Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography, from the Modern Language Association of America, indexes international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore, and includes citations from journals and series, monographs, working papers and conference proceedings.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Germanistik Online Datenbank This link opens in a new window
Germanistik is the central international journal on the study of German Language and Literature. This database allows for detailed searching of abstracts to its articles and volumes.
Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL) This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Bibliography of German Language and Literature.
Enzyklopädie des Märchens Online This link opens in a new window
The Enzyklopädie des Märchens (“Encyclopedia of the Folk Tale”) contains thousands of articles representing nearly two centuries of research in the field of folk narrative tradition. It offers a survey of all written and oral genres and discusses types, motifs and themes; explores theories, methods and stylistic issues; and presents various regions, countries, authors, collectors and researchers. Text is in German.
Dictionary of Eighteenth Century German Philosophers This link opens in a new window
Features 18th-century German philosophers, scholars, jurists, literary critics, historians and others whose work has had a lasting philosophical significance. Each entry discusses a particular philosopher’s life, contributions to the world of thought, and later influences.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 6
Historical Abstracts is an index to the world's scholarly literature in history. It covers the history of the world, including all countries, except Canada and the United States, for the period 1450 to the present. Works on Canadian and U.S. history are indexed in the ABC-CLIO database, "America: History and Life" The database indexes articles, book reviews and dissertations.
Film Literature Index
Please Note: March 30, 2022 - This resource has been discontinued and is no longer available.
The Film Literature Index indexes hundreds of film & TV periodicals from 30 countries, with publications ranging from the scholarly and critical to the popular. Published by the Film and Television Documentation Center at the State University of New York (SUNY).
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1975 - present
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Abstracts cover journal articles and citations, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides a personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. It includes hundreds of thousands of pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980.
Oxford Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 3
Oxford Dictionaries allows you to search Oxford University Press's English dictionary and bilingual dictionaries in French, German, Italian, Spanish and Russian. The dictionaries can be searched or browsed, phonetic symbols are explained, and references can be emailed or exported to bibliographical software. Other features include audible pronunciation, grammatical notes, guides to cultural events of each country, and hints for writing in a variety of situations and formats.