of observations for a given concept or variable at regular time intervals. There are millions of time series in this database. CANSIM time series cover a broad spectrum of social and economic aspects of Canadian life, including: agriculture, construction, demography, education, and more.

China Data provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels and includes the following databases:

Monthly Statistics
National Statistics
Provincial Statistics
City Statistics
County Statistics
Monthly Industrial Data
Yearly Industrial Data
Statistics on Map
Provincial Yearbook
City Yearbook

Please Note: There is a 60-day viewing embargo on webinars.

Conference Board of Canada e-Library contains research documents produced by the Conference Board of Canada and Conference Board Inc. (New York). These documents include research reports that provide insights into key areas of economic trends, organizational performance and public policy. To access: You may see an option to access this document without creating an account or create a new account. Please choose the "without creating an account" option to access the item.

Coverage: 1947-1959 (annual), 1960-present (monthly/quarterly)

The Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS) presents, for most member countries of the International Monetary Fund, current figures on the value of merchandise exports and imports disaggregated according to their most important trading partners. Area and world aggregates showing trade flows between major areas of the world are presented as well.

Industry Briefing provides five-year forecasts and news analysis for six key industries, from telecommunications to consumer goods, along with relevant background information. Industry Briefing covers up to 69 economies that account for more than 95% of world output and trade. The forecasts are based on the latest data and in-depth analysis of sectoral trends.

Coverage: 1861-1988
This series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, it begins with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and concludes with Ronald Regan in 1988. Also included are related books and Code of Federal Regulations title 22 (Foreign Relations) in its entirety.

Global Economic Monitor is a portal for analysis of current economic trends and for economic and financial indicators. It provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Exchange rates, equity markets, emerging market bond indices, consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade are updated daily.

Government Finance Statistics (GFS) database contains detailed annual statistical data on revenue, expense, transactions in assets and liabilities, and stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors as reported by member countries. Subannual GFS are available through the online application relating to International Financial Statistics (IFS).

Please Note: This resource is currently unavailable. We are working with the publisher to have access restored as soon as possible.
Please Note: Full text access is provided via PDF -- scroll down to find links along right side of screen.

The Hill Times is an independently owned newsweekly based in Ottawa that covers the Canadian federal government and politics. The publication offers relevant news items and public policy briefings, lists, surveys, feature stories, profiles, opinion columns and analysis. The Embassy focuses on Canadian foreign policy issues.

Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators

Please Note: Users must create their own MyData account in order to access this database.

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations. Their data archive contains hundreds of thousands of files of research in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Produced by the World Bank, IDS focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies. Includes time series indicators from 1970 - 2016 and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2024.

International Financial Statistics is produced by the International Monetary Fund. It includes country tables, world tables, commodity prices and an "economic concept view." Topics covered include: exchange rates, government finance, interest rates, international transactions, money & banking, national accounts, prices and production. Data can be viewed or exported into a variety of formats.

Simultaneous user limit: 5

Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.

Contains the full-text of working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research. The NBER covers four areas of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals. Many of its publications, including its working papers, NBER reporter, and NBER digest, are available for download.

OECD Health Data is a comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries, allowing users to build tables, extract and download large volumes of data, and view detailed metadata on methodology and sources.

The online edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics contains the full text of the eight-volume print edition. Updated quarterly.

Search interface for a variety of ProQuest databases

Trade Analyser provides access to time-series data on imports and exports in the Canadian International Merchandise Trade (CIMT) and World trade databases produced by Statistics Canada, International Trade Division. CIMT coverage is from 1988 - present. World trade coverage is from 1980 - 2005.

Coverage: 2016 - present

TSX eReview provides coverage of market, trading and corporate events for Toronto Stock Exchange listed companies: (1) Market highlights and statistics; (2) Securities highlights; (3) Stock list changes; (4) Corporate actions; (5) Terms and conditions; (6) Trading information; (7) Index information.

Coverage: 2016 - present

TSX Venture eReview is a monthly digest of trading activity and corporate information for companies listed on the TSX Venture Exchange (including NEX). Each issue covers market and corporate data, including: (1) Trading data; (2) Market movers; (3) Listings changes; (4) Financings; (5) Index information.

A portal to major United Nations databases and those of several international organizations. Includes statistics compiled by the United Nations statistical system and other international agencies, as well as estimates and projections. Databases cover Agriculture, Education, Employment, Energy, Industry, etc. Replaces UNstats.

World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents current and accurate global development data and includes national, regional and global estimates. Data can be viewed or exported in a variety of formats.

MSpace is the University of Manitoba's institutional repository, dedicated to collecting, storing, and preserving digital versions of the intellectual output of University of Manitoba faculty, researchers,and students. It contains datasets, undergraduate and graduate theses, historical pamphlets, and other research publications.